DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
The amended specification overcomes the objection.
The amended claims overcome the 112 rejections by clarifying claim 12, and by eliminating the contradiction between claims 1 and 13.
See the new rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 12, 14-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Paek, US 2019/0207163 A1.
Claim 1: Paek discloses
a substrate (100);
a first electrode (330) disposed on the substrate;
a pixel-defining film (400) comprising a plurality of open portions exposing the first electrode (FIG. 5);
a plurality of emissive layers (531, 532) overlapping with a monolithic surface of the first electrode in a plan view and disposed in the plurality of open portions, respectively;
and a second electrode (600) disposed on the plurality of emissive layers;
wherein, in an emissive layer of the plurality of emissive layers, a height of an upper surface of the emissive layer increases from a center to an edge of the emissive layer, wherein a maximum height of the emissive layer is smaller than a maximum height of the pixel-defining film.
Claim 2: at least a portion of an upper surface of the first electrode overlapping with the open portions is flat (FIG. 5).
Claim 12: the first electrode is a single surface electrode (FIG. 5).
Claim 15: the second electrode is in direct contact with an upper surface of the pixel-defining film disposed on an area other than the open portions (FIG. 5).
Claim 16: a shape of each of the open portions has a point symmetry with respect to its center in the plan view (FIG. 6).
Claim 17: in an emissive layer of the plurality of emissive layers, a height of an upper surface of the emissive layer increases from a center to an edge of the emissive layer, and wherein the upper surface of the emissive layer has a shape concave toward the substrate (FIG. 4). Note that claim 4 does not require that the upper surface layer continuously increase from a center to an edge of the emissive layer.
Claim 19: Kim discloses
a substrate (100);
a first electrode (330) disposed on the substrate;
a plurality of emissive layers (531, 532) spaced apart from one another on a monolithic surface of the first electrode and comprising an organic material;
and a second electrode (600) disposed on the plurality of emissive layers, wherein each of the plurality of emission layers overlaps with the first electrode and the second electrode (FIG. 5),
wherein, in an emissive layer of the plurality of emissive layers, a height of an upper surface of the emissive layer increases from a center to an edge of the emissive layer, wherein a maximum height of the emissive layer is smaller than a maximum height of the pixel-defining film (FIG. 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 12, 13, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, US 2017/0294155 A1, in view of Paek, US 2019/0207163 A1, or Kim 2, US 2019/0013371 A1.
Claim 1: Kim discloses
a substrate (111);
a first electrode (447) disposed on the substrate;
a pixel-defining film comprising a plurality of open portions (SR1, SR2) exposing the first electrode;
a plurality of emissive layers (442, 445) overlapping with a surface of the first electrode in a plan view and disposed in the plurality of open portions, respectively;
and a second electrode (443) disposed on the plurality of emissive layers.
Claim 1 also recites that in an emissive layer of the plurality of emissive layers, a height of an upper surface of the emissive layer increases from a center to an edge of the emissive layer, wherein a maximum height of the emissive layer is smaller than a maximum height of the pixel-defining film. This is not disclosed by Kim, but was well-known in the art. See e.g. Paek, FIG. 5, the heights of the emissive layers B. It would have been obvious to have applied the invention of Kim to a device with the emissive layer shape of Paek, as this was well-known in the art and the pixel connection structure of Kim has no apparent connection to the shape of the emission layer and thus could be broadly applied.
Alternatively, it was also know to have an emission layer shape such as Kim 2 FIG. 18. Claim 1 does not require that the height of the emissive layer continuously increase from the center to the edge.
Claim 2: at least a portion of an upper surface of the first electrode overlapping with the open portions is flat (Kim FIG. 4; Kim 2 FIG. 18.).
Claim 12: the first electrode is a single, continuous surface electrode (FIG. 4).
Claim 13: the first electrode comprises a plurality of patterned sub-electrodes (141, 144), wherein the sub-electrodes are electrically connected with one another, and wherein each of the sub-electrodes overlaps with at least one of the plurality of emissive layers in the plan view (FIG. 3):
Claim 14: the second electrode is in direct contact with the pixel-defining film at side surfaces of the open portions (Paek FIG. 5; Park FIG. 6).
Claim 15: the second electrode is in direct contact with an upper surface of the pixel-defining film disposed on an area other than the open portions (the space between the pixels, FIGS. 3 and 4).
Claim 16: a shape of each of the open portions has a point symmetry with respect to its center in the plan view (FIG. 1). The opening portions are circular, which has point symmetry.
Claim 17: the upper surface of the emissive layer has a shape concave toward the substrate (Paek FIG. 5).
Claim 18: The emissive layer comprises a light-emitting portion and a non-light-emitting portion (the portion not contacting the lower electrode) surrounding the light-emitting portion. Kim does not disclose any deviation between a minimum height and a maximum height of the emissive layer in the light-emitting portion. Changes in dimension are not typically a source of patentable distinction absent unexpected results. MPEP 2144.04(IV). Furthermore, the specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed thicknesses or any unexpected results arising therefrom. Where patentability is said to be based upon thicknesses or upon another variable recited in a claim, the Applicant must show that the thicknesses are critical. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim 19: Kim discloses
a substrate (111);
a first electrode (447) disposed on the substrate;
a plurality of emissive layers (442, 445) spaced apart from one another on a monolithic surface of the first electrode and comprising an organic material;
and a second electrode (446) disposed on the plurality of emissive layers, wherein each of the plurality of emission layers overlaps with the first electrode and the second electrode (FIG. 4).
Claim 19 also recites that in an emissive layer of the plurality of emissive layers, a height of an upper surface of the emissive layer increases from a center to an edge of the emissive layer, wherein a maximum height of the emissive layer is smaller than a maximum height of the pixel-defining film. This is not disclosed by Kim, but was well-known in the art. See e.g. Paek, FIG. 5, the heights of the emissive layers B. It would have been obvious to have applied the invention of Kim to a device with the emissive layer shape of Paek, as this was well-known in the art and the pixel connection structure of Kim has no apparent connection to the shape of the emission layer and thus could be broadly applied.
Claim 20: the plurality of emissive layers is configured to diode-connect the first electrode with the second electrode. The emissive layers are “organic light emitting diodes 140a and 140b” ([0075]).
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Paek or Park and further in view of Sakakura, US 2006/0186804 A1.
Claim 3: Sakakura discloses a first electrode 18 that comprises a reference surface (top of 18b) located on the upper surface of the first electrode and protruding portions (top of 18d) that are higher than the reference surface, and wherein outermost boundaries of the protruding portions do not overlap with the exposed portion of the first electrode in the plan view.
It would have been obvious to have used such a first electrode in Kim as an electrode known in the art as an OLED pixel electrode.
Claim 4: the protruding portion does not overlap with the exposed portion of the first electrode in the plan view (Sakakura FIG. 1).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Paek or Park and further in view of Cho, US 2022/0173177 A1. Cho discloses protruding portions 211O that overlap with the exposed portion of the first electrode as well as other portions of the first electrode except for the exposed portion in the plan view (FIGS. 5A and 5B).
It would have been obvious to have had such a structure in Kim as a natural effect of the formation of the device, that is, by use a etch to create the opening. “When forming the pixel defining layer 215 by etching the inorganic layer 215L, at least a portion of the central portion 211C of the first electrode 211 may be etched. The central portion 211C of the first electrode 211 may be over-etched when forming the opening portion OP of the pixel defining layer 215.” [0176].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER BRADFORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897