DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claim(s) 1 – 8, 12, 16 - 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by LEE (20180107037).
With regard to claim 1, LEE discloses a display device (for example, see figs. 4, 7) comprising:
a substrate (110);
pixels (PX, for example see paragraph [0049]) disposed on the substrate (110);
a plurality of signal lines (DL) inherently for applying a signal to the pixels (PX), the plurality of signal lines (DL) disposed on the substrate (110),
the signal lines (DL) being spaced apart from one another and extending parallel to a first direction (for example, Y-direction functioning as a first direction), wide portions (portions 115A1, 115A2 as annotated in fig. 7 below), having a larger width, functioning as wide portions); and
an identification pattern (referred to as “A” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 7 below; wherein the identification pattern “A” including the wide portions 115A1, 115A2 as annotated in fig. 7 below, having the numbers, symbols, letters, and pattern may indicate one or more corresponding data line identification numbers; for example, see paragraph [0069]) for identifying line numbers of the plurality of signal lines (DL), wherein the identification pattern (A) includes wide portions (115A1, 115A2) on one or more of the signal lines (DL) wherein the identification pattern (A) is expressed by a group of the wide portions (115A1, 115A2) and at least one wide portion (portions 115A1, 115A2 functions as at least one wide portion) in the group of the wide portions (an array of wide portions 115A1, 115A2) has a different length (referred to as “L1” and “L2” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 7 below; wherein the lengths L1, L2 are different) in the first direction (for example, Y-direction functioning as the first direction) as a part of the identification pattern (A).
With regard to claim 2, LEE discloses the identification pattern (numbers, symbols, letters, and pattern, represented by the holes 115h may indicate one or more corresponding data line identification numbers; for example, see paragraph [0069]), forming wide portions, functioning as the identification pattern or functioning as a relief pattern in order to enhance the repair process (Although the applicant uses terms different to those of LEE to describe the claimed invention, this does not result in any structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. The use different terminology to describe the plurality of elements that constitute an integrated circuit as this is just a writing style and the way in which a structural limitation is expressed does not affect the configuration of the described elements.)
With regard to claim 3, LEE discloses the identification pattern (numbers, symbols, letters, and pattern, represented by the holes 115h may indicate one or more corresponding data line identification numbers, functioning as an identification pattern) is one of a symbol, a letter, and a pattern (for example, see paragraph [0069]).
With regard to claim 4, LEE discloses an orientation (a length orientation) of the identification pattern (the identification pattern forming in the portions 115A1, 115A2) is parallel to the first direction (Y-direction).
With regard to claim 5, LEE discloses an orientation (a width orientation) of the identification pattern (the identification pattern forming in the portions 115A1, 115A2) crosses the first direction (Y-direction).
With regard to claim 6, LEE discloses the identification pattern is expressed by a group of the wide portions (115A1, 115A2) formed on each of at least two lines (two lines DL of the data lines DL functioning as at least two lines) adjacent to each other in the second direction (X-direction) among the plurality of signal lines (the plurality of lines DL).
With regard to claim 7, LEE discloses the lines (among lines DL of the data lines) are spaced apart from one another by a first width (referred to as “X1” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 7 below), and a width (referred to as “X2” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 7 below) of each of the plurality of wide portions (portions 115A1, 115A2) in the second direction (X-direction) is smaller than the first width (X1).
With regard to claim 8, LEE discloses the wide portions (115A1, 115A2) formed on each of at least two lines (DL) adjacent to each other in the second direction (X-direction) are spaced apart from each other.
With regard to claim 12, LEE discloses a display device (for example, see figs. 4, 7) comprising:
a substrate (110);
pixels (PX, for example see paragraph [0049]) disposed on the substrate (110);
a plurality of signal lines (DL) inherently for applying a signal to the pixels (PX), the plurality of signal lines (DL) comprising a first line (referred to as “DL1” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 7 below) and a second line (referred to as “DL2” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 7 below) disposed on the substrate (110), extending parallel to a first direction (for example, Y-direction functioning as a first direction) and spaced apart from each other, wherein the first line (DL1) includes first wide portions (referred to as “115A1”; “115A2” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 7 below) protruding in a second direction (for example, X-direction functioning as a second direction) and spaced apart from another in the first direction (Y-direction),
wherein the second line (DL2) includes second wide portions (referred to as other portions “115A1”; “115A2” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 7 below) protruding in the second direction (X-direction) and spaced apart from another in the first direction (Y-direction), and wherein the first wide portions (115A1; 115A2) of the first line (DL1) and the second wide portions (other portions 115A1, 115A2) of the second line (DL2) adjacent to each other form an identification pattern (referred to as “A” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 7 below; wherein the identification pattern “A” including the wide portions 115A1, 115A2 functions as the identification pattern “A”, having the numbers, symbols, letters, and pattern may indicate one or more corresponding data line identification numbers; for example, see paragraph [0069]) for identifying line numbers of a plurality of lines (ones of among data lines DL functioning as a plurality of lines) wherein the identification pattern (A) is expressed by at least a group of the first wide portions (portions 115A1, 115A2) and the second wide portions (other portions 115A1, 115A2);
at least one wide portion (115A1) in the group of the first wide portions (portions 115A1, 115A2) and second wide portions (other portions 115A2) has a different (referred to as “L1” and “L2” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 7 below; wherein the lengths L1, L2 are different) in the first direction (for example, Y-direction functioning as the first direction) as a part of the identification pattern (A).
With regard to claim 16, LEE discloses the identification pattern (numbers, symbols, letters, and pattern, represented by the holes 115h may indicate one or more corresponding data line identification numbers; for example, see paragraph [0069]), forming wide portions 115, functioning as the identification pattern or functioning as a relief pattern in order to enhance the repair process (Although the applicant uses terms different to those of LEE to describe the claimed invention, this does not result in any structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. The use different terminology to describe the plurality of elements that constitute an integrated circuit as this is just a writing style and the way in which a structural limitation is expressed does not affect the configuration of the described elements.)
With regard to claim 17, LEE discloses the identification pattern (numbers, symbols, letters, and pattern, represented by the holes 115h may indicate one or more corresponding data line identification numbers, functioning as an identification pattern) is one of a symbol, a letter, and a pattern (for example, see paragraph [0069]).
With regard to claim 18, LEE discloses an orientation (a length orientation) of the identification pattern (the identification pattern forming in the portions 115A1, 115A2)) is parallel to the first direction (Y-direction).
With regard to claim 19, LEE discloses the first line (DL1) and the second line (DL2) are spaced apart from each other by a first width (referred to as “X1” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 7 below) in the second direction (X-direction), and wherein a width (referred to as “X2” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 7 below) of the second wide portion (another portion 115A1) in the second direction (X-direction) is greater than that of the first width (X1).
With regard to claim 20, LEE discloses the first line (DL1) extends through a center of the first wide portion (115A1 because the first line DL1 including the first wide portion 115A1 forming in the first line DL1), and the second line (DL2) extends through a center of the second wide portion (115A2 because the second line DL2 including the second wide portion 115A2 forming in the second line DL2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE (2018/0107037) in view of LIU et al. (2024/0258327).
With regard to claim 9, LEE does not clearly disclose the first width ranges from 2 μm to 3 μm.
However, LIU et al. discloses the spacing, between the data lines, functioning as first width is about 3 μm. (for example, see paragraph [0145]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the LEE’s device to have the first width is 3 μm as taught by LIU et al. in order to minimize the signal interference for enhancing a stability operation of the semiconductor device, as is known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
5. Claim(s) 10, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE (2018/0107037) in view of LIU et al. (12310111).
With regard to claims 10, 11, LEE discloses the plurality of wide portions (115A1, 115A2) has a polygonal shape, but LEE does not clearly disclose all interior angles of the plurality of wide portions are obtuse degrees; and corners of each of the plurality of wide portions are rounded.
However, LIU et al. (12310111) disclose all interior angles (referred to as “101A” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 3 below) of the plurality of wide portions (referred to as “101B” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 3 below) are obtuse degrees; and corners of each of the plurality of wide portions (101B) are rounded.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the LEE’s device to have all interior angles of the plurality of wide portions are obtuse degrees; and corners of each of the plurality of wide portions are rounded as taught by LIU et al. (12310111) in order to enhance high control overcurrent efficiency of the semiconductor device for enhancing a stability operation of the semiconductor device, as is known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
6. Claim(s) 13 - 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE (2018/0107037) in view of Yee et al. (8330924).
With regard to claim 13 - 15, LEE does not clearly disclose the second line at least partially overlaps the first line, and an insulating layer is interposed between the first line and the second line; wherein the first line and the first wide portion are formed integrally, and the second line and the second wide portion are formed integrally; and at least a portion of the first wide portion and at least a portion of the second wide portion overlap each other in a thickness direction.
However, Yee et al. discloses disclose the second line (124b) at least partially overlaps the first line (124a), and an insulating layer (126) is interposed between the first line (124a) and the second line (124b); wherein the first line (124a) and the first wide portion (referred to as “124A1” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 7 below) are formed integrally, and the second line (124b) and the second wide portion (referred to as “124A2” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 7 below) are formed integrally; and at least a portion of the first wide portion (124A1) and at least a portion of the second wide portion (124A2) overlap each other inherently in a thickness direction. (for example, see figs. 6, 7C).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the LEE’s device to have disclose the second line at least partially overlaps the first line, and an insulating layer is interposed between the first line and the second line; wherein the first line and the first wide portion are formed integrally, and the second line and the second wide portion are formed integrally; and at least a portion of the first wide portion and at least a portion of the second wide portion overlap each other in a thickness direction as taught by Yee et al. in order to minimize the signal interference for enhancing a stability operation of the semiconductor device, as is known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Response to Amendment
7. Applicant's arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
/TAN N TRAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812