DETAILED ACTION
Amendment to the claims was submitted on 12/11/2025, claims 5-8 and 12-14 are canceled, claims 21-27 are added.
Claim Status
Claims 1-4, 8-11, and 15-27 are under consideration.
Claims 5-8 and 12-14 are canceled
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-22 and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding claims 21 and 25,
The instant first solvents are a finite list of solvents, as disclosed by independent claims 1 and 10, wherein none of the listed solvents contain alcohol, carboxyl, amine, or amide groups. Therefore, claims 21 and 25 fail to further limit the subject matter of the claims upon which they depend.
Regarding claims 22 and 26,
The instant first solvents are a finite list of solvents, as disclosed by independent claims 1 and 10, wherein none of the listed solvents contain a halogen. Therefore, claims 22 and 26 fail to include all the limitations of the claims upon which they depend.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatakeyama (US 20120208127 A1, published 2012) (as further evidenced by US5534312A having been incorporated by Hatakeyama) in view of Iwato (US 20120077122 A1, published 2012).
Regarding claims 1, 5-14, and 16-20,
Hatakeyama teaches a resist (photoresist) composition comprising of a solvent such as methanol or 2,3-dimethyl-2-butanol, a C6 tertiary alcohol which has the following structure [0046].
Hatakeyama teaches a metal salt of a carboxylic acid with 1-20 carbon atoms (organometallic compound with a metal and a ligand) [abstract, claim 1, 0021, 0063]. Hatakeyama teaches their metal salt carboxylic acid ligands may contain an a straight, branched or cyclic C2-C5 alkyl group, which may contain an amino group [0021], aligning with the ligands of the instant organometallic compound MaRbXc, where a is 1, b may be 1-2, c may be 1-2, R is a C3-C6 carboxylate group, and X is an amino group.
Hatakeyama discloses a prior art Patent Document 2 (U.S. Pat. No. 5,534.312), which discloses a method for forming a pattern using salts of copper, chromium, cerium, yttrium, barium, and aluminum with carboxyl and amino-containing ligands [0012]. As Hatakeyama clearly discloses both metal salts for use in pattern forming compositions, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to try using a metal such as aluminum as the metal of their resist composition, as Hatakeyama clearly discloses a method for forming a pattern using salts of metals such as aluminum with carboxyl and amino-containing ligands.
However, Hatakeyama does not teach a tertiary alcohol disclosed by instant claim 16.
Iwato, analogous art, teaches a photoresist composition comprising of a tertiary alcohol with the following formula where R1 to R3 is each preferably an alkyl group having 1 to 8 carbon atoms and examples thereof include a methyl group, an ethyl group, a propyl group, an n-butyl group, a sec-butyl group, a hexyl group, and an octyl group [0074-0079], which would include 2,3-dimethyl-2-butanol (as taught by Hatakeyama), as well as overlapping each of the instantly claimed tertiary alcohols. Per MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
For example, a tertiary alcohol where R1 is propyl, R2 is propyl, and R3 is n-butyl would result in the following tertiary alcohol 4-propyl-4-octanol, with a boiling point of about 218 °C. While information regarding the melting point of the following compound is sparce, the melting point of 4-octanol is about -41 °C. Further, as 4-propyl-4-octanol is able to function as a solvent, the melting point would be expected to be below room temperature, 23 °C.
Iwato also teaches that when a resist composition containing a tertiary alcohol is employed, the sensitivity is increased, the development defect can be reduced, and an excellent pattern profile is obtained [0054], and may also increase the dissolution or diffusion rate of a polymer chain or increase the permeation speed of the developer through the resist film [0055].
As both Hatakeyama and Iwato teach photoresist compositions which may comprise of tertiary alcohols, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that using the tertiary alcohol of Iwato as a solvent in the composition of Hatakeyama would result in a forming a comparable and functional photoresist layer.
That is, the substitution of the tertiary alcohol of Iwato for the solvent of Hatakeyama, absent unexpected results, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application with the predictable result of forming a photoresist composition. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (See MPEP § 2143, B).
It would also be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include the tertiary alcohol of Iwato in the composition of Hatakeyama for the benefits taught by Iwato, reading on instant claims 16-17.
Hatakeyama teaches the solvent may be used alone or in a mixture [0046], in which case the concentration of the solvent would be 100 wt.% based on a total weight of the solvent if using just 2,4-dimethyl-2-pentanol as the solvent, reading on instant claim 19.
Hatakeyama teaches the solvent may be used in a mixture with another solvent such as 4-Methyl-2-pentanol (methyl isobutyl carbinol) [0046], reading on instant claim 18.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/11/2025 regarding independent claim 16 have been fully considered but they are not fully persuasive. The above rejections have been updated accordingly.
Applicant's arguments filed 12/11/2025 regarding independent claims 1 and 10 have been fully considered and are persuasive, particularly in view of the new claim amendments. The previous rejections to claims 1 and 10 are withdrawn.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 1-4, 9-11, 15, 23-24, and 27 are allowed.
Claim 20 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Independent claims 1 and 10 have been amended to further require the composition comprising of a first and second solvent, where the first solvent is selected from a group consisting of a propanal, a butanal, a pentanal, a hexanal, a 3-methylbutanal, a 2-methylbutanal, a 2- methylpentanal, and a 2-ethylpentanal, and the second solvent different from the first, incorporating the allowable subject matter of dependent claims 2-4 and 15, as noted in the office action filed 09/11/2025.
A search did not find the claimed invention.
The closest prior art, Hatakeyama, teaches a similar composition as disclosed above.
However, Hatakeyama fails to teach a first solvent that is one of those list above.
Neither Hatakeyama nor the prior art in general provide sufficient motivation to make it obvious to modify the composition to arrive at the instantly claimed invention.
Claims 2-4, 9, 11, 15, 23-24, and 27 depend on allowable independent claims 1 and 10.
Dependent claim 20 has been amended to require the M of the instant organometallic compound to be Bi or Te.
A search did not find the claimed invention.
The closest prior art, Hatakeyama, teaches a similar composition as disclosed above.
However, Hatakeyama fails to teach a composition where the metal is specifically Bi or Te.
Neither Hatakeyama nor the prior art in general provide sufficient motivation to make it obvious to modify the composition to arrive at the instantly claimed invention.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.N.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1737 /JONATHAN JOHNSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1734