DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/2/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicants’ argument for claim 7, Applicant argues that Wang fails to disclose that the barrier layer is in the IMD layer and extended to a top surface of the IMD layer. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The barrier layer, metal layer, and IMD layer of Wang are all coplanar in Fig. 6, meaning that the barrier layer extends to a top surface of the IMD layer. It appears the amendment is intended to read as the barrier layer extends above and across the top surface of the ILD layer, which Examiner would agree Wang fails to teach. However, this is not how the claim is written, and the rejection of claim 7 is below.
Regarding Applicants’ argument for claim 1, Applicant argues that Wang fails to disclose planarizing the metal layer while a top surface of the remaining metal layer is higher than a top surface of the IMD layer in amended claim 1. Examiner would like to note that Wang is silent on the details of the planarization step, as the details are not included in their specification for brevity (paragraph [0015]). However, Wang does teach planarizing the metal layer 36 (as also admitted by Applicant in their remarks, page 8 line 1). The claim language says planarizing “while” a top surface of the remaining metal layer is higher than a top of the IMD layer, which does not necessarily read as the top surface is higher after the planarization. The amended language is interpreted to mean that the top surface of the remaining metal is higher than the IMD layer during the planarization step. As Wang does not provide details of the planarization, the metal can either be disposed to a top surface above or below the IMD layer, necessitating another reference for clarity, as will be seen in the rejection of claim 1 below with the inclusion of previously relied upon reference Lien et al. (US 2006/0088947 A1).
Regarding the objection to the title, Examiner agrees the amended title is descriptive, and the related objection is withdrawn.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-17 are pending in the application and are currently being examined. No claims have been amended. Claims 13-17 have been withdrawn per the 12/29/2025 restriction election. No new claims have been added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US 2021/0343786 A1, hereafter Wang).
Regarding claim 7, in Fig. 6 Wang discloses a semiconductor device, comprising:
an inter-metal dielectric (IMD) layer (28, [0014]) on a substrate (12, [0012]);
a metal interconnection (30, [0014]) in the IMD layer (28), wherein the metal interconnection (30) comprises:
a barrier layer (34, [0015]) in the IMD layer (28) and extended to a top surface of the IMD layer (28) (as the barrier layer (34) and IMD layer (28) are coplanar in Fig. 6, the barrier layer (34) extends to a top surface of the IMD layer (28)); and
a metal layer (36, [0015]) on the barrier layer (34);
a spin orbit torque (SOT) layer (channel layer, 42, [0017]) on the barrier layer (34) and the metal layer (36); and a magnetic tunneling junction (MTJ) (58, [0019]) on the SOT layer (42).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Lien et al. (US 2006/0088947 A1, hereafter Lien).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a method for fabricating a semiconductor device, comprising:
forming an inter-metal dielectric (IMD) layer (28, [0014]) on a substrate (12, [0012]);
forming a contact hole (where the barrier layer (34, [0015]) and metal layer (36, [0015]) are deposited) in the IMD layer (28);
forming a barrier layer (34) and a metal layer (36) in the contact hole;
planarizing the metal layer (planarizing is taught by Wang shown in the description of Fig. 2 [0017] and also admitted by applicant in their remarks on page 8, line 1. Wang more specifically teaches planarizing a channel layer in order to make the channel layer even with the top surface of the surrounding layer ([0017]). So one of ordinary skill in the art would know to utilize a planarizing step on the metal layer in order to have an even or planar surface);
forming a spin orbit torque (SOT) layer (channel layer, 42, [0017]) on the barrier layer (34) and the metal layer (36); and
forming a magnetic tunneling junction (MTJ) (58, [0019]) on the SOT layer (42).
Wang fails to teach a top surface of the remaining metal layer is higher than a top surface of the IMD layer.
However, Lien teaches in Figs. 2-4 a process in which a barrier layer (40, [0021]) and a metal layer (42, [0021]) are formed above an IMD layer (dielectric, 24/34, [0018] and [0020]) then planarized. In this step, the top surface of the metal layer (42) is higher than the top surface of the IMD layer (24/34). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the metal layer and barrier layer of Wang to be formed like that of Lien to have the metal layer and barrier layer to have top surfaces above the IMD layer in order to have a planar surface to build further layers upon, as Lien teaches in [0022].
Regarding claim 6, Wang in view of Lien teaches the method of claim 1. Wang further teaches the barrier layer comprises titanium nitride (TiN) [0015].
Claim(s) 2-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Lien as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Edelstein et al. (US 2017/0148740 A1, hereafter Edelstein).
Regarding claim 2, Wang in view of Lien teaches the method of claim 1. However, Wang fails to teach a doping process on the barrier layer and the metal layer. However, in Figs. 4 and 5, Edelstein teaches a method of doping a surface of a tungsten element (along with the rest of the entirety of exposed surfaces, which would include the barrier layer of Wang) with nitrogen [0028]. This doping is done to repair damages in the tungsten caused by etching [0028]. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Wang to include the nitrogen doping of Edelstein in order to repair etch damage.
Regarding claim 3, Wang in view of Lien in view of Edelstein teach the method of claim 2. Edelstein further teaches the doping process includes nitrogen [0028].
Regarding claim 4, Wang in view of Lien in view of Edelstein teach the method of claim 3. Edelstein further teaches the doping process forms an interface layer on the metal layer (36 of Wang, [0015]). As the doping process only dopes the surface of the metal layer, and the doped surface is what is interfacing the later levels, the doping creates an interface layer.
Regarding claim 5, Wang in view of Lien in view of Edelstein teach the method of claim 4. Edelstein further teaches the interface layer comprises tungsten nitride (WN). Wang taught the metal layer comprised tungsten, much like the tungsten contacts of Edelstein [0023], the surface becomes tungsten nitride in Fig. 5 of Edelstein [0028].
Claim(s) 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Edelstein.
Regarding claim 8, Wang teaches the semiconductor device of claim 7. Wang fails to disclose an interface layer on the metal layer. However, in Figs. 4 and 5, Edelstein teaches a method of doping a surface of a tungsten element with nitrogen [0028]. As the doping process only dopes the surface of the metal layer, and the doped surface is what is interfacing the later levels, the doping creates an interface layer. This doping is done to repair damages in the tungsten caused by etching [0028]. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wang to include the nitrogen doping of Edelstein in order to repair etch damage.
Regarding claim 9, Wang in view of Edelstein teach the semiconductor device of claim 8. Edelstein further teaches the interface layer comprises tungsten nitride (WN). Wang taught the metal layer comprised tungsten, much like the tungsten contacts of Edelstein [0023], the surface becomes tungsten nitride in Fig. 5 of Edelstein [0028].
Regarding claim 10, Wang in view of Edelstein teach the semiconductor device of claim 8. Wang in view of Edelstein further discloses top surfaces of the interface layer (dopes surface of metal layer 36 of Wang [0015]) and the barrier layer (34 of Wang, [0015]) are coplanar (as the barrier layer and the metal layer are coplanar, the interface layer is coplanar with the barrier layer).
Regarding claim 11, Wang in view of Edelstein teach the semiconductor device of claim 7. Wang further discloses the barrier layer comprises titanium nitride (TiN) [0015].
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Lien et al. (US 2006/0088947 A1, hereafter Lien).
Regarding claim 12, Wang teaches the semiconductor device of claim 7. Wang fails to disclose a top surface of the barrier layer is higher than a top surface of the IMD layer. However, Figs. 4-6 of Lien teaches a similar memory device in which the barrier layer (40, [0021]) being disposed on the entirety of the exposed surface, (which would include the IMD layer of Wang). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wang to include a blanket deposited barrier layer in order to form an underlying electrode for subsequent layers, as Lien teaches in [0025].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMMANTHA K SALAZ/ Examiner, Art Unit 2892
/NORMAN D RICHARDS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2892