DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, Species I, claims 1-10, 12-14, 16, and 21-24 in the reply filed on 6/11/26 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “angled or stepped outer surface” of claim 9, the “variable speed blower” and “fan” of claim 23, and the “valve” of claim 24 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 12, and 27 are objected to because of the following informalities: where a claim sets forth a plurality of elements or steps, each element or step of the claim should be separated by a line indentation, 37 CFR 1.75(i). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an actuator system configured to move” in claims 1 and 21”, “a vacuum source… configured to selectively generate” in claim 2, and “a fluid source configured to selectively provide” in claims 6 and 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10, 13, 14, 16, and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 21 limitation “an actuator system configured to move” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Claim 2 limitation “a vacuum source… configured to selectively generate” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structures, materials, or acts for performing the entire claimed functions and to clearly link the structures, materials, or acts to the functions. The disclosure is devoid of any structures that performs the functions in the claim. Therefore, these claims are indefinite and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim 13 recites “wherein the system controller controls the actuator system to move the bond head with respect to the target substrate”. However, it is unclear if this “to move the bond head” is the same “movement of the bond head” in claim 12. For the purposes of this examination, this limitation will be interpreted as it is the same.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 12-14, 16, 21, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Yamauchi (US 2017/0221856 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yamauchi discloses:
A die bonding tool [bonding apparatus (100); figure 1], comprising:
a bond head [stage (402), heater (422), and unlabeled backing plate; figures 1 and 8] configured to secure a semiconductor die temporarily to a lower surface of the bond head [see figure 7], the bond head comprising
a moveable component [protruding mechanism (430)] located at least partially within an internal chamber of the bond head [figures 7 and 8 depict the protruding mechanism embedded within an internal chamber],
wherein the moveable component is moveable with respect to the internal chamber between a first position in which a lower surface of the moveable component protrudes below the lower surface of the bond head and a second position in which the lower surface of the moveable component does not protrude below the lower surface of the bond head [0085-0088 and figures 3 and 4]; and
an actuator system [stage driving mechanism (400)] configured to move the bond head and the semiconductor die temporarily secured thereto towards an upper surface of a target substrate.
Regarding claim 2, Yamauchi discloses:
wherein the lower surface of the bond head comprises a lower surface of a nozzle plate [stage (402) may comprise holder mechanism (440) which may be a vacuum chuck; 0098-0101 and figure 8] having at least one port [suction grooves (440a,b)] therein, and the die bonding tool further comprises:
a vacuum source fluidly coupled to the at least one port in the nozzle plate and configured to selectively generate a suction force at the at least one port in the nozzle plate to secure the semiconductor die temporarily against the lower surface of the nozzle plate [in order for there to be a vacuum chuck and suction at the suction grooves there is inherently a vacuum source coupled to the suction grooves].
Regarding claim 3, Yamauchi discloses:
wherein the internal chamber is located in a central region of the nozzle plate and comprises an opening that is coplanar with the lower surface of the nozzle plate [see figures 7 and 8].
Regarding claim 4, Yamauchi discloses:
wherein a width dimension of the internal chamber is equal to or less than half of a width dimension of the lower surface of the nozzle plate [see figure 8].
Regarding claim 6, Yamauchi discloses:
a fluid source configured to selectively provide a fluid to the internal chamber of the bond head to control a position of the moveable component with respect to the internal chamber [air is supplied to a cylinder mechanism; 0088].
Regarding claim 7, Yamauchi discloses:
at least one retaining member [bottom plate of the stage in figure 8 which has an opening] located around a periphery of the internal chamber of the bond head and defining a width of an opening to the internal chamber [see figure 8].
Regarding claim 8, Yamauchi discloses:
wherein a maximum width of the moveable component is greater than the width of the opening to the internal chamber defined by the at least one retaining member [see figure 8].
Regarding claim 9, Yamauchi discloses:
wherein a lower portion of the moveable component comprises a curved [curved; 0097 and figure 8], angled or stepped outer surface to enable the lower portion of the moveable component to protrude from the internal chamber below a plane of the lower surface of the nozzle plate.
Regarding claim 12, Yamauchi discloses:
A die bonding tool [bonding apparatus (100); figure 1], comprising:
a bond head [stage (402), heater (422), and unlabeled backing plate; figures 1 and 8] configured to secure a semiconductor die temporarily against a surface of the bond head, the bond head comprising
a moveable component [protruding mechanism (430)] that is moveable with respect to the surface of the bond head; and
a system controller [controller (700)] operatively coupled to the bond head and configured to:
control a movement of the bond head and the semiconductor die secured thereto with respect to a target substrate [0059, 0065-0077]; and
control a position of the moveable component with respect to the surface of the bond head [0059, 0089].
Regarding claim 13, Yamauchi discloses:
an actuator system [stage driving mechanism (400)] coupled to the bond head, wherein the system controller controls the actuator system to move the bond head with respect to the target substrate [0059, 0064-0097]; and
a vacuum source [stage (402) may comprise holder mechanism (440) which may be a vacuum chuck; 0098-0101 and figure 8, which is inherently connected to a vacuum source in order for there to be a vacuum chuck and suction at the suction grooves] fluidly coupled to at least one port [suction grooves (440a,b)] in the surface of the bond head,
wherein the system controller controls the vacuum source to selectively provide a suction force at the at least one port to secure the semiconductor die against the surface of the bond head [since the controller controls each aspect of the bonding apparatus; 0059, then it would also control the vacuum source in order to operate the holding mechanism as noted in 0099-0114].
Regarding claim 14, Yamauchi discloses:
a fluid source [air is supplied to a cylinder mechanism; 0088] in fluid communication with the moveable component, wherein the system controller controls a flow of fluid from the fluid source to the moveable component to control a position of the moveable component with respect to the surface of the bond head [since the controller controls each aspect of the bonding apparatus; 0059, then it would also control the cylinder mechanism in order to operate the protruding mechanism as noted in 0085-0097].
Regarding claim 16, Yamauchi discloses:
a heat source [heater (422); figure 1], wherein the system controller controls the heat source to selectively heat the semiconductor die [0059, 0116].
Regarding claim 21, Yamauchi discloses:
A die bonding system [bonding apparatus (100); figure 1], comprising:
a bond head [stage (402), heater (422), and unlabeled backing plate; figures 1 and 8] configured to secure a semiconductor die temporarily to a lower surface of the bond head [see figure 7], the bond head comprising
a moveable component [protruding mechanism (430)] located at least partially within an internal chamber of the bond head [figures 7 and 8 depict the protruding mechanism embedded within an internal chamber],
wherein the moveable component is moveable with respect to the internal chamber between a first position in which a lower surface of the moveable component protrudes below the lower surface of the bond head and a second position in which the lower surface of the moveable component does not protrude below the lower surface of the bond head [0085-0088 and figures 3 and 4];
an actuator system [stage driving mechanism (400)] configured to move the bond head and the semiconductor die temporarily secured thereto towards an upper surface of a target substrate; and
a fluid source [air is supplied to a cylinder mechanism; 0088] coupled to the bond head and configured to selectively provide a fluid [air] to the internal chamber of the bond head at a flow rate to position the moveable component between the first position and the second position.
Regarding claim 22, Yamauchi discloses:
wherein the fluid provided by the fluid system comprises a gas [air; 0088].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamauchi (US 2017/0221856 A1) as applied to claims 2 and 9 above.
Regarding claims 5 and 10, Yamauchi does not teach:
wherein the lower surface of the moveable component is configured to protrude below a plane of the lower surface of the nozzle plate by a maximum protrusion distance of at least 0.1 µm, or
wherein a maximum distance by which the moveable component is able to protrude below the plane of the lower surface of the nozzle plate is equal to or less than half of the maximum width of the moveable component.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to limit the amount of protrusion of the protruding member to that claimed based on the size of the components involved, the desired amount of bending, and/or the mechanical limitations of the protruding member, minus any unexpected results.
Claims 23 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamauchi (US 2017/0221856 A1) as applied to claims 2 and 9 above, in further view of Murray et al. (US 2025/0249586 A1).
Regarding claim 23, Yamauchi does not teach:
wherein the fluid source comprises a variable speed blower or fan configured to control the flow rate of fluid into the internal chamber.
Note that Yamauchi teaches a using air pressure to change the pressing force of the protruding mechanism; 0088, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to that this describes a pneumatic actuator.
Murray teaches pneumatic actuators comprise cylinders, valves, and pressures sources/blowers; 0046.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use a pneumatic actuator like that taught by Murray since it is a known device, minus any unexpected results. It also would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use a variable speed blower in order to adjust the air flow rate which in turn would adjust the pressing force as desired.
Regarding claim 24, Yamauchi does not teach:
wherein the fluid source comprises at least one valve configured to control the flow rate of the fluid into the internal chamber.
Murray teaches pneumatic actuators comprise cylinders, valves, and pressures sources/blowers; 0046.
Note that it is well-known in the art that valves are used to control flow rates since they are known as flow control valves.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use a pneumatic actuator like those taught by Murray since they are known device, minus any unexpected results. It also would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use a valve in order to adjust the air flow which in turn would allow the air flow rate to be turned on or off or to simply control the air flow rate as desired.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure; see PTO 892.
/CARLOS J GAMINO/Examiner, Art Unit 1735
/KEITH WALKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1735