DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (US 20210359142 A1; hereinafter Huang) in view of Guillorn et al. (US 20180254329 A1; hereinafter Guillorn).
Regarding claim 20, FIGS. 23-24 of Huang teach an electronic device comprising: a PMOS (260) comprising a plurality of tempered SiGe channel nanowires (208 of 260 ¶ [0014],[0030]) extending between a p-type source region (source 232 of 260) and a p-type drain region (drain 232 of 260 ¶ [0041]) and a corresponding plurality of oxide layers (242 ¶ [0032]), high-k dielectric layers (244 ¶ [0033]), and conductive material (246 ¶ [0032]) alternatingly stacked with the plurality of strained SiGe channel nanowires (208 of 260); and an NMOS (270) comprising a plurality of Si channel nanowires (208 of 270) extending between an n-type source region (source 2320 of 270) and an n-type drain region (2320 of 270), and a corresponding plurality of oxide layers (243 ¶ [0041]), high-k dielectric layers (244), and conductive material (246) alternatingly stacked with the plurality of Si channel nanowires (208 of 270 ¶ [0023],[0040]-[0041]).
Huang does not teach the PMOS comprising a plurality of compressively stressed SiGe channel nanowires.
FIGS. 13-14 of Guillorn teach an electronic device (semiconductor device ¶ [0001]) comprising: a PFET (e.g. FIGS. 13-14 ¶ [0022]-[0023]) comprising a plurality of compressively stressed SiGe channel nanowires (18 ¶ [0030],[0058]) extending between a p-type source region and a p-type drain region (30 ¶ [0081]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic device taught by Huang with the compressively stressed SiGe channel nanowires taught by Guillorn for the purpose of increasing PFET mobility and therefore drive current (¶ [0127]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-9 and 11-19 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claim 1 recites a method of forming a semiconductor device, comprising: selectively etching a superlattice structure on a substrate, the superlattice structure extending between a source region and a drain region and comprising a plurality of first layers of a first material and a corresponding plurality of second layers of a second material alternatingly arranged in a plurality of stacked pairs to remove each of the plurality of second layers to form a plurality of voids in the superlattice structure; forming a cladding material around each of the plurality of first layers to form a plurality of nanosheets of the first material with the cladding material around the first material; forming an oxide layer on the cladding material to form a plurality of nanosheets of the first material with the oxide layer and the cladding material around the first material; exposing the semiconductor device to a rapid thermal oxidation process in an environment of one or more of water vapor, oxygen (02), or ozone (03) at a temperature in the range of 700 °C to 1050 °C to dry oxidize the plurality of nanosheets of the first material with the oxide layer and the cladding material around the first material to convert the plurality of nanosheets of the first material with the oxide layer and the cladding material around the first material to have the cladding material surrounded by an oxide of the first material; and removing the oxide of the first material to leave nanosheets of the cladding material.
FIGS. 1-21 & 23-24 of Huang teach a method of forming a semiconductor device (200 ¶ [0016]), comprising: selectively etching a superlattice structure (214C) on a substrate (202, see FIG. 14 ¶ [0027]), the superlattice structure (214C) extending between a source region (source 232) and a drain region (drain 232 ¶ [0024], see FIGS. 12-14) and comprising a plurality of first layers (208) of a first material (e.g. Si) and a corresponding plurality of second layers (206) of a second material (e.g. SiGe) alternatingly arranged in a plurality of stacked pairs (e.g. NMOS & PMOS ¶ [0040], see FIGS. 11 & 13 ¶ [0017]), to remove each of the plurality of second layers (206) to form a plurality of voids (spaces between 2080) in the superlattice structure (214C); forming a cladding material (240, e.g. SiGe) around each of the plurality of first layers (2080) to form a plurality of nanosheets (2080, 240) of the first material (2080, e.g. Si) with the cladding material (240, e.g. SiGe) around the first material (2080, e.g. Si ¶ [0028]); exposing the semiconductor device (200) to a rapid thermal anneal process (300 ¶ [0030]) at a temperature in the range of 700° C to 1050° C (e.g. 600° C to 950° C ¶ [0031]) and subsequently oxidizing the nanosheets (2080, 240) to convert the nanosheets (2080, 240) to have the cladding material (240) surrounded by an oxide of the first material (242, e.g. GeO see FIGS. 16-17 ¶ [0030],[0032],[0042]); and removing the first material (240) to leave nanosheets (2080) of the cladding material (e.g. SiGe ¶ [0037]).
FIGS. 1(a)-(d) of Tezuka et al. (T. Tezuka, N. Sugiyama, S. Takagi, T. Kawakubo; Dislocation-free formation of relaxed SiGe-on-insulator layers. Appl. Phys. Lett. 13 May 2002; 80 (19): 3560–3562.; hereinafter Tezuka) teaches dry oxidizing a mesa island comprising a silicon channel layer and a silicon germanium cladding layer on a substrate (SiO2 on Si substrate) in an environment of pure oxygen (O2)at a temperature of 1050° C (pg. 3560 paragraph 4) to convert the channel to have the material of the cladding layer surrounded by an oxide (SiO2 shown in FIG. 1(c)); and removing the oxide (i.e. oxide of the first material) to leave the channel layer comprising the material of the cladding layer (SiGe, pg. 3560 paragraph 4 recites fabrication process).
However, the prior art fails to teach or reasonably suggest “forming an oxide layer on the cladding material to form a plurality of nanosheets of the first material with the oxide layer and the cladding material around the first material; exposing the semiconductor device to a rapid thermal oxidation process… to dry oxidize the plurality of nanosheets of the first material with the oxide layer and the cladding material” together with all the limitations of claim 1 as claimed. Claims 2-9 and 11-19 are allowable insofar as they depend upon and require all the limitations of claim 1.
Conclusion
/Nora T. Nix/Assistant Examiner, Art Unit 2891
/MATTHEW C LANDAU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2891