DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
In view of Applicant’s new Fig. 1, the prior drawing objection with respect to that figure is withdrawn.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the one or more buffer layers as found in claim 7, and more than one intermediary semiconductor layer as recited in the alternative in claim 8, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Rejection 1/2
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, 8-10, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kondo et al. (US 2021/0305771).
(Re Claim 1) Kondo teaches a layered structure comprising:
a substrate (85+86+87+88; view Fig. 7B upside down) comprising a p-type semiconductor material (layer 85 is a p-type semiconductor material; ¶143);
a plurality of semiconductor layers (81+83; Fig. 7B), on the substrate, comprising at least one p-on-n junction (81 is p-type and 83 is n-type; view Fig. 7B upside down; ¶¶138, 141); and a tunnel junction layer (84; Fig. 7B, ¶142) between the substrate and the plurality of semiconductor layers (Fig. 7B).
(Re Claim 2) Kondo teaches the layered structure of claim 1, wherein the tunnel junction layer comprises an n-on-p tunnel junction (n-type 84a is on p-type 85b; view Fig. 7B upside down; ¶142).
(Re Claim 3) Kondo teaches the layered structure of claim 2, wherein an n-type semiconductor tunnel layer of the n-on-p tunnel junction comprises a diffusion layer (84a; contains high-concentration n-type impurities; Fig. 7B, ¶142) formed by diffusion from the plurality of semiconductor layers to the tunnel junction layer.
Claim 3 is a product-by-process claim. A product-by-process claim is a product claim. Applicant has merely chosen to define the claimed product by the process by which it was made. It has been well established that process limitations do not impart patentability to an old/obvious product. Process limitations are significant only to the extent that they distinguish the claimed product over the prior art product. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir.1985). In this case, the claimed diffusion layer need not be formed by the process of diffusion from the plurality of semiconductor layers to the tunnel junction layer. Once the Examiner provides a rationale tending to show that the claimed product appears to be the same or similar to that of the prior art, although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product. In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 798, 802, 218 USPQ 289, 292 (Fed. Cir.1983).
(Re Claim 6) Kondo teaches the layered structure of claim 1, wherein:
the tunnel junction layer comprises a first material (GaAs; ¶142), and the substrate comprises the first material (layer 85 comprises GaAs with Al content at 0; ¶143).
(Re Claim 8) Kondo teaches the layered structure of claim 1, wherein the at least one p-on-n junction comprises:
an n-type semiconductor layer (83; ¶141);
a p-type semiconductor layer (81; ¶138); and
one or more intermediary semiconductor layers (82; Fig. 7B, ¶142) between the n-type semiconductor layer and the p-type semiconductor layer, wherein the one or more intermediary semiconductor layers comprises an active layer for emitting (emitting: ¶142) or absorbing light.
(Re Claim 9) Kondo teaches the layered structure of claim 1, wherein the at least one p-on-n junction comprises an n-type reflector (n-type; ¶¶36, 141) and a p-type reflector.
(Re Claim 10) Kondo teaches the layered structure of claim 1, wherein the layered structure forms one of: a light emitting diode (LED), a vertical cavity surface emitting laser (VCSEL) (VCSEL; Fig. 7B), an edge emitting laser, and a photodetector.
(Re Claim 20) Kondo teaches the layered structure comprising:
a substrate (85+86+87+88; view Fig. 7B upside down) comprising p-type semiconductor material (layer 85 is a p-type semiconductor material; ¶143);
one or more semiconductor layers (81+83; Fig. 7B) for forming a device (VCSEL; Fig. 7B); and a tunnel junction layer (84; Fig. 7B, ¶142) between the substrate and the one or more semiconductor layers (Fig. 7B).
Rejection 2/2
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7-10, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koelle et al. (US 2005/0089074) and Dai et al. (US 2023/0307889).
(Re Claim 1) Koelle teaches a layered structure comprising:
a substrate (18; Fig. 3) comprising a p-type semiconductor material (p-type GaAs; ¶21); and
a plurality of semiconductor layers (14+16; Fig. 3), on the substrate, comprising at least one p-on-n junction (layer 14 is p-type and layer 16 is n-type; ¶39); Koelle has not been shown to explicitly teach a tunnel junction layer between the substrate and the plurality of semiconductor layers.
Dai teaches forming a lower mirror (14; Fig. 2) having a tunnel junction layer (143; Fig. 2).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to utilize the lower mirror 14 taught by Dai for the lower mirror 16 of Koelle, as Dai’s lower mirror configuration allows for reduced resistance (Dai: ¶33).
This results in modified Koelle teaching a plurality of semiconductor layers (14 from Koelle, and layers 141 of Dai; see Fig. 3 of Koelle and Fig. 2 of Dai), on the substrate, comprising at least one p-on-n junction (Koelle’s layer 14 is p-type and Dai’s layer 141 is n-type; Koelle: ¶39; Dai: ¶33); and
a tunnel junction layer (Dai: 143; Fig. 2) between the substrate and the plurality of semiconductor layers (Koelle: Fig. 3).
(Re Claim 7) Modified Koelle teaches the layered structure of claim 1, further comprising one or more buffer layers between the substrate and the tunnel junction layer (17; Fig. 3).
(Re Claim 8) Modified Koelle teaches the layered structure of claim 1, wherein the at least one p-on-n junction comprises:
an n-type semiconductor layer (Dai: 141; Fig. 2, ¶33);
a p-type semiconductor layer (Koelle: 14; ¶39); and
one or more intermediary semiconductor layers (19; Fig. 3) between the n-type semiconductor layer and the p-type semiconductor layer, wherein the one or more intermediary semiconductor layers comprises an active layer (20; Fig. 3) for emitting (emitting: ¶19) or absorbing light.
(Re Claim 9) Modified Koelle teaches the layered structure of claim 1, wherein the at least one p-on-n junction comprises an n-type reflector (Dai’s 141 as part of the mirror structure; ¶33) and a p-type reflector (Koelle: DBR mirror 16; ¶39).
(Re Claim 10) Modified Koelle teaches the layered structure of claim 1, wherein the layered structure forms one of: a light emitting diode (LED), a vertical cavity surface emitting laser (VCSEL) (Koelle: ¶39), an edge emitting laser, and a photodetector.
(Re Claim 20) Koelle teaches the layered structure comprising:
a substrate (18; Fig. 3) comprising p-type semiconductor material (p-type GaAs; ¶21); and
one or more semiconductor layers (p-type GaAs; ¶21) for forming a device (VCSEL: ¶39); Koelle has not been shown to explicitly teach a tunnel junction layer between the substrate and the one or more semiconductor layers.
Dai teaches forming a lower mirror (14; Fig. 2) having a tunnel junction layer (143; Fig. 2).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to utilize the lower mirror 14 taught by Dai for the lower mirror 16 of Koelle, as Dai’s lower mirror configuration allows for reduced resistance (Dai: ¶33).
This results in modified Koelle teaching a one or more semiconductor layers (14 from Koelle, and layers 141 of Dai; see Fig. 3 of Koelle and Fig. 2 of Dai) for forming a device (Koelle: VCSEL; ¶39; Dai: VCSEL: ¶2); and
a tunnel junction layer (Dai: 143; Fig. 2) between the substrate and the one or more semiconductor layers (Koelle: Fig. 3).
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koelle et al. (US 2005/0089074) and Dai et al. (US 2023/0307889) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kondo (US 2018/0006645) of record.
(Re Claim 2) Modified Koelle teaches the layered structure of claim 1, but has not been shown to explicitly teach the tunnel junction layer comprises an n-on-p tunnel junction.
Kondo teaches forming a tunnel junction layer (15; Fig. 14A) formed of an n-type (15a; Fig. 14A) and a p-type (15b; Fig. 14A) layer.
As Dai does not describe the particular structure of the tunnel junction layer 143, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to utilize the structure of Kondo’s tunnel junction layer (15; Fig. 14A), as Kondo’s tunnel junction layer contact orientation is suitable for providing separation between an n-type DBR that is part of a VCSEL device (Kondo: Fig. 14A; Koelle: “each of the first and second mirrors 14, 16 includes a system of alternating layers of different refractive index materials that forms a distributed Bragg reflector (DBR)” (¶21); ¶39) and another p-type layer while allowing for electrical interaction with the VCSEL device. See Ruiz v. A.B. Chance Co., 357 F.3d 1270, 69 USPQ2d 1686.
Doing so results in the tunnel junction layer of modified Koelle having an n-type layer on top of a p-type layer, where the p-type layer is closer to the substrate of modified Koelle, and so the tunnel junction layer comprises an n-on-p tunnel junction.
(Re Claim 3) Modified Koelle teaches the layered structure of claim 2, wherein an n-type semiconductor tunnel layer of the n-on-p tunnel junction comprises a diffusion layer (the n-type layer of Dai’s 143 in view of Kondo) formed by diffusion (15a contains n-type dopants at high concentration; Kondo: ¶68) from the plurality of semiconductor layers to the tunnel junction layer.
Claim 3 is a product-by-process claim. A product-by-process claim is a product claim. Applicant has merely chosen to define the claimed product by the process by which it was made. It has been well established that process limitations do not impart patentability to an old/obvious product. Process limitations are significant only to the extent that they distinguish the claimed product over the prior art product. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir.1985). In this case, the claimed diffusion layer need not be formed by the process of diffusion from the plurality of semiconductor layers to the tunnel junction layer. Once the Examiner provides a rationale tending to show that the claimed product appears to be the same or similar to that of the prior art, although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product. In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 798, 802, 218 USPQ 289, 292 (Fed. Cir.1983).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koelle et al. (US 2005/0089074) and Dai et al. (US 2023/0307889) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Roucka (US 2021/0305782), Li et al. (US 2021/0091244), and Kim (US 2014/0273323).
(Re Claim 4) Modified Koelle teaches the layered structure of claim 1, but has not been shown to teach the p-type semiconductor material of the substrate comprises Ge.
Roucka teaches that a substrate may be made from GaAs or Ge (¶52).
Li teaches forming a p-doped Ge substrate (78; Fig. 5, ¶34).
Furthermore, a PHOSITA would find it obvious to dope the semiconductor material comprising Ge of modified Koelle such that it is p-type, as Koelle states that the substrate 18 may be p-type (Koelle: ¶21), Ge and GaAs are art recognized alternative materials for forming VCSEL substrates (Roucka: ¶52), and p-type Ge substrates are known in the art (Li: ¶34). See Ruiz v. A.B. Chance Co., 357 F.3d 1270, 69 USPQ2d 1686 (Fed. Cir. 2004). P-type Ge substrates also provide good hole mobility and reduced resistance (Kim: ¶156).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koelle et al. (US 2005/0089074) and Dai et al. (US 2023/0307889) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mascarenhas (US 2002/0117675) and Kim (US 2014/0273323).
(Re Claim 5) Modified Koelle teaches the layered structure of claim 1, but has not been shown to teach the tunnel junction layer comprises Ge.
Mascarenhas teaches forming a tunnel junction (31; Fig. 1) using Ge (¶38).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to form the Dai’s tunnel junction 143 in modified Kim using Ge, as taught by Mascarenhas, as Ge provides for high p-type concentration, increased hole mobility, and reduced resistance (Kim: ¶156).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koelle et al. (US 2005/0089074) and Dai et al. (US 2023/0307889) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mascarenhas (US 2002/0117675), Roucka (US 2021/0305782), Li et al. (US 2021/0091244), and Kim (US 2014/0273323).
(Re Claim 6) Modified Koelle teaches the layered structure of claim 1, but has not been shown to teach the layered structure wherein:
the tunnel junction layer comprises a first material, and the substrate comprises the first material.
Mascarenhas teaches forming a tunnel junction (31; Fig. 1) using Ge (¶38).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to form the Dai’s tunnel junction 143 in modified Kim using Ge, as taught by Mascarenhas, as Ge provides for high p-type concentration, increased hole mobility, and reduced resistance (Kim: ¶156).
Roucka teaches that a substrate may be made from GaAs or Ge (¶52).
Li teaches forming a p-doped Ge substrate (78; Fig. 5, ¶34).
Furthermore, a PHOSITA would find it obvious to dope the semiconductor material comprising Ge of modified Koelle such that it is p-type, as Koelle states that the substrate 18 may be p-type (Koelle: ¶21), Ge and GaAs are art recognized alternative materials for forming VCSEL substrates (Roucka: ¶52), and p-type Ge substrates are known in the art (Li: ¶34). See Ruiz v. A.B. Chance Co., 357 F.3d 1270, 69 USPQ2d 1686 (Fed. Cir. 2004). P-type Ge substrates also provide good hole mobility and reduced resistance (Kim: ¶156).
Forming the tunnel junction layer and the substrate from Ge results in modified Koelle teaching the layered structure wherein: the tunnel junction layer comprises a first material (Ge from Masarenhas), and the substrate comprises the first material (from Roucka and Li).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
For the drawing objection Applicant argues that non-essential features of the disclosed invention do not need to be explicitly shown in the drawings (remarks, p. 8). However, even non-essential features that are claimed must be shown to some degree: “The drawing in a nonprovisional application must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. However, conventional features disclosed in the description and claims, where their detailed illustration is not essential for a proper understanding of the invention, should be illustrated in the drawing in the form of a graphical drawing symbol or a labeled representation (e.g., a labeled rectangular box). In addition, tables that are included in the specification and sequences that are included in sequence listings should not be duplicated in the drawings.” (emphasis added; 37 C.F.R. 1.83).
Therefore, the drawing objection is maintained.
For the rejection based on Kondo, the Applicant argues that layer 85+86+87+88 is improperly mapped to the claimed substrate as “a substrate is a support and not simply an arbitrary layer at the bottom of a layered structure”. However, based on the functional definition provided by the Applicant here, it is not improper to describe layer 85+86+87+88 as a substrate as this layer collectively support Kondo’s device during transport, installation, or operation. Additionally, when the device is viewed through layer 80, layer 85+86+87+88 is beneath all other layers of Kondo’s device. It is unclear how a layer that supports layers lying above is not a substrate. Applicant also points to Kondo describing layer 80 as a substrate to show that other layers cannot be a substrate (remarks, p. 10), but Kondo does not provide a definition of “substrate” that would prevent a person of ordinary skill in the art from recognizing other layers of Kondo’s device as also being a substrate.
Furthermore, infringement cannot depend on the angle or orientation a structure is viewed from, nor can rotating a structure by 90º or 180º, or some other angle, impart patentability.
Applicant also describes a simple rotation of a device in space for inspection as a modification (remarks, p. 10), but it is unclear what part of the device’s structure is changed.
For the rejection based on Koelle, Applicant argues that the combination of Koelle+Dai does not produce a p-on-n VCSEL (remarks, p. 13), as importing the bottom DBR 14 of Dai would cause the p-on-n structure of modified Koelle to become an n-on-p structure (remarks, p. 13). But when all three layers of Dai’s bottom DBR 14 are utilized to form the lower semiconductor structure 16 of Koelle, the p-on-n structure of Koelle is preserved, and Dai’s lower mirror configuration even allows for reduced resistance (Dai: ¶33) as a consequence of utilizing Dai’s layer 145 from Dai’s semiconductor structure 14; Dai’s 145 is not described in the rejection as forming a part of the p-on-n junction, and is depicted underneath Dai’s tunnel junction (Dai: Fig. 2). As described in the rejection, Koelle’s layer 14 is p-type and Dai’s layer 141 is n-type, with Koelle’s active layer 20 between them, which results in modified Koelle demonstrating a p-on-n type junction.
Though Applicant asserts that a change from a p-on-n junction to an n-on-p junction is made (remarks, p. 13), it is unclear how that change is either required by the modified structure of Koelle or argued in the rejection.
The remainder of Applicant’s arguments are moot in view of the rejection.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER A. SCHODDE/Examiner, Art Unit 2898
/JESSICA S MANNO/SPE, Art Unit 2898