Detailed Action
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I in the reply filed on 11/24/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 13-14 and 16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/25/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 12, 15 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sheu et. Al. (US 20100289057 A1 hereinafter Sheu).
Regarding claim 1and 20, Sheu teaches in Figs. 1 and 2A with associated text a structure for an electrostatic discharge protection device 200a and method of forming thereof ([0027]), the structure comprising: a semiconductor substrate including a first well (220a and 215a) (Fig. 2A, [0025]); a field-effect transistor 210a including a gate (structures over the channel regions near the source 213a [0017] and [0024]), a source 213a, and a drain 211 (Fig. 2A, [0024]), the source including a first doped region in the first well (Fig. 2A, [0024]-[0025]); and a silicon-controlled rectifier (225a, 220a,230a and 235a) including a first doped region 225a in the first well (Fig. 2A, [0027]).
Regarding claim 2, Sheu teaches the semiconductor substrate includes a second well 230a adjacent to the first well (Fig. 2A, [0027]), and the silicon-controlled rectifier includes a second doped region 235a in the second well (Fig. 2A, [0027]).
Regarding claim 3, Sheu teaches the semiconductor substrate includes a third well 217 adjacent to the first well (Fig. 2A, [0023]), the drain of the field-effect transistor includes a second doped region 211 in the third well (Fig. 2A), and further comprising: an input-output terminal VDD coupled to the second doped region of the silicon-controlled rectifier and to the second doped region of the field-effect transistor (Fig. 2A, [0024] and [0026]).
Regarding claim 4, Sheu teaches a first shallow trench isolation region 205b in the semiconductor substrate, the first shallow trench isolation region between the first doped region 225a of the silicon-controlled rectifier and the second doped region 235a of the silicon-controlled rectifier (Fig. 2A, [0023] and [0026]), the first shallow trench isolation region including a first portion that overlaps with the first well, and the first shallow trench isolation region including a second portion that overlaps with the second well (Fig. 2A).
Regarding claim 5, Sheu teaches a second shallow trench isolation region 205a in the semiconductor substrate, wherein the second doped region of the silicon-controlled rectifier is disposed between the first shallow trench isolation region and the second shallow trench isolation region (Fig. 2A).
Regarding claim 6, Sheu teaches the semiconductor substrate has a top surface )upper surface including 225a250b, 235a, 205a, etc.), and the first shallow trench isolation region, the second shallow trench isolation region, and the second doped region of the silicon-controlled rectifier are disposed fully between the second well and the top surface of the semiconductor substrate (Fig. 2A).
Regarding claim 7, Sheu teaches the semiconductor substrate includes a third well 217 (Fig. 2A, [0023]), the first well is disposed in a lateral direction between the second well and the third well (Fig. 2A), the drain of the field-effect transistor includes a second doped region 211 in the third well, and the third well includes a portion beneath the gate of the field-effect transistor (see annotated Fig. above).
Regarding claim 8, Sheu teaches the semiconductor substrate includes a deep well 240 having an opposite conductivity type (p-type [0028]) from the second well and the third well (n-type [0023] and [0025]), and the second well and the third well are disposed within the deep well (240 is a guard ring surrounding the structure so that 230a and 17 are within it Fig. 2A, [0028]) also see 340 in Fig. 3 [0031]) .
Regarding claim 9, Sheu teaches the second doped region of the field-effect transistor has a conductivity type (211 is doped using the same process as 225a [0036] and so are n+ type [0026]), and the third well has the conductivity type (n type [0023]) at a lower dopant concentration than the second doped region of the field-effect transistor (217 is n type and so has lower concentration than 211 which has n+ type).
Regarding claim 12, Sheu teaches the first doped region of the source of the field- effect transistor and the first doped region of the silicon-controlled rectifier are coupled to a ground potential (Fig 2A, [0024] and [0026]).
Regarding claim 15, Sheu teaches a shallow trench isolation region 205D in the semiconductor substrate between the gate of the field-effect transistor and the drain of the field-effect transistor (see annotated Fig. above).
Regarding claim 17, Sheu teaches the silicon-controlled rectifier is adjacent to the source of the field-effect transistor (Fig. 2A).
Regarding claim 18, Sheu teaches a shallow trench isolation region 205c in the semiconductor substrate between the first doped region of the source of the field-effect transistor and the first doped region of the silicon-controlled rectifier (Fig. 2A, [0023]).
Regarding claim 19, Sheu teaches the semiconductor substrate has a top surface, the first doped region of the source of the field-effect transistor adjoins the top surface, and the first doped region of the silicon-controlled-rectifier adjoins the top surface (Fig. 2A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheu as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Qiao (US 20210273095 A1 hereinafter Qiao).
Regarding claim 10, Sheu teaches the structure of claim 1 wherein the first doped region of the silicon-controlled rectifier has a first conductivity type (n-type [0026]), the first well has a second conductivity type (p type [0025]) opposite from the first conductivity type.
Sheu does not specify the first doped region of the field-effect transistor has the first conductivity type.
Qiao discloses in Figs. 6 with associated text a field-effect transistor LDMOS similar to that of Sheu wherein a source comprising a first doped region 111 of the field-effect transistor has the first conductivity type [0033[
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the first doped region of the field-effect transistor of Sheu have the first conductivity type because according to Qiao the structure is suitable to use a source (111 is connected to the source electrode 152 [0033]) in a DMOS device particularly an LDMOS [0036] furthermore it is very well known in the art to make the source the opposite conductivity type to the body region in a DMPS structure.
Regarding claim 11, Sheu teaches the first conductivity type is n-type, and the second conductivity type is p-type ([0025] and [0026]).
Conclusion
/AARON J GRAY/Examiner, Art Unit 2897