This office action is in response to amendments filed March 9, 2026.
Claims 1, 2, 14, and 18 have been amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-9, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rangachari et al. (US6470227B1) in further view of Ito et al. (US20200194292A1) and McGee et al. (US20150198936A1).
Regarding claim 1, Rangachari teaches a system comprising:
a semiconductor processing system (The present invention relates to a method of automating a microelectronic manufacturing process ... the equipment that is automated in a Fab may be equipment that manufactures and tests semiconductor devices ... FIG. 1 is a block diagram view of an embodiment of an automation system)(column 5 lines 50-51, lines 58-60, and lines 65-66; Figure 1 – an exemplary semiconductor processing system is shown) comprising:
a semiconductor processing apparatus configured to perform at least one semiconductor fabrication process (In FIG. 1, an automation system 1 is shown ... In the automation system 1, each step in a sequence used to automate the equipment 40 ... The equipment are generally semiconductor manufacturing equipment that are used in a process to manufacture semiconductor devices)(column 6 lines 1, 52-54 and column 8 lines 31-33; Figure 1 reference element 40 – equipment to manufacture semiconductors is shown); and
a … port attached to the semiconductor processing apparatus and configured to load a wafer contained in a wafer container to the semiconductor processing apparatus (In FIG. 1, an automation system 1 is shown ... when wafer lots contained in Pod 44 must be loaded in the equipment 40 for processing ... The equipment 40 uses a SMIF, as are generally known in the industry, to interface with the Pods 44 containing silicon wafers)(column 6 line 1, column 7 lines 49-51, and column 8 lines 38-40; Figure 1 reference element 42 – an interface to load wafers into equipment for manufacturing is shown); and
a … port first aid platform in electrical communication with the … port … wherein the … port first aid platform controls the … port when the semiconductor processing apparatus malfunctions (In FIG. 1, an automation system 1 is shown ... certain devices that typically comprise a computer system are inferred in FIG. 1 ... Graphical User Interface (GUI) 16 ... The GUI also provides additional functions including an operator interface for the automation system for ... a manual operation mode for the SMIF ... This mode allows for error recovery and other operations)(column 6 lines 1, 4-5, 26-27, and column 14 lines 26-31; Figure 1 reference element 16 – a computer displays a user interface to control the loading interface when there is an error).
Rangachari differs from the claim in that Rangachari fails to explicitly teach the port is a load port. However, utilizing a load port interface to load wafers into a semiconductor processing apparatus is taught by Ito (As shown in FIG. 3, in the semiconductor-manufacturing process, the FOUP 4 is used together with an EFEM ... including a load port 2 ... transferring a wafer W as a substrate between the FOUP 4 and a processing apparatus M)([0032] and [0033]; Figure 3 – using a load port to load wafers into equipment for manufacturing is shown). The examiner notes Rangachari and Ito teach a system for controlling equipment. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Rangachari to include the utilizing of Ito such that the system utilizes a load port to load wafers into a semiconductor processing apparatus. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of improving efficiency by eliminating waste ([0013]; Ito).
Although Rangachari-Ito disclose a primary control system configured to control the semiconductor processing apparatus (Rangachari - The Equipment Manager 18, through the application servers 49, is able to provide communication paths 11 with the MES 46, GUI 16, equipment 40 and SMIF 42 and other Fab applications to coordinate the automation of the automation system 1)(column 7 lines 20-24). The combination of Rangachari-Ito differs from the claim in that Rangachari-Ito fails to teach a communication path that bypasses the primary control system. However, communicating via a communication path that bypasses a primary control system is taught by McGee (FIG. 1 illustrates exemplary hardware for a remote control and/or autonomous system 100. System 100 may include a mobile machine 120 … a remote control (RC) operator station 140 ... Mobile machine 120 ... including various electronic control modules (ECMs) 124 for controlling machine subsystems and aspects of the operation of mobile machine 120 ... control commands could be provided to mobile machine 120 from ... RC operator station 140 ... Planner ECM 134 on-board mobile machine 120 may determine and implement instructions at a more granular level, such as specifying the path that a particular machine will take to complete an assigned task. Planner ECM 134 may send specific control signals to the various subsystem ECMs ... A wireless communication link may be established … Wired ethernet communication links may also be established between RC operator station 140)([0013] and [0014]; Figure 1 – a device (i.e., remote operator station) communicating via a communication path that bypasses a primary control system (i.e., Planner ECM) to control subsystems is shown). The examiner notes Rangachari, Ito, and McGee teach a system for controlling equipment. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Rangachari-Ito to include the communicating of McGee such that the system comprises a communication path that bypasses a primary control system. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of seamlessly switching between automatic and manual control of equipment ([0003-0005]; McGee).
Regarding claim 2, Rangachari-Ito-McGee teach the system of claim 1, wherein the the primary control system is further configured to control the load port when the semiconductor processing apparatus functions (Rangachari - wafer lots contained in Pod 44 must be loaded in the equipment 40 for processing)(column 7 lines 49-51; components (i.e., load port) must be controlled to load a wafer).
Regarding claim 3, Rangachari-Ito-McGee teach the system of claim 2, wherein the semiconductor processing system further comprises:
a load port handling mechanism configured to perform an operation of the load port when the semiconductor processing apparatus malfunctions (although Rangachari-Ito fails to teach a load port handling mechanism performing operations of a load port, said load port handling mechanism is taught by Ito (The load port door 22 includes a connection mechanism 221 ... that can be switched between a lid connection state in which the connection mechanism 221 is connected to the FOUP door 43 ... a lid connection release state in which the connection to the FOUP door 43 is released to attach the FOUP door 43)([0044]). The examiner notes Rangachari and Ito teach a system for semiconductor processing. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Rangachari-Ito to include the load port handling mechanism of Ito such that the system utilizes a load port handling mechanism to perform operations of a load port. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of improving efficiency by eliminating waste ([0013]; Ito)).
Regarding claim 4, Rangachari-Ito-McGee teach the system of claim 3, wherein the operation is closing a door of the wafer container (Ito - The load port 2 of the present embodiment is configured so that the load port door 22 can be moved at least between a position shown in FIG. 9, i.e., a fully closed position (C) at which the internal space 4S of the FOUP body 42 is sealed by the FOUP door 43 held by the load port door 22)([0044]; Figure 9 reference element 43 – closing a door of a wafer container is shown).
Regarding claim 5, Rangachari-Ito-McGee teach the system of claim 3, wherein the operation is closing a door of the load port (Ito - The load port 2 of the present embodiment is configured so that the load port door 22 can be moved at least between a position shown in FIG. 9, i.e., a fully closed position (C) at which the internal space 4S of the FOUP body 42 is sealed by the FOUP door 43 held by the load port door 22)([0044]; Figure 9 reference element 22(C) – closing a door of a load port is shown).
Regarding claim 7, Rangachari-Ito-McGee teach the system of claim 3, wherein the load port handling mechanism is integrated into the load port (Ito - The load port door 22 includes a connection mechanism 221 (see FIG. 7))([0044]; Figure 7 reference element 221– an integrated load port handling mechanism is shown).
Regarding claim 8, Rangachari-Ito-McGee teach the system of claim 3, wherein the load port handling mechanism is controlled by the load port first aid platform when the semiconductor processing apparatus malfunctions (Rangachari - The GUI also provides additional functions including an operator interface for the automation system for ... a manual operation mode for the SMIF output, including load, unload ... This mode allows for error recovery and other operations)(column 14 lines 26-31; a user interacts with a user interface for manual control of machinery for loading/unloading when there is an error).
Regarding claim 9, Rangachari-Ito-McGee teach the system of claim 1, wherein the load port first aid platform comprises:
a load port first aid control system configured to control the load port when the semiconductor processing apparatus malfunctions (Rangachari - the computer program 10 is typically stored on a storage medium (not shown) of an automation system 1 or any computer system such as the computer system of FIG. 8 ... The computer program 10 is able to communicate with the equipment 40, SMIF 42 ... to perform the method of the present invention)(column 6 lines 10-13 and column 8 lines 40-43; a computer program executing on a computing system controls interfaced machinery when there is an error); and
a load port first aid terminal configured to provide a user interface between a technician and the load port first aid control system (Rangachari - A user interfaces with the computer program 10 through a display)(column 9 lines 65-66).
Regarding claim 18, Rangachari teaches a … port first aid platform in electrical communication with a semiconductor processing apparatus and a … port, the … port first aid platform comprising:
a … port first aid control system configured to control the … port when the semiconductor processing apparatus malfunctions (In FIG. 1, an automation system 1 is shown ... certain devices that typically comprise a computer system are inferred in FIG. 1 ... the computer program 10 is typically stored on a storage medium (not shown) of an automation system 1 or any computer system such as the computer system of FIG. 8 … Graphical User Interface (GUI) 16 ... The GUI also provides additional functions including an operator interface for the automation system for ... a manual operation mode for the SMIF ... This mode allows for error recovery and other operations)(column 6 lines 1, 4-5, 10-13, 26-27, and column 14 lines 26-31; a computer program executing on a computing system displays an interface for controlling when there is an error); and
a … port first aid terminal configured to provide a user interface between a technician and the … port first aid control system (A user interfaces with the computer program 10 through a display)(column 9 lines 65-66).
Rangachari differs from the claim in that Rangachari fails to explicitly teach the port is a load port. However, utilizing a load port to interface with a semiconductor processing apparatus is taught by Ito (As shown in FIG. 3, in the semiconductor-manufacturing process, the FOUP 4 is used together with an EFEM ... including a load port 2 ... transferring a wafer W as a substrate between the FOUP 4 and a processing apparatus M)([0032] and [0033]; Figure 3 – using a load port to load wafers into equipment for manufacturing is shown). The examiner notes Rangachari and Ito teach a platform for controlling equipment. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the platform of Rangachari to include the utilizing of Ito such that the platform utilizes a load port to interface with a semiconductor processing apparatus. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of improving efficiency by eliminating waste ([0013]; Ito).
Although Rangachari-Ito disclose a primary control system configured to control the semiconductor processing apparatus (Rangachari - The Equipment Manager 18, through the application servers 49, is able to provide communication paths 11 with the MES 46, GUI 16, equipment 40 and SMIF 42 and other Fab applications to coordinate the automation of the automation system 1)(column 7 lines 20-24). The combination of Rangachari-Ito differs from the claim in that Rangachari-Ito fails to teach a communication path that bypasses the primary control system. However, communicating via a communication path that bypasses a primary control system is taught by McGee (FIG. 1 illustrates exemplary hardware for a remote control and/or autonomous system 100. System 100 may include a mobile machine 120 … a remote control (RC) operator station 140 ... Mobile machine 120 ... including various electronic control modules (ECMs) 124 for controlling machine subsystems and aspects of the operation of mobile machine 120 ... control commands could be provided to mobile machine 120 from ... RC operator station 140 ... Planner ECM 134 on-board mobile machine 120 may determine and implement instructions at a more granular level, such as specifying the path that a particular machine will take to complete an assigned task. Planner ECM 134 may send specific control signals to the various subsystem ECMs ... A wireless communication link may be established … Wired ethernet communication links may also be established between RC operator station 140)([0013] and [0014]; Figure 1 – a device (i.e., remote operator station) communicating via a communication path that bypasses a primary control system (i.e., Planner ECM) to control subsystems is shown). The examiner notes Rangachari, Ito, and McGee teach a platform for controlling equipment. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the platform of Rangachari-Ito to include the communicating of McGee such that the platform comprises a communication path that bypasses a primary control system. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of seamlessly switching between automatic and manual control of equipment ([0003-0005]; McGee).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rangachari, Ito, McGee, and in further view of Kim (KR100562487B1).
Regarding claim 6, Rangachari-Ito-McGee teach the system as applied above, Rangachari-Ito-McGee differs from the claim in that Rangachari-Ito-McGee fails to teach an electrical solenoid valve handling mechanism. However, an electrical solenoid valve handling mechanism is taught by Kim (the load port in the semiconductor wafer manufacturing apparatus is adapted to be fixed by fixing the robot arm 37 of the fixed robot arm system 42 ... the robot arm system 42, 43 is to be driven by ... electrical motor or solenoid valve)([0025]). The examiner notes Rangachari, Ito, McGee, and Kim teach a system for controlling equipment. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Rangachari-Ito-McGee to include the handling mechanism of Kim such that the system utilizes an electrical solenoid valve handling mechanism to perform operations of a load port. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of improving response time.
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rangachari, Ito, McGee, and in further view of Kozub et al. (US20020070983A1).
Regarding claim 12, Rangachari-Ito-McGee teach the system as applied above, wherein aid is presented in a user interface (Rangachari - The GUI also provides additional functions including an operator interface for the automation system for ... a manual operation mode for the SMIF output, including load, unload ... This mode allows for error recovery and other operations)(column 14 lines 26-31). Rangachari-Ito-McGee differs from the claim in that Rangachari-Ito-McGee fails to teach presenting buttons configured to trigger instructions. However, presenting buttons configured to trigger operation instructions upon user selection is taught by Kozub (One skilled in this art appreciates that a graphic user interface or GUI, includes graphical elements representing physical elements such ... buttons ... The user places the pointing device 57 over a graphic representing a physical counterpart and selects the graphic or function ... such as opening or closing a door)([0035] and [0045]). The examiner notes Rangachari, Ito, McGee, and Kozub teach a system for controlling equipment. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Rangachari-Ito-McGee to include the presenting of Kozub such that the system presents buttons configured to trigger operation instructions upon user selection. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of denoting actions a user is able to take.
Regarding claim 13, Rangachari-Ito-McGee-Kozub teach the system of claim 12, wherein the first predetermined first aid instruction is to close a door of the wafer container, and the second predetermined first aid instruction is to close a door of the load port (although Rangachari-Ito-McGee-Kozub disclose instructions for closing doors (Kozub - The user places the pointing device 57 over a graphic representing a physical counterpart and selects the graphic or function ... such as opening or closing a door)([0035] and [0045]). Rangachari-Ito-McGee-Kozub does not teach closing a door of a wafer and a load port, said closing are taught by Ito (The load port 2 of the present embodiment is configured so that the load port door 22 can be moved at least between a position shown in FIG. 9, i.e., a fully closed position (C) at which the internal space 4S of the FOUP body 42 is sealed by the FOUP door 43 held by the load port door 22)([0044]). The examiner notes Rangachari, Ito, McGee, and Kozub teach a system for semiconductor processing. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Rangachari-Ito-McGee-Kozub to include the closing of Ito such that the system includes instructions to close a door of a wafer and a load port. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of improving efficiency by eliminating waste ([0013]; Ito)).
Claims 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rangachari in further view of Chou (US20220037180A1), Ito, and McGee.
Regarding claim 14, Rangachari teaches a method comprising:
receiving, by a … port first aid platform … that a semiconductor processing apparatus malfunctions; and controlling, by the … port first aid platform … an operation of the … port (In FIG. 1, an automation system 1 is shown ... certain devices that typically comprise a computer system are inferred in FIG. 1 ... Graphical User Interface (GUI) 16 ... The GUI also provides additional functions including an operator interface for the automation system for ... a manual operation mode for the SMIF ... This mode allows for error recovery and other operations)(column 6 lines 1, 4-5, 26-27, and column 14 lines 26-31; Figure 1 reference element 16 – a computer displays a user interface to control the loading interface when there is an error).
Rangachari differs from the claim in that Rangachari fails to teach the receiving comprises receiving an alarm of the malfunction. However, receiving an alarm of a malfunction of a semiconductor processing apparatus is taught by Chou (Another aspect of the present disclosure provides a method for controlling a semiconductor manufacturing equipment comprising ... performing an artificial intelligence (AI) analytical process ... transmitting the alert signal)([0018]). The examiner notes Rangachari and Chou teach a method for controlling equipment. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Rangachari to include the receiving of Chou such that the method receives an alarm of a malfunction of a semiconductor processing apparatus. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of providing advance warning of equipment parameters ([0002]; Chou).
The combination of Rangachari-Chou differs from the claim in that Rangachari-Chou fails to teach the port is a load port comprising a load port handling mechanism to control operation of the load port. However, utilizing a load port interface including a load port handling mechanism to control operation of the load port is taught by Ito (As shown in FIG. 3, in the semiconductor-manufacturing process, the FOUP 4 is used together with an EFEM ... including a load port 2 ... The load port door 22 includes a connection mechanism 221 ... that can be switched between a lid connection state in which the connection mechanism 221 is connected to the FOUP door 43 ... a lid connection release state in which the connection to the FOUP door 43 is released to attach the FOUP door 43)([0032] and [0044]). The examiner notes Rangachari, Chou, and Ito teach a method for controlling equipment. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Rangachari-Chou to include the load port of Ito such that the method utilizes a load port including a load port handling mechanism to control operation of the load port. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of improving efficiency by eliminating waste ([0013]; Ito).
Although Rangachari-Chou-Ito disclose a primary control system configured to control the semiconductor processing apparatus (Rangachari - The Equipment Manager 18, through the application servers 49, is able to provide communication paths 11 with the MES 46, GUI 16, equipment 40 and SMIF 42 and other Fab applications to coordinate the automation of the automation system 1)(column 7 lines 20-24). The combination of Rangachari-Chou-Ito differs from the claim in that Rangachari-Chou-Ito fails to teach a communication path that bypasses the primary control system. However, communicating via a communication path that bypasses a primary control system is taught by McGee (FIG. 1 illustrates exemplary hardware for a remote control and/or autonomous system 100. System 100 may include a mobile machine 120 … a remote control (RC) operator station 140 ... Mobile machine 120 ... including various electronic control modules (ECMs) 124 for controlling machine subsystems and aspects of the operation of mobile machine 120 ... control commands could be provided to mobile machine 120 from ... RC operator station 140 ... Planner ECM 134 on-board mobile machine 120 may determine and implement instructions at a more granular level, such as specifying the path that a particular machine will take to complete an assigned task. Planner ECM 134 may send specific control signals to the various subsystem ECMs ... A wireless communication link may be established … Wired ethernet communication links may also be established between RC operator station 140)([0013] and [0014]; Figure 1 – a device (i.e., remote operator station) communicating via a communication path that bypasses a primary control system (i.e., Planner ECM) to control subsystems is shown). The examiner notes Rangachari, Chou, Ito, and McGee teach a method for controlling equipment. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Rangachari-Chou-Ito to include the communicating of McGee such that the method comprises a communication path that bypasses a primary control system. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of seamlessly switching between automatic and manual control of equipment ([0003-0005]; McGee).
Regarding claim 15, Rangachari-Chou-Ito-McGee teach the method of claim 14, further comprising:
sending a notification message to a technician (although Rangachari-Chou-Ito-McGee fails to teach sending a notification message, said sending is taught by Chou (the message and feedback subsystem 52 generates the alert signal AM ... The alert signal AM may be transmitted to the client system 110 via electronic mail, instant messaging applications, or the like)([0060]). The examiner notes Rangachari, Chou, Ito, and McGee teach a method for semiconductor processing. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Rangachari-Chou-Ito-McGee to include the sending of Chou such that the method sends a notification message. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of providing advance warning of equipment parameters ([0002]; Chou).
Regarding claim 16, Rangachari-Chou-Ito-McGee teach the method of claim 14, wherein the operation is closing a door of a wafer container containing a wafer to be loaded to the semiconductor processing apparatus (Ito - The load port 2 of the present embodiment is configured so that the load port door 22 can be moved at least between a position shown in FIG. 9, i.e., a fully closed position (C) at which the internal space 4S of the FOUP body 42 is sealed by the FOUP door 43 held by the load port door 22)([0044]; Figure 9 reference element 43 – closing a door of a wafer container is shown).
Regarding claim 17, Rangachari-Chou-Ito-McGee teach the method of claim 14, wherein the operation is closing a door of the load port (Ito - The load port 2 of the present embodiment is configured so that the load port door 22 can be moved at least between a position shown in FIG. 9, i.e., a fully closed position (C) at which the internal space 4S of the FOUP body 42 is sealed by the FOUP door 43 held by the load port door 22)([0044]; Figure 9 reference element 22(C) – closing a door of a load port is shown).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rangachari, Ito, McGee, and in further view of Okuno et al. (US20220375331A1).
Regarding claim 19, Rangachari-Ito-McGee teach the platform as applied above, wherein the semiconductor processing apparatus malfunctions (Rangachari - The Logging Server 60 provides logging and trace services including error messages for all equipment 40)(column 8 lines 1-3). Rangachari-Ito-McGee differs from the claim in that Rangachari-Ito-McGee fails to teach the system is configured to troubleshoot. However, troubleshooting an apparatus malfunction is taught by Okuno (when the alarm or a warning occurs in the substrate processing apparatus, the candidates for the analysis items that cause the alarm (or the warning) are specified ... the candidates are output in descending order of the probability ... possible to perform a troubleshooting in a short time)([0127]). The examiner notes Rangachari, Ito, McGee, and Okuno teach a platform for semiconductor processing. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the platform of Rangachari-Ito-McGee to include the troubleshooting of Okuno such that the platform troubleshoots an apparatus malfunction. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of improving productivity by reducing downtime ([0006]; Okuno).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-11 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the drawings have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of the drawings has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is required under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111(c) to consider the reference fully when responding to this action. The document cited therein and enumerated below teaches a method and apparatus for a bypassing a primary control system.
US20020183875A1
US20190260887A1
US6392557B1
US10440827B2
How can manual override of an automatic control system be implemented?
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YONGJIA PAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2118