DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I in the reply filed on August 12 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6, 8-9, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In lines 15-16, claim 1 recites the limitation, “the plurality of apertures of the pumping ring are disposed between the inner sidewall and the outer sidewall”. There is no support for this limitation. Paragraph [0048] of the specification indicates that a plurality of apertures 364
extend through the thickness of the flange 361 (e.g., extending from the top surface 365a and the bottom surface 365b of the flange 361). Hence, the specification supports that the plurality of apertures are located in the upper portion of the pumping ring and not between the inner sidewall and the outer sidewall. For purposes of examination, the plurality of apertures are located in the upper portion of the pumping ring.
In light of the above, dependent claims 2-6, 8-9 and 20 are also rejected under U.S.C. 112(a) at least due to dependency to rejected claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tong (U.S. 2022/0018024) in view of Ghosh et al. (U.S. 2020/0216952).
Referring to Figure 2 and paragraphs [0025]-[0029], Tong discloses a substrate processing chamber, comprising: a chamber body 202 including a first end and a second end (par.[0025]); a lid 204 coupled to the first end of the chamber body (par.[0029]); an isolator 258 disposed on an upper surface of the lid; a faceplate 246 disposed on an upper surface of the isolator (par.[0029]); a substrate support 228 disposed on a shaft extending through the second end of the chamber body, wherein a processing region is defined between the substrate support and the faceplate (pars.[0025]-[0026]); a pumping liner positioned within the chamber body having a plurality of apertures 325; and an exhaust outlet 231 in fluid communication with the plurality of apertures (pars.[0031]-[0039]).
Tong is silent on a pumping ring positioned within the chamber body, wherein the pumping ring comprises a flange extending in a plane generally parallel with a top surface of the substrate support, the flange defining a plurality of apertures; and a pumping support disposed between the pumping ring and the chamber body, wherein: the pumping support comprises an inner sidewall, an outer sidewall, and a bottom wall; the pumping support defines a pumping channel between the outer sidewall, the inner sidewall, and the bottom wall; the plurality of apertures of the pumping ring are disposed between the inner sidewall and the outer sidewall and are in fluid communication with the pumping channel; and the pumping support defines a pumping exit in fluid communication with the pumping channel; and an exhaust outlet in fluid communication with the plurality of apertures and the pumping channel via the pumping exit.
Referring to Figure 1B and paragraphs [0031]-[0034], Ghosh et al. teach it is conventionally known in the art that on a pumping ring 157, 192, 196, 199 positioned within the chamber body 102, wherein the pumping ring comprises a flange 196, 199 extending in a plane generally parallel with a top surface of the substrate support, the flange defining a plurality of apertures 146 (Fig. 1B, par.[0031]-[0032]); and a pumping support 161, 190, 194 disposed between the pumping ring and the chamber body, wherein: the pumping support comprises an inner sidewall 161, an outer sidewall 190, and a bottom wall 194 (Fig. 1B, par.[0031]); the pumping support defines a pumping channel 105 between the outer sidewall, the inner sidewall, and the bottom wall (Fig. 1B, par.[0031]); the plurality of apertures 146 of the pumping ring are disposed between the inner sidewall and the outer sidewall and are in fluid communication with the pumping channel (par.[0032], i.e. apertures can be located anywhere in top portion of pumping ring); and the pumping support defines a pumping exit 144 in fluid communication with the pumping channel (par.[0033]); and an exhaust outlet 176 in fluid communication with the plurality of apertures and the pumping channel via the pumping exit (par.[0033]) since it is an alternate and equivalent means used to provide uniform exhausting of process gases. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Tong with a pumping ring positioned within the chamber body, wherein the pumping ring comprises a flange extending in a plane generally parallel with a top surface of the substrate support, the flange defining a plurality of apertures; and a pumping support disposed between the pumping ring and the chamber body, wherein: the pumping support comprises an inner sidewall, an outer sidewall, and a bottom wall; the pumping support defines a pumping channel between the outer sidewall, the inner sidewall, and the bottom wall; the plurality of apertures of the pumping ring are disposed between the inner sidewall and the outer sidewall and are in fluid communication with the pumping channel; and the pumping support defines a pumping exit in fluid communication with the pumping channel; and an exhaust outlet in fluid communication with the plurality of apertures and the pumping channel via the pumping exit as taught by Ghosh et al. since it is an alternate and equivalent means used to provide uniform exhausting of process gases. Additionally, an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious (MPEP 2144.06 II).
Claim(s) 2-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tong (U.S. 2022/0018024) in view of Ghosh et al. (U.S. 2020/0216952) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Park et al. (U.S. 2009/0280040).
The teachings of Tong in view of Ghosh et al. have been discussed above.
Tong in view of Ghosh et al. is silent on wherein: the flange comprises a first section and a second section; the first section defines a first portion of apertures of the plurality of apertures and the second section defines a second portion of apertures of the plurality of apertures; and the first section defines a first sectional void volume based on the first portion of apertures and the second section defines a second sectional void volume based on the second portion of apertures, wherein the first sectional void volume is less than the second sectional void volume.
With respect to claim 2, referring to Figure 3 and paragraph [0068]-[0070], Park et al. teach a pumping ring 20 wherein the flange comprises a first section (i.e. closest to exhaust A) and a second section; the first section defines a first portion of apertures of the plurality of apertures and the second section defines a second portion of apertures of the plurality of apertures; and the first section defines a first sectional void volume based on the first portion of apertures and the second section defines a second sectional void volume based on the second portion of apertures, wherein the first sectional void volume is less than the second sectional void volume in order to provide uniform gas discharge through the pumping ring (par.[0063]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Tong in view of Ghosh et al. with the flange comprises a first section and a second section; the first section defines a first portion of apertures of the plurality of apertures and the second section defines a second portion of apertures of the plurality of apertures; and the first section defines a first sectional void volume based on the first portion of apertures and the second section defines a second sectional void volume based on the second portion of apertures, wherein the first sectional void volume is less than the second sectional void volume as taught by Park et al. in order to provide uniform gas discharge through the pumping ring.
With respect to claim 3, the substrate processing chamber of claim 2, wherein the first section is closer to the exhaust outlet than the second section (Park et al. -Fig. 3).
With respect to claim 4, the substrate processing chamber of claim 3, wherein the first portion of apertures includes a lesser number of apertures than the second portion of apertures (Park et al. -Fig. 3).
With respect to claim 5, the substrate processing chamber of claim 3, wherein the first portion of apertures includes an equal number of apertures as the second portion of apertures (Park et al. -Fig. 3).
With respect to claim 6, the substrate processing chamber of claim 5, wherein each aperture of the first portion of apertures includes a lesser void volume than each aperture of the second portion of apertures (Park et al.-Fig. 3).
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tong (U.S. 2022/0018024) in view of Ghosh et al. (U.S. 2020/0216952) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mustafa et al. (U.S. 2021/0187521).
The teachings of Tong in view of Ghosh et al. have been discussed above.
Tong in view of Ghosh et al. is silent on wherein a bottom surface of the isolator is generally coplanar with a bottom surface of the faceplate.
Referring to Figure 1 and paragraph [0026], Mustafa et al. teach a substrate processing chamber wherein a bottom surface of the isolator 156 is generally coplanar with a bottom surface of the faceplate 110 as an alternate arrangement since it is obvious design choice in order to achieve the desired substrate processing conditions. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Tong in view of Ghosh et al. with wherein a bottom surface of the isolator is generally coplanar with a bottom surface of the faceplate as taught by Mustafa et al. since it is obvious design choice in order to achieve the desired substrate processing conditions.
Tong in view of Ghosh et al. is silent on the isolator includes an isolator body 156 and an isolator extension extending from the isolator body at an angle, wherein the isolator extension forms the bottom surface of the isolator.
With respect to claim 9, referring to Figure 1 and paragraph [0026], Mustafa et al. teach a substrate processing chamber the isolator includes an isolator body 156 and an isolator extension extending from the isolator body at an angle, wherein the isolator extension forms the bottom surface of the isolator since it is obvious design choice in order to achieve the desired substrate processing conditions. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Tong in view of Ghosh et al. with wherein the isolator includes an isolator body and an isolator extension extending from the isolator body at an angle, wherein the isolator extension forms the bottom surface of the isolator as taught by Mustafa et al. since it is obvious design choice in order to achieve the desired substrate processing conditions.
Claim(s) 10-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mustafa et al. (U.S. 2021/0187521) in view of Park et al. (U.S. 2009/0280040) and Ghosh et al. (U.S. 2020/0216952).
Referring to Figure 1 and paragraphs [0021]-[0026], Mustafa et al. disclose a gas distribution assembly, comprising: a pumping liner 114, 126 and an isolator 156 comprising a base portion, a body portion, and an extension portion, wherein the extension portion of the isolator is disposed above and generally parallel to the transition portion of the pumping ring.
Mustafa et al. is silent on a pumping ring comprising a ring body, a transition portion, and a flange extending transverse from the ring body, wherein: the ring body extends vertically and defines an inner diameter of the pumping ring; an inner diameter of the flange is greater than an inner of the ring body such that the flange is disposed radially outward of the ring body; and the flange defines a plurality of apertures extending from a top surface of the flange to a bottom surface of the flange; the flange includes a first section and a second section; the first section of the flange defines a first portion of apertures of the plurality of apertures and the second section of the flange defines a second portion of apertures of the plurality of apertures; and the first section defines a first sectional void volume based on the first portion of apertures and the second section defines a second sectional void volume based on the second portion of apertures, wherein the first sectional void volume is less than the second sectional void volume.
Referring to Figures 4-7 and paragraphs [0071]-[0087], Park et al. teach a pumping ring 40 comprising a ring body 49, a transition portion, and a flange 45 extending transverse from the ring body, wherein: the ring body extends vertically and defines an inner diameter of the pumping ring; an inner diameter of the flange is greater than an inner of the ring body such that the flange is disposed radially outward of the ring body; and the flange defines a plurality of apertures 58 extending from a top surface of the flange to a bottom surface of the flange; the flange includes a first section and a second section; the first section of the flange defines a first portion of apertures of the plurality of apertures and the second section of the flange defines a second portion of apertures of the plurality of apertures; and the first section defines a first sectional void volume based on the first portion of apertures and the second section defines a second sectional void volume based on the second portion of apertures, wherein the first sectional void volume is less than the second sectional void volume since it is an alternate and equivalent means used to provide uniform exhausting of process gases. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Mustafa et al. with a pumping ring comprising a ring body, a transition portion, and a flange extending transverse from the ring body, wherein: the ring body extends vertically and defines an inner diameter of the pumping ring; an inner diameter of the flange is greater than an inner of the ring body such that the flange is disposed radially outward of the ring body; and the flange defines a plurality of apertures extending from a top surface of the flange to a bottom surface of the flange; the flange includes a first section and a second section; the first section of the flange defines a first portion of apertures of the plurality of apertures and the second section of the flange defines a second portion of apertures of the plurality of apertures; and the first section defines a first sectional void volume based on the first portion of apertures and the second section defines a second sectional void volume based on the second portion of apertures, wherein the first sectional void volume is less than the second sectional void volume as taught by Park et al. since it is an alternate and equivalent means used to provide uniform exhausting of process gases. Additionally, an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious (MPEP 2144.06 II).
Mustafa et al. in view of Park et al. fail to teach the transition portion extends at an upward and radially outward angle from the ring body and couples the ring body and the flange.
Referring to Figure 1B, Ghosh et al. teach a pumping ring configuration wherein the transition portion 157 extends at an upward and radially outward angle from the ring body 192 and couples the ring body 192 and the flange 196 as an alternate and suitable configuration used to provide uniform exhausting of process gases. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Mustafa et al. in view of Park et al. with the transition portion extends at an upward and radially outward angle from the ring body and couples the ring body and the flange as taught by Ghosh et al. since it’s an alternate and suitable configuration used to provide uniform exhausting of process gases. Additionally, an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious (MPEP 2144.06 II).
With respect to claim 11, the gas distribution assembly of Mustafa et al. in view of Park et al. and Ghosh et al. further includes wherein at least one aperture of the plurality of apertures includes a frustoconical shape (The shape of the aperture is designed to promote and enhance gas flow for the desired substrate process. Hence, it should be noted that the frustoconical shape of the claimed aperture was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular frustoconical shape of the claimed aperture was significant.).
With respect to claim 12, the gas distribution assembly of Mustafa et al. in view of Park et al. and Ghosh et al. further includes wherein: the flange 45 includes a top surface and a bottom surface; and the top surface defines a first width of the at least one aperture and the bottom surface defines a second width of the at least one aperture, the first width being smaller than the second width (Park et al., As stated above, the shape of the aperture is a matter of obvious design choice.).
With respect to claim 13, the gas distribution assembly of Mustafa et al. in view of Park et al. and Ghosh et al. further includes wherein the first portion of apertures 58 (i.e. near exhaust A) includes a lesser number of apertures than the second portion of apertures 58 (Park et al.-Figures 4-7 and paragraphs [0071]-[0087]).
With respect to claim 14, the gas distribution assembly of Mustafa et al. in view of Park et al. and Ghosh et al. further includes wherein the first portion of apertures 58 (i.e. near exhaust A) includes an equal number of apertures as the second portion of apertures 58 (Park et al.-Figures 4-7 and paragraphs [0071]-[0087]).
With respect to claim 15, the gas distribution assembly of Mustafa et al. in view of Park et al. and Ghosh et al. further includes wherein each aperture of the first portion of apertures 58 (i.e. near exhaust A) includes a lesser void volume than each aperture of the second portion of apertures 58 (Park et al.-Figures 4-7 and paragraphs [0071]-[0087]).
With respect to claim 16, the gas distribution assembly of Mustafa et al. in view of Park et al. and Ghosh et al. further includes wherein: the flange 45 includes a third section positioned between the first and second sections; the third section defining a third portion of apertures 58 of the plurality of apertures; and the third section defines a third sectional void volume based on the third portion of apertures, wherein the third sectional void volume is less than the second sectional void volume and greater than the first sectional void volume (Park et al.-Figures 4-7 and paragraphs [0071]-[0087]).
With respect to claim 17, the gas distribution assembly of Mustafa et al. in view of Park et al. and Ghosh et al. further includes wherein the third portion of apertures 58 includes a lesser number of apertures than the second portion of apertures 58 and a greater number than the first portion of apertures 58 (i.e. near exhaust A) (Park et al.-Figures 4-7 and paragraphs [0071]-[0087]).
With respect to claim 18, the gas distribution assembly of Mustafa et al. in view of Park et al. and Ghosh et al. further includes wherein the third portion of apertures 58 includes an equal number of apertures as at least one of the first portion of apertures 58 (i.e. near exhaust A) and the second portion of apertures 58 (Park et al.-Figures 4-7 and paragraphs [0071]-[0087]).
With respect to claim 19, the gas distribution assembly of Mustafa et al. in view of Park et al. and Ghosh et al. further includes wherein each aperture 58 of the third portion of apertures includes a lesser void volume than each aperture of the at least one of the first or second portion of apertures (Park et al.-Figures 4-7 and paragraphs [0071]-[0087]).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tong (U.S. 2022/0018024) in view of Ghosh et al. (U.S. 2020/0216952) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (U.S. 2011/0042009) and Mustafa et al. (U.S. 2021/0187521).
The teachings of Tong in view of Ghosh et al. have been discussed above.
Tong in view of Ghosh et al. is silent on a method of semiconductor processing comprising: flowing a carbon-containing precursor into a processing chamber.
Referring to paragraph [0007], Lee et al. teach it is conventionally known in the art for a method of semiconductor processing comprising: flowing a carbon-containing precursor (i.e. carbon tetrafluoride) into a processing chamber in order to perform the desired etching process. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of Tong in view of Ghosh et al. with flowing a carbon-containing precursor into a processing chamber as taught by Lee et al. in order to perform the desired etching process. Additionally, the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07).
Tong in view of Ghosh et al. is silent on the isolator includes an isolator extension extending from the isolator body at an angle, wherein the isolator extension forms the bottom surface of the isolator.
Referring to Figure 1 and paragraph [0026], Mustafa et al. teach a substrate processing chamber the isolator includes an isolator body 156 and an isolator extension extending from the isolator body at an angle, wherein the isolator extension forms the bottom surface of the isolator since it is obvious design choice in order to achieve the desired substrate processing conditions. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Tong in view of Ghosh et al. with wherein the isolator includes an isolator body and an isolator extension extending from the isolator body at an angle, wherein the isolator extension forms the bottom surface of the isolator as taught by Mustafa et al. since it is obvious design choice in order to achieve the desired substrate processing conditions.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 18, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant has argued that none of Tong, Ghosh, or Lee teach or suggest the claimed isolator and pumping ring configurations, or the flow path used to exhaust gases from the chamber body.
However, applicant has argued that the “claimed isolator and pumping ring configurations, or the flow path used to exhaust gases from the chamber body” are not disclosed by the prior art and the previous office action. However, applicant has failed to argue the specifics of the examiner’s office action and to provide evidence to support applicant’s arguments. Therefore, it must be emphasized that arguments of counsel alone cannot take the place of evidence in the record once an examiner has advanced a reasonable basis for questioning the disclosure. See In re Budnick, 537 F.2d at 538,190 USPQ at 424; In re Schulze, 346 F.2d 600, 145 USPQ 716 (CCPA 1965); In re Cole, 326 F.2d 769, 140 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1964).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Michelle CROWELL/Examiner, Art Unit 1716
/SYLVIA MACARTHUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716