DETAILED ACTION
This OA is in response to the amendment filled on 1/26/2026 that has been entered, wherein claims 1-20 are pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Korea on 9/27/2022. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the 10-2022-0122077 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The objection to the specification is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendment of 1/26/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 USC 112 is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendment of 1/26/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8-12 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yuan et al. (US 2020/0312886 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yuan teaches a display device(Fig. 15) comprising:
a display panel(Fig. 12), in which a display region(100) and a non-display region(200, Fig. 12) are defined, wherein the display panel(Fig. 12) includes a base layer(10) including a front surface and a rear surface opposing the front surface, a circuit layer(30, ¶0043) including pixel circuits(31, ¶0043) disposed on the front surface, wherein each pixel circuit(31, ¶0043) includes semiconductor patterns(31c, ¶0047) and conductive patterns(31g, ¶0047) , a light emitting device layer(50, ¶0057) including light emitting devices(51, ¶0057) connected to corresponding pixel circuits(31, ¶0043) of the pixel circuits(31, ¶0043), and display pads(41, ¶0044) connected to the corresponding pixel circuits(31, ¶0043) and exposed to the rear surface of the base layer(10) and disposed in a display pad region on the rear surface of the base layer(10) overlapping the display region(100); and
a circuit board(FPC, ¶0090) disposed on the rear surface of the base layer(10) overlapping the display region(100) and bonded to the rear surface at the display pad region and including substrate pads(42, ¶0090) connected to the display pads(41, ¶0044) , wherein the display pads(41, ¶0044) and the substrate pads(42, ¶0090) are bonded to each other on the rear surface,
wherein a first display pad(please see examiner annotated Fig. 2) and a second display pad(please see examiner annotated Fig. 2), which are adjacent to each other, of the display pads(41, ¶0044) overlap corresponding semiconductor patterns(31c, ¶0047) of the semiconductor patterns(31c, ¶0047) and corresponding conductive patterns(31g, ¶0047) of the conductive patterns(31g, ¶0047) with a substantially same overlapping region as each other(there is no evidence that the first and second display pads are not substantially same as each other).
Regarding claim 8, Yuan teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the first display pad((please see examiner annotated Fig. 2) and the second display pad(please see examiner annotated Fig. 2) defines a pad group(B, Fig. 2, ¶0050), and wherein the pad group(B, Fig. 2, ¶0050) is provided in plural(¶0050), and a plurality of pad groups(B, Fig. 2, ¶0050) is spaced apart from each other in one direction(¶0050).
Regarding claim 9, Yuan teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the first display pad((please see examiner annotated Fig. 2) and the second display pad(please see examiner annotated Fig. 2) have a same area as each other(please see examiner annotated Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 10, Yuan teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the first display pad((please see examiner annotated Fig. 2) and the second display pad(please see examiner annotated Fig. 2) have a same shape as each other(please see examiner annotated Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 11, Yuan teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the circuit layer(30, ¶0043) includes a plurality of insulating layers(unlabeled gate insulating layer and interlayer layers between 31c, 31g and 51 in Fig. 15) , and wherein the semiconductor patterns(31c, ¶0047) and the conductive patterns(31g, ¶0047) are interposed between the insulating layers(unlabeled gate insulating layer and interlayer layers between 31c, 31g and 51 in Fig. 15).
Regarding claim 12, Yuan teaches the display device of claim 1, further comprising: a lower film(60, ¶0090) interposed between the display panel(Fig. 12) and the circuit board(FPC, ¶0090), wherein a portion of the circuit board(FPC, ¶0090) is disposed on a rear surface of the lower film(60, ¶0090).
Regarding claim 17, Yuan teaches a display device(Fig. 15) comprising:
a base layer(10) including a front surface, on which a display region(100) and a non- display region(100) are defined, and a rear surface opposing the front surface;
a pixel(31, 21, 51) disposed on the front surface of the base layer(10), where the pixel(31, 21, 51) includes a pixel circuit(31, ¶0043) including semiconductor patterns(31c, ¶0047) and conductive patterns(21, ¶0047) and a light emitting device(51, ¶0057) connected to the pixel circuit(31, ¶0043);
a display pad(41, ¶0044) connected to the pixel circuit(31, ¶0043) and exposed to the rear surface of the base layer(10) overlapping the display region(100) and disposed in a display pad region on the rear surface of the base layer(10); and
a circuit board(FPC, ¶0090) facing the rear surface of the base layer(10) overlapping the display region(100) and bonded to the rear surface at the display pad region and including substrate pads(42, ¶0090), wherein the display pad(41, ¶0044) is provided in plural,
wherein each of the substrate pads(42, ¶0090) is connected to a corresponding display pad(41, ¶0044) of display pads(41, ¶0044) and the display pads(41, ¶0044) and the substrate pads(42, ¶0090) are bonded to each other on the rear surface,
wherein a first display pad(please see examiner annotated Fig. 2) and a second display pad(please see examiner annotated Fig. 2), which are adjacent to each other, of the display pads(41, ¶0044) overlap the pixel circuit(31, ¶0043) with a substantially same overlapping area as each other(there is no evidence that the first and second display pads are not substantially same as each other).
Regarding claim 18, Yuan teaches the display device of claim 17, wherein the pixel(31, 21, 51) includes:
each of at least one transistor(31, ¶0047) including an active pattern(31c, ¶0047), which is defined by a portion of the semiconductor patterns(31c, ¶0047) , and a gate(31g, ¶0047) overlapping the active pattern(31c, ¶0047), and
wherein the at least one transistor(31, ¶0047) is connected to the light emitting device(51, ¶0057).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan et al. (US 2020/0312886 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Yuan teaches the display device of claim 1.
Yuan does not explicitly state regions, in which the first display pad(please see examiner annotated Fig. 2) overlaps the pixel circuits(31, ¶0043), are symmetrical with regions, in which the second display pad(please see examiner annotated Fig. 2) overlaps the pixel circuits(31, ¶0043). However the use of symmetry is a well-known design choice. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make regions, in which the first display pad overlaps the pixel circuits, are symmetrical with regions, in which the second display pad overlaps the pixel circuits, in order to make the first and second display pad aesthetically pleasing.
Regarding claim 20, Yuan teaches the display device of claim 17.
Yuan does not explicitly state regions, in which the first display pad(please see examiner annotated Fig. 2) overlaps the pixel circuit, are symmetrical with regions in which the second display pad(please see examiner annotated Fig. 2) overlaps the pixel circuit. However the use of symmetry is a well-known design choice. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make regions, in which the first display pad overlaps the pixel circuits, are symmetrical with regions, in which the second display pad overlaps the pixel circuits, in order to make the first and second display pad aesthetically pleasing.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan et al. (US 2020/0312886 A1) in view of Kim et al. (US 2022/0093649 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Yuan teaches the display device of claim 1, but is not relied on to teach the display pads(41, ¶0044) and the substrate pads(42, ¶0090) are connected to each other through an anisotropic conductive film.
Kim teaches a display device(Fig. 3A) wherein the display pads(PAD, ¶0104) and the substrate pads(30, ¶0104) are connected to each other through an anisotropic conductive film(ACF, ¶0104). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yuan, so that the display pads and the substrate pads are connected to each other through an anisotropic conductive film, as taught by Kim, in order for the display pads to physically and electrically connected to the substrate pads(¶0104).
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan et al. (US 2020/0312886 A1) in view of Yim et al. (US 2022/019958 A1) of record.
Regarding claim 14, Yuan teaches the display device of claim 1, but is not relied on to teach an input sensor directly disposed on the display panel(Fig. 12), and including at least one conductive layer and at least one sensing insulating layer.
Yim teaches an display device(Fig. 5) comprising an input sensor(ISP, ¶0130) directly disposed on the display panel(DP-OLED, ¶0109), and including at least one conductive layer(first and second conductive layer, not shown, ¶0127) and at least one sensing insulating layer(SIL, ¶0127). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yuan to include an input sensor directly disposed on the display panel, and including at least one conductive layer and at least one sensing insulating layer, as taught by Yim, so that the display device can sense an external input and/or an external pressure(¶0060).
Regarding claim 15, Yuan teaches the display device of claim 14, but is not relied on to teach an anti-reflective layer disposed on the input sensor.
Yim teaches an display device(Fig. 5) comprising an anti-reflective layer(RPL, ¶0084) disposed on the input sensor(ISP, ¶0130). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yuan, to include an anti-reflective layer disposed on the input sensor, as taught by Yim, in order to reduce a reflectance of external light incident thereto from above the window(¶0083).
Regarding claim 16, Yuan teaches the display device of claim 15, but is not relied on to teach a window disposed on the anti-reflective layer, wherein the window includes a base substrate, and a bezel pattern disposed on a bottom surface of the base substrate and overlapping the non-display region(200, Fig. 12).
Yim teaches an display device(Fig. 5) comprising a window(WM, ¶0059) disposed on the anti-reflective layer(RPL, ¶0084), wherein the window(WM, ¶0078) includes a base substrate(¶0059), and a bezel pattern(SHP_a, ¶0078) disposed on a bottom surface of the base substrate and overlapping the non-display region(TA, ¶0078). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yuan, to include a window disposed on the anti-reflective layer, wherein the window includes a base substrate, and a bezel pattern disposed on a bottom surface of the base substrate and overlapping the non-display region, as taught by Yim, in order to prevent the edge of the electronic optical module from being perceived by a user(¶0079).
control
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan et al. (US 2020/0312886 A1) in view of Chen et al. (US 2022/0121072 A1) of record.
Regarding claim 19, Yuan teaches the display device of claim 18, further comprising: a signal line(21, ¶0047) connected to the pixel(31, 21, 51) and defined by a portion of the conductive patterns(21, ¶0047), wherein the signal line(21, ¶0047) includes data lines(data lines, ¶0047), and a power line(21, ¶0047).
Yuan is not relied on to teach the signal line(21, ¶0047) include scan lines, light emitting lines and control lines.
Chen teaches a display device(Fig. 3) wherein the signal line includes scan lines(111, ¶0076), light emitting lines(¶0079) and control lines(110, ¶0080). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lee, so that the signal line includes include scan lines, light emitting lines and control lines(, as taught by Chen, in order to turn on the TFT and pixel electrode(¶0077) and to transmit light emitting control signals(¶0079).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-7 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Please see the OA dated 11/4/2025 for reasons for indicating allowable subject matter.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAURA M DYKES/Examiner, Art Unit 2892
/NORMAN D RICHARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2892