DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 1 – FIG. 3 in the reply filed on January 6, 2026 is acknowledged.
Applicant states claims 1-6 and 8 reads upon the elected species.
Claim 7 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on January 6, 2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on December 8, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement filed February 23, 2024 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(3)(i) because it does not include a concise explanation of the relevance, as it is presently understood by the individual designated in 37 CFR 1.56(c) most knowledgeable about the content of the information, of each reference listed that is not in the English language. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
No English translation of KR 1020160010537 LUXVUE TECHNOLOGY CORPORATION provided
The information disclosure statement filed August 4, 2023 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
No copy of CN103682036, CN105097870, CN105324858 provided.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2. Claim 2 recites the limitation "the first concave portion.. the second concave portion… the third concave portion", in the claim language. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 3-4 are rejected for dependence upon a 112(b) rejected instance claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bibl et al (U.S. 2014/0367705).
Regarding claim 1. Bibl et al disclose a display apparatus (FIG. 13B) comprising: a substrate (FIG. 9, item 102);
at least a first pixel (FIG. 13A, item 128 with item 400R), a second pixel (FIG. 13A, item 128 with item 400G) and a third pixel (FIG. 13A, item 128 with item 400B) emitting light having different color to each other ([0049]);
a pixel-defining layer (FIG. 9, item 126; [0047])) disposed above the substrate (FIG. 9, item 102) and comprising concave portions (see FIG. 13A with respect to FIG. 9, item 128) which define emission regions ([0047]) of the first pixel (FIG. 13A, item 128 with item 400R), the second pixel (FIG. 13A, item 128 with item 400G) and the third pixel (FIG. 13B, item 128 with item 400B); and
a light blocker (FIG. 9, item 318; FIG. 13A, item 318) disposed above the pixel-defining layer (FIG. 9, item 126; [0047]));
wherein each of the first pixel (FIG. 13A, item 128 with item 400R), the second pixel (FIG. 13A, item 128 with item 400G) and the third pixel (FIG. 13A, item 128 with item 400B) comprises a light-emitting diode (FIG. 9, item 400; FIG. 13A, item 400) disposed in a corresponding concave portion (see FIG. 13A with respect to FIG. 9, item 128) among the concave portions (see FIG. 13A with respect to FIG. 9, item 128), and
wherein the light blocker (FIG. 13A, item 318) simultaneously covers light-emitting diodes of the first pixel (FIG. 13A, item 128 with item 400R), the second pixel (FIG. 13A, item 128 with item 400G) and the third pixel (FIG. 13A, item 128 with item 400B).
Regarding claim 2. Bibl et al discloses all the limitation of the display apparatus of claim 1 above.
Bibl et al further wherein the light-emitting diode (FIG. 9, item 400; FIG. 13A, item 400) of the first pixel (FIG. 13A, item 128 with item 400R) is disposed adjacent ([0087]) to a first inner side surface (FIG. 13A, inner surface of item 128 with item 400R) of the first concave portion (FIG. 13A, item 128 with item 400R), the light-emitting diode (FIG. 9, item 400; FIG. 13A, item 400) of the second pixel (FIG. 13A, item 128 with item 400G) is disposed adjacent ([0087]) to a first inner side surface (FIG. 13A, inner surface of item 128 with item 400G) of the second concave portion (see FIG. 13A with respect to FIG. 9, item 128) and the light-emitting diode (FIG. 9, item 400; FIG. 13A, item 400) of the third pixel (FIG. 13A, item 128 with item 400R) is disposed adjacent ([0087]) to a first inner side surface (FIG. 13A, inner surface of item 128 with item 400B) of the third concave portion (see FIG. 13A with respect to FIG. 9, item 128).
Regarding claim 3. Bibl et al discloses all the limitation of the display apparatus of claim 2 above.
Bibl et al further wherein the first inner side surface (FIG. 13A, inner surface of item 128 with item 400R) of the first concave portion (FIG. 13A, item 128 with item 400R) and the first inner side surface (FIG. 13A, inner surface of item 128 with item 400G) of the second concave portion (FIG. 13A, item 128 with item 400G) face to each other (FIG. 13A, item 106; [0087]).
Regarding claim 4. Bibl et al discloses all the limitation of the display apparatus of claim 2 above.
Bibl et al further disclose wherein the first inner side surfaces of the first (see FIG. 13A with respect to FIG. 9, item 128), second (see FIG. 13A with respect to FIG. 9, item 128) and third concave portions (see FIG. 13A with respect to FIG. 9, item 128) are disposed adjacent ([0087]) to each other (FIG. 13A, item 106).
Regarding claim 5. Bibl et al discloses all the limitation of the display apparatus of claim 1 above.
Bibl et al further disclose wherein the light blocker (FIG. 9, item 318; FIG. 13A, item 318) is electrically connected to upper surfaces ([0087], i.e. the top electrode layer 318 is formed over all of the micro LED devices 400 in the pixel area) of the light-emitting diodes (FIG. 9, item 400; FIG. 13A, item 400) of the first pixel (FIG. 13A, item 128 with item 400R), the second pixel (FIG. 13A, item 128 with item 400G) and the third pixel (FIG. 13A, item 128 with item 400B), and
a voltage ([0045]) for driving ([0045]) the light-emitting diodes (FIG. 9, item 400; FIG. 13A, item 400) is applied via the light blocker (FIG. 9, item 318; FIG. 13A, item 318; [0087]).
Regarding claim 6. Bibl et al discloses all the limitation of the display apparatus of claim 1 above.
Bibl et al further disclose further comprising a light guide (FIG. 9, item 210; [0070]) filled in the concave portions (see FIG. 13A with respect to FIG. 9, item 128).
Regarding claim 8. Bibl et al discloses all the limitation of the display apparatus of claim 2 above.
Bibl et al further disclose wherein the first pixel (FIG. 9, item 400; FIG. 13A, item 128 with item 400R), the second pixel (FIG. 13A, item 128 with item 400G) and the third pixel (FIG. 13A, item 128 with item 400B) form a unit body (FIG. 13B, item 106) and the unit body (FIG. 13B, item 106) is repeatedly arranged above the substrate (FIG. 13B, item 102).
Conclusion
/S.E.B./ Examiner, Art Unit 2815
/MONICA D HARRISON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815