DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7, 9, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Itaya et al. (JAPAN 2004-217956 A).
INDEPENDENT CLAIM 1:
Regarding claim 1, Itaya et al. teach utilizing a heat shield structure (5) for a substrate support (16) in a substrate processing system, the heat shield structure (5) comprising: an outer shield (5) configured to surround a stem (17) of the substrate support (16), wherein the outer shield (5) is further configured to, define an inner volume between the outer shield (5) and the stem (17) of the substrate support (16), and define an inner volume between the outer shield (5) and a lower surface of the substrate support (16); and an edge guard extending upward from the outer shield, wherein the edge guard is configured to, surround an outer perimeter of the substrate support, and define a gap between the edge guard and the substrate support. (See Abstract; Fig. 1)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 7:
Regarding claim 7, Itaya et al. teaches wherein the outer shield is not in direct contact with either one of the stem and the lower surface of the substrate support. (See Fig. 1)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 9:
Regarding claim 9, Itaya et al. teach wherein the substrate support corresponds to a pedestal configured to support a substrate during at least one of chemical vapor deposition and atomic layer deposition. (See Abstract; Fig. 1)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 10:
Regarding claim 10, Itaya et al. teach the system further comprising a gas source (22) configured to flow a purge gas into the inner volume. (See Abstract; Fig. 1)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3, 5, 6, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itaya et al. (JAPAN 2004-217956 A) in view of Horio et al. (JP 2013-131555A).
DEPENDENT CLAIM 2:
The difference not yet discussed is further comprising at least one heat shield plate configured to be arranged below the substrate support in the inner volume between the outer shield and the lower surface of the substrate support.
Regarding claim 2, Horio et al. suggest at least one heat shield plate configured to be arranged below the substrate support in the inner volume between the outer shield and the lower surface of the substrate support. (See Abstract; Figs. 1, 4)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 3:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein the at least one heat shield plate includes a plurality of heat shield plates spaced apart within the inner volume between the outer shield and the lower surface of the substrate support.
Regarding claim 3, Horio et al. teach wherein the at least one heat shield plate includes a plurality of heat shield plates spaced apart within the inner volume between the outer shield and the lower surface of the substrate support. (See Abstract; Figs. 1, 4)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 5:
The difference not yet discussed is further comprising an inner shield arranged between the outer shield and the stem.
Regarding clam 5, Horio et al. teach further comprising an inner shield arranged between the outer shield and the stem. (See Abstract; Figs. 1, 4)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 6:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein the inner shield extends downward from the at least one heat shield plate and defines a second inner volume between the inner shield and the stem.
Regarding claim 6, Horio et al. teach wherein the inner shield extends downward from the at least one heat shield plate and defines a second inner volume between the inner shield and the stem. (See Fig. 4)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 8:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein the heat shield plate is not in direct contact with any one of the lower surface of the substrate support, the stem of the substrate support, and the outer shield.
Regarding claim 8, Horio et al. teach wherein the heat shield plate is not in direct contact with any one of the lower surface of the substrate support, the stem of the substrate support, and the outer shield. (See Abstract; Figs. 1, 4)
The motivation for utilizing the features of Horio et al. is that it allows for suppressing generations of deposits. (See Abstract)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified Itaya et al. by utilizing the features of Horio et al. because it allows for suppressing generations of deposits.
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itaya et al. in view of Horio et al. as applied to claims 2, 3, 5, 6, 8 above, and further in view of Emerson et al. (U.S. Pat. 7,645,342).
DEPENDENT CLAIM 4:
The difference not yet discussed is further comprising a plurality of insulator pins arranged between adjacent ones of the heat shield plates.
Regarding claim 4, Emerson et al. teach utilizing a plurality of insulator pins to separate heat shield plates. (Fig. 4; Column 7 lines 53-60)
The motivation for utilizing the features of Emerson et al. is that it allows for avoiding conducting heat among the shields. (Column 7 lines 53-60)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have utilized the features of Emerson et al. is that it allows for avoiding conducting heat among the shields.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 2, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s filing of a terminal disclaimer has overcome the obviousness type double patenting rejection.
Applicant correcting priority overcomes the prior rejections.
Newly cited references are applied to address the claims.
This action will be made NON-FINAL based on the newly cited references.
Conclusion
/RODNEY G MCDONALD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794
RM
May 18, 2026