DETAILED ACTION
This is a Final office action based on application 18/209,719 in response to reply filed November 25, 2025. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-9, 11-13, 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Durand (Pre-Grant Publication 2021/0050212).
Regarding claim 1, Durand discloses forming a low-k dielectric film comprising:
providing a treatment precursor to a processing region of a semiconductor processing chamber (Fig. 1, Claim 1), wherein a substrate is housed within the processing region, and wherein the substrate comprises a layer of a silicon-containing material (Paragraph [0015]);
forming inductively-coupled plasma effluents of the treatment precursor (Paragraph [0037]); and
contacting the layer of the silicon-containing material with the inductively- coupled plasma effluents of the treatment precursor to produce a treated layer of the silicon-containing material, wherein the contacting reduces a dielectric constant of the layer of the silicon-containing material (Claim 1 & Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 2, Durand further discloses:
the treatment precursor comprises one or more of diatomic nitrogen (N2), diatomic oxygen (02), ammonia (NH3), argon (Ar), helium (He), or diatomic hydrogen (H2) (Claim 4)
Regarding claim 3, Durand further discloses:
the silicon- containing material comprises a silicon-and-oxygen-containing material, a silicon-carbon-and- oxygen-containing material, or a silicon-carbon-oxygen-and-hydrogen-containing material (Claim 5).
Regarding claim 4, Durand further discloses:
the inductively-coupled plasma effluents of the treatment precursor are formed at a plasma power of greater than or about 2,000 W (Claim 8 & 9).
Regarding claim 5, Durand further discloses:
the treated layer of the silicon-containing material is characterized by a dielectric constant of less than or about 2.9 (Claim 2).
Regarding claim 8, Durand further discloses:
a pressure within the processing region is maintained at less than or about 50 Torr (Claim 1).
Regarding claim 9, Durand further discloses:
a temperature within the processing region is maintained at greater than or about 150 °C (Claim 1)
Regarding claim 11, Durand discloses forming a low-k dielectric film comprising:
providing a treatment precursor to a processing region of a semiconductor processing chamber (Fig. 1, Claim 1), wherein a substrate is housed within the processing region, and wherein the substrate comprises a layer of a silicon-containing material (Paragraph [0015]);
forming inductively-coupled plasma effluents of the treatment precursor at a plasma power of greater than or about 2,000 W (Paragraph [0037]) & Claim 8/9); and
contacting the layer of the silicon-containing material with the inductively- coupled plasma effluents of the treatment precursor to produce a treated layer of the silicon- containing material, wherein the contacting increases/improves one or more mechanical properties of the layer of the silicon-containing material (Claim 1 & Paragraph [0042]).
Regarding claim 12, Durand further discloses:
the silicon- containing material comprises a silicon-and-oxygen-containing material, a silicon-carbon-and- oxygen-containing material, or a silicon-carbon-oxygen-and-hydrogen-containing material (Claim 5).
Regarding claim 13, Durand further discloses:
the one or more mechanical properties comprise hardness, Young's modulus, dielectric constant, or porosity (Paragraph [0042]).
Regarding claim 16, Durand further discloses:
the cured layer of the silicon-containing material is characterized by a dielectric constant of less than or about 2.85 (Claim 2).
Regarding claim 17, Durand further discloses:
the cured layer of the silicon-containing material is characterized by a hardness of greater than or about 3 GPa (Paragraph [0042]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Durand (Pre-Grant Publication 2021/0050212) in view of Wu (Pre-Grant Publication 2010/0151206).
Regarding claim 7, Durand disclose all of the limitations of claim 1 (addressed above). Durand does not disclose contacting the layer of the silicon-containing material with the inductively-coupled plasma effluents of the treatment precursor reduces a carbon content in the layer of the silicon-containing material. However Wu discloses remove carbon from an organosilicate material comprising:
Forming an organosilicate film from a precursor using inductively coupled plasma that comprises carbon species (Paragraph [0023] & Claim 1) and treating the organosilicate to remove at least a portion of the carbon content (abstract & Claim 1).
It would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to remove/reduce carbon content in the film because it will improve an mechanical properties in the film such as dielectric constant, mechanical strength, etc (Paragraph [0002]).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Durand (Pre-Grant Publication 2021/0050212) in view of Munro (Pre-Grant Publication 2008/0026597).
Regarding claim 10, Durand disclose all of the limitations of claim 1 (addressed above). Durand does not disclose exposing the treated layer of the silicon-containing material to ultraviolet light to produce a cured layer of the silicon-containing material. However Munro discloses deposited a low-k film comprising:
Forming a silicon oxide layer on a substrate using an silicon and oxygen precursor wherein an first anneal step comprising exposing the oxide layer to ultraviolet light to cured the layer (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0031]).
It would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to expose the treated layer to ultraviolet light to cure the layer because it will serve to increase the hardness of the film (Paragraph [0031]).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Durand (Pre-Grant Publication 2021/0050212) in view of Manna (Pre-Grant Publication 2015/0196933).
Regarding claim 14, Durand disclose all of the limitations of claim 11 (addressed above). Durand does not disclose the treated layer of the silicon-containing material is characterized by a second thickness less than a first thickness of the layer of the silicon-containing material. However Manna discloses forming a low-k dielectric comprising:
Forming a silicon-containing layer from a deposition precursor within a processing chamber and curing the film wherein the film can be deposited to a desired thickness (Claims 9 & 13), such that the thickness of the treated layer can be less than a thickness of the substrate.
It would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to form the film from process above because it will form a film having improved mechanical properties such as hardness and dielectric constant at a desired thickness (Paragraph [0003]).
Claims 6 & 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Durand (Pre-Grant Publication 2021/0050212) in view of Xie (Pre-Grant Publication 2022/0084815).
Regarding claim 6 & 15, Durand disclose all of the limitations of claim 11 (addressed above). Durand does not disclose the contacting increases Si-C-Si crosslinking in the layer of the silicon-containing material, and wherein the treated layer of the silicon-containing material is characterized by Si-C-Si crosslinking of greater than or about 0.4% or exposing the treated layer of the silicon-containing material to ultraviolet light to produce a cured layer of the silicon-containing material, wherein the exposing reduces a methyl concentration in the layer of the treated layer of the silicon-containing material, and wherein the cured layer of the silicon-containing material is characterized by a methyl concentration of less than or about 4.5%. However Xie discloses depositing a low-k dielectric comprising:
Depositing a film by flowing precursor on to a substrate in a processing chamber by generating a plasma wherein the film can have a reduced methyl concentration of less than or about 4.5% (Paragraph [0049]) & the film can have a Si-C-Si crosslinking of greater than 0.24% or more (Paragraph [0050]).
It would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to form the deposited layer having a reduced methyl concentration of less than or about 4.5% & having a Si-C-Si crosslinking of greater than 0.24% or more because it will serve to decrease the dielectric constant and increase the mechanical stability of the low-k film to a desired level (Paragraph [0049 & 0050]).
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Durand (Pre-Grant Publication 2021/0050212) in view of Munro (Pre-Grant Publication 2008/0026597).
Regarding claim 18- 20, Durand discloses forming a low-k dielectric film comprising:
providing a treatment precursor such as helium to a processing region of a semiconductor processing chamber (Fig. 1, Claim 1 & Claim 4), wherein a substrate is housed within the processing region, and wherein the substrate comprises a layer of a silicon-containing material (Paragraph [0015]);
forming inductively-coupled plasma effluents of the treatment precursor (Paragraph [0037]); and
contacting the layer of the silicon-containing material with the inductively- coupled plasma effluents of the treatment precursor to produce a treated layer of the silicon-containing material (Claim 1 & Fig. 1).
Forming the layer having a hardness of greater than or about 2 GPa (Paragraph [0042]).
Durand does not disclose exposing the treated layer of the silicon-containing material to ultraviolet light to produce a cured layer of the silicon-containing material. However Munro discloses deposited a low-k film comprising:
Forming a silicon oxide layer on a substrate using an silicon and oxygen precursor wherein an first anneal step comprising exposing the oxide layer to ultraviolet light to cured the layer and increase the hardness of the layer (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0031]).
It would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to expose the treated layer to ultraviolet light to cure the layer because it will serve to increase the hardness of the film (Paragraph [0031]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed November 25, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argument of the applied prior art Durand not relating to any post-deposition treatment is not considered persuasive because the silicon-containing substrate of Durand alone meets the claimed limitations of “wherein the substrate comprises a layer of a silicon-containing material” wherein the substrate undergoes post-treatment after being placed within a processing region. Further Durand discloses the substrate may also have an underlayer formed on the substrate wherein a film/layer has been deposited on the substrate (Paragraph [0015]). Therefore the substrate or the underlayer formed on the substrate would undergo post-deposition/post-formation treatment using an inductively coupled plasma process using a precursor (Paragraph [0037]) to form a low-k dielectric film.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRANDON C FOX/Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/DAVID VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818