Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by KANAMORI (Pub. No.: US 2017/0221921).
Re claim 1, KANAMORI, FIG. 3 teaches a vertical memory structure, comprising: a semiconductor stack, comprising:
a lower semiconductor pattern structure (150, ¶ [0024]) filling a recess on a substrate and protruding from an upper surface of the substrate in a first direction substantially perpendicular to the upper surface of the substrate (100);
a contact plug, disposed over the lower semiconductor pattern structure, comprising:
a lower portion (290, [0060]); and a middle portion (400) over the lower portion, wherein a width of the middle portion is less than a width of the lower portion;
a plurality of gate electrodes (363, 365 and 367, [0024]) surrounding a sidewall of the semiconductor stack; and
a plurality of air gap structures (235, [0066]) disposed at outer sides of the plurality of gate electrode respectively.
Re claim 2, KANAMORI, FIG. 3 teaches the vertical memory structure of claim 1, wherein the plurality of gate electrodes being at a plurality of levels (363, 365 and 367), respectively, so as to be spaced apart from each other in the first direction (vertical).
Re claim 3, KANAMORI, FIG. 3 teaches the vertical memory structure of 1, wherein the contact plug further comprises:
an upper portion (420) over the middle portion, wherein a width (horizontal) of the upper portion is greater than the width of the middle portion (400).
Re claim 4, KANAMORI, FIG. 3 teaches the vertical memory structure of claim 3, wherein the width of the upper portion (horizontal width of 420) is greater than the width of the lower portion (horizontal width of 290).
Re claim 6, KANAMORI, FIG. 3 teaches the vertical memory structure of claim 3, wherein the lower portion (290), the middle portion (400) and the upper portion (420) are a continuous single structure.
Re claim 7, KANAMORI, FIG. 3 teaches the vertical memory structure of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of air gap structures comprises:
an air gap (235); and
a liner layer (232) enclosing the air gap.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE (Pub. No.: US 2018/0122822) in view of KANAMORI.
Re claim 1, LEE, FIG. 1 teaches a vertical memory structure, comprising: a semiconductor stack, comprising:
a lower semiconductor pattern structure (200/190/170/180/160) filling a recess on a substrate (100) and protruding from an upper surface of the substrate in a first direction substantially perpendicular to the upper surface of the substrate (100);
a contact plug, disposed over the lower semiconductor pattern structure, comprising:
a lower portion (270); and a middle portion (380) over the lower portion, wherein a width of the middle portion is less than a width of the lower portion;
a plurality of gate electrodes (343, 345 and 347, [0017]) surrounding a sidewall of the semiconductor stack.
LEE fails to teach a plurality of air gap structures disposed at outer sides of the plurality of gate electrode respectively.
KANAMORI teaches a plurality of air gap structures (235, [0066]) disposed at outer sides of the plurality of gate electrode (363, 365 and 367) respectively.
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include the above said teaching for the purpose of reducing the dielectric constant of the insulating stack layers as taught by LEE.
Re claim 2, in the combination, LEE, FIG. 1 teaches the vertical memory structure of claim 1, wherein the plurality of gate electrodes being at a plurality of levels (343, 345 and 347), respectively, so as to be spaced apart from each other in the first direction (vertical).
Re claim 3, in the combination, LEE, FIG. 1 teaches the vertical memory structure of 1, wherein the contact plug further comprises:
an upper portion (390) over the middle portion, wherein a width (horizontal) of the upper portion is greater than the width of the middle portion (380).
Re claim 4, in the combination, LEE, FIG. 1 teaches the vertical memory structure of claim 3, wherein the width of the upper portion (horizontal width of 390) is greater than the width of the lower portion (horizontal width of 270).
Re claim 6, in the combination, LEE, FIG. 1 teaches the vertical memory structure of claim 3, wherein the lower portion (270), the middle portion (380) and the upper portion (390) are a continuous single structure.
Re claim 7, in the combination KANAMORI, FIG. 3 teaches the vertical memory structure of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of air gap structures comprises:
an air gap (235); and
a liner layer (232) enclosing the air gap.
Re claim 8, in the combination, LEE, FIG. 1 teaches the vertical memory structure of claim 1, wherein the lower semiconductor pattern structure comprises:
a first undoped semiconductor pattern (160, [0023]);
a doped semiconductor pattern (180) over the first undoped semiconductor pattern; and
a second undoped semiconductor pattern (200) over the doped semiconductor pattern.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KANAMORI.
KANAMORI differs from the claim invention by not disclosing wherein the width of the upper portion is equal to the width of the lower portion.
However, Applicant has not disclosed that the ranges are for particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include the above said teaching, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.); see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages."); In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Laboratories Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KANAMORI in view of HWANG (Pub. No.: US 2019/0035798).
KANAMORI teaches all the limitation of claim 1.
KANAMORI fails to teach the limitation of claim 8.
HWANG teaches wherein the lower semiconductor pattern structure comprises:
a first undoped semiconductor pattern (LSP, FIG. 5, [0067]);
a doped semiconductor pattern (said doped material of SP1, [0068]) over the first undoped semiconductor pattern; and
a second undoped semiconductor pattern (said undoped material of SP2) over the doped semiconductor pattern.
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include the above said teaching for the purpose of decreasing manufacturing costs of semiconductor devices and increasing the performance of semiconductor devices as taught by HWANG, [0003].
Conclusion
/TONY TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2894