Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 28-44 in the reply filed on 11/7/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 41 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Islam et al. US 2022/0173227.
Re claim 41, Islam teaches a semiconductor device (500, fig5, [96]), comprising:
a substrate (210, fig5, [96]); and
a mesa (220-260, fig5, [74, 96, 99]) on the substrate, the mesa comprising a drift region (220, 540 and 530, fig5, [96, 99]), a channel region (278 and 278e n-, fig5, [96,98]) on the drift region, and a source region (260 n++, fig5, [96]) on the channel region, wherein the channel region and the source region have a first conductivity type (n-type, [96]);
wherein the drift region (220, 540 and 530, fig5, [96, 99]) comprises a superjunction region including a central pillar (530 n+, fig5, [99]) having the first conductivity type and outer pillars (540 P, fig5, [97]) on opposite sides of the central pillar,
wherein the outer pillars have a second conductivity type (p-type, [97]) opposite the first conductivity type (n-type, [96]),
wherein a width of the mesa varies (width of 530, 278e and 278 are different from each other).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 28-33, 36, 42 and 45-47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Islam et al. US 2022/0173227 in view of Lichtenwalner et al. US 2023/0087937.
Re claim 28, Islam teaches a semiconductor device (500, fig5, [96]), comprising:
a substrate (210, fig5, [96]); and
an epitaxial structure (220-260, fig5, [74, 96, 99]) on the substrate, the epitaxial structure comprising: a drift region (220, 540 and 530, fig5, [96, 99]); and
a mesa stripe (275, fig5, [96]) on the drift region (220, 540 and 530, fig5, [96, 99]), the mesa stripe comprising a channel region (278, fig5, [96]) on the drift region (220, 540 and 530, fig5, [96, 99]), a source region (260 n++, fig5, [96]) on the channel region (278 n-, fig5, [96]), and sidewall gate regions (284, fig5, [98]) on opposite sides of the channel region (278, fig5, [96]),
wherein the channel region (278, fig5, [96]) and the source region (260, fig5, [96]) have a first conductivity type (n-type, [96]) and the sidewall gate regions (284, fig5, [98]);
wherein the drift region (220, 540 and 530, fig5, [96, 99]) comprises a superjunction region including a central pillar (530 n+, fig5, [99]) having the first conductivity type and outer pillars (540 P, fig5, [97]) on opposite sides of the central pillar, wherein the outer pillars have the second conductivity type (p-type, [97] )and the channel region is on the central pillar (278 in close proximity with 530, fig5, [96, 99]; on: used as a function word to indicate position in close proximity with).
Islam does not explicitly show the sidewall gate regions have a second conductivity type opposite the first conductivity type.
Lichtenwalner teaches the sidewall gate regions (38 P+, fig5, [56, 69]) have a second conductivity type opposite the first conductivity type channel region (36 N, fig5, [56, 69]);
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Islam and Lichtenwalner to replace the gate structure with P-type sidewall gate regions. The motivation to do so is to achieve better current control of the N channel region (Lichtenwalner, [69]).
Re claim 29, Islam modified above teaches the semiconductor device of Claim 28, wherein the drift region (220, 540 and 530, fig5, [96, 99]) further comprises a first region (center part of n-type 220 under 530, fig5) beneath the central pillar (530 n+, fig5, [99]) and the outer pillars (540 P, fig5, [97]), the first region having the first conductivity type.
Re claim 30, Islam does not explicitly show the semiconductor device of Claim 28, wherein the central pillar and the outer pillars have a height of at least about 2 microns.
Islam teaches fin height H of about 300nm-3µm (275, fig13/14, [80]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the thickness of the shielding region according to the height of the fin. The motivation to do so is to achieve reliability and ruggedness (Islam, [97]) and improve the overall conduction area of the device (Islam, [126]).
Re claim 31, Islam modified above teaches the semiconductor device of Claim 30, wherein the epitaxial structure (220-260, fig5, [74, 96, 99]) comprises a pair of trenches (T, fig13/14, [125]) on opposite sides of the mesa stripe (275, fig5, 13/14, [96]), wherein the outer pillars (540 P, fig5, [97]) are provided beneath respective ones of the trenches.
Re claim 32, Islam modified above teaches the semiconductor device of Claim 31, wherein the sidewall gate regions (284 formed at the foot of each trench, fig5, [98]) are formed beneath respective ones of the trenches (T, fig13/14, [125]).
Re claim 33, Islam modified above teaches the semiconductor device of Claim 28, wherein the semiconductor device comprises a plurality of alternating mesa stripes (275, fig5, 13/14, [96]) and trenches (T, fig13/14, [125]) that extend in a first direction (Y, fig13/14) along the substrate and have respective opposing first and second ends, and wherein the plurality of alternating mesa stripes and trenches are spaced apart in a second direction (X, fig13/14) that is perpendicular to the first direction (Y, fig13/14).
Re claim 36, Islam modified above teaches the semiconductor device of Claim 33, further comprising a third region (220 around Fin 275”, fig14), wherein the third region comprises a doped region that defines an active region of the semiconductor device within the doped region (n-type 220 around Fin 275”, fig14) and a termination region (trenches at ends of 275” along Y, fig14) of the semiconductor device outside the doped region.
Re claim 42, Islam modified above teaches the semiconductor device of Claim 41, wherein the mesa further comprises sidewall gate regions (284, fig5, [98]) on opposite sides of the channel region and the sidewall gate regions are formed on and extending over at least a portion of the outer pillars (284 on and over part of 540 under 278e, fig5).
Islam does not explicitly show the sidewall gate regions having the second conductivity type.
Lichtenwalner teaches the sidewall gate regions (38 P+, fig5, [56, 69]) have a second conductivity type opposite the first conductivity type channel region (36 N, fig5, [56, 69]);
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Islam and Lichtenwalner to replace the gate structure with P-type sidewall gate regions. The motivation to do so is to achieve better current control of the N channel region (Lichtenwalner, [69]).
Re claim 45, Islam teaches a semiconductor device (500, fig5, [96]), comprising:
a semiconductor region; and
a mesa stripe (220-260, fig5, [74, 96, 99]) on a drift region (220, 540 and 530, fig5, [96, 99]), the mesa stripe comprising a first region (275, fig5, [96]) on the drift region, a second region (260 n++, fig5, [96]) on the first region, and sidewall gate regions (284, fig5, [98]) on opposite sides of the first region,
wherein the first region (275 n-, fig5, [77,96]) and the second region (260 n++, fig5, [96]) have a first conductivity type;
wherein the drift region comprises a superjunction region including a central pillar (530 n+, fig5, [99]) having the first conductivity type and outer pillars (540 P, fig5, [97]) on opposite sides of the central pillar, wherein the outer pillars have the second conductivity type,
wherein the first region (275 n-, fig5, [77,96]) comprises a channel region (n-type 275 and 278, fig5, [75]) in the mesa stripe between the sidewall gate regions (284, fig5, [98]) and wherein the central pillar is wider than the channel region (lower part of 530 n+ wider than gap g, fig5, [99])).
Islam does not explicitly show the sidewall gate regions have a second conductivity type opposite the first conductivity type.
Lichtenwalner teaches the sidewall gate regions (38 P+, fig5, [56, 69]) have a second conductivity type opposite the first conductivity type channel region (36 N, fig5, [56, 69]);
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Islam and Lichtenwalner to replace the gate structure with P-type sidewall gate regions. The motivation to do so is to achieve better current control of the N channel region (Lichtenwalner, [69]).
Re claim 46, Islam modified above teaches the semiconductor device of Claim 45, the second region comprises a source region (260 n++, fig5, [96]).
Re claim 47, Islam modified above teaches the semiconductor device of Claim 45, wherein the drift region further comprises a third region (center part of n -type 220 under 530, fig5, [96]) beneath the central pillar (530 n+, fig5, [97]) and the outer pillars (540 P, fig5, [99]), the third region having the first conductivity type (n-type, [96]).
Claim(s) 39-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Islam et al. US 2022/0173227 in view of Lichtenwalner et al. US 2023/0087937 and Nishio et al. US 2013/0237042.
Re claim 39, Islam teaches the semiconductor device of Claim 28, wherein the substrate comprises silicon carbide (210, fig5, [74, 96]) having a hexagonal polytype and wherein the mesa stripe extends in the first direction (275 extends in Z, fig5, 13/14, [96]).
Islam does not explicitly show wherein the substrate having an off-cut angle towards a first direction relative to a crystallographic direction of the substrate along which implant channeling occurs.
Nishio teaches wherein the substrate comprises silicon carbide having a hexagonal polytype (10, fig1, [20]) and having an off-cut angle towards a first direction ([20]) relative to a crystallographic direction ((0001) plane, [20]) of the substrate along which implant channeling occurs.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Islam, Lichtenwalner and Nishio to have the off-cut of the SiC substrate with an off angle of 1-8 degrees. The motivation to do so is to achieve satisfactory epitaxial growth over the substrate (Nishio, [20]).
Re claim 40, Islam modified above teaches the semiconductor device of Claim 39, wherein the crystallographic direction comprises a <0001> crystallographic direction (Nishio, [20]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 34-35, 37-38 and 43-44 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim.
Specifically, the limitations are material to the inventive concept of the application in hand to form a high voltage device with reduced on resistance and high power density.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/XIAOMING LIU/Examiner, Art Unit 2812