DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed November 17, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts the prior art does not teach “the composite oxide semiconductor comprises a single-layer structure”. Applicant states that Yamazaki teaches a multi-layer composite oxide semiconductor structure. Applicant cites ¶¶, 0051-54, 69-73, 503, and 505-506 for support for their argument. This argument is not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s ¶¶ 0051-54,
These paragraphs discuss Applicant’s figures 1A-1B which purport to show the oxide semiconductor film along the a-b plane direction (figure 1A), and the c-axis direction (figure 1B). It is noted that these are slices of the oxide semiconductor film shown the mixing of the region A1 and region B1. These figures do not show the actual three-dimensional structure of the composite oxide semiconductor. Applicant’s figure 13 (below) appears to show a three-dimensional image of the composite oxide semiconductor. In this figure we can see that the layer is not a single atomic layer structure. Therefore, the term single-layer as used must mean that there can be sub-layers to the composite oxide semiconductor which can be viewed in the totality as a single-layer structure. Since this is a case, a multi-layer structure can be viewed in the totality as a single-layer structure comprising a plurality of sub-layers.
Regarding ¶¶ 0069-73,
Paragraph 0069 back this interpretation up as it states that the clusters, as shown in Applicant figure 13B above, may be clusters which overlap with each other, or as shown in the figure on top of each other. This means that there is no literal single-layer structure. Rather, Applicant is using the term single-layer to define a plurality of layers of clusters on top of each other. Further, the rest of the paragraph discuss how the different regions, or clusters, can be scattered around the oxide semiconductor structure.
Regarding ¶ 0503,
This paragraph discusses the diameter of the particulate portions, or clusters. This paragraph does not further define the singe-layer structure.
Regarding ¶¶ 0505-506,
These paragraphs further illustrate that the regions are cloud-like as shown in figure 13B above. This cloud like pattern further illustrates that the single-layer is not a single atomic layer. Rather, as previously stated it further illustrates that the single-layer structure claimed is a plurality of sub-layers.
Based upon the above, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive. In order to more align with Applicant’s interpretation Examiner will refer to the multi-layer structure of the prior art as a single layer structure, and the layers making up the multi-layer structure will be called sub-layers.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Yamazaki et al. (US 2015/0034947 A1) (“Yamazaki”).
Examiner note: the rejection is based off of 102/103 because Examiner includes the additional/alternative rejection at the end of the analysis.
Examiner note: Examiner will examine the narrowest claim, claim 3, first. Thus, the prior art would read on both claims 1 and 2 because they are broader than, and read on, claim 3.
Regarding claim 3, Yamazaki teaches:
a pixel portion (fig. 22A element 901/903) and a driver circuit portion (fig. 22A element 904), each over a substrate (fig. 23B element 811),
wherein the pixel portion (901/903) includes a first transistor (902) and the driver circuit portion (904) includes a second transistor (while not explicitly shown it would have been obvious that 904 would include a transistor to drive the pixel display),
wherein each of the first transistor (901/903) and the second transistor (transistor in 904) includes a composite oxide semiconductor in a channel region (figure 18A-18C; ¶¶ 0222-235, where the oxide semiconductor 206 can comprise two sub-layers; It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the first and second transistor the same as it would simplify the processing of the device, and thus reduce the cost of making the device.),
wherein the composite oxide semiconductor (206) comprises a single-layer structure (as shown in figure 18B1 element 206 is a single-layer structure in that there is a single layer of 206, and said 206 can comprise sub-layers),
wherein the composite oxide semiconductor (206) includes a first region and a second region (¶ 0231-235, where 206 can comprise a first region (first oxide semiconductor film (sub-layer); hereinafter “A”) and a second region (second oxide semiconductor film (a second sub-layer); hereinafter “B”)) in EDX mapping images (¶¶ 0069-70, where x-ray diffraction can be used to measure each of the regions. See figures 4A-5C),
wherein each of the first region (A) and the second region (B) includes In, an element M, and Zn, wherein the element M is at least one of Al, Ga, Y and Sn (¶ 0234),
wherein the first region has a higher atomic ratio of In to the element M than the second region (¶ 0234, where one can adjust the concentration of In to M in the In-M-Zn oxide),
wherein the first region (A) comprises a plurality of first particulate portions (in Applicant’s ¶ 0069 Applicant equates particulate form to be synonymous with cluster form when they state “For example, a plurality of Regions A1 are present in particulate form (in cluster form) in the a-b plane direction and the c-axis direction as shown in FIGS. 1A and 1B”. Therefore, there does not appear to be a distinction between the alleged columnar clusters of the prior art and the particulate portion/clusters of the claim.) (figures 1A-B; ¶¶ 154-159, where zinc oxide 102 in the film is deposited by clusters) and the second region (B) comprises a plurality of particulate portions (see discussion on portions vs clusters above) (figures 1A-B; ¶¶ 154-159, where zinc oxide in the film is deposited by clusters) (¶¶ 0440-41, where there can be a plurality of grain boundaries in due to the formation of columnar zinc oxide clusters generated at the time of diffusion. Thus, each of the regions of the composite oxide semiconductor can include clusters; Further, these clusters can be measured by x-ray diffraction.),
wherein a portion of the plurality of the first particulate portions (see discussion on portions vs clusters above) is connected to another portion of the plurality of first particulate portions (see discussion on portions vs clusters above) (as can be seen in figures 1A-1B a plurality of first clusters can be connected to each other and to other plurality of first clusters), and
wherein a portion of the plurality of the second particulate portions (see discussion on portions vs clusters above) is connected to another portion of the plurality of second particulate portions (see discussion on portions vs clusters above) (as can be seen in figures 1A-1B a plurality of second clusters can be connected to each other and to other plurality of second clusters; Examiner notes here there is no patentable distinction between the first and second clusters other than a label).
Additionally, or alternatively, as shown in at least figures 1A-2C, the prior art uses the same, or substantially similar, method of forming the IGZO film as Applicant. Thus, because the same process is being used in the prior art it would obviously, or inherently, produce the same effect disclosed in Applicant’s figures 1A-1B).
Regarding claim 1,
Claim 1 is broader than claim 3. Thus, since the prior art teaches claim 3 it also teaches claim 1.
Regarding claim 2,
Claim 2 is broader than claim 3. Thus, since the prior art teaches claim 3 it also teaches claim 2.
Regarding claims 4, 8, and 12, Yamazaki teaches:
wherein one of the plurality of the first particulate portions is connected to another one of the plurality of the first particulate portions via particulate portions of the plurality of the second particulate portions (each of the first particulate portions and second particulate portions are connected to one another as they are all contained in the same oxide semiconductor layer).
Regarding claims 5, 9, and 13, Yamazaki teaches:
wherein the first particulate portions comprise In, the element M, and Zn, and wherein the second particulate portions comprise In, the element M, and Zn (¶ 0154-159, where the film is an IGZO film, the clusters or particulate portions may be arbitrarily grouped together. See figures 12A-13B, where one can group the atoms in an arbitrary fashion to form clusters or particulate portions.
Regarding claims 6, 10, and 14, Yamazaki teaches:
wherein each of the first region and the second region comprises a nanocrystal, and wherein the nanocrystal comprises a first layer containing indium and oxygen and a second layer containing the element M, zinc, and oxygen (as shown in figures 12A-13B, IGZO is formed by sub-layers of InO stacked on sub-layers of GaZnO. These individual sub-layers are considered the nanocrystals of the claim.
Regarding claims 7, 11, and 15, Yamazaki teaches:
wherein In concentration in the first region is 2 or more times and 10 or less times In concentration in the second region (as previously stated these regions can be arbitrary regions such that one can choose a region which has more In than another region. As such this limitation is inherent in how one arbitrary chooses the regions, and/or is obvious based upon how one arbitrarily chooses the regions.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VINCENT WALL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898