Detailed Action
Specification Objection
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Where the title is not descriptive of the invention claimed, the examiner should require the substitution of a new title that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Form paragraphs 6.11 and 6.11.01 may be used.
Drawings Objection
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitation “a plurality of first conductive layers over the substrate, wherein the isolation layers and the first conductive layers are stacked alternatively; and a plurality of second conductive layers spaced apart from the first conductive layers, wherein the second conductive layers surround the capacitor dielectrics while the capacitor dielectrics surround the first capacitor electrode” in Claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 112
Claim 1 discloses each of the plurality of capacitors comprises a first capacitor electrode and a second capacitor electrode. Claim 1 also discloses a plurality of first conductive layers and a plurality of second conductive layers. It is unclear how to distinguish between first capacitor electrode and first conductive layer; and between second capacitor electrode second conductive layer. Claims 2-10 depend from Claim 1. For examination purpose, the Examiner interprets a plurality of first conductive layers and a plurality of second conductive layers are components different from first capacitor electrode and second capacitor electrode.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claims 1, 2 and 4-10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2021/0257366) of record, in view of Yokuyama (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2022/0246618) of record.
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 12 (annotated below) of Lee discloses a semiconductor device, comprising: a substrate (LS); a plurality of capacitors (CAP) disposed on the substrate, wherein each of the capacitors extends along a first direction (D2), wherein each of the plurality of capacitors comprises a first capacitor electrode (PN), a second capacitor electrode (SN), and a capacitor dielectric (DE) separating the first capacitor electrode from the second capacitor electrode; a first space (SP1) on the substrate and extending along a second direction (D3) different from the first direction; and a plurality of isolation layers (ISO) each of which extends along the first direction, the plurality of isolation layers and the first capacitor electrode of the plurality of capacitors have a staggered (arranged so as to alternate on either side of a center) arrangement; a plurality of first conductive layers (WL) over the substrate, wherein the isolation layers and the first conductive layers are stacked alternatively; and a plurality of second conductive layers (PL) spaced apart from the first conductive layers, wherein the second conductive layers surround the capacitor dielectrics while the capacitor dielectrics surround the first capacitor electrode, wherein the first capacitor electrode of the plurality of capacitors is spaced apart from the substrate; wherein the capacitor dielectric comprises a first surface and a second surface which are disposed on two opposite sides of the capacitor dielectric along the first direction, the second surface is exposed by the first capacitor electrode, and the first space is between the first surface and the second surface of the capacitor dielectric.
Lee is silent with respect to “a first supporting layer disposed on the substrate and extending along a second direction different from the first direction; and a plurality of isolation layers each of which extends along the first direction”.
FIG. 10 of Yokuyama discloses a similar semiconductor device, comprising: a substrate (1000); a plurality of capacitors disposed on the substrate, wherein each of the capacitors extends along a first direction (D1), wherein each of the plurality of capacitors comprises a first capacitor electrode (1061), a second capacitor electrode (1056), and a capacitor dielectric (1063 between 861 and 856) separating the first capacitor electrode from the second capacitor electrode; a first supporting layer (1030-1) disposed on the substrate and extending along a second direction (D2) different from the first direction; a plurality of isolation layers (1030-2 to 1030-(N+1)) each of which extends along the first direction, and the plurality of isolation layers and the first capacitor electrode of the plurality of capacitors have a staggered (arranged so as to alternate on either side of a center) arrangement; a plurality of first conductive layers (1098) over the substrate, wherein the isolation layers and the first conductive layers are stacked alternatively; and a plurality of second conductive layers (1040) spaced apart from the first conductive layers, wherein the second conductive layers surround the capacitor dielectrics while the capacitor dielectrics surround the first capacitor electrode, wherein the first capacitor electrode of the plurality of capacitors is spaced apart from the substrate; wherein the capacitor dielectric comprises a first surface and a second surface which are disposed on two opposite sides of the capacitor dielectric along the first direction, the second surface is exposed by the first capacitor electrode.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lee, as taught by Yokuyama. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Lee in the above manner for purpose of forming vertical stacks with reduced size and capacitor cells with increased area ([0018] of Yokuyama).
Regarding Claim 2
FIG. 12 of Lee discloses the first supporting layer is in contact with the substrate, wherein the isolation layers are in contact with the capacitor dielectric, wherein each of the isolation layers (ISO) is spaced apart from the second conductive layer (PL) by the capacitor dielectric (DE), wherein the first conductive layers serve as the first capacitor electrodes while the second conductive layers serves as the second capacitor electrodes.
Regarding Claim 4
FIG. 1 of Yokuyama discloses a transistor electrically connected to one of the plurality of capacitors; and an interconnection trace disposed between the transistor and the one of the plurality of capacitors.
Regarding Claim 5
FIG. 1 of Yokuyama discloses the interconnection trace and the first capacitor electrode of the one of the plurality of capacitors are monolithic.
Regarding Claim 6
FIG. 1 of Yokuyama discloses the interconnection trace extends along the first direction (orthogonal to the surfaces of the capacitor electrodes) and serves as a portion of each of the first conductive layer, wherein the portions of the first conductive layer are spaced apart from each other by the isolation layers.
Regarding Claim 7
FIG. 2 of Yokuyama discloses the transistor comprises a word line (203) extending along a third direction (D3) different from the first direction and the second direction.
Regarding Claim 8
FIG. 12 of Lee discloses the transistor comprises a channel layer (ACT) spaced apart from the first capacitor electrode (SN) of the one of the plurality of capacitors by the word line (WL), wherein the channel layer is located at a horizontal level same as that of one of the first conductive layers.
Regarding Claim 9
FIG. 12 of Lee discloses a material of the channel layer (ACT, doped polysilicon [0048]) is different from a material of the first capacitor electrode (metal-base [0052]) of the one of the capacitors.
Regarding Claim 10
FIG. 2 of Yokuyama discloses the word line (203) is in contact with the substrate [0028].
Claim 3 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee and Yokuyama, in view of Wu (CN 111025845) of record.
Regarding Claim 3
Lee as modified by Yokuyama discloses Claim 2.
Lee as modified by Yokuyama is silent with respect to “a second supporting layer spaced apart from the first supporting layer and extending along the second direction, wherein the second supporting layer is in contact with the substrate; wherein the capacitor dielectrics and the second conductive layer have a ring-shaped profile”.
FIG. 11 of Wu discloses a similar semiconductor device, comprising a second supporting layer (left 111) spaced apart from the first supporting layer (right 111) and extending along the second direction, wherein the second supporting layer is in contact with the substrate (100); wherein the capacitor dielectrics (131) and the second conductive layer (132) have a ring-shaped profile.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lee, as taught by Wu. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Lee in the above manner for purpose of improving the reliability of the finally prepared device (Abstract of Wu).
Pertinent Art
FIG. 21 of Li (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2023/0389265) discloses a semiconductor device, comprising: a substrate (20); a plurality of capacitors disposed on the substrate, wherein each of the capacitors extends along a first direction (D2), wherein (FIG. 9) each of the plurality of capacitors comprises a first capacitor electrode (301), a second capacitor electrode (303), and a capacitor dielectric (302) separating the first capacitor electrode from the second capacitor electrode; a first supporting layer (S1) disposed on the substrate and extending along a second direction (D3) different from the first direction; and a plurality of isolation layers (ISO) each of which extends along the first direction, and the plurality of isolation layers and the first capacitor electrode of the plurality of capacitors have a staggered arrangement; wherein the first capacitor electrode of the plurality of capacitors is spaced apart from the substrate; wherein the capacitor dielectric comprises a first surface and a second surface which are disposed on two opposite sides of the capacitor dielectric along the first direction, the second surface is exposed by the first capacitor electrode, and the first supporting layer is disposed between the first surface and the second surface of the capacitor dielectric. FIG. 13 of Lugani (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2014/0030863) discloses a semiconductor device, comprising: a substrate (12); a plurality of capacitors disposed on the substrate, wherein each of the capacitors extends along a first direction, wherein each of the plurality of capacitors comprises a first capacitor electrode (34), a second capacitor electrode (46), and a capacitor dielectric (44) separating the first capacitor electrode from the second capacitor electrode; a first supporting layer (26) disposed on the substrate and extending along a second direction different from the first direction; and a plurality of isolation layers (54) each of which extends along the first direction, and the plurality of isolation layers and the first capacitor electrode of the plurality of capacitors have a staggered arrangement; wherein the first capacitor electrode of the plurality of capacitors is spaced apart from the substrate; wherein the capacitor dielectric comprises a first surface and a second surface which are disposed on two opposite sides of the capacitor dielectric along the first direction, the second surface is exposed by the first capacitor electrode. Pertinent art also includes Karda (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2023/0022021), Kiehlbauch (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2009/0176011), U.S. Patent Pub. No. 20230018716 and U.S. Patent Pub. No. 20220199621.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHENG-BAI ZHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897