+Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claim(s) 1-17, in the reply filed on 01/20/2026- is acknowledged.
2. Claim(s) 1-17 will be examined. Claim(s) 18-20 are withdrawn.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 2, 7, 10 and 15 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Concerning claims 2 and 10, the search did not find or make obvious the plasma processing apparatus of claim 1, wherein the residence time tuning assembly further comprises a bellows, arranged along a portion of the pumping duct.
Concerning claims 7 and 15, the search did not find or make obvious the plasma processing apparatus of claim 6, wherein the pumping duct comprises: a first elbow portion, directly connected to the plasma chamber; a bellows, connected to the first elbow portion; and a second elbow portion, connected to the bellows and to the process chamber.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6, 8-9, 11-12, 14 and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by BLOMBERG et al. (US 20210020468 A1).
Regarding claims 1, BLOMBERG discloses a plasma processing apparatus (figs. 1-2, 10), comprising:
a plasma chamber (in 10) [0027], to define a plasma therein [0027];
an extraction aperture (18) [0024], arranged along a first side (bottom side of 10) of the plasma chamber (10), the extraction aperture (18) to define an ion beam extracted [0038] therethrough (from 18 to 3); and
a residence time tuning assembly (pumps 9, and/or 38) [0024] [0026] [0028], coupled to a portion (right side of 10) of the plasma chamber (10), different from the first side (bottom side of 10),
wherein the residence time tuning assembly (pump 9) [0024] [0026] [0028] comprises a pumping duct (at 26, 38, 9), connected (at 20 to 26; and/or “fluid connection” at 38 to 9) to the plasma chamber (10) on a first end (right side/end of 10), and defining a pumping path for extracting a gaseous species directly (at 20 to 26) from the plasma chamber, separately from the extraction aperture (18)
(figs. 1-2, 10, 18, 26, 9, 4, 6)
[0024-0028].
Regarding claims 9, BLOMBERG discloses a plasma processing system, comprising:
a plasma chamber (in 10) [0027], to define a plasma therein [0027];
a process chamber (3), arranged along a side (bottom side of 10) of the plasma chamber (10);
an extraction aperture (18) [0024], arranged between the plasma chamber (10), and process chamber (3), the extraction aperture (18) to define an ion beam extracted [0038] therethrough (from 18 to 3); and
a residence time tuning assembly (pumps 9, 38) [0024] [0026] [0028], coupled to a portion (right side of 10) of the plasma chamber (10);
wherein the residence time tuning assembly (pump 9) [0024] [0026] [0028] comprises a pumping duct (26), connected (at 20 to 26) to the plasma chamber (10) on a first end (upper right side/end of 10), and defining a pumping path for extracting a gaseous species directly (at 20 to 26) from the plasma chamber, separately from the extraction aperture (18)
(figs. 1-2, 10, 18, 26, 9, 4, 6)
[0024-0028].
Regarding claims 3 and 11, BLOMBERG discloses that the residence time tuning assembly (pumps 9, and/or 38) [0024] [0026] [0028] further comprising a valve (at 26, 38) [0024] [0028], arranged between a first end of the pumping duct (26) and a second end of the pumping duct, and a valve controller (not illustrated) [0020] [0024] [0028], arranged to vary gas pressure in the plasma chamber (in 10) [0027] by adjusting the valve [0020] [0024] [0028].
Regarding claims 4 and 12, BLOMBERG discloses that the pumping duct (26) is a first pumping duct (fig. 2, 26 right side), defining a first pumping path, the residence time tuning assembly (pumps 9, and/or 38) [0024] [0026] [0028] further comprising a second pumping duct (fig. 2, 38 left side), having a near end connected to the plasma chamber (in 10) [0027], and defining a second pumping path for extracting the gaseous species directly from the plasma chamber (in 10) [0020] [0024] [0028]..
Regarding claim 6, BLOMBERG discloses that the extraction aperture (18) [0024] is arranged along a side (top side of 3, between 3 and 10) of a process chamber (3), and wherein the pumping duct (fig. 1; of 26 and/or 38 to 9) is directly connected to the process chamber (3) on a second end (38 at right bottom end of 3).
Regarding claims 8 and 16, BLOMBERG discloses that the pumping duct (fig. 1; of 26 to 9) is arranged along a portion (left side of 10) of the plasma chamber (10) [0027], opposite to the extraction aperture (18s opposite/on right side of 10) [0024].
Regarding claim 14, BLOMBERG discloses that the pumping duct (fig. 1; of 26 and/or 38 to 9) is connected to the process chamber (3) on a second end (38 at right bottom end of 3).
Regarding claim 17, BLOMBERG discloses that wherein the process chamber (3) further comprises a substrate platen (5/50 for 6) , arranged opposite to the extraction aperture (18 in 10) [0024], and defining a separation between the extraction aperture and a substrate (6), disposed on the substrate platen, wherein the substrate platen (5,/50) is movable [0035] to adjust the separation (fig. 7, 50 )
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim(s) 5 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over BLOMBERG et al. (US 20210020468 A1) in view of HORSKY et al. (WO 2005059942 A2).
Regarding claims 5 and 13, BLOMBERG discloses the residence time tuning assembly (pumps 9, and/or 38) [0024] [0026] [0028] further comprising a
But BLOMBERG fails to disclose use of a back pump
HORSKY, however, discloses a vacuum system that utilizes a backing pump (422).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA applications) to combine/modify the invention of BLOMBERG, with use of a back pump, as taught by HORSKY, to use as a substitution of one known pump type (i.e. backing pump) for another (generic pump) to obtain predictable pressurization/vacuum level results.
Conclusion
/ANDREW SMYTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2878