Attorney’s Docket Number: NAUP3120USA3
Filing Date: 7/6/2023
Claimed Priority Dates: 8/5/2020 (US 16/985,242)
9/20/2017 (US 15/710,820)
8/21/2017 (TW 106128223)
Inventors: Hsu et al.
Examiner: Marcos D. Pizarro
DETAILED ACTION
This Office action responds to the amendment filed on 5/7/2026.
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA (or as subject to pre-AIA ) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for a rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Amendment Status
The amendment filed on 5/7/2026 in reply to the Office action in paper no. 3, mailed on 3/10/2026, has been entered. The present Office action is made with all the suggested amendments being fully considered. Accordingly, pending in this Office action are claims 1-11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou (US 2013/0270613) in view of Dyer (US 2008/0237726).
Regarding claim 1, Chou (see, e.g., figs. 10) shows most aspects of the instant invention including a method for fabricating a semiconductor device comprising:
Forming a gate structure 14 on a substrate 10
Forming a spacer around the gate structure, the spacer comprising an offset spacer 22 adjacent the gate structure and a main spacer 24 adjacent the offset spacer
Forming a second contact etch stop layer (CESL2) 42 around the spacer and on and directly contacting the offset spacer 22 and the main spacer 24
Chou, however, fails to teach forming a first contact etch stop layer (CESL1). Dyer, in a similar method to that of Chou, teaches forming a gate structure 100, a spacer 40, and a CESL2 70 directly contacting the spacer (see, e.g., fig. 7). Dyer further teaches the steps of forming a CESL1 68 around and directly contacting the spacer 40 and the substrate 10 (see, e.g., fig. 5), and forming the CESL2 70 on and directly contacting the CESL1 (see, e.g., fig. 7). Chou teaches that the CESL1 increases carrier mobility and the on-current of the device (see, e.g., par.0080/ll.12-21, par.0005 and par.0003/ll.1-4).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious at the time of the invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Chou to include the step of Dyer of forming the CESL1, thereby increasing the carrier mobility and on-current of the device.
Regarding claim 7, Chou (see, e.g., figs. 7- 9) shows the method further comprising performing a replacement metal gate (RMG) process to transform the gate structure 18 into a metal gate 46 after forming the second CESL 42.
Regarding claim 8, Chou (see, e.g., fig 5) shows the method further comprising forming a source/drain region 32 adjacent to two sides of the spacer 22/24 in the substrate before forming the CESL2 42. Dyer (see, e.g., fig. 1) shows forming the source/drain regions 12 adjacent to two sides of the spacer 40 before forming the CESLs.
Regarding claim 9, Dyer teaches that the first 68 and second 70 CESLs comprise different materials (see, e.g., par.0057/ll.5-10, par.0063/ll.15-19, an par.0070/ll.1-3).
Regarding claim 10, Dyer teaches that the first 68 and second 70 CESLs comprise different dielectric constants (see, e.g., par.0057/ll.5-10, par.0063/ll.15-19, an par.0070/ll.1-3).
Regarding claim 11, Dyer (see, e.g., col.6/ll.2-4) teaches that the dielectric constant of the CESL1 68 is lower than that of the CESL2 70 (see, e.g., par.0057/ll.5-10, par.0063/ll.15-19, an par.0070/ll.1-3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
The applicants argue:
Dyer fails to show forming a CESL1 around the spacer and on and directly contacting the offset spacer, the main spacer, and the substrate, as recited in claim 1.
The examiner responds:
The prior art of record teaches these features of the claimed invention, as now recited in claim 1. For example, Chou shows the spacer comprising an offset spacer 38 and a main spacer 24 (see, e.g., fig. 9). Dyer, on the other hand, teaches forming a CESL1 68 around and on and directly contacting the spacer 40 and the substrate 10 (see, e.g., fig. 5).
Conclusion
This action is made final. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Marcos D. Pizarro/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2814
MDP/mdp
July 29, 2026