DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This Office action is in response to the election received June 18, 2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-10 in the reply filed on June 18, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the invention would appear to be part of an overlapping search area. Applicants submit there is no undue burden on the Examiner to search all the claims under MPEP §803. This is not found persuasive because the composition could be used in a materially different method not involving semiconductor manufacture such as used in a lubricant, used as a method for forming parts or structures by injection molding, thus the search for alternative method for the composition would place a serious burden on the Examiner for consideration of those applications as well. Upon claims to the elected composition being seen as allowable, the method claims would be rejoined in view of In re Ochiai, 71 F.3d 1565, 37 USPQ2d 1127 (Fed. Cir. 1995) which sets precedent that the method of use of allowable products is also seen as an allowable method. As a results restricted methods of use and methods of making would be rejoined.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on June 18, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The examples in the application do not meet the described precursors that are described in the specification.
In claim 1 compound (2-1) discloses a silane compound having R1 wherein it is defined by h to be either 1 or 2, however none of the working examples demonstrate this structure, see page 48 for M-1 to M-4 wherein there are three methoxy group failing to match the claimed formula (2-1).
Clarification or correction is necessary.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NAGAKAWA et al (2020/0354575 A1).
The claimed invention recites the following:
NAGAKAWA et al disclose silicon containing resin for underlayers. The precursors for forming the polymer include the following as seen in Synthesis Example 1 and Example 2.
The Synthesis Example 3 disclose precursors methyltrichlorosilane reacted with dibromo methane to form a polymer . The example lacks the claimed silane compound of formula (1-1) having the X group being other than an alkoxy group, the monovalent organic group having 1 to 30 carbon atoms and having at least one fluorine atom. Applicants are directed to para. [0032] on page 4 wherein the following silane compounds such as gamma-trifluoropropyltrimethoxysilane and gamma-trifluoropropyltriethoxysilane are seen as equivalent to methyltrichlorosilane used in Synthesis Example 1, see below:
Next NAGAKAWA et al disclose the polymer obtained in the Synthesis Examples, such as Synthesis Example 1 reacted with methyltrimethoxysilane as seen in Example 1 in para. [0336] meet formula (1-1) and Example 1 discloses the reaction of a polymer (1) from Synthesis Example 1 reacted with methyltrimethoxysilane to arrive their final polymer, this precursor meets claimed formula (2-1).
Claim 2 is met by either gamma-trifluoropropyltrimethoxysilane and gamma-trifluoropropyltriethoxysilane of para. [0032].
Claims 3 and 4 for the methanediyl are optional group from claim 1.
Claims 5 to 8 are met by the precursor methyltrimethoxysilane in NAGAKAWA et al.
Claims 9 is met by Example 1, see below:
Claim 10 is met by the disclosure in para. [0007].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of underlayer for semiconductor manufacture to use any of the listed silane precursors in the Examples of NAGAKAWA et al with the reasonable expectation of same or similar results for low relative dielectric constant, excellent mechanical strength and adhesion and uniform quality.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
SEKO et al (2020/0354575 A1) disclose film forming composition to the same assignee, JSR Corporation. The precursors used include an orthoester compound and a compound having a Si-H bond.
/John S. Chu/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737
J. Chu
August 22, 2026