Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I drawn to the apparatus and claims 1-6 in the reply filed on 20 Jan 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there would be no undue burden on the Examiner to examine Group II claims 7-20 because the search of Group I will necessarily result in a search of the methods depicted in Group II. This is not found persuasive because as discussed in the restriction/election requirement of 14 Nov 2025 the apparatus is claimed could be used in another method such as etching AND there would be a serious search and/or examination burden if restriction were not required because one or more of the following reasons apply: (a) the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification (b) the inventions have acquired a separate statue sin the art due to their recognized divergent subject matter; (c) the inventions require a different field of search (for example, searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search quires); (d) the prior art applicable to one invention would not likely be applicable to another invention; (e)the inventions are likely to raise different non-prior art issues under 35 U.S.C. 101 and/or 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or first paragraph. For example, prior art that applies to the apparatus group I claims 1-6 would not likely be applicable to the Group II claims 7-20. Additionally, searching for the apparatus would require a different field of search and/or search queries.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim 7-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 20 Jan 2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
Body 300 disclosed in para. [0028] is not shown in the figures. Additionally, reference number 3000 in Fig. 2A does not appear in the Specification. Either "body 300" in para. [0028] and [0029] should be changed to "body 3000" or reference numeral 3000 in Fig. 2A should be corrected to "300" in Fig. 2A to correct this drawing objection.
Fig. 2A reference numeral 204 is not disclosed in the Specification
Fig. 2B reference numeral 3811 is not disclosed in the Specification.
Para. [0028] refers to a process facing surface 282 shown in Fig. 2A however para. [0029] uses reference numeral 282 to refer to an inner zone 282. Amendment to para. [0028], para. [0029], Fig. 2A and/or 2B is required for clearly indicating each of a process facing surface and the inner zone.
Para. [0029] interchangeably recites “inner 382” and “inner zone 282”. Examiner notes that Fig. 2B shows a view of the body 300 with inner and outer zones however Fig. 2B shows inner zone as 382 and what appears to be an outer zone as 3811. Examiner explains that Fig. 2B and para. [0029] need to be amended to clarify which reference numerals refer to the inner zone and the outer zone.
Fig. 3A and para. [0034], [0040], [0041] have reference numeral "142" and "342" interchangeably used to refer to gas holes. To overcome this drawing objection, the examiner suggests Applicant should amend the Specification para. [0040] and [0041] to change "142" to "342" and to remove reference numeral 142 from Fig. 3A.
Fig. 2A: reference numeral 2228 does not appear in the Specification. However, examiner notes that para. [0031] discloses "height 228" of upper step 224. Examiner suggests amending Fig. 2A to replace reference numeral "2228" with "228."
Para. [0044] edge heater 392 disposed in the lower showerhead 140 is not shown in the figures.
Examiner respectfully requests Applicant to more thoroughly review the disclosure for any further objections/errors that the Examiner may have missed.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: it appears the claim 1 has two periods at the end of the claim and one period should be deleted to correct this typographical error. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 6, limitation "wherein the lower showerhead has one or more radio frequency (RF) power sources with an inner zone and an outer zone and a dielectric sleeve which allows separation of energy in the inner zone and the outer zone" is unclear and confusing if the RF power source has the inner zone and outer zone or if the lower showerhead has the inner zone and the outer zone. Additionally, it is unclear whether the inner zone and the outer zone is the same or different from the first zone and the second zone recited in claim 1. Further, it is unclear of the dielectric sleeve is part of the lower showerhead or the RF power source. Further, it is unclear if the dielectric sleeve is part of the RF power source or the lower showerhead.
For the purpose of examination, the examiner interprets the above discussed limitation, in light of Fig. 3A and 3B and para. [0040], [0042], as "wherein the lower showerhead has one or more radio frequency (RF) power sources and a dielectric sleeve, wherein the one or more RF power sources is coupled with an inner the first zone and an outer the second zone and [[a]]the dielectric sleeve which allows separation of energy in the inner first zone and the outer second zone."
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (US 2010/0288728 A1 hereinafter “Han”) in view of Nasman et al. (US 2019/0035646 A1 hereinafter “Nasman”) and Dhindsa (US 2009/0081878 A1), Kim et al. (US 2015/0020848 A1 hereinafter "Kim '848") and Kim et al. (US 2011/0024399 A1 hereinafter "Kim '399").
Regarding independent claim 1 Han teaches: a processing system (comprising Fig. 1, 5, 6, 7) comprising:
a chamber body (comprising chamber 100, Fig. 1, 5, 6, 7, para. [0035]) comprising:
an upper chamber body (comprising upper half of 110, Fig. 1, 5, 6, 7, para. [0036]) having a lid (comprising lid 120, Fig. 1, 5, 6, 7, para. [0036]); and
a lower chamber body (comprising lower half of 110, Fig .1, 5, 6, 7, para. [0036]) having a bottom (comprising bottom of 110, Fig. 1, 5, 6, 7), wherein the upper chamber body and lower chamber body enclose an area defining a processing environment (i.e. reaction space within 100, para. [0035]);
an upper body (comprising 600, Fig. 7) moveably disposed in the upper chamber body (comprising upper half of 110, Fig. 7), the upper body comprising:
a moveable support (comprising drive shaft 611, Fig. 7, para. [0052]) attached to the body (comprising 600, Fig. 7); and
an upper step (see annotated Fig. 7 below) formed in the body along an outer perimeter and exposed to the processing environment (i.e. inner space of 100); and
a lower showerhead disposed in the lower chamber body, the lower showerhead comprising:
a showerhead body (comprising stage 200, Fig. 1, 5, 6, 7) having a top surface configured to support a substrate (comprising 10, Fig. 1, 5, 6, 7) (para. [0040]), the showerhead body (comprising 200, Fig. 1, 5, 6, 7) having a lower step (see annotated Fig. 1 below) disposed along an outer perimeter, wherein the substrate (comprising 10, Fig. 5) is configured to extend from the top surface partially over the lower step (para. [0040]); and
gas holes (comprising openings shown but not labeled in Fig. 1, 5, 6,7) disposed through the showerhead body (comprising 200, Fig. 1, 5, 6, 7) along a top surface of the showerhead body (comprising 200, Fig. 1, 5, 6, 7) configured to supply process (i.e. reaction) or non-process (i.e. non-reaction gas) (para. [0037]), wherein the processing system is configured to perform deposition on a backside and bevel edge of the substrate (para. [0054, [0056]]).
Han does not teach the upper body is a heater comprising a heater body have two or more heaters disposed in concentric zones; the lower showerhead is fixedly disposed in the lower chamber body; lift pins disposed in the showerhead body configured to extend through the top surface and support the substrate thereon; the gas holes are disposed in a first zone along the top surface and a second zone on the lower step, the gas holes configured to independently flow both a process and non-process gas in the first zone and the second zone.
However, Nasman teaches an upper heater (comprising 177, Fig. 1, para. [0031]) comprising a heater body that is movable (para. [0032]). Nasman teaches that such a configuration enables heating a front side of the substrate (para. [0031]).
Dhindsa further teaches an upper heater (comprising heater plate 150, Fig. 1) comprising two or more heaters (comprising heating elements 172, Fig. 1) disposed in concentric zones (para. [0030]). Dhindsa teaches that such a configuration enables variable controlled heating of different regions or zones of the upper heater(para. [0030]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configured the upper body to include a heater comprising a heater body having two or more heaters disposed in concentric zones because Nasman teaches/suggests providing an upper heater enables heating a front side of the substrate (Nasman: para. [0031]) and because Dhindsa teaches an arrangement of two or more heaters disposed in concentric zones in an upper heater arrangement that enables variable controlled heating of different regions or zones of the upper heater (Dhindsa: para. [0030]).
Han in view of Nasman and Dhindsa as applied above do not explicitly teach the lower showerhead is fixedly disposed in the lower chamber body; lift pins disposed in the showerhead body configured to extend through the top surface and support the substrate thereon; the gas holes are disposed in a first zone along the top surface and a second zone on the lower step, the gas holes configured to independently flow both a process and non-process gas in the first zone and the second zone.
However, Han teaches various different configurations providing moveable upper and lower body arrangements to adjust a spacing of the substrate with respect to the upper body (comprising 600, Fig. 7) and lower body (comprising 200, Fig. 1, 5, 6, 7) (Fig. 1, 5, 6, 7). Examiner notes that the lower showerhead (comprising 200, Fig. 7) would be capable of being fixed while the upper body (comprising 600, Fig. 7) is moved.
Nasman further teaches providing a moveable upper heater as an obvious alternative embodiment to providing a moveable lower showerhead (para. [0032]).
Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that providing a fixed lower showerhead and a moveable upper body is an obvious alternative embodiment to providing a moveable lower body/showerhead and a fixed upper body/showerhead or moveable lower body/showerhead and moveable upper body/showerhead to adjust a spacing of the substrate with respect to either of the upper body and the lower body/showerhead.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the lower showerhead to be fixedly disposed in the lower chamber body because Han already teaches various embodiments with moveable upper and lower bodies including an arrangement with a moveable upper body and it would be obvious that the lower showerhead can be fixed while the upper body is moved, because Nasman teaches/suggests that providing a moveable upper heater is an obvious alternative to an embodiment to providing a moveable lower showerhead wherein it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to try/select one of three possible options of moveable upper and lower body arrangements for adjusting a spacing of the substrate with respect to either of the upper body and the lower body/showerhead.
Han in view of Nasman and Dhindsa as applied above does not explicitly teach lift pins disposed in the showerhead body configured to extend through the top surface and support the substrate thereon; the gas holes are disposed in a first zone along the top surface and a second zone on the lower step, the gas holes configured to independently flow both a process and non-process gas in the first zone and the second zone.
However, Kim '848 teaches a processing system (comprising system 300, Fig. 3A) configured to process the backside of a substrate (abstract and title), wherein the processing system includes lift pins (comprising 111A, Fig. 3A) disposed in the lower showerhead body (comprising lower showerhead electrode plate 301, Fig. 3A) configured to extend through the top surface and support the substrate (comprising workpiece 109, Fig. 3A) thereon (para. [0073]). Kim teaches such a configuration enables handling the substrate (comprising 109, Fig. 3A) during placement and removal of the substrate from the chamber (comprising 101, Fig. 3A) (para. [0073]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add/provide lift pins disposed in the showerhead body configured to extend through the top surface and support the substrate thereon because Kim '848 teaches/suggests such a configuration enables handling/transport of the substrate into and outer of the chamber.
Han in view of Nasman, Dhindsa, and Kim '848 as applied above does not explicitly teach the gas holes are disposed in a first zone along the top surface and a second zone on the lower step, the gas holes configured to independently flow both a process and non-process gas in the first zone and the second zone.
However, Han already teaches a lower step in the lower showerhead (comprising 200, Fig. 1, 5, 6, 7).
Further Han teaches/suggests gas holes in a first zone (comprising plurality of openings in 300 and connected to 322, Fig. 5) in along a surface of the upper showerhead (comprising 300, Fig. 5) and a second zone on the upper step (comprising openings connected to gas supply unit 321, Fig. 5) wherein the gas is independently flow into each zone from different gas sources (para. [0039]). Han teaches the configuration of holes in the step directs gas towards the edge of the substrate (para. [0039]).
Additionally, Kim '399 teaches a lower showerhead (Fig. 6) comprising gas holes that disposed in a first zone (comprising first gas injection holes 580, Fig. 6) along the top surface and gas holes a second zone (comprising second gas injection holes 560, Fig. 6) on the lower step/periphery (comprising 520B, Fig. 6), the gas holes configured to independently flow gas in the first zone and the second zone (para. [0037], [0062]-[0063]). Examiner explains that since the second zone gas hole (comprising 560, Fig. 6) and the gas holes in the first zone (comprising gas holes 530, Fig. 6) have separate gas lines (520 and 550, respectively, Fig. 6) the gas holes are configured/capable of independently flowing gases to each zone. Kim '399 teaches that the gas holes in the second zone enable directing gas toward the backside bevel edge of the substrate for processing the backside bevel edge of the substrate (para. [0063].
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the lower showerhead comprising gas holes are disposed in a first zone along the top surface and a second zone on the lower step, the gas holes configured to independently flow gas in the first zone and the second zone (i.e. provide gas holes in the lower step of Han connected to a separate gas line from the gas holes in the first zone) because Han already teaches a lower step and already suggests providing gas holes in a second zone in a step to independently direct gas toward the edge of the and because Kim '399 suggests providing gas holes in a second zone to direct gas to a backside edge of the substrate to enable processing the backside edge of the substrate.
Regarding "both a process and non-process gas" Han already teaches providing supply process (i.e. reaction) or non-process (i.e. non-reaction gas) to the lower showerhead (para. [0037]), wherein it would further be obvious to be able to supply a process and non-process gas to the second zone to enable desired processing of the backside edge of the substrate.
Regarding limitation "a process and non-process gas" and "to perform deposition on a backside and bevel edge of the substrate" is/are intended use limitations. Since the combination teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim as applied, the apparatus of the same is considered capable of meeting the claimed intended use limitations. Furthermore, the courts have ruled the following: a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). MPEP §2114. II
Regarding claim 2, Han in view of Nasman, Dhindsa, Kim '848, and Kim '399 {hereinafter "modified Han"} teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as applied above including an upper step (see teachings of Han).
Modified Han does not clearly and explicitly teach the upper step has a height between about 3 mm and about 7 mm; and a length between about 1 mm and 7mm.
However, Han teaches that the upper body (comprising 300, Fig. 1, 5, 6, 7) has a size slightly smaller than that of the substrate and the size of the protruding portions may be varied depending on processing conditions and further teaches exposing an edge region of 0.1 to 5 mm from the end of the substrate to enable processing the exposed edge region of the substrate wherein the exposed edge region of the substrate appears to be about approximately the same or similar in size as the height and length of the upper step (para. [0040]). In other words, Han suggests a dimension of 0.1 to 5 mm for an upper step in order to expose the edge of the substrate for processing wherein the dimension of the upper step is a result-effective variable which affects processing conditions. Examiner further notes that the length and height of the upper step would define a volume where processing gas can reside which one of ordinary skill in the art would understand would affect volume of gas available for processing of the edge region of substrate.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the length and height of the upper step because Han teaches/suggest that the dimension of the upper step is a result-effective variable which affects processing conditions wherein one of ordinary skill in the art would optimize the dimensions of the upper step to enable optimized substrate processing.
Regarding claim 3, modified Han teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as applied above.
Han further teaches the gas holes (plurality of openings, shown not labeled, Fig. 1, 5, 6, 7) of the lower showerhead (comprising 200, Fig. 1, 5, 6, 7) are fluidly coupled to a non-process gas (i.e. non-reaction gas) source (via first pipe 210, Fig. 1) (para. [0037]).
Modified Han as applied above does not explicitly teach a remote plasma source (RPS) fluidly coupled to the gas holes in the lower showerhead.
However, Han teaches that the lower showerhead (comprising 200, Fig. 1, 5, 6, 7) is configured to generate plasma and the plasma generation configuration can be modified to any unit for generating plasma (para. [0043]).
Further, Kim '848 teaches/suggest the lower showerhead includes a remote plasma source (RPS) (comprising 184, Fig. 3B and 5C) fluidly coupled to the gas holes (comprising 305, Fig. 3B and 5C) in the lower showerhead (comprising 301, Fig. 3B and 5C) to direct plasma to the backside of the substrate (comprising workpiece 109, Fig. 3B and 5C)(para. [0048]-[0049], [0082]-[0085], [0096]-[0099]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a remote plasma source fluid coupled to the gas holes in the lower showerhead because Han already teaches a plasma generation configuration with the lower showerhead and teaches/suggests using different plasma generation configurations and because Kim '848 teaches that a remote plasma source fluid coupled to the gas holes in the lower showerhead is a known suitable plasma generation configuration for delivering/supplying plasma to the backside of the substrate for processing.
Regarding claim 4, modified Han teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as applied above but does not explicitly teach wherein the lift pins are positioned between 148 mm and about 149 mm from a center of the lower showerhead.
However, examiner notes that Han, Nasman, Kim '848 relate to semiconductor fabrication (Han: para. [0002]; Nasman: para. [0002]-[0003]; Kim '848: para. [0002]), wherein Nasman further teaches a common substrate size is 300 mm diameter (i.e. 150 mm radius)(para. [0024]).
Recall Kim '848 teaches that the lift pins are configured to support the substrate for transport into and outer of the processing chamber (para. [0073]). Note the substrate is supported aligned with a central vertical axis of the lower showerhead (see Han: lower showerhead 200 and substrate 10, Fig. 5). Thus, the lift pins must be positioned less than 150 mm from the center of the substrate support/lower showerhead of the apparatus of modified Han in order to suitably support and transfer the substrate. In other words, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the distance between the lift pin position from a center of the lower showerhead is a result-effective variable which would affect the suitability of supporting/transporting of the substrate (i.e. a lift pin position that is greater than 150 mm from the center of the lower showerhead would not be able to support a 300 mm diameter water and a lift pin positioned too close to the center of the showerhead may not stably support the peripheral regions of the substrate).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the distance between the lift pins and the center of the lower shower because Kim '848 teaches/suggests the lift pins are for supporting and transporting the substrate and because Nasman teaches/suggests a common size of a substrate is 150 mm in radius wherein one of ordinary skill in the art would understand and appreciate that the distance between the lift pin position from a center of the lower showerhead is a result-effective variable which would affect the suitability of supporting/transporting of the substrate.
Regarding claim 5, modified Han teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, 4 as applied above but does not explicitly teach wherein the lift pins are positioned between 148.5 mm from a center of the lower showerhead.
However, examiner notes that Han, Nasman, Kim '848 relate to semiconductor fabrication (Han: para. [0002]; Nasman: para. [0002]-[0003]; Kim '848: para. [0002]), wherein Nasman further teaches a common substrate size is 300 mm diameter (i.e. 150 mm radius)(para. [0024]).
Recall Kim '848 teaches that the lift pins are configured to support the substrate for transport into and outer of the processing chamber (para. [0073]). Note the substrate is supported aligned with a central vertical axis of the lower showerhead (see Han: lower showerhead 200 and substrate 10, Fig. 5). Thus, the lift pins must be positioned less than 150 mm from the center of the substrate support/lower showerhead of the apparatus of modified Han in order to suitably support and transfer the substrate. In other words, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the distance between the lift pin position from a center of the lower showerhead is a result-effective variable which would affect the suitability of supporting/transporting of the substrate (i.e. a lift pin position that is greater than 150 mm from the center of the lower showerhead would not be able to support a 300 mm diameter water and a lift pin positioned too close to the center of the showerhead may not stably support the peripheral regions of the substrate).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the distance between the lift pins and the center of the lower shower because Kim '848 teaches/suggests the lift pins are for supporting and transporting the substrate and because Nasman teaches/suggests a common size of a substrate is 150 mm in radius wherein one of ordinary skill in the art would understand and appreciate that the distance between the lift pin position from a center of the lower showerhead is a result-effective variable which would affect the suitability of supporting/transporting of the substrate.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (US 2010/0288728 A1 hereinafter “Han”) in view of Nasman et al. (US 2019/0035646 A1 hereinafter “Nasman”) and Dhindsa (US 2009/0081878 A1), Kim et al. (US 2015/0020848 A1 hereinafter "Kim '848") and Kim et al. (US 2011/0024399 A1 hereinafter "Kim '399") as applied claims 1-5 above and further in view of Wi (KR101484273B1 hereinafter referring to English Machine Translation).
Regarding claim 6, see discussion regarding claim interpretation in U.S.C. 112(b) rejections above, Han in view of Nasman, Dhindsa, Kim '848 and Kim '399 {hereinafter "modified Han"} teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as applied above.
Modified Han further teaches wherein the lower showerhead (Han: comprising 200, Fig. 1, 5, 6, 7) one radio frequency (RF) power sources (Han: comprising power supply unit 530, Fig. 1, 5, 6, 7, para. [0043]).
Modified Han as applied above does not explicitly teach "a dielectric sleeve, wherein the one or more RF power sources is coupled with the first zone and the second zone and [a ]the dielectric sleeve first zone and the second zone."
However, Wi teaches a processing system having a lower support (comprising 14, Fig. 1 and 4) and one or more RF power source (comprising 51, 54, 55, Fig. 1, 4, bottom page 10-upper page 11) with an inner zone/first (comprising central region of 14, Fig. 1 and 4) and outer/second zone (comprising second electrode 44, Fig. 4) and a dielectric sleeve (comprising insulating layer 13, Fig. 3, 4) which allows separation of energy in the inner/first zone and the outer/second zone (page 9). Wi teaches that such a configuration enables providing energy to an inner/first zone for processing a central region of a substrate(see Fig. 4) and providing energy to an outer/second zone(comprising 44, Fig. 5) to process a bevel edge of the substrate(comprising 11, Fig. 5) (page 11 and page 13).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the apparatus of modified Han to have a lower showerhead having one or more radio frequency power source and a dielectric sleeve wherein the one or more radio frequency power sources is coupled with the first zone and the second zone and the dielectric sleeve allows separation of energy in the first zone and the second zone because Han already teaches the lower showerhead has one RF power source and because Wi teaches a configuration with a RF power source with an inner/first zone and outer/second zone enables providing RF power/energy to an inner/first zone for processing a central region of a substrate and providing RF power/energy to an outer/second zone to process a bevel edge of the substrate.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shaikh et al. (US 2019/0062918 A1) teaches a processing system (Fig.1A, 1B, 4A, 5A, 5B, 6A, 6B, 7A, 7B) including a lower showerhead (comprising showerhead pedestal 106, Fig. 1A, 1B, 4A, 5A, 5B, 6A, 6B, 7A, 7B) comprising a first zone and a second zone (see Fig. 7B, 7C), wherein the processing system is configured to perform deposition on the backside of a substrate (title, abstract, para. [0039]-[0055], [0076]-[0084]).
/LAUREEN CHAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1716 /RAM N KACKAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716