DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention 1, Species 1A in the reply filed on 12/02/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 15-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention and Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/02/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/21/2023 was filed after the mailing date of the application on 06/21/2023. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al, US 20220085260 A1 (Lee ‘260).
Regarding claim 1; Lee ‘260 teaches a display device comprising: First (ELT1), second (ELT3), third (ELT4), and fourth (ELT2) alignment electrodes sequentially arranged while being spaced from each other along a first direction (X) in a first emission area (PXL); a bank on the first (ELT1), second (ELT3), third (ELT4), and fourth (ELT2) alignment electrodes, the bank comprising first (see annotated Fig (8) of Lee ‘260 shared in this OA for convenience) and second (see annotated Fig (8) of Lee ‘260 shared in this OA) horizontal extension parts extending in the first direction (X) and first (BNK1), second (BNK2), and third (BNK3) vertical extension parts extending in a second direction (Z) crossing the first direction (X), the bank partitioning the first emission area (First Emission Area – see annotated Fig (8) of Lee ‘260) and a second emission area (Second Emission Area – see annotated Fig (8) of Lee ‘260); first light emitting (LD1) elements overlapping with the first alignment electrode (ELT1) and the second alignment electrode (ELT3); second light emitting elements (LD2) overlapping with the second alignment electrode (ELT3) and the third alignment electrode (ELT4); and third light emitting elements (LD3) overlapping with the third alignment electrode (ELT4) and the fourth alignment electrode (ELT2), wherein the first alignment electrode (ELT1) overlaps with the first vertical extension part (BNK1) and the first emission area (First Emission Area – see annotated Fig (8) of Lee ‘260), and wherein the fourth alignment electrode (ELT2) overlaps with the first emission area (First Emission Area – see annotated Fig (8) of Lee ‘260), the second emission area (Second Emission Area – see annotated Fig (8) of Lee ‘260), and the second vertical extension part (BNK2).
Regarding claim 2; Lee ‘260 teaches wherein, when the first (LD1), second (LD2), and third (LD3) light emitting elements are aligned, the first alignment electrode (ELT1) and the third (ELT4) alignment electrode are configured to receive a first alignment signal, and the second alignment electrode (ELT3) and the fourth alignment electrode (ELT2) are configured to receive a second alignment signal (see paragraph [0179] of the specification of Lee ‘260: “[0179] The first and second electrodes ELT1 and ELT2 may receive a first alignment signal (or a first alignment voltage) and a second alignment signal (or a second alignment voltage), respectively, in an alignment step of the light emitting elements LD.").
Regarding claim 3; Lee ‘260 teaches wherein the first alignment signal is different from the second alignment signal (see paragraph [0179] of the specification of Lee ‘260: “[0179] The first and second electrodes ELT1 and ELT2 may receive a first alignment signal (or a first alignment voltage) and a second alignment signal (or a second alignment voltage), respectively, in an alignment step of the light emitting elements LD."), and wherein a planar shape of the first alignment electrode (ELT1) is identical to a planar shape of the fourth alignment electrode (ELT2).
Regarding claim 6; Lee ‘260 teaches further comprising a first pixel electrode (ELT1), a first connection electrode (CNE1), a second connection electrode (CNE2), and a second pixel electrode (ELT4), in each of the first emission area (First Emission Area – see annotated Fig (8) of Lee ‘260) and the second emission area (Second Emission Area – see annotated Fig (8) of Lee ‘260), that are spaced from each other along the first direction.
Regarding claim 7; Lee ‘260 wherein the first light emitting elements (LD1) are connected in parallel between the first pixel electrode (ELT1) and the first connection electrode (CNE2), wherein the second light emitting elements (LD2) are connected in parallel between the first connection electrode (CNE2) and the second connection electrode (CNE3), and wherein the third light emitting elements (LD3) are connected in parallel between the second connection electrode (CNE3) and the second pixel electrode (ELT4).
Regarding claim 8; Lee ‘260 teaches wherein the first light emitting elements (LD1), the second light emitting elements (LD2), and the third light emitting elements (LD3) are connected in series.
Regarding claim 9; Lee ‘260 wherein the first pixel electrode (ELT1) overlaps with a portion of the first alignment electrode (ELT1), wherein the first connection electrode (CNE2) overlaps with a portion of the second alignment electrode (ELT3), wherein the second connection electrode (CNE3) overlaps with a portion of the third alignment electrode (ELT4), and wherein the second pixel electrode (ELT4) overlaps with a portion of the fourth alignment electrode (ELT2) (see Fig (7) of Lee ‘260).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al, US 20220085260 A1 (Lee ‘260) in view of Lee et al, US 20210391503 A1 (Lee ‘503).
Regarding claim 4; Lee ‘260 teaches all the limitations of claim 3.
However, Lee ‘260 does not teach wherein each of the first alignment electrode and the fourth alignment electrode comprises a first branch electrode and a second branch electrode extending in the second direction and overlapping with the bank
Lee ‘503 teaches wherein each of the first alignment electrode (EL1) and the fourth alignment electrode (EL3) comprises a first branch (branch extended along DR2) electrode and a second branch (branch extended along DR1) electrode extending in the second direction (DR2) and overlapping with the bank (BNK3). Lee ‘260 and Lee ‘503 are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify Lee ‘260 by making the first and fourth alignment electrodes branched as disclosed in Lee ‘503 to make establishing connections with the light emitting elements easier leading to a more efficient device production process.
Regarding claim 5; Lee ‘260 in view of Lee ‘503 teach all the limitations of claim 4.
However, Lee ‘260 does not teach wherein the first branch electrode and the second branch electrode respectively overlap with emission areas adjacent to each other.
Lee ‘503 teaches wherein the first branch electrode (the first branch of EL1) and the second branch electrode (Second branch of EL1) respectively overlap with emission areas adjacent to each other. Lee ‘260 and Lee ‘503 are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify Lee ‘260 by making the first and second branch electrodes overlap the light emission areas as disclosed in Lee ‘503 to make establishing connections with the light emitting elements easier leading to a more efficient device production process.
Regarding claim 13; Lee ‘260 teaches all the limitations of claim 2.
However, Lee ‘260 does not teach further comprising fifth, sixth, and seventh alignment electrodes sequentially arranged while being spaced from each other along the first direction in the second emission area, wherein the seventh alignment electrode overlaps with the second emission area and the third vertical extension part.
Lee ‘503 teaches further comprising fifth (EL5-_0), sixth (EL6_0), and seventh (EL8_0) alignment electrodes sequentially arranged while being spaced from each other along the first direction (DR1) in the second emission area, wherein the seventh alignment electrode (EL8_0) overlaps with the second emission area and the third vertical extension part (BNK) (see paragraph [0326] of the specification of Lee ‘260: “[0326] The fifth to eighth alignment electrodes EL5_0, EL6_0, EL7_0, and EL8_0 may extend in the second direction DR2 and may be disposed to be spaced apart from each other in the first direction DR1. The fifth to eighth alignment electrodes EL5_0, EL6_0, EL7_0, and EL8_0 may extend up to another pixel area. For example, the fifth to eighth alignment electrodes EL5_0, EL6_0, EL7_0, and EL8_0 may be disposed to intersect a second opening OP2 of the bank BNK in a plan view. The fifth to eighth alignment electrodes EL5_0, EL6_0, EL7_0, and EL8_0 may be disposed to intersect an open area OA in a plan view. The fifth to eighth alignment electrodes EL5_0, EL6_0, EL7_0, and EL8_0 may be electrodes before the first to eighth electrodes EL1_1, EL2_1, EL3_1, EL4_1, EL5, EL6, EL7, and EL8 described with reference to FIG. 15 (and FIG. 12) are separated from other electrodes (e.g., electrodes of an adjacent pixel)"). Lee ‘260 and Lee ‘503 are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify Lee ‘260 by making the fifth to seventh alignment electrodes separated in the first direction as disclosed in Lee ‘503 to avoid short circuits and cross talk between the different electrical signals carrying lines leading to a more reliable device.
Regarding claim 14; Lee ‘260 in view of Lee ‘503 teaches all the limitations of claim 13.
However, Lee ‘260 does not teach wherein, when the first, second, and third light emitting elements are aligned, the sixth alignment electrode is configured to receive the second alignment signal, and the fifth alignment electrode and the seventh alignment electrode are configured to receive the first alignment signal.
Lee ‘503 teaches wherein, when the first (LD1), second (LD2), and third (LD3) light emitting elements are aligned, the sixth alignment electrode (EL6_0) is configured to receive the second alignment signal, and the fifth alignment electrode (EL5_0) and the seventh alignment electrode (EL8_0) are configured to receive the first alignment signal (see paragraph [0331] of the specification of Lee ‘503: “"[0331] As described with reference to FIG. 17, the first voltage V1, the second voltage V2 (i.e., an intermediate electrode between the first voltage V1 and the third voltage V3), the third voltage V3, and the first voltage V1 are respectively applied to the fifth alignment electrode EL5_0, the sixth alignment electrode EL6_0, the seventh alignment electrode EL7_0, and the eighth alignment electrode EL8_0, so that the light emitting elements LD can be aligned in the series/parallel hybrid structure."). Lee ‘260 and Lee ‘503 are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to one having ordinary skill in the art, to modify Lee ‘260 by allocating second signal to the fifth alignment electrode and the first signal to the fifth and seventh alignment electrodes as disclosed in Lee ‘503 to make the alignment process of the light emitting elements easier leading to a more efficient device production process.
Claims 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al, US 20220085260 A1 (Lee ‘260) in further view of Park et al, US 20220181382 A1 (Park)
Regarding claim 10; Lee ‘260 teaches all the limitations of claim 9.
Further, Lee ‘260 teaches wherein the first pixel electrode (ELT1) is electrically connected to a transistor (T) thereunder through a first contact hole.
However, Lee ‘260 does not teach the first pixel electrode contacts the transistor at a portion not overlapping with the first alignment electrode.
Park teaches the first pixel electrode (EL1) contacts the transistor (M) at a portion not overlapping with the first alignment electrode (ALE1). Lee ‘260 and Park are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify Lee ‘260 by making the first pixel electrode contact the transistor in an area that does not overlap the first alignment electrode as disclosed in Park to minimize the risk of a short circuit or cross talk between the electrodes leading to a more reliable device.
Regarding claim 12; Lee ‘260 teaches all the limitations of claim 9.
However, Lee ‘260 does not teach wherein the first pixel electrode is insulated from the first alignment electrode, and wherein the second pixel electrode is insulated from the fourth alignment electrode.
Park teaches wherein the first pixel electrode (ELT1) is insulated from the first alignment electrode (ALE1), and wherein the second pixel electrode (ELT4) is insulated from the fourth alignment electrode (ALE4). Lee ‘260 and Park are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify Lee ‘260 by insulating the first pixel electrode from the first alignment electrode and the second pixel electrode from the fourth alignment electrode as disclosed in Park to lower the chances of shot circuits and cross talking between the electrodes leading to a more reliable device.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al, US 20220085260 A1 (Lee ‘260) in view of Lee et al, US 20220013509 A1 (Lee ‘509).
Regarding claim 11; Lee ‘260 teaches all of the limitations of claim 9.
However, Lee ‘260 does not teach wherein the second pixel electrode is electrically connected to a power line thereunder through a second contact hole at a portion not overlapping with the fourth alignment electrode.
Lee ‘509 teaches wherein the second pixel electrode (EL3) is electrically connected to a power line (DVL) thereunder through a second contact hole at a portion not overlapping with the fourth alignment electrode (EL2). Lee ‘260 and Lee ‘509 are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify Lee ‘260 by making the second pixel electrode contact a second power line through a second contact hole in an area that does not overlap with the fourth alignment electrode as disclosed in Lee ‘509 to prevent the possibilities of short circuits and cross talking between the electrodes leading to a more reliable device.
Conclusion
/MOATAZ KHALIFA/Examiner, Art Unit 2815
/MONICA D HARRISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815