Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 8-9 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 6656831, hereinafter Lee) in view of Papalia et al. (US 2020/0321220, hereinafter Papalia).
With respect to claim 1, Lee discloses a semiconductor processing method comprising: providing a treatment precursor (Col. 4; lines 34-38; pretreating the substrate with argon) to a processing region (250) of a semiconductor
processing chamber (200 of Fig. 2), wherein a substrate (290) is disposed within the processing region (Fig. 2); contacting a surface of the substrate with the treatment precursor (Col. 4; lines 34-38; pretreating the substrate with argon);
providing deposition precursors to the processing region (Col. 3; lines 50-60), wherein the deposition precursors comprise a metal-containing precursor (Col. 2; lines 25-30; Col. 3; lines 50-60; metal precursor gas);
forming plasma effluents of the deposition precursors (Col. 2; lines 25-30; PECVD of the metal nitride layer comprises contacting a plasma of a metal precursor gas, a nitrogen-containing gas, and a hydrogen-containing gas with the substrate to form a metal nitride layer. The deposited metal nitride layer is preferably treated with nitrogen plasma to densify the metal nitride film); and contacting the substrate with the plasma effluents of the deposition precursors (Col. 2; lines 25-30; and Col. 4; lines 21-35), wherein the contacting deposits a metal-containing layer on the substrate (Col. 4; lines 25-35; depositing TiN film).
Lee does not explicitly disclose that the metal containing layer is a hardmask layer.
In an analogous art, Papaplia discloses that the metal containing layer is a hardmask layer (Para 0033; TiN may be used as a hard mask). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee’s method/system by having Papalia’s disclosure in order to protect the semiconductor device.
With respect to claim 3, Lee discloses forming plasma effluents of the treatment precursor (Col. 4; lines 34-39).
With respect to claim 4, Lee discloses wherein the plasma effluents of the treatment precursor are formed at a plasma power of less than or about 1,000 W (Col. 5; lines 32-35; power level 350-1000Watts).
With respect to claim 5, Lee discloses prior to providing the deposition precursors, providing a seed layer precursor to the processing region (Col. 6; lines 59-61; seed layer); and contacting the substrate with the seed layer precursor (col. 6; lines 59-60), wherein the contacting deposits a seed layer on the substrate, and wherein the metal-containing hardmask is deposited on the seed layer (Col. 6; lines 59-67).
With respect to claim 8, Lee discloses wherein the metal- containing hardmask comprises one or more of chromium, cobalt, hafnium, molybdenum, osmium, ruthenium, rhenium, tantalum, titanium, tungsten, and zirconium (Col. 4; lines 25-35; titanium).
With respect to claim 9, Lee discloses semiconductor processing method (Col. 6; lines 7-8) comprising: providing a seed layer precursor (Col. 6; lines 55-61) to a processing region (250 of Fig. 2) of a semiconductor processing chamber (200), wherein a substrate (290) is disposed within the processing region; contacting the substrate with the seed layer precursor (Col. 6; lines 55-61), wherein the contacting
deposits a seed layer on the substrate (Col. 6; lines 59-61);
providing deposition precursors to the processing region (Col. 3; lines 50-60), wherein the deposition precursors comprise a metal-containing precursor (Col. 2; lines 25-30; Col. 3; lines 50-60; metal precursor gas);
forming plasma effluents of the deposition precursors (Col. 2; lines 25-30; PECVD of the metal nitride layer comprises contacting a plasma of a metal precursor gas, a nitrogen-containing gas, and a hydrogen-containing gas with the substrate to form a metal nitride layer. The deposited metal nitride layer is preferably treated with nitrogen plasma to densify the metal nitride film); and contacting the substrate with the plasma effluents of the deposition precursors (Col. 2; lines 25-30; and Col. 4; lines 21-35), wherein the contacting deposits a metal-containing layer on the substrate (Col. 4; lines 25-35; depositing TiN film).
Lee does not explicitly disclose that the metal containing layer is a hardmask layer.
In an analogous art, Papaplia discloses that the metal containing layer is a hardmask layer (Para 0033; TiN may be used as a hard mask). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee’s method/system by having Papalia’s disclosure in order to protect the semiconductor device.
With respect to claim 13, Lee does not explicitly disclose wherein the substrate comprises a layer of silicon-containing material or a layer of carbon-containing material.
In an analogous art, Papalia discloses wherein the substrate comprises a layer of silicon-containing material or a layer of carbon-containing material (Para 0029; substrate comprises of silicon). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee’s method/system by having Papalia’s disclosure in order to provide controllable electrical properties while keeping the cost of the device very low.
With respect to claim 14, Lee discloses increasing a flow rate of the metal-containing precursor while contacting the substrate with the plasma effluents of the deposition precursors;
increasing a plasma power while contacting the substrate with the plasma effluents of the deposition precursors (Col. 5; lines 5-20; 30-32; 60-67); or both.
Claims 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee/Papalia in view of Jung et al. (US 2021/0104396, hereinafter Jung).
With respect to claim 2, Lee/Papalia discloses the semiconductor processing method of claim 1.
Lee/Papalia does not explicitly disclose wherein the treatment precursor comprises a hydrogen-containing precursor, a nitrogen-containing precursor, or a hydrogen-and-nitrogen-containing precursor.
In an analogous art, Jung discloses wherein the treatment precursor comprises a hydrogen-containing precursor, a nitrogen-containing precursor, or a hydrogen-and-nitrogen-containing precursor (Para 0035; 0042; nitrogen precursor). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee/Papalia’s method/system by having Jung’s disclosure in order to remove contaminants form semiconductor devices.
Claims 6-7, 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee/Papalia in view of Venkatasubramanian (US 2018/0218902, hereinafter Venkat).
With respect to claim 6, Lee/Papalia does not explicitly disclose wherein the seed layer precursor comprises one or more of a boron-containing precursor, a nitrogen-containing precursor, and a silicon-containing precursor.
In an analogous art, Venkat discloses wherein the seed layer precursor comprises one or more of a boron-containing precursor, a nitrogen-containing precursor, and a silicon-containing precursor (Para 0011; boron-based precursor gas for seed layer). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee/Papalia’s method/system by having Venkat’s disclosure in order to enhance adhesion and improve uniformity of the layers.
With respect to claim 10, Lee/Papalia does not explicitly disclose wherein the seed layer consists of boron, nitrogen, oxygen, silicon, or a combination thereof.
In an analogous art, Venkat discloses wherein the seed layer consists of boron, nitrogen, oxygen, silicon, or a combination thereof (Para 0011; boron-based gas for seed layer). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee/Papalia’s method/system by having Venkat’s disclosure in order to enhance adhesion and improve uniformity of the layers.
With respect to claims 7 and 11, Lee/Papalia does not explicitly forming plasma effluents of the seed layer precursor.
In an analogous art, Venkat discloses forming plasma effluents of the seed layer precursor (Para 0049-0050 and 0055). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee/Papalia’s method/system by having Venkat’s disclosure in order to enhance adhesion and improve uniformity of the layers.
With respect to claim 12, Lee/Papalia does not explicitly disclose wherein the plasma effluents of the seed layer precursor are formed at a plasma power of less than or about 2,250 W.
In an analogous art, Venkat discloses wherein the plasma effluents of the seed layer precursor are formed at a plasma power of less than or about 2,250 W (para 0064; 1500 Watts). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee/Papalia’s method/system by having Venkat’s disclosure in order to enhance adhesion and improve uniformity of the layers.
Claims 15-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Roy et al. (US 2017/0207087, hereinafter Roy).
With respect to claim 15, Lee discloses a semiconductor processing method comprising:
providing deposition precursors (Col. 3; lines 50-60) to a processing region (250 of Fig. 2) of a semiconductor processing chamber (200), wherein a substrate (290) is disposed within the processing region (Fig. 2); wherein the deposition precursors comprise a metal-containing precursor (Col. 2; lines 25-30; Col. 3; lines 50-60; metal precursor gas);
forming plasma effluents of the deposition precursors (Col. 2; lines 25-30; PECVD of the metal nitride layer comprises contacting a plasma of a metal precursor gas, a nitrogen-containing gas, and a hydrogen-containing gas with the substrate to form a metal nitride layer. The deposited metal nitride layer is preferably treated with nitrogen plasma to densify the metal nitride film); and contacting the substrate with the plasma effluents of the deposition precursors (Col. 2; lines 25-30; and Col. 4; lines 21-35), wherein the contacting deposits a metal-containing layer on the substrate (Col. 4; lines 25-35; depositing metal film).
Lee does not explicitly disclose that the metal containing layer is a hardmask layer; wherein a flow rate of at least one of the deposition precursors, a plasma power, or both are increased during a first amount of deposition of the metal-containing hardmask.
In an analogous art, Roy discloses that the metal containing layer is a hardmask layer (Para 0017 and 0019; hardmask), wherein a flow rate of at least one of the deposition precursors, a plasma power, or both are increased during a first amount of deposition of the metal-containing hardmask (Para 0041-0043; and 005; ramped up flow rate). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee’s method/system by having Roy’s disclosure in order to protect the semiconductor device.
With respect to claim 16, Lee discloses prior to providing the deposition precursors: contacting a surface of the substrate with a treatment precursor (Col. 6; lines 59-67) contacting the surface of the substrate with a seed layer precursor, wherein the contacting deposits a seed layer on the substrate (Col. 6; lines 59-61; seed layer); or both.
With respect to claim 17, Lee does not explicitly disclose wherein the first amount of deposition is less than or about 10% of a total deposition duration.
In an analogous art, Roy discloses wherein the first amount of deposition is less than or about 10% of a total deposition duration (Para 0041-0043; and 005; ramped up flow rate – gradually increasing the deposition). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee’s method/system by having Roy’s disclosure in order to protect the semiconductor device.
With respect to claim 18, Lee discloses wherein the metal containing precursor comprises a chromium-containing precursor, a cobalt-containing precursor, a hafnium-containing precursor, a molybdenum-containing precursor, an osmium-containing precursor, a ruthenium-containing precursor, a rhenium-containing precursor, a tantalum- containing precursor, a titanium-containing precursor, a tungsten-containing precursor, or a zirconium-containing precursor (Col. 3; lines 52-56; claim 11).
With respect to claim 20, Lee discloses wherein a temperature in the processing region is maintained at less than or about 600 °C (Col. 7; lines 15-22).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee/Roy in view of Venkat.
With respect to claim 19, Lee/Roy does not explicitly disclose wherein the deposition precursors further comprise one or more of a boron-containing precursor, a nitrogen-containing precursor, and a silicon-containing precursor.
In an analogous art, Venkat discloses wherein the deposition precursors further comprise one or more of a boron-containing precursor, a nitrogen-containing precursor, and a silicon-containing precursor (Para 0011; boron-based precursor gas for seed layer). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee/Roy’s method/system by having Venkat’s disclosure in order to enhance adhesion and improve uniformity of the layers.
Conclusion
/MOHAMMAD M CHOUDHRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899