DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5, lines 2-3 recite “the driving voltage line is not overlapped with the bridge electrode in the plan view”. This directly contradicts claim 1, from which this claim depends, which recites in line 16 “the driving voltage line overlaps the bridge electrode in the plan view”. The driving voltage line cannot possibly both overlap and not overlap the bridge electrode. This issue renders the claim indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JUNG (US 20070155226).
Regarding claim 1, JUNG discloses an organic light emitting diode display comprising:
a substrate (substrate 110, see fig 2-3, para 26);
a scan line (fig 1-3, 121, para 19 and 27) disposed on the substrate;
a data line (fig 1-3, 171, para 36) disposed and which crosses the scan line (171 crosses 151, see figs 1 and 2);
a driving voltage line (fig 1-3, 172, para 19) disposed in parallel with the data line (171 and 172 extend in parallel, see figs 1 and 2) and which overlaps a plurality of transistors in a plan view (172 includes 174 and 178 which overlap with at least two transistors, see fig 2-3, para 37);
a driving transistor (the transistor with 152b1 as a channel which is the middle transistor of fig 3, see fig 1-3, para 33) which has a first gate electrode (fig 1-3, 124b1, para 28) and a first electrode (fig 1-3, 178, para 37) connected to the driving voltage line;
an organic light emitting diode (the LED with organic light emitting member 370, see fig 3, para 49) connected to the driving transistor;
a second transistor (the transistor with channel 152b1 which is the right transistor in fig 3, see fig 1-3, para 55) connected to the scan line, the data line, and the first electrode of the driving transistor (the transistor is at least indirectly physically connected to 121, 171 and 172, see fig 1-3); and
a third transistor (the transistor with channel 152a, see fig 1-3, para 53) which includes a third gate electrode (fig 1-3, 124a, para 53) connected to the scan line (124a is connected to 121, see fig 3, para 53) and a second electrode (fig 3, 175a, para 53) connected to the first gate electrode (175a is connected to gate 124b1 of the driving transistor by 85, see fig 1-3, para 53),
wherein the first gate electrode of the driving transistor and the second electrode of the third transistor are connected through a bridge electrode (gate electrode 124b1 and second electrode 175a are connected by 85, see fig 3, para 46), and
the driving voltage line overlaps the bridge electrode in the plan view (85 includes 87 which overlaps 172, see fig 1-3, para 46).
Regarding claim 2, JUNG discloses the organic light emitting diode display of claim 1, further comprising:
a first storage electrode connected to the driving voltage line (the portion of 172 which overlaps with 124b forms a storage capacitor, see fig 3, para 57); and
a second storage electrode which includes the first gate electrode (124b forms part of the storage capacitor, see fig 1-3, para 57),
wherein the first storage electrode and the second storage electrode overlap each other in the plan view and constitute a storage capacitor (see fig 1-3, para 57).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JUNG (US 20070155226) in view of LIUS (US 20180062105).
Regarding claim 3, JUNG discloses the organic light emitting diode display of claim 1.
JUNG fails to explicitly disclose a device, further comprising:
an upper gate connector which overlaps the bridge electrode and the second electrode of the third transistor in the plan view,
wherein the upper gate connector is physically connected to the bridge electrode and the second electrode of the third transistor through a contact hole.
LIUS teaches a device, further comprising:
an upper gate connector (fig 10E, 1005E, para 115) which overlaps the bridge electrode (1005E overlaps bridge electrode 1042 which connects S//D2 with G2, see fig 10E, para 109) and the second electrode of the third transistor (the electrode S/D2 of 1007A, see fig 10E, para 109) in the plan view (1005E overlaps S/D2 and G2 along a vertical direction, see fig 10E),
wherein the upper gate connector is physically connected to the bridge electrode and the second electrode of the third transistor through a contact hole (1005E is connected to 1042 which is connected to S/D2 by a through hole, see fig 10E).
JUNG and LIUS are analogous art because they both are directed towards TFT display devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify the device of JUNG with the gate connector of LIUS because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of JUNG with the gate connector of LIUS in order to increase the capacitance of the storage capacitor (see LIUS para 49).
Regarding claim 4, JUNG discloses the organic light emitting diode display of claim 1.
JUNG fails to explicitly disclose a device, further comprising:
a lower gate connector which overlaps the bridge electrode and the second electrode of the third transistor in the plan view,
wherein the lower gate connector is physically connected to the bridge electrode and the second electrode of the third transistor through a contact hole.
LIUS teaches a device, further comprising:
a lower gate connector (fig 10E, 1005E, para 115) which overlaps the bridge electrode (1005E overlaps bridge electrode 1042 which connects S//D2 with G2, see fig 10E, para 109) and the second electrode of the third transistor (the electrode S/D2 of 1007A, see fig 10E, para 109) in the plan view (1005E overlaps S/D2 and G2 along a vertical direction, see fig 10E) in the plan view (1005E overlaps S/D2 and G2 along a vertical direction, see fig 10E),
wherein the lower gate connector is physically connected to the bridge electrode and the second electrode of the third transistor through a contact hole (1005E is connected to 1042 which is connected to S/D2 by a through hole, see fig 10E).
JUNG and LIUS are analogous art because they both are directed towards TFT display devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify the device of JUNG with the gate connector of LIUS because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of JUNG with the gate connector of LIUS in order to increase the capacitance of the storage capacitor (see LIUS para 49).
Conclusion
/JONAS T BEARDSLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2811
/SAMUEL A GEBREMARIAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2811