Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 10, 12, 14, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dhanakshirur; Akshay et al. (US 20220064797 A1). Dhanakshirur teaches a cooling flange (flange of 150 cooled by 274; Figure 1,2A-Applicant’s 200; Figure 3,4) to connect a remote plasma source (RPS) (162; Figure 1) to a semiconductor manufacturing processing chamber (100; Figure 1), the cooling flange (flange of 150 cooled by 274; Figure 1,2A-Applicant’s 200; Figure 3,4) comprising: a flange body (150; Figure 1,2A-Applicant’s 210; Figure 3-4) with an inlet face (top of 150; Figure 2A) and an outlet face (bottom of 150; Figure 2A) defining a length of the cooling flange (flange of 150 cooled by 274; Figure 1,2A-Applicant’s 200; Figure 3,4), an inlet flange (inlet flange at 274; Figure 2A) on an inlet end of the flange body (150; Figure 1,2A-Applicant’s 210; Figure 3-4), the inlet flange (inlet flange at 274; Figure 2A) including the inlet face (top of 150; Figure 2A) and having an inlet flange (inlet flange at 274; Figure 2A) thickness, an outlet flange (outlet flange at 150/202 interface; Figure 2A) on an outlet end of the flange body (150; Figure 1,2A-Applicant’s 210; Figure 3-4), the outlet flange (outlet flange at 150/202 interface; Figure 2A) including the outlet face (bottom of 150; Figure 2A) and having an outlet flange (outlet flange at 150/202 interface; Figure 2A) thickness; a gas channel (152; Figure 2A) extending through the length of the flange body (150; Figure 1,2A-Applicant’s 210; Figure 3-4), the gas channel (152; Figure 2A) having an inlet opening in the inlet face (top of 150; Figure 2A) of the flange body (150; Figure 1,2A-Applicant’s 210; Figure 3-4) and an outlet opening in the outlet face (bottom of 150; Figure 2A) of the flange body (150; Figure 1,2A-Applicant’s 210; Figure 3-4); and a purge gas inlet opening (gas inlet opening in 152 from 146; Figure 2A; [0024]-Applicant’s 280; Figure 4) in a side of the flange body (150; Figure 1,2A-Applicant’s 210; Figure 3-4) along the length of the flange body (150; Figure 1,2A-Applicant’s 210; Figure 3-4) between the inlet flange (inlet flange at 274; Figure 2A) and the outlet flange (outlet flange at 150/202 interface; Figure 2A), the purge gas inlet opening (gas inlet opening in 152 from 146; Figure 2A; [0024]-Applicant’s 280; Figure 4) in fluid communication with the gas channel (152; Figure 2A), as claimed by claim 1. The above and below italicized claim text notes an intended use claim feature, in gas identity, for the pending apparatus claims. Further, it has been held that claim language that simply specifies an intended use or field of use for the invention generally will not limit the scope of a claim (Walter , 618 F.2d at 769, 205 USPQ at 409; MPEP 2106). Additionally, in apparatus claims, intended use must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim (In re Casey,152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto , 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); MPEP2115).
Dhanakshirur further teaches:
Dhanakshirur’s cooling flange (flange of 150 cooled by 274; Figure 1,2A-Applicant’s 200; Figure 3,4) of claim 1, wherein the length of the flange body (150; Figure 1,2A-Applicant’s 210; Figure 3-4) is configured to avoid back streaming of precursor gases from the outlet opening reaching the inlet opening, as claimed by claim 2. Dhanakshirur discusses “back diffusion” in [0073] and [0076] which is equivalent to the claimed “back streaming”. Dhanakshirur’s apparatus is so configured to “inhibit back diffusion” ([0076]).
The cooling flange (flange of 150 cooled by 274; Figure 1,2A-Applicant’s 200; Figure 3,4) of claim 1, wherein the gas channel (152; Figure 2A) comprises an inlet funnel (inlet funnel above 270; Figure 2A),middle tube (270; Figure 2A) and outlet funnel (outlet funnel below 270; Figure 2A), the middle tube (270; Figure 2A) connecting the inlet funnel (inlet funnel above 270; Figure 2A) with the outlet funnel (outlet funnel below 270; Figure 2A), as claimed by claim 4
The cooling flange (flange of 150 cooled by 274; Figure 1,2A-Applicant’s 200; Figure 3,4) of claim 4, wherein the purge gas inlet (gas inlet opening in 152 from 146; Figure 2A; [0024]-Applicant’s 280; Figure 4) is in fluid communication with the middle tube (270; Figure 2A) of the gas channel (152; Figure 2A), as claimed by claim 10
The cooling flange (flange of 150 cooled by 274; Figure 1,2A-Applicant’s 200; Figure 3,4) of claim 10, wherein the purge gas inlet (gas inlet opening in 152 from 146; Figure 2A; [0024]-Applicant’s 280; Figure 4) comprises a flat face in a cylindrical wall of the flange body (150; Figure 1,2A-Applicant’s 210; Figure 3-4), as claimed by claim 12
A cooling flange (flange of 150 cooled by 274; Figure 1,2A-Applicant’s 200; Figure 3,4) to connect a remote plasma source (RPS) (162; Figure 1) to a semiconductor manufacturing processing chamber (100; Figure 1), the cooling flange (flange of 150 cooled by 274; Figure 1,2A-Applicant’s 200; Figure 3,4) comprising: a flange body (150; Figure 1,2A-Applicant’s 210; Figure 3-4) with an inlet face (top of 150; Figure 2A) and an outlet face (bottom of 150; Figure 2A) defining a length of the cooling flange (flange of 150 cooled by 274; Figure 1,2A-Applicant’s 200; Figure 3,4), an inlet flange (inlet flange at 274; Figure 2A) on an inlet end of the flange body (150; Figure 1,2A-Applicant’s 210; Figure 3-4), the inlet flange (inlet flange at 274; Figure 2A) including the inlet face (top of 150; Figure 2A) and having an inlet flange (inlet flange at 274; Figure 2A) thickness, an outlet flange (outlet flange at 150/202 interface; Figure 2A) on an outlet end of the flange body (150; Figure 1,2A-Applicant’s 210; Figure 3-4), the outlet flange (outlet flange at 150/202 interface; Figure 2A) including the outlet face (bottom of 150; Figure 2A) and having an outlet flange (outlet flange at 150/202 interface; Figure 2A) thickness; a gas channel (152; Figure 2A) extending through the length of the flange body (150; Figure 1,2A-Applicant’s 210; Figure 3-4), the gas channel (152; Figure 2A) having an inlet opening in the inlet face (top of 150; Figure 2A) of the flange body (150; Figure 1,2A-Applicant’s 210; Figure 3-4) and an outlet opening in the outlet face (bottom of 150; Figure 2A) of the flange body (150; Figure 1,2A-Applicant’s 210; Figure 3-4), the gas channel (152; Figure 2A) having an inlet funnel (inlet funnel above 270; Figure 2A), a middle tube (270; Figure 2A) and an outlet funnel (outlet funnel below 270; Figure 2A), the middle tube (270; Figure 2A) connecting the inlet funnel (inlet funnel above 270; Figure 2A) with the outlet funnel (outlet funnel below 270; Figure 2A); and a purge gas inlet (gas inlet opening in 152 from 146; Figure 2A; [0024]-Applicant’s 280; Figure 4) opening (gas inlet opening in 152 from 146; Figure 2A; [0024]-Applicant’s 280; Figure 4) in a side of the flange body (150; Figure 1,2A-Applicant’s 210; Figure 3-4) along the length of the flange body (150; Figure 1,2A-Applicant’s 210; Figure 3-4) between the inlet flange (inlet flange at 274; Figure 2A) and the outlet flange (outlet flange at 150/202 interface; Figure 2A), the purge gas inlet (gas inlet opening in 152 from 146; Figure 2A; [0024]-Applicant’s 280; Figure 4) opening (gas inlet opening in 152 from 146; Figure 2A; [0024]-Applicant’s 280; Figure 4) in fluid communication with the middle tube (270; Figure 2A) of the gas channel (152; Figure 2A), as claimed by claim 14
A semiconductor manufacturing processing chamber (100; Figure 1) comprising: a chamber lid (202; Figure 1,2A) comprising a gas inlet (212; Figure 1,2A), the gas inlet (212; Figure 1,2A) having an inlet opening in a top face of the chamber lid (202; Figure 1,2A); a remote plasma source (RPS) (162; Figure 1) above the chamber lid (202; Figure 1,2A); and a cooling flange (flange of 150 cooled by 274; Figure 1,2A-Applicant’s 200; Figure 3,4) connecting the remote plasma source (RPS) (162; Figure 1) to the chamber lid (202; Figure 1,2A), the cooling flange (flange of 150 cooled by 274; Figure 1,2A-Applicant’s 200; Figure 3,4) comprising: a flange body (150; Figure 1,2A-Applicant’s 210; Figure 3-4) with an inlet face (top of 150; Figure 2A) and an outlet face (bottom of 150; Figure 2A) defining a length of the cooling flange (flange of 150 cooled by 274; Figure 1,2A-Applicant’s 200; Figure 3,4), an inlet flange (inlet flange at 274; Figure 2A) on an inlet end of the flange body (150; Figure 1,2A-Applicant’s 210; Figure 3-4), the inlet flange (inlet flange at 274; Figure 2A) including the inlet face (top of 150; Figure 2A) and having an inlet flange (inlet flange at 274; Figure 2A) thickness, an outlet flange (outlet flange at 150/202 interface; Figure 2A) on an outlet end of the flange body (150; Figure 1,2A-Applicant’s 210; Figure 3-4), the outlet flange (outlet flange at 150/202 interface; Figure 2A) including the outlet face (bottom of 150; Figure 2A) and having an outlet flange (outlet flange at 150/202 interface; Figure 2A) thickness, a gas channel (152; Figure 2A) extending through the length of the flange body (150; Figure 1,2A-Applicant’s 210; Figure 3-4), the gas channel (152; Figure 2A) having an inlet opening in the inlet face (top of 150; Figure 2A) of the flange body (150; Figure 1,2A-Applicant’s 210; Figure 3-4) and an outlet opening in the outlet face (bottom of 150; Figure 2A) of the flange body (150; Figure 1,2A-Applicant’s 210; Figure 3-4), and a purge gas inlet (gas inlet opening in 152 from 146; Figure 2A; [0024]-Applicant’s 280; Figure 4) opening (gas inlet opening in 152 from 146; Figure 2A; [0024]-Applicant’s 280; Figure 4) in a side of the flange body (150; Figure 1,2A-Applicant’s 210; Figure 3-4) along the length of the flange body (150; Figure 1,2A-Applicant’s 210; Figure 3-4) between the inlet flange (inlet flange at 274; Figure 2A) and the outlet flange (outlet flange at 150/202 interface; Figure 2A), the purge gas inlet (gas inlet opening in 152 from 146; Figure 2A; [0024]-Applicant’s 280; Figure 4) opening (gas inlet opening in 152 from 146; Figure 2A; [0024]-Applicant’s 280; Figure 4) in fluid communication with the gas channel (152; Figure 2A), wherein the gas channel (152; Figure 2A) of the cooling flange (flange of 150 cooled by 274; Figure 1,2A-Applicant’s 200; Figure 3,4) is in fluid communication with the remote plasma source (RPS) (162; Figure 1) and the gas inlet (212; Figure 1,2A) of the chamber lid (202; Figure 1,2A), as claimed by claim 20
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 7-9, 15, 17, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dhanakshirur; Akshay et al. (US 20220064797 A1) in view of Choi, Soo Young et al. (US 20050251990 A1). Dhanakshirur is discussed above. However, Dhanakshirur does not teach any dimensional features of Dhanakshirur’s flange body (150; Figure 1,2A-Applicant’s 210; Figure 3-4). As a result, Dhanakshirur does not teach:
The cooling flange (flange of 150 cooled by 274; Figure 1,2A-Applicant’s 200; Figure 3,4) of claim 1, wherein the length of the flange body (150; Figure 1,2A-Applicant’s 210; Figure 3-4) is greater than or equal to 2 inches and less than or equal to 15 inches, as claimed by claim 3
The cooling flange (flange of 150 cooled by 274; Figure 1,2A-Applicant’s 200; Figure 3,4) of claim 4, wherein the middle tube (270; Figure 2A) has a diameter in the range of 0.2 inches to 0.5 inches, as claimed by claim 7
The cooling flange (flange of 150 cooled by 274; Figure 1,2A-Applicant’s 200; Figure 3,4) of claim 4, wherein the outlet funnel (outlet funnel below 270; Figure 2A) has an outlet angle in the range of 30º to 70º, as claimed by claim 8
The cooling flange (flange of 150 cooled by 274; Figure 1,2A-Applicant’s 200; Figure 3,4) of claim 8, wherein the outlet funnel (outlet funnel below 270; Figure 2A) has a maximum diameter at the outlet face (bottom of 150; Figure 2A) in the range of 0.5 inches to 2 inches, as claimed by claim 9
The cooling flange (flange of 150 cooled by 274; Figure 1,2A-Applicant’s 200; Figure 3,4) of claim 14, wherein the length of the flange body (150; Figure 1,2A-Applicant’s 210; Figure 3-4) is greater than or equal to 2 inches and less than or equal to 15 inches, as claimed by claim 15
The cooling flange (flange of 150 cooled by 274; Figure 1,2A-Applicant’s 200; Figure 3,4) of claim 14, wherein the middle tube (270; Figure 2A) has a diameter in the range of 0.2 inches to 0.5 inches, as claimed by claim 17
The cooling flange (flange of 150 cooled by 274; Figure 1,2A-Applicant’s 200; Figure 3,4) of claim 14, wherein the outlet funnel (outlet funnel below 270; Figure 2A) has an outlet angle in the range of 30° to 70°, and a maximum diameter at the outlet face (bottom of 150; Figure 2A) in the range of 0.5 inches to 2 inches, as claimed by claim 18
Choi also teaches a flange body (218; Figure 2,3-Applicant’s 210; Figure 3-4) with optimized conduit diameters, lengths, and outlet angles.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Dhanakshirur to optimize Dhanakshirur’s conduit diameters, lengths, and outlet angles.
Motivation for Dhanakshirur to optimize Dhanakshirur’s conduit diameters, lengths, and outlet angles is at least for improving “plasma uniformity and process uniformity” as taught by Choi ([0099]).
Claims 5, 6, 11, 13, 16, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dhanakshirur; Akshay et al. (US 20220064797 A1) in view of Chen; Ling et al. (US 7204886 B2). Dhanakshirur is discussed above. However, Dhanakshirur does not teach any dimensional features of Dhanakshirur’s inlet (gas inlet opening in 152 from 146; Figure 2A; [0024]-Applicant’s 280; Figure 4). As a result, Dhanakshirur does not teach:
The cooling flange (flange of 150 cooled by 274; Figure 1,2A-Applicant’s 200; Figure 3,4) of claim 4, wherein the inlet funnel (inlet funnel above 270; Figure 2A) has an inlet angle in the range of 15º to 55º, as claimed by claim 5
The cooling flange (flange of 150 cooled by 274; Figure 1,2A-Applicant’s 200; Figure 3,4) of claim 5, wherein the inlet funnel (inlet funnel above 270; Figure 2A) has a maximum diameter at the inlet face (top of 150; Figure 2A) in the range of 1 inch to 3 inches, as claimed by claim 6
The cooling flange (flange of 150 cooled by 274; Figure 1,2A-Applicant’s 200; Figure 3,4) of claim 10, wherein the purge gas inlet (gas inlet opening in 152 from 146; Figure 2A; [0024]-Applicant’s 280; Figure 4) connects to the middle tube (270; Figure 2A) of the gas channel (152; Figure 2A) within 1 inch of the inlet funnel (inlet funnel above 270; Figure 2A), as claimed by claim 11
The cooling flange (flange of 150 cooled by 274; Figure 1,2A-Applicant’s 200; Figure 3,4) of claim 10, wherein the purge gas inlet (gas inlet opening in 152 from 146; Figure 2A; [0024]-Applicant’s 280; Figure 4) has a diameter in the range of 0.25 inches to 1.5 inches, as claimed by claim 13
The cooling flange (flange of 150 cooled by 274; Figure 1,2A-Applicant’s 200; Figure 3,4) of claim 14, wherein the inlet funnel (inlet funnel above 270; Figure 2A) has an inlet angle in the range of 15° to 55°, and a maximum diameter at the inlet face (top of 150; Figure 2A) in the range of 1 inch to 3 inches, as claimed by claim 16
The cooling flange (flange of 150 cooled by 274; Figure 1,2A-Applicant’s 200; Figure 3,4) of claim 14, wherein the purge gas inlet (gas inlet opening in 152 from 146; Figure 2A; [0024]-Applicant’s 280; Figure 4) connects to the middle tube (270; Figure 2A) of the gas channel (152; Figure 2A) within 1 inch of the inlet funnel (inlet funnel above 270; Figure 2A), as claimed by claim 19
Chen also teaches a remote plasma reactor system (column 5; lines 5-15) including a flange body (131; Figure 1,2) and length, diameter, and angularly optimized inlets (250A,B; Figure 2,3-Applicant’s 280; Figure 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Dhanakshirur to optimize Dhanakshirur’s inlet (gas inlet opening in 152 from 146; Figure 2A; [0024]-Applicant’s 280; Figure 4) dimensions.
Motivation for Dhanakshirur to optimize Dhanakshirur’s inlet (gas inlet opening in 152 from 146; Figure 2A; [0024]-Applicant’s 280; Figure 4) dimensions is for any of “reducing any unnecessary volume” (column 6; lines 30-42), flow velocity control (column 7; lines 1-5).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Remote plasma gas delivery along specialized conduits include US 6369493 B1; US 7476291 B2; US 20020023589 A1; US 6726803 B2; US 5332442 A; US 5950925 A; US 5453124 A; US 6387182 B1; US 10407771 B2
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Examiner Rudy Zervigon whose telephone number is (571) 272- 1442. The examiner can normally be reached on a Monday through Thursday schedule from 8am through 6pm EST. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Any Inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the Chemical and Materials Engineering art unit receptionist at (571) 272-1700. If the examiner cannot be reached please contact the examiner's supervisor, Parviz Hassanzadeh, at (571) 272- 1435.
/Rudy Zervigon/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716