DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, and 3-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Oh (US 2011/0260294).
Regarding claim 1, Oh discloses an isolation structure of a semiconductor device, comprising: a substrate (Fig.2, numeral 31) having a first region (33) and a second region (32) , wherein there is a boundary between the first region (33) and the second region (32); a first isolation structure (39B) disposed in the first region (33) of the substrate (31), wherein the first isolation structure (39B) comprises a dielectric liner and a first insulating layer ([0082]); and a second isolation structure (39A) disposed in the second region (32) of the substrate (31), wherein the second isolation structure (39A) comprises a second insulating layer ([0083]), the first isolation structure (36A) and the second isolation structure (39A) are respectively located on both sides of the boundary, a boundary structure (32/33) is defined between the first isolation structure (39B) and the second isolation structure (39a), a width of the boundary structure is less than or equal to 50 nm, and the boundary structure is not a fin structure (Fig.2; note: direct contact between 32/33).
Regarding claim 3, Oh discloses wherein a material of the dielectric liner comprises an oxide or a nitride ([0082]).
Regarding claim 4, Oh discloses wherein a material of the dielectric liner is different from a material of the first insulating layer ([0082]- [0084]).
Regarding claim 5, Oh discloses wherein a material of the first insulating layer is identical to a material of the second insulating layer (Fig.3E, numeral 39).
Regarding claim 6, Oh discloses wherein the material of the first insulating layer comprises an oxide ([0083]).
Regarding claim 7, Oh discloses wherein a height of the first isolation structure (39B) is greater than a height of the second isolation structure (39A) (Fig.2C).
Regarding claim 8, Oh discloses wherein a width of the first isolation structure is greater than a width of the second isolation structure ([0045]).
Regarding claim 9, Oh discloses wherein a distance between the first isolation structure and the second isolation structure is less than or equal to 50 nm (Fig.2, boundary 32/33).
Regarding claim 10, Oh discloses wherein an operation voltage of the first region (Fig.2, numeral 33) is greater than an operation voltage of the second region (32).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lin (US 2016/0064234).
Regarding claim 2, Oh does not disclose wherein an inclined degree of a side surface of the first isolation structure relative to a top surface of the substrate is less than an inclined degree of a side surface of the second isolation structure relative to the top surface of the substrate.
Lin however discloses that the sidewalls of the first isolation structure and the second isolation structure could be tapered as well as vertical ([0024]; [0025]).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the at the time the invention was filed to have an inclined degree of a side surface of the first isolation structure relative to a top surface of the substrate is less than an inclined degree of a side surface of the second isolation structure relative to the top surface of the substrate for the purpose of optimization stress in shallow trench isolation structures and improve device performance (Lin, [0004];[0021)
Regarding claim 11, Oh discloses a fin structure disposed in the second region, and the second isolation structure surrounds the fin structure.
Lin however discloses a fin structure (Fig. 2C, numerals 214f, 202a) disposed in the second region, and the second isolation structure (216) surrounds the fin structure (214f) (Fig. 2F).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Oh with Lin to have a fin structure disposed in the second region, and the second isolation structure surrounds the fin structure for the purpose of fabrication FinFet device (Lin, [0003]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JULIA SLUTSKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891