DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 1/12/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 8, 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Korzhova (“Motion Analysis of Fluid Flow in a Spinning Disk Reactor,” Scholar Commons, USF Graduate Theses and Dissertations, 2009).
Claims 1, 2 and 8: Korzhova teaches a method for controlling one or more operation parameters of a spinning disk reactor process (i.e. claimed spin-on process) used to dispense a liquid film over a silicon wafer (i.e. claimed semiconductor substrate) (Abst.; p. 1), comprising the steps of: dispensing the processing liquid onto an upper surface of the semiconductor substrate while the substrate is rotated at a predetermined speed, wherein the liquid is dispensed at a predetermined flow rate and flows in a radial direction toward the edge of the substrate (Abst.; p. 37); inducing spiral waves (i.e. claimed perturbation) within the processing liquid, the waves flowing along the liquid at an unknown velocity (pp. 39-43); tracking movement of the spiral waves over time as the waves flow outward (pp. 39-43); utilizing the tracked movement to determine local fluid velocity at one or more radial positions (pp. 55-56) and controlling the predetermined rotation speed at which the substrate is rotated (i.e. claimed one or more operational parameters) based on the localized fluid velocity (pp. 8, 55-56).
Claims 10-11: Korzhova teaches using a video camera (i.e. a camera which obtains a plurality of images on the surface over time) to track the spiral waves as they flow outward (p. 24); analyzing the video to determine radial positions of the waves; comparing the radial positions to baseline positions of subsequent waves; and determining localized fluid velocity based on this data (p. 24, e.g.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korzhova in light of Bright et al. (US 2017/0332179).
Claims 3 and 9: Korzhova fails to teach using a localized thermal change or sound to generate the waves. However, Bright teaches a process of generating waves in a fluid and explains that suitable mechanisms for generating the wave are sound and localized temperature change (¶ 0091). Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is prima facie obvious. MPEP § 2143. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have utilized a localized thermal change or sound to generate waves in the fluid of Korzhova with the predictable expectation of success.
Claims 4 and 5: Korzhova, as modified by Bright, does not discuss the time of generating the waves. However, claims 4 and 5 represent the only two options available (i.e. before or after dispensing the fluid). It is prima facie obvious to choose from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. MPEP § 2143. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have selected generating the waves either before or after the fluid is dispensed with the predictable expectation of success.
Claims 6 and 7: Korzhova teaches using a video camera (i.e. a camera which obtains a plurality of images on the surface over time) to track the spiral waves as they flow outward (p. 24); analyzing the video to determine radial positions of the waves; comparing the radial positions to baseline positions of subsequent waves; and determining localized fluid velocity based on this data (p. 24, e.g.).
Conclusion
/ROBERT A VETERE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712