DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-5, 8, 10 and 11 have been amended; claims 12 and 13 have been newly added; and claims 1-13 are currently pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-7, and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi et al. (US 2013/0204416 A1, hereinafter “Takahashi”) in view of de Waard et al. (USPN 6207936 B1, hereinafter “de Waard”).
In regards to claim 1, Takahashi discloses (See, for example, Figs. 1 and 2) an information processing system comprising: a heat treatment apparatus (3) configured to form a film on a processing target substrate by using a heater (31-35) that heats the processing target substrate (W) inside a processing container (2); and
an information processing apparatus configured to control power supplied to the heater (31-35), wherein the heat treatment apparatus includes:
a prediction circuitry configured to predict an influence of a cumulative film adhering inside the processing container, on a temperature of the processing target substrate by using a simulation model of the heat treatment apparatus (See, for example, Pars [0046], [0050]); and
an adjustment circuitry configured to adjust the power supplied to the heater based on the predicted influence of the cumulative film adhering inside the processing container, on the temperature of the processing target substrate (“…the models may be stored in the model memory unit 111 of the apparatus controller 100. Thus, since the temperature controller 36 may download the optimum model from the model memory unit 111 according to a desired recipe to perform a process, a heat treatment may be stably performed regardless of process conditions and an accumulated film thickness.”, see, for example, Pars [0070], [0071]).
Takahashi is silent about
the prediction circuitry includes
a virtual power output circuitry configured to output a virtual power supplied to
the simulation model of the heat treatment apparatus based on a set temperature in the
processing container and a predicted temperature in the processing container; and
a temperature prediction circuitry configured to output the predicted temperature
in the processing container, based on at least one of the power supplied to the heater or
the virtual power, by using the simulation model of the heat treatment apparatus, and
the adjustment circuitry is configured to adjust the power supplied to the heater based on
the predicted temperature and the virtual power.
de Waard while disclosing model based predictive temperature control system teaches (See, for example, Fig. 4)
the prediction circuitry (“…model-based predictive control system…”, See Col. 9 lines 29-30) includes
a virtual power output circuitry configured to output a virtual power supplied to
the simulation model of the heat treatment apparatus based on a set temperature in the
processing container (“…heat zone temperature sensors 44, 46, 48, 50 as multivariable control inputs.”, Col. 9 lines 31-32) and a predicted temperature in the processing container (“The process controller 62 is connected to the model based predictive control system 100 and provides it with the desired process temperature sequence. “, See Col. 9 lines 38-41); and
a temperature prediction circuitry configured to output the predicted temperature
in the processing container, based on at least one of the power supplied to the heater or
the virtual power, by using the simulation model of the heat treatment apparatus (“a prediction calculator that uses said thermal process model to calculate a predicted nominal temperature output over a future time period, and a control calculator that uses said predicted nominal temperature output to calculate an optimum control strategy to control said sources of thermal energy, said prediction calculator configured to calculate said predicted nominal temperature output recursively over a predetermined future time period using a recursive approximation strategy that begins with an unoptimized initial estimate”, See claim 1), and
the adjustment circuitry is configured to adjust the power supplied to the heater based on
the predicted temperature and the virtual power (“The temperature sensors provide a model-based predictive controller 100… the zone temperatures of the substrate 22. Based on this information …computes an optimum sequence of … electrical power inputs to the separate heat zone lamps 32, 34, 36, 38 and 40.” See, for example, Col. 9 lines 32-41).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Takahashi by de Waard because the predictive calculator calculates nominal temperature for preset future time period and updates predictions in accordance with auto-regressive moving average calculator which results in obtaining accurate temperature of object.
In regards to claim 10, Takahashi discloses (See, for example, Figs. 1 and 2) a power adjustment method comprising: providing an information processing system including: a heat treatment apparatus (3) configured to form a film on a processing target substrate (W) by using a heater (31-35) that heats the processing target substrate (W) inside a processing container (2); and an information processing apparatus configured to control power supplied to the heater (31-35),
predicting an influence of a cumulative film adhering inside the processing container, on a temperature of the processing target substrate by using a simulation model of the heat treatment apparatus (See, for example, Pars [0046], [0050]); and adjusting the power supplied to the heater based on the predicted influence of the cumulative film adhering inside the processing container, on the temperature of the processing target substrate (“…the models may be stored in the model memory unit 111 of the apparatus controller 100. Thus, since the temperature controller 36 may download the optimum model from the model memory unit 111 according to a desired recipe to perform a process, a heat treatment may be stably performed regardless of process conditions and an accumulated film thickness.”, see, for example, Pars [0070], [0071]).
Takahashi is silent about
wherein the predicting includes
outputting a virtual power supplied to the simulation model of the heat treatment
apparatus based on a set temperature in the processing container and a predicted
temperature in the processing container; and
outputting the predicted temperature in the processing container, based on at least
one of the power supplied to the heater or the virtual power, by using the simulation model
of the heat treatment apparatus, and
the adjusting includes adjusting the power supplied to the heater based on the predicted
temperature and the virtual power.
de Waard teaches (See, for example, Fig. 4)
the predicting (“…model-based predictive control system…”, See Col. 9 lines 29-30) includes
outputting a virtual power supplied to the simulation model of the heat treatment
apparatus based on a set temperature in the processing container (“…heat zone temperature sensors 44, 46, 48, 50 as multivariable control inputs.”, Col. 9 lines 31-32) and a predicted temperature in the processing container (“The process controller 62 is connected to the model based predictive control system 100 and provides it with the desired process temperature sequence. “, See Col. 9 lines 38-41); and
outputting the predicted temperature in the processing container, based on at least
one of the power supplied to the heater or the virtual power, by using the simulation model
of the heat treatment apparatus (“a prediction calculator that uses said thermal process model to calculate a predicted nominal temperature output over a future time period, and a control calculator that uses said predicted nominal temperature output to calculate an optimum control strategy to control said sources of thermal energy, said prediction calculator configured to calculate said predicted nominal temperature output recursively over a predetermined future time period using a recursive approximation strategy that begins with an unoptimized initial estimate”, See claim 1), and
the adjusting includes adjusting the power supplied to the heater based on the predicted
temperature and the virtual power (“The temperature sensors provide a model-based predictive controller 100… the zone temperatures of the substrate 22. Based on this information …computes an optimum sequence of … electrical power inputs to the separate heat zone lamps 32, 34, 36, 38 and 40.” See, for example, Col. 9 lines 32-41).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Takahashi by de Waard because the predictive calculator calculates nominal temperature for preset future time period and updates predictions in accordance with auto-regressive moving average calculator which results in obtaining accurate temperature of object.
In regards to claim 11, Takahashi discloses (See, for example, Figs. 1 and 2) a heat treatment apparatus (3) comprising: a processing container (2) configured to accommodate a processing target substrate (W); a heater (31-35) configured to heat the processing target substrate (W) inside the processing container (2); a prediction circuitry configured to predict an influence of a cumulative film adhering inside the processing container, on a temperature of the processing target substrate by using a simulation model of the heat treatment apparatus (See, for example, Pars [0046], [0050]); and an adjustment circuitry configured to adjust power supplied to the heater based on the predicted influence of the cumulative film adhering inside the processing container, on the temperature of the processing target substrate(“…the models may be stored in the model memory unit 111 of the apparatus controller 100. Thus, since the temperature controller 36 may download the optimum model from the model memory unit 111 according to a desired recipe to perform a process, a heat treatment may be stably performed regardless of process conditions and an accumulated film thickness.”, see, for example, Pars [0070], [0071]).
Takahashi is silent about
wherein the prediction circuitry includes
a virtual power output circuitry configured to output a virtual power supplied to
the simulation model of the heat treatment apparatus based on a set temperature in the
processing container and a predicted temperature in the processing container; and
a temperature prediction circuitry configured to output the predicted temperature
in the processing container, based on at least one of the power supplied to the heater or
the virtual power, by using the simulation model of the heat treatment apparatus, and
the adjustment circuitry is configured to adjust the power supplied to the heater based on
the predicted temperature and the virtual power.
de Waard teaches (See, for example, Fig. 4)
a virtual power output circuitry configured to output a virtual power supplied to
the simulation model of the heat treatment apparatus based on a set temperature in the
processing container (“…heat zone temperature sensors 44, 46, 48, 50 as multivariable control inputs.”, Col. 9 lines 31-32) and a predicted temperature in the processing container (“The process controller 62 is connected to the model based predictive control system 100 and provides it with the desired process temperature sequence. “, See Col. 9 lines 38-41); and
a temperature prediction circuitry configured to output the predicted temperature
in the processing container, based on at least one of the power supplied to the heater or
the virtual power, by using the simulation model of the heat treatment apparatus (“a prediction calculator that uses said thermal process model to calculate a predicted nominal temperature output over a future time period, and a control calculator that uses said predicted nominal temperature output to calculate an optimum control strategy to control said sources of thermal energy, said prediction calculator configured to calculate said predicted nominal temperature output recursively over a predetermined future time period using a recursive approximation strategy that begins with an unoptimized initial estimate”, See claim 1), and
the adjustment circuitry is configured to adjust the power supplied to the heater based on
the predicted temperature and the virtual power.
(“The temperature sensors provide a model-based predictive controller 100… the zone temperatures of the substrate 22. Based on this information …computes an optimum sequence of … electrical power inputs to the separate heat zone lamps 32, 34, 36, 38 and 40.” See, for example, Col. 9 lines 32-41).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Takahashi by de Waard because the predictive calculator calculates nominal temperature for preset future time period and updates predictions in accordance with auto-regressive moving average calculator which results in obtaining accurate temperature of object.
In regards to claim 2, Takahashi discloses (See, for example, Figs. 1 and 2) the prediction circuitry is configured to output the predicted temperature in the processing container based on the power supplied to the heater, by using the simulation model of the heat treatment apparatus, and the adjustment circuitry is configured to adjust the power supplied to the heater based on a difference between a measured temperature in the processing container and the predicted temperature in the processing container “… the apparatus controller changes the two or more temperature control models when a heat treatment is performed on the processing object in a constant temperature and when a temperature of the processing object is increased or decreased.”, See, Claims 2 and 3).
In regards to claim 6., Takahashi discloses (See, for example, Figs. 1 and 2) the heater (31-35) corresponds to one of a plurality of unit areas obtained by dividing an area inside the processing container (2), and wherein the adjustment circuitry is configured to adjust the power supplied to the heater for each unit area (See, for example, Pars [0030], [0038], [0070], and [0071]).
In regards to claim 7, Takahashi discloses (See, for example, Figs. 1 and 2) the simulation model (See, Fig. 4) of the heat treatment apparatus (3) is a thermal model that predicts a temperature measured by a temperature sensor (Sin, Par [0033]) inside the processing container (2) and the temperature of the processing target substrate (W) inside the processing container (2) (See, doe example, Figs. 1 and Abstract).
In regards to claim 12, Takahashi as modified above teaches (See, for example, Figs. 12A, de Waard) the adjustment circuitry is configured to adjust the power supplied to the heater based on at least one of a difference between the predicted temperature and a measured temperature in the processing container (See, for example, Col. 23 lines 2-26), a difference between the virtual power and the power supplied to the heater, and a difference between a plurality of the predicted temperatures.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 8-9, and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 10 and 11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/ERMIAS T WOLDEGEORGIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893