DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendments/Arguments
Amendments made to claims 1, 5, 9, 14 and 19, the cancelation of claim 8, and the addition of claim 21, as filed on June 5, 2026, are acknowledged.
The amendments made to claims 1, 5, 9, 14 and 19 have overcome the previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as set forth in the Office Action mailed on March 18, 2026.
Applicant's arguments, see Remarks filed on June 5, 2026, with respect to prior art rejections to amended claims 1, 14 and 19 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that “Zhang simply does not teach or suggest fluorinating and subsequently removing a portion of stacked layers of silicon nitride and silicon oxide to form a trench at least partially extending into the stacked layers of silicon nitride and silicon oxide as recited in amended independent claims 1, 14, and 19”; however, Zhang does disclose forming SiOxFy passivation layer on the substrate comprising stacked layers of silicon nitride and silicon oxide (paragraphs 0045 and 0055 and Fig. 2I). SiOxFy passivation layer reads on the fluorinated portion of the stacked layers. Zhang further discloses removing a portion of stacked layers of silicon nitride and silicon oxide to form a trench at least partially extending into the stacked layers of silicon nitride and silicon oxide (trenches are formed into the stacked layers by removing the passivation layer on the layers of silicon nitride and the layers of silicon nitride, paragraph 0047; Fig. 2J; and step 307, Fig. 3C). During patent examination, the pending claims must be given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification. Because applicant has the opportunity to amend the claims during prosecution, giving a claim its broadest reasonable interpretation will reduce the possibility that the claim, once issued, will be interpreted more broadly than is justified. Though understanding the claim language may be aided by explanations contained in the written description, it is important not to import into a claim limitations that are not part of the claim (see MPEP 2111).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 9, 12-15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (US20220199418).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses a semiconductor processing method (paragraph 0002) comprising: flowing a fluorine-containing precursor and a hydrogen-containing precursor into a processing region of a semiconductor processing chamber (step 304C, Fig. 3C and Fig. 1), wherein a substrate is positioned within the processing region (Fig. 1), and wherein stacked layers of silicon nitride and silicon oxide are disposed on the substrate (paragraph 0055 and Fig. 2I); forming plasma effluents of the fluorine-containing precursor and the hydrogen-containing precursor (step 304C, Fig. 3C); contacting the substrate with the plasma effluents of the fluorine-containing precursor and the hydrogen-containing precursor to form a fluorinated portion of the stacked layers of silicon nitride and silicon oxide (SiOxFy passivation layer reads on the fluorinated portion of the stacked layers of silicon nitride and silicon oxide, paragraphs 0045 and 0055; and step 305, Fig. 3C); flowing an inert gas into the processing region of the semiconductor processing chamber (step 306, Fig. 3C and Fig. 1), wherein the inert gas comprises argon (paragraph 0065 and step 306, Fig. 3C); forming plasma effluents of the inert gas (step 306, Fig. 3C); and contacting the stacked layers of silicon nitride and silicon oxide with the plasma effluents of the inert gas to remove the fluorinated portion of the stacked layers of silicon nitride and silicon oxide to form a trench at least partially extending into the stacked layers of silicon nitride and silicon oxide (paragraph 0047; Fig. 2J; and step 307, Fig. 3C), and wherein the method is performed at a chamber operating temperature of less than 0° C (paragraph 0046).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang discloses wherein the fluorine-containing precursor comprises nitrogen trifluoride (NF3, paragraph 0100 and Fig. 3C).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang discloses wherein the hydrogen-containing precursor comprises diatomic hydrogen (H2, paragraph 0043).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang discloses prior to flowing the inert gas, halting a flow of the fluorine-containing precursor and a flow of the hydrogen-containing precursor after a first period of time; and purging the processing region with a purge precursor (paragraph 0051).
Regarding claim 9, Zhang discloses applying a bias power while contacting the stacked layers of silicon nitride and silicon oxide with the plasma effluents of the inert precursor (paragraph 0065).
Regarding claim 12, Zhang discloses wherein the method is performed at a chamber operating temperature between −80° C to −50° C (paragraph 0046).
Regarding claim 13, Zhang discloses repeating the operations for at least two cycles (abstract and Fig. 3C).
Regarding claim 14, Zhang discloses a semiconductor processing method (paragraph 0002) comprising: i) flowing a fluorine-containing precursor and a hydrogen-containing precursor into a processing region of a semiconductor processing chamber (step 304C, Fig. 3C and Fig. 1), wherein a substrate is positioned within the processing region (Fig. 1), and wherein stacked layers of silicon nitride and silicon oxide are disposed on the substrate (paragraph 0055 and Fig. 2I); ii) forming plasma effluents of the fluorine-containing precursor and the hydrogen-containing precursor (step 304C, Fig. 3C); iii) contacting the stacked layers of silicon nitride and silicon oxide with the plasma effluents of the fluorine-containing precursor and the hydrogen-containing precursor to form a fluorinated portion of the stacked layers of silicon nitride and silicon oxide (paragraph 0045 and step 305, Fig. 3C); iv) flowing an inert gas into the processing region of the semiconductor processing chamber (step 306, Fig. 3C and Fig. 1); v) forming plasma effluents of the inert precursor (step 306, Fig. 3C); vi) contacting the stacked layers of silicon nitride and silicon oxide with the plasma effluents of the inert gas to remove the fluorinated portion of the stacked layers of silicon nitride and silicon oxide to form a trench at least partially extending into the stacked layers of silicon nitride and silicon oxide (paragraph 0047; Fig. 2J; and step 307, Fig. 3C); and vii) repeating operations i) through vi) for at least a second cycle (abstract and Fig. 3C).
Regarding claim 15, Zhang discloses wherein the fluorine-containing precursor further comprises nitrogen (NF3, paragraph 0100 and Fig. 3C).
Regarding claim 18, Zhang discloses wherein the method is performed at a chamber operating temperature between −80° C to −50° C (paragraph 0046).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Zhang et al. (US20220199418) as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claims 4, Zhang is silent about wherein a flow rate ratio of the hydrogen-containing precursor relative to the fluorine-containing precursor is greater than or about 2:1. However, Zhang teaches that the ratio of silane (reads on hydrogen-containing precursor) to fluorine-containing precursor can be tuned to improve etch selectivity (paragraphs 0038-0039). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to optimize the flow rate ratio of the hydrogen-containing precursor relative to the fluorine-containing precursor (a result-effective variable) to achieve desirable etching selectivity. Additionally, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable range by routine experimentation and there is no evidence of the criticality of the claimed range. See MPEP 2144.05 II.
Regarding claim 7, Zhang discloses wherein the plasma effluents of the fluorine-containing precursor and the hydrogen-containing precursor are formed at a power between 1W to 10000W (paragraph 0044), which overlaps with the range recited in the instant claim. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 11, Zhang discloses wherein the method is performed at a chamber operating pressure of between 1 mTorr to 1 atm (paragraph 0041), which overlaps with the range recited in the instant claim.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Zhang et al. (US20220199418) as applied to claim 5 above.
Regarding claim 6, Zhang discloses wherein the first period of time is between 0.01 sec to 60 minutes (paragraph 0041), which overlaps with the range recited in the instant claim.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Zhang et al. (US20220199418) as applied to claim 9 above.
Regarding claim 10, Zhang discloses wherein the bias power is between 0 to 10000 W (paragraph 0065), which overlaps with the range recited in the instant claim.
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Zhang et al. (US20220199418) as applied to claim 14 above.
Regarding claim 16, Zhang discloses wherein a total flow rate including the fluorine-containing precursor is between 1sccm to 1000 sccm (paragraph 0041), which overlaps with the range recited in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 17, Zhang discloses operations i) through vi) are repeated for a plurality of cycles (paragraph 0050). Zhang is silent about the number of cycles is at least ten cycles. However, Zhang teaches that the cycles are repeated a plurality of times to achieve desired etching. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to choose the number of cycles, including at least ten cycles, to be repeated in order to achieve desired etching depth, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Zhang et al. (US20220199418).
Regarding claim 19, Zhang discloses a semiconductor processing method (paragraph 0002) comprising: flowing a fluorine-containing precursor and a hydrogen-containing precursor into a processing region of a semiconductor processing chamber (step 304C, Fig. 3C and Fig. 1), wherein a substrate is positioned within the processing region (Fig. 1), and wherein stacked layers of silicon nitride and silicon oxide are disposed on the substrate (paragraph 0055 and Fig. 2I); forming plasma effluents of the fluorine-containing precursor and the hydrogen-containing precursor (step 304C, Fig. 3C); contacting the stacked layers of silicon nitride and silicon oxide with the plasma effluents of the fluorine-containing precursor and the hydrogen-containing precursor to form a fluorinated portion of the stacked layers (SiOxFy passivation layer reads on the fluorinated portion of the stacked layers of silicon nitride and silicon oxide, paragraphs 0045 and 0055; and step 305, Fig. 3C); halting a flow of the fluorine-containing precursor and a flow of the hydrogen-containing precursor into the processing region (paragraph 0051 and Fig. 3C); flowing an inert gas into the processing region of the semiconductor processing chamber (step 306, Fig. 3C and Fig. 1); forming plasma effluents of the inert gas (step 306, Fig. 3C); and contacting the substrate with the plasma effluents of the inert gas to removes the fluorinated portion of the stacked layers of silicon nitride and silicon oxide to form a trench at least partially extending into the stacked layers of silicon nitride and silicon oxide (paragraph 0047; Fig. 2J; and step 307, Fig. 3C), wherein the fluorinated portion of the stacked layers of silicon nitride and silicon oxide is characterized by a thickness of less than about 100 nm (paragraph 0070). Zhang is silent about wherein a flow rate ratio of the hydrogen-containing precursor relative to the fluorine-containing precursor is greater than or about 2:1. However, Zhang teaches that the ratio of silane (hydrogen-containing precursor) to fluorine-containing precursor can be tuned to improve etch selectivity (paragraphs 0038-0039). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to optimize the flow rate ratio of the hydrogen-containing precursor relative to the fluorine-containing precursor (a result-effective variable) to achieve desirable etching selectivity. Additionally, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable range by routine experimentation and there is no evidence of the criticality of the claimed range. See MPEP 2144.05 II.
Regarding claim 20, Zhang discloses wherein the method is performed at a chamber operating temperature between −80° C to −50° C (paragraph 0046).
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JIONG-PING LU whose telephone number is (571) 270-1135. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F: 9:00am – 5:00pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Joshua L Allen, can be reached at telephone number (571)270-3176. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/JIONG-PING LU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713