DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 7, 9-13, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP6526880B1 also known as JP2020-2443A ( using the Machine Generated English Translation provided herewith, henceforth referred to as JP6526880B1) in view of Ryu (KR 20130073409 using the Machine Generated English Translation provided herewith).
Regarding claim 1. JP6526880B1 illustrates a deposition apparatus (see Fig. 1) comprising: a chamber 100 providing an inner space; and a deposition source which is accommodated in the inner space, the deposition source comprising: an accommodation module 300/300X accommodating a deposition material; and a heater module which is disposed adjacent to an outer portion of the accommodation module and provides a heat to the deposition material, the heater module comprising: a first heater cover 310 of which a first surface faces the accommodation module, the first heater cover comprising an insulating material (see abstract) and provided with a first through hole 311 defined therethrough; a second heater cover 320 facing a second surface of the first heater cover opposite to the first surface of the first heater cover, the second heater cover comprising an insulating material (see abstract) and provided with a second through hole 350 defined therethrough; a heater 331 disposed between the second surface of the first heater cover and a first surface of the second heater cover. See Figs 1 and 3 of JP6526880B1 below.
Fig. 1 of JP6526880B1 which is also JP 2020-2443A
Fig. 3 of JP6526880B1 which is also JP 2020-2443A
JP6526880B1 fails to teach a fixing frame which is coupled with a second surface of the second heater cover opposite to the first surface of the second heater cover.
The prior art of Ryu teaches an evaporation source having a fixing member (fixing frame). According to the abstract the fixing frame (fixing member 400) fixes the shape and position of the heater and is a ring-shaped plate. The fixing member 400 comprises an upper fixing member 410 and a lower fixing member 420. The motivation to modify JP6526880B1 with a fixing frame as that will secure the heater covers to enhance the support of the heater covers to the evaporation source. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of JP6526880B1 with fixing frame of Ryu to better secure the first and second heater covers and heater to the evaporation source.
Fig. 4 of Ryu KR 20130073409
JP6526880B1 fails to teach that the second heater cover and is provided with a fastening hole defined; a coupling member inserted into the first through hole, the second through hole, and the fastening hole; and a shielding cover covering a first end of the coupling member adjacent to the accommodation module and comprising an insulating material.
Ryu teaches a shielding cover (heat dissipation plate 100), coupling members (fasting members 430) fitted into opening 110 (through holes), see Fig. 4 above. The motivation to further modify the apparatus of JP6526880B1 with the teachings of Ryu is that Ryu suggests how to better secure the heater and first and second heater covers with fixing frames and coupling members. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of JP6526880B1 with fixing frame of Ryu to better secure the first and second heater covers and heater to the evaporation source.
Regarding claim 6. The deposition apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first heater cover 310 is provided with a discharge hole 311 defined therethrough to correspond to a shape of the heater 331 in a plan view, and a heat generated from the heater is discharged through the discharge hole. See Figures of JP6526880B1 where the heater surrounds the wall of the crucible 330.
Regarding claims 10 and 20: See JP6526880B1 Fig. 3 features a plurality of heating modules one heating module for heater 331 (bottom module) and another for heater 341 (above module). The plurality of heating modules in Fig. 3 above is to allow for heating the nozzle and crucible to maintain temperature control of the nozzle and evaporation material in the crucible. See also Figs. 4-6 of JP6526880B1 where there is a plurality of evaporation source units 300X. 300Y, and 300Z where each unit features a plurality of heater module with heaters 331, 341 and heater covers 310X, 310Y, and 310Z (made of insulating materials see abstract) teaches an evaporation source unit with a plurality of evaporation source units. The motivation to further modify the apparatus resulting from JP6526880B1 and by providing a plurality of heating modules as suggested by the JP6526880B1 in Figures 4-6 is that several evaporation materials can be heating and deposited onto the substrate which enhances the efficacy and throughput of the apparatus. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the apparatus resulting from the combined teachings of and by providing a plurality of heating modules as suggested by the JP6526880B1 in the embodiments illustrated in Figs. 4-6.
Fig. 4 of JP6526880B1
Regarding claim 11. JP6526880B1fails to teach a fixing member, wherein the first heater cover is provided with a first fixing hole defined therethrough, the second heater cover is provided with a second fixing hole defined therethrough, and the fixing member is inserted into the first fixing hole and the second fixing hole. The prior art of Ryu teaches an evaporation source having a fixing member (fixing frame). According to the abstract the fixing frame (fixing member 400) fixies the shape and position of the heater and is a ring-shaped plate. The fixing member 400 comprises an upper fixing member 410 and a lower fixing member 420. The motivation to modify JP6526880B1 with a fixing frame as that will secure the heater covers to enhance the support of the heater covers to the evaporation source. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of JP6526880B1 with fixing frame of Ryu to better secure the first and second heater covers and heater to the evaporation source. Ryu teaches a shielding cover (heat dissipation plate 100), coupling members (fasting members 430) fitted into opening 110 (through holes/fixing holes), see Fig. 4 of Ryu above. The motivation to further modify the apparatus of JP6526880B1 with the teachings of Ryu suggest how to better secure the heater and first and second heater covers with fixing frames and coupling members. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of JP6526880B1 with fixing frame of Ryu to better secure the first and second heater covers and heater to the evaporation source.
Regarding claim 12. The deposition apparatus of claim 1, wherein at least one of the first heater cover and the second heater cover is provided with a seating recess (groove) corresponding to the heater to accommodate the heater. See Figures of JP6526880B1.
Regarding claim 13. See the rejection of claim 1 above and note that JP6526880B1 fails to teach a protruding structure protruding from the cover member and provided with a third through hole defined therethrough, and comprising an insulating material; a fixing frame which is coupled with one surface of the second heater cover, fixes the second heater cover and is provided with a fastening hole defined therethrough; and a coupling member inserted into the second through hole, the third through hole, and the fastening hole, wherein the protruding structure is inserted into the first through hole.
The prior art of Ryu teaches an evaporation source having a fixing member (fixing
frame). According to the abstract the fixing frame (fixing member 400) fixies the shape and position of the heater and is a ring-shaped plate. The fixing frame 400 comprises an upper fixing frame 410 and a lower fixing frame 420. The motivation to modify JP6526880B1 with a fixing frame that will secure the heater covers to enhance the support of the heater covers to the evaporation source. Note Ryu also teaches protrusions 423 to be formed in spaced between heating members forming the heater 300. The protrusions act as spacers to ensure fixing frame and heater are secure. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of JP6526880B1 with fixing frame/fixing members and protrusions as suggested by the prior art of Ryu to better secure the first and second heater covers and heater to the evaporation source.
Regarding claims 7, 9 18, and 19 the apparatus resulting of JP6526880B1 1 was discussed above.
JP6526880B1 fails to the material of construction of the shielding cover, first and second heater covers, and shielding tube. It is noted that in the abstract of JP6526880B1 the heater covers are made of an insulating material, but does not specify that the material is boron nitride.
Namely, the JP6526880B1 fails to teach:
Regarding claim 7. The deposition apparatus of claim 1, wherein at least one of the first heater cover and the second heater cover comprises boron nitride with a purity of about 95% or more.
Regarding claim 18. The deposition apparatus of claim 13, wherein at least one of the first heater cover and the second heater cover comprises boron nitride with a purity of about 95% or more.
Ryu teaches the fixing members 410 and 420 are made of boron nitride (BN). According to Ryu, BN is a known ceramic with preferred chemical and physical properties as high durability, heat resistance, and insulation. The selection of the material of construction of the components of the deposition apparatus resulting from the combined teachings of JP6526880B1 and Ryu is a matter of design choice and optimization where one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention would use the material with the optimal physical and chemical properties (such as high heat resistance) to withstand the harsh deposition environment. One of ordinary skill in the art would also use the purest form of BN available to include 95% or more so that impurities and contamination of the process environment and subsequently the process result can be decreased. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the shielding cover, first and second heater covers, and shielding tube of the apparatus resulting from the combined teachings of JP6526880B1 and Ryu by using BN as this material is suggested by Ryu.
The combined teachings of JP6526880B1 and Ryu also fails to teach:
Regarding claim 9. The deposition apparatus of claim 1, wherein the fixing frame has a rigidity greater than a rigidity of each of the first heater cover and the second heater cover.
Regarding claim 19. The deposition apparatus of claim 13, wherein the fixing frame has a rigidity greater than a rigidity of each of the first heater cover and the second heater cover.
Recall the selection of the material of construction of the components of the deposition apparatus resulting from the combined teachings of JP6526880B1 and Ryu is a matter of design choice and optimization where one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention would use the material with the optimal physical and chemical properties (such as high heat resistance) to withstand the harsh deposition environment. The fixing frame would also be constructed of an optimal material one that is more rigid than the first and second heat covers as the fixing frame has to withstand more wear and tear due to opening and closing for maintenance and introducing more evaporation material and the inadvertent deposition from the nozzle depositing material to the substrate. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the deposition apparatus resulting from the combined teachings of JP6526880B1 and Ryu to construct the fixing frame of a material with a rigidity greater than the first and second heater covers in order to increase the overall endurance of the deposition apparatus.
Claims 2-5, 8, and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP6526880B1 also known as JP2020-2443A ( using the Machine Generated English Translation provided herewith, henceforth referred to as JP6526880B1) in view of Ryu (KR 20130073409 using the Machine Generated English Translation provided herewith), as applied to claims 1, 6, 7, 9-13, and 18-20 above, and in further view of Kim et al (KR101365075B1 using the Machine Generated English Translation provided with the IDS filed 8/7/2023).
The combined teachings of JP6526880B1 and Ryu were discussed above.
The combined teachings of JP6526880B1 and Ryu and the apparatus resulting from their teachings fails to teach:
Regarding claim 2. The deposition apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a shielding tube inserted into the first through hole and the second through hole and comprising an insulating material, wherein the coupling member is inserted into the shielding tube.
Regarding claim 4. The deposition apparatus of claim 2, wherein the shielding tube has a height greater than a thickness of the second heater cover.
Kim et al teaches a chemical vapor deposition apparatus where enhanced support and sealing techniques are used to ensure the fluid distribution is controlled. In Figs. 2-5 of Kim et al the fastening portion 59 (shielding tube) has a stepped structure so that the upper portion is narrower. The motivation to provide a stepped portion is that when used in conjunction with the fastening portion 59 the lower end of the lift bolt 52a is engaged with the inside of the fastening portion 59 so that the pulling force of the lift bolt 52a can be effectively transmitted to the connecting member 51. The fastening portion 59 (shielding tube) is formed as a pocket to wrap the lower end of the lift bolt 52a, and the lift bolt 52a and the connection member 51 are generated by friction. Regarding the dimensions of the shielding tube relative the second heat cover, the dimensions of the components of the apparatus resulting from the combined teachings of JP6526880B1, Ryu, and Kim et al, the dimensions are a matter of design choice and would be optimized without undue experimentation to ensure that adequate support and sealing are provided to the components of the deposition apparatus to ensure the proper seal and decreased particle/fluid contamination. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the apparatus resulting from the combined teachings of JP6526880B1 and Ryu by sealing the various components of the deposition apparatus in the manner suggested by Kim et al.
The combined teachings of JP6526880B1 and Ryu and the apparatus resulting from their teachings fails to teach:
Regarding claim 5. The deposition apparatus of claim 2, wherein at least one of the shielding cover and the shielding tube comprises boron nitride with a purity of about 95% or more.
Recall the teachings of Ryu with the shielding cover (heat dissipation plate 100) Kim et al with the shielding tube (fastening portion 59).
Recall the selection of the material of construction of the components of the deposition apparatus resulting from the combined teachings of JP6526880B1, Ryu, and Kim et al is a matter of design choice and optimization where one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention would use the material with the optimal physical and chemical properties (such as high heat resistance) to withstand the harsh deposition environment. The fixing frame would also be constructed of an optimal material one that is more rigid than the first and second heat covers as the fixing frame has to withstand more wear and tear due to opening and closing for maintenance and introducing more evaporation material and the inadvertent deposition from the nozzle depositing material to the substrate. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the deposition apparatus resulting from the combined teachings of JP6526880B1, Ryu, and Kim et al to construct the fixing frame of a material with a rigidity greater than the first and second heater covers in order to increase the overall endurance of the deposition apparatus.
The combined teachings of JP6526880B1 and Ryu and the apparatus resulting from their teachings fails to teach:
Regarding claim 3. The deposition apparatus of claim 1, wherein the coupling member comprises a thread defined at a second end of the coupling member opposite to the first end of the coupling member, and the thread is coupled with the fastening hole.
Regarding claim 8. The deposition apparatus of claim 1, wherein an inner side surface of the first heater cover, which defines the first through hole, has a step difference corresponding to the
shielding cover.
Regarding claim 14. The deposition apparatus of claim 13, further comprising a coupling nut, wherein the coupling member comprises a thread defined at a first end of the coupling member adjacent to the accommodation module, and the coupling nut is coupled with the thread.
Regarding claim 15. The deposition apparatus of claim 14, wherein the coupling member comprises a coupling head defined at a second end of the coupling member, the second end of the coupling member is opposite to the first end of the coupling member, and an inner side surface of the fixing frame, which defines the fastening hole, has a step difference corresponding to the coupling head.
Regarding claim 16. The deposition apparatus of claim 13, further comprising a coupling nut, wherein the coupling member comprises a coupling head defined at a first end of the coupling member adjacent to the accommodation module and a thread defined at a second end of the coupling member opposite to the first end of the coupling member, and the coupling nut is coupled with the thread.
Regarding claim 17. The deposition apparatus of claim 16, wherein an inner side surface of the fixing frame, which defines the fastening hole, has a step difference corresponding to the coupling nut.
Kim et al teaches a chemical vapor deposition apparatus where enhanced support and sealing techniques are used to ensure the fluid distribution is controlled. In Fig. 2 and 3 of Kim et al, the sealed lift unit 50 is composed of a connecting member 51, a lifter 52, and a sealing module 53. Kim et al further teaches the connecting member 51 through bolt placement holes 67 formed to penetrate the recess 66. The lift bolt 52a (coupling member) adjusts the coupling depth by rotation due to the characteristics of the bolt coupling. Rotating the lift nut 52b (coupling nut) allows the lift bolt 52 to be raised and lowered. The sealing module 53 includes a sealing member 54 to seal a gap between the backing plate 32 and lift bolt 52a. The sealing member 54 is manufactured in a donut shape surrounding the lift bolt 52a. In Figs. 2-5 of Kim et al the fastening portion 59 has a stepped structure so that the upper portion is narrower. The motivation to provide a stepped portion is that when used in conjunction with the fastening portion 59 the lower end of the lift bolt 52a is engaged with the inside of the fastening portion 59 so that the pulling force of the lift bolt 52a can be effectively transmitted to the connecting member 51. The fastening portion 59 is formed as a pocket to wrap the lower end of the lift bolt 52a, and the lift bolt 52a and the connection member 51 are generated by friction. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the apparatus resulting from the combined teachings of JP6526880B1 and Ryu by sealing the various components of the deposition apparatus in the manner suggested by Kim et al.
Figs. 2 and 3 of Kim et al KR101365075B1
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
CN110629168A teaches an evaporation device with a movable cover plate (lid 13), inner crucible 21, insulating layer 23, outer crucible layer 24, heating coil 22, boat inner layer 11, and boat outer layer 12 see Fig. 2.
Tsukazaki et al (US 5,099,791) teaches a thin film deposition apparatus with heater 8, crucible 3, and thermal shield 9.
/SYLVIA MACARTHUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716