DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-17 are pending in the application and are currently being examined. No claims have been amended. Claims 13-17 have been withdrawn per the 12/29/2025 restriction election. No new claims have been added.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 13-17 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/29/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/19/2023 is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US 2021/0343786 A1, hereafter Wang).
Regarding claim 7, in Fig. 6 Wang discloses a semiconductor device, comprising:
an inter-metal dielectric (IMD) layer (28, [0014]) on a substrate (12, [0012]);
a metal interconnection (30, [0014]) in the IMD layer (28), wherein the metal interconnection (30) comprises:
a barrier layer (34, [0015]) in the IMD layer (28) and extended to a surface of the IMD layer (28); and
a metal layer (36, [0015]) on the barrier layer (34);
a spin orbit torque (SOT) layer (channel layer, 42, [0017]) on the barrier layer (34) and the metal layer (36); and a magnetic tunneling junction (MTJ) (58, [0019]) on the SOT layer (42).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang.
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a method for fabricating a semiconductor device, comprising:
forming an inter-metal dielectric (IMD) layer (28, [0014]) on a substrate (12, [0012]);
forming a contact hole (where the barrier layer (34, [0015]) and metal layer (36, [0015]) are deposited) in the IMD layer (28);
forming a barrier layer (34) and a metal layer (36) in the contact hole;
planarizing the metal layer (while planarizing the metal layer is not explicitly taught, Wang teaches planarizing a channel layer in order to make the channel layer even with the top surface of the surrounding layer ([0017]). So one of ordinary skill in the art would know to utilize a planarizing step on the metal layer in order to have an even surface between the metal layer, the barrier layer, and the IMD layer);
forming a spin orbit torque (SOT) layer (channel layer, 42, [0017]) on the barrier layer (34) and the metal layer (36); and
forming a magnetic tunneling junction (MTJ) (58, [0019]) on the SOT layer (42).
Regarding claim 6, Wang teaches the method of claim 1. Wang further teaches the barrier layer comprises titanium nitride (TiN) [0015].
Claim(s) 2-5 and 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang as applied to claims 1 and 7 above, and further in view of Edelstein et al. (US 2017/0148740 A1, hereafter Edelstein).
Regarding claim 2, Wang teaches the method of claim 1. However, Wang fails to teach a doping process on the barrier layer and the metal layer. However, in Figs. 4 and 5, Edelstein teaches a method of doping a surface of a tungsten element (along with the rest of the entirety of exposed surfaces, which would include the barrier layer of Wang) with nitrogen [0028]. This doping is done to repair damages in the tungsten caused by etching [0028]. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Wang to include the nitrogen doping of Edelstein in order to repair etch damage.
Regarding claim 3, Wang in view of Edelstein teach the method of claim 2. Edelstein further teaches the doping process includes nitrogen [0028].
Regarding claim 4, Wang in view of Edelstein teach the method of claim 3. Edelstein further teaches the doping process forms an interface layer on the metal layer (36 of Wang, [0015]). As the doping process only dopes the surface of the metal layer, and the doped surface is what is interfacing the later levels, the doping creates an interface layer.
Regarding claim 5, Wang in view of Edelstein teach the method of claim 4. Edelstein further teaches the interface layer comprises tungsten nitride (WN). Wang taught the metal layer comprised tungsten, much like the tungsten contacts of Edelstein [0023], the surface becomes tungsten nitride in Fig. 5 of Edelstein [0028].
Regarding claim 8, Wang teaches the semiconductor device of claim 7. Wang fails to disclose an interface layer on the metal layer. However, in Figs. 4 and 5, Edelstein teaches a method of doping a surface of a tungsten element with nitrogen [0028]. As the doping process only dopes the surface of the metal layer, and the doped surface is what is interfacing the later levels, the doping creates an interface layer. This doping is done to repair damages in the tungsten caused by etching [0028]. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wang to include the nitrogen doping of Edelstein in order to repair etch damage.
Regarding claim 9, Wang in view of Edelstein teach the semiconductor device of claim 8. Edelstein further teaches the interface layer comprises tungsten nitride (WN). Wang taught the metal layer comprised tungsten, much like the tungsten contacts of Edelstein [0023], the surface becomes tungsten nitride in Fig. 5 of Edelstein [0028].
Regarding claim 10, Wang in view of Edelstein teach the semiconductor device of claim 8. Wang in view of Edelstein further discloses top surfaces of the interface layer (dopes surface of metal layer 36 of Wang [0015]) and the barrier layer (34 of Wang, [0015]) are coplanar (as the barrier layer and the metal layer are coplanar, the interface layer is coplanar with the barrier layer).
Regarding claim 10, Wang in view of Edelstein teach the semiconductor device of claim 7. Wang further discloses the barrier layer comprises titanium nitride (TiN) [0015].
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Lien et al. (US 2006/0088947 A1, hereafter Lien).
Regarding claim 12, Wang teaches the semiconductor device of claim 7. Wang fails to disclose a top surface of the barrier layer is higher than a top surface of the IMD layer. However, Figs. 4-6 of Lien teaches a similar memory device in which the barrier layer (40, [0021]) being disposed on the entirety of the exposed surface, (which would include the IMD layer of Wang). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wang to include a blanket deposited barrier layer in order to form an underlying electrode for subsequent layers, as Lien teaches in [0025].
Conclusion
/SAMMANTHA K SALAZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2892
/NORMAN D RICHARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2892