DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action responds to the Application filed on 6/30/2023 and IDS filed on 10/23/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of copending Application No. 18/128,368 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are obvious variations of each other, having the interposer with a stitch formed from overlapping exposure area and two or more ICs disposed on the interposer, except that in the co-pending application, the stitch is horizontal stitch and vertical stitch which is an obvious subset of the stitch of the present claims as known in the art and there are four ICs disposed in a 2x2 configuration as recited in the co-pending claims, which are obvious subset of the “two or more ICs” exposed on the interposer of the present claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Objections
Claims 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
As per claim 5, “stich” (line 1) should be –stitch—for proper spelling.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2,8,12-13,17,20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Voogel et al. (US Patent No. 20240330557 A1).
The applied reference has a common assignee (Xilinx, Inc) and inventor (i.e. Martin L. Voogel) with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
As per claims 1,12,20¸ Fig. 1 illustrates the elements of the claim, wherein the interposer (100) with a stitch (i.e., vertical a120 and horizontal stitch 130) form from overlapping exposure area (see paragraph [p0003]); two or more ICs (105A, 105B, 105C, 105D) are disposed on the interposer (100), including over the stitch as shown in Fig. 1, and the ICs are connected via the interposer (see paragraph [0004]).
As per claims 2, 8, 13,17, the total surface area of the interposer is greater than a maximum reticle filed corresponding the exposure areas (see paragraph [0044]; wherein the stitch is formed by slightly overlapping two exposure areas, wherein both of the two exposure areas is at or below the maximum reticle field is further discussed in paragraph [0045].
Claim(s) 1-2,8,12-13,17,20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yu et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 20220352082 A1).
As per claims 1,12,20¸ Fig. 22 illustrates the elements of the claim, wherein the device (100), comprising: an interposer (112) with a stitch formed from overlapping exposure areas (see paragraphs [0016]), [0082]); and two or more integrated circuits (ICs) or dies disposed on the interposer (i.e., chips or dies 50A..C), wherein a first IC of the two or more ICs is disposed over the stitch, wherein the two or more ICs are connected via the interposer (see paragraph [0082]).
As per claims 2, 8,13,17¸as discussed in paragraphs [0016] and [0082], the reasons the interposer is broken by overlapping lithographic exposures using stitching technology is because the reticle size limitation (i.e., the total surface area of the interposer is greater than a maximum reticle field corresponding the exposure areas), wherein the stitch is formed by slightly overlapping two exposure areas, wherein both of the two exposure areas is at or below the maximum reticle field is within the scope of Yu et al. for joining oversized exposure areas.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-11, 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Voogel et al. (US Patent No. 20240330557 A1) in view of Tsuchiya et al. (US Patent No. 6,204,912 B1).
As per claims 9-11, 18-19¸ Voogel et al. teach all of the elements of claims 1 and 12, from which the respective claims depend, as discussed in the rejection of claims 1 and 12 above, including the use of stitching technology for interposer that exceeds or slightly exceeds the maximum field (see paragraphs [0044]-[0045]). However, Voogel et al. failed to particular teach that the IC has different sizes, whose combined length exceeds the maximum reticle. Tsuchiya et al. teach the use of overlap pattern for a stitching exposure for different mask/IC dimensions (claim 13; col. 5, line 67 to col. 6, line 24). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to further incorporate the teachings of Tsuchiya et al. into the method/system of Voogel et al. because such application of stitching technology would allow for the interposer to form when the IC are different sizes to be used as taught by Tsuchiya et al.. and further applies to the combined length exceeding the maximum reticle as intended by Voogel et al..
Claim(s) 9-11, 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 20220352082 A1) in view of Tsuchiya et al. (US Patent No. 6,204,912 B1).
As per claims 9-11, 18-19¸ Yu et al. teach all of the elements of claims 1 and 12, from which the respective claims depend, as discussed in the rejection of claims 1 and 12 above, including the use of stitching technology for interposer that exceeds or slightly exceeds the maximum field (see paragraphs [0016], [0082]). However, Yu et al. failed to particular teach that the IC has different sizes, whose combined length exceeds the maximum reticle. Tsuchiya et al. teach the use of overlap pattern for a stitching exposure for different mask/IC dimensions (claim 13; col. 5, line 67 to col. 6, line 24). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to further incorporate the teachings of Tsuchiya et al. into the method/system of Yu et al. because such application of stitching technology would allow for the interposer to form when the IC are different sizes to be used as taught by Tsuchiya et al.. and further applies to the combined length exceeding the maximum reticle as intended by Yu et al..
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-7,14-16 would be allowable if the non-statutory obviousness double patenting rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 101, set forth in this Office action is overcome, if claim 5 is rewritten or amended to overcome the noted minor informalities, and if the claims are rewritten or amended to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As per claims 3-4, 14, the claims further recite the inventive features in which the stich aligns with a keep-out region in the first IC, in combination with the other elements of the claims, which the prior art made of record failed to teach or suggest as claimed.
As per claim 5, the claim further recites the inventive features in which the stich aligns with a region in the first IC that does not have power bumps, in combination with the other elements of the claim, which the prior arts made of record failed to teach or suggest as claimed.
As per claims 6-7,15-16, the claims further recite the inventive features in which the stitch is aligned with a boundary between the first and second power domains of the first IC, in combination with the other elements, as claimed, which the prior arts made of record failed to teach or suggest as claimed.
Conclusion
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P. O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
or faxed to:
571-273-8300
/PHALLAKA KIK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2851 June 27, 2026