Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A in the reply filed on 10/22/25 is acknowledged.
Claims 14-24 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/22/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (US Patent 7,297,609).
Claim 1: Kim teaches (Fig. 2A) a method, comprising: forming a front side oxide layer (201) and a back side oxide layer (201) on a first substrate (200); depositing a front side nitride layer (207) on the front side oxide layer and a back side nitride layer (207 )on the back side nitride layer; forming an enhancing layer (204) on the back side nitride layer; and performing a process sequence to fabricate a circuitry structure on the front side nitride layer (Fig. 2C-2D). The claim does not specific what the circuitry structure is. Kim teaches isolation structures to isolate the active regions of the device. These isolation structures can be considered a “circuitry structure” or the fact that there are active regions in the device implies more active circuitry structures such as transistors and their associated interconnections. Additionally, subsequent copper formation indicates the addition of circuitry structures being added to the device.
Claim 10: Kim teaches a method for modulating warpage, comprising: providing a first substrate (200) , wherein the first substrate has a front surface and a back surface; depositing a back side film stack (201, 207, 204)on the back surface to create a positive warpage profile in the first substrate; and bonding the front surface of the first substrate to a second substrate or electrical connectors. Kim teaches the addition of active regions and copper line formation which implies electrical connections.
Claim 11: Kim teaches (Fig. 2A-2E) depositing the back side film stack comprises: forming a front side oxide layer (201) and a back side oxide layer (201)on the first substrate; depositing a front side nitride layer (207) on the front side oxide layer and a back side nitride layer (207) on the back side nitride layer; and forming a front side enhancing layer (2) over the front side nitride layer and a back side enhancing layer (204) on the back side nitride layer.
Claim 12: Kim teaches (Fig. 2E-2F) removing the front side enhancing layer.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Terahara (US PGPub 2009/0197355).
Claim 1: Terahara teaches a method, comprising: forming a front side oxide layer (2a) and a back side oxide layer (2b) on a first substrate (1); depositing a front side nitride layer (3a) on the front side oxide layer and a back side nitride layer (3b) on the back side nitride layer; forming an enhancing layer (4b) on the back side nitride layer; and performing a process sequence to fabricate a circuitry structure on the front side nitride layer [0055].
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kubota et al. (US PGPub 2025/0198049).
Claim 10: Kubota teaches a method for modulating warpage, comprising: providing a first substrate (3) , wherein the first substrate has a front surface and a back surface; depositing a back side film stack [0060] on the back surface to create a positive warpage profile in the first substrate; and bonding the front surface of the first substrate to a second substrate (20) or electrical connectors.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US Patent 7,297,609)
Claim 13: Kim teaches forming a plurality of contact openings through the front side enhancing layer, the front side nitride layer and the front side oxide layer; and forming a plurality of electrical connectors in the plurality of contact openings. The formation of contact openings and subsequent electrical connectors is common in the semiconductor art and therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would know how to manufacture contact openings and electrical connectors within or connected to a substrate through a passivation film on the substrate.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art of record does not teach bonding a second substrate with the enhancing layer still on and exposed on the backside. The bonding of substrates via passivation/enhancing layers on the same side of the circuitry, but does not show the enhancing layer on the backside during the process. Claims 3-4 depend on claim 2. The prior art of record do not teach the details regarding the enhancing ad etch stop layers details in claims 5-7. Claims 8-9 depend on claims 5 and 6. The prior art of record does not teach the enhancing film.
Conclusion
/SARAH K SALERNO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2814