Attorney’s Docket Number: NAUP3120USA3
Filing Date: 7/6/2023
Claimed Priority Dates: 8/5/2020 (US 16/985,242)
9/20/2017 (US 15/710,820)
8/21/2017 (TW 106128223)
Inventors: Hsu et al.
Examiner: Marcos D. Pizarro
DETAILED ACTION
This Office action responds to the application filed on 7/6/2023.
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA (or as subject to pre-AIA ) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for a rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou (US 2013/0270613) in view of Dyer (US 2008/0237726).
Regarding claim 1, Chou (see, e.g., figs. 10) shows most aspects of the instant invention including a method for fabricating a semiconductor device comprising:
Forming a gate structure 14 on a substrate 10
Forming a spacer around the gate structure, the spacer comprising an offset spacer 22 adjacent the gate structure and a main spacer 24 adjacent the offset spacer
Forming a second contact etch stop layer (CESL2) 42 around the spacer and on and directly contacting the offset spacer 22 and the main spacer 24
Chou, however, fails to show the step of forming a first contact etch stop layer CESL1. Dyer, in a similar method to Chou, also shows the steps of forming a gate structure 100, and the steps of forming a spacer 40, and a second CESL 70 directly contacting the spacer (see, e.g., fig. 7). Dyer further teaches the steps of forming a first CESL 68 around the spacer 40 and directly contacting the substrate 10, and forming the second CESL 70 on and directly contacting the first CESL (see, e.g., figs. 3-7). Chou teaches that his first CESL increases the carrier mobility and the on-current of the device (see, e.g., par.0080/ll.12-21, par.0005 and par.0003/ll.1-4).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious at the time of the invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the step of forming the first CESL of Dyer in the method of Chou to increase the carrier mobility and on-current of the device.
Regarding claim 7, Chou (see, e.g., figs. 7- 9) shows the method further comprising performing a replacement metal gate (RMG) process to transform the gate structure 18 into a metal gate 46 after forming the second CESL 42.
Regarding claim 8, Chou (see, e.g., fig 5) shows the method further comprising forming a source/drain region 32 adjacent to two sides of the spacer 22/24 in the substrate before forming the CESL2 42. Dyer (see, e.g., fig. 1) shows forming the source/drain regions 12 adjacent to two sides of the spacer 40 before forming the CESLs.
Regarding claim 9, Dyer teaches that the first 68 and second 70 CESLs comprise different materials (see, e.g., par.0057/ll.5-10, par.0063/ll.15-19, an par.0070/ll.1-3).
Regarding claim 10, Dyer teaches that the first 68 and second 70 CESLs comprise different dielectric constants (see, e.g., par.0057/ll.5-10, par.0063/ll.15-19, an par.0070/ll.1-3).
Regarding claim 11, Dyer (see, e.g., col.6/ll.2-4) teaches that the dielectric constant of the first CESL 68 is lower than that of the second CESL 70 (see, e.g., par.0057/ll.5-10, par.0063/ll.15-19, an par.0070/ll.1-3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. Should you have questions on access to Patent Center, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (in USA or Canada) or 571-272-1000.
/Marcos D. Pizarro/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2814
MDP/mdp
March 3, 2026