Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 10, and 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
Claim 19 recites the limitation "cap insulating layers" in line 5. The meaning of the claim term is indefinite because the claim term is not used or defined in the specification.
For purpose of compact prosecution, “cap insulating layers” will be treated as if it were “insulating layers.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 19 recites the limitation “the conductive lines" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For purpose of compact prosecution, “the conductive lines” will be treated as if it were “the buried conductive lines.”
Claim 20 recites the limitation “the conductive lines" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For purpose of compact prosecution, “the conductive lines” will be treated as if it were “the buried conductive lines.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (U.S. 2019/0273119 A1, hereinafter refer to Zhou) in view of Lee et al. (U.S. 2015/0364425 A1, hereinafter refer to Lee).
Regarding Claim 1: Zhou discloses a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device (see Zhou, Figs.6 and 7 as shown below and ¶ [0001]), comprising:
forming a front side circuit (108/102) at a front side of a main substrate (100) (see Zhou, Figs.6 and 7 as shown above);
forming through-silicon-vias (TSVs) (200) passing through the main substrate (100) to be connected to the front side circuit (108/102) (see Zhou, Figs.6 and 7 as shown above);
forming back side power supply wirings including a first back side power supply wiring and a second back side power supply wiring (see Zhou, Figs.6 and 7 as shown above);
forming a first interlayer dielectric (ILD) layer (114 bottom portion) over the back side power supply wirings (see Zhou, Figs.6 and 7 as shown above);
forming thin film transistors (TFTs) (118) over the first ILD layers (114 bottom portion) to switch power supply between the first back side power supply wiring and the second back side power supply wiring (see Zhou, Figs.6 and 7 as shown above);
forming a second ILD layer (114 top portion) over the TFTs (118) (see Zhou, Figs.6 and 7 as shown above); and
forming electrodes (112) to be connected to outside and additional wirings (see Zhou, Figs.6 and 7 as shown above).
Zhou is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein attaching a sacrificial substrate with a bonding layer to the front side of the main substrate over the front side circuit.
Before effective filing date of the claimed invention the disclosed sacrificial substrate with a bonding layer were known to be attached to a the front side of the main substrate over the front side circuit in order to protect the front side circuit from damage during subsequent processing steps.
For support see Lee, which teaches wherein attaching a sacrificial substrate (200) with a bonding layer (208) to a the front side of the main substrate (100) over the front side circuit (see Lee, Figs.1-3, 14, and 20 as shown below and ¶ [0024]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhou and Lee to enable to attach a sacrificial substrate with a bonding layer to the front side of the main substrate over the front side circuit of Zhou as taught by Lee in order to protect the front side circuit from damage during subsequent processing steps.
Regarding Claim 3: Zhou as modified teaches a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device as set forth in claim 1 as above. The combination of Zhou and Lee further teaches wherein the forming the front side circuit comprises forming buried conductive wirings (a portion of TSV 200) disposed in an isolation insulating layer (see Zhou, Figs.6 and 7 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 4: Zhou as modified teaches a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device as set forth in claim 3 as above. The combination of Zhou and Lee further teaches wherein: the front side circuit (108/102) includes fin field effect transistors (FinFETs), and the buried conductive wirings (a portion of TSV 200) are formed between fin structures of the FinFETs (see Zhou, Figs.6 and 7 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 5: Zhou as modified teaches a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device as set forth in claim 3 as above. The combination of Zhou and Lee further teaches wherein one or more of the TSVs (200) are formed to be connected to one or more of the buried conductive wirings (a portion of TSV 200) (see Zhou, Figs.6 and 7 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 6: Zhou as modified teaches a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device as set forth in claim 5 as above. The combination of Zhou and Lee further teaches wherein one or more of the TSVs (200) are connected to other circuit elements of the front side circuit (108/102) than the buried conductive wirings (a portion of TSV 200) (see Zhou, Figs.6 and 7 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 7: Zhou as modified teaches a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device as set forth in claim 1 as above. The combination of Zhou and Lee further teaches wherein before forming the TSVs (142):
reducing a thickness of the main substrate (100) at the back side of the main substrate (100) (see Lee, Figs.1-3 as shown above and ¶ [0024]); and
forming an insulating layer (120) on the back side of the main substrate (100) (see Lee, Figs.3-4 as shown above and ¶ [0025]),
wherein the TSVs (142) pass through the insulating layer (120) (see Lee, Figs.14 and 20 as shown above).
Thus, it would have been within the scope of one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhou and Lee to enable the Zhou TSVs to be performed according to the teachings of Lee because one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to look to alternative suitable methods of performing the disclosed TSVs of Zhou and art recognized suitability for obtaining a three dimensional (3D) packaging, and more particularly to the integration of through-silicon vias (TSVs) into 3D packages has been recognized to be motivation to combine. MPEP § 2144.07.
Regarding Claim 8: Zhou as modified teaches a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device as set forth in claim 1 as above. The combination of Zhou and Lee further teaches wherein the thin film transistors (118) are formed by:
forming a semiconductor layer (150) over the first ILD layer (114 bottom portion) (see Zhou, Figs.6 and 7 as shown above);
forming gate structures (158) over the semiconductor layer (150) (see Zhou, Figs.6 and 7 as shown above);
forming a second ILD layer (114 top portion) over the gate structures (158) (see Zhou, Figs.6 and 7 as shown above);
forming openings in the second ILD layer (114 top potion) (see Zhou, Figs.6 and 7 as shown above); and
forming conductive layers (112) in the openings to form source and drain structures (see Zhou, Figs.6 and 7 as shown above).
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (U.S. 2019/0273119 A1, hereinafter refer to Zhou) and Lee et al. (U.S. 2015/0364425 A1, hereinafter refer to Lee) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Vellianitis (U.S. 2020/0105527 A1, hereinafter refer to Vellianitis).
Regarding Claim 9: Zhou as modified teaches a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device as applied to claim 1 above. The combination of Zhou and Lee further teaches wherein the thin film transistors (118) are formed by:
forming a semiconductor layer (150) over the first ILD layer (114 bottom portion) (see Zhou, Figs.6 and 7 as shown above);
forming gate structures (158) over the semiconductor layer (150) (see Zhou, Figs.6 and 7 as shown above);
forming a second ILD layer (114 top portion) over the gate structures (158) (see Zhou, Figs.6 and 7 as shown above);
forming an opening in the second ILD layer (114 top portion), in which the gate structures (158) are exposed (see Zhou, Figs.6 and 7 as shown above);
forming a conductive layer in the opening (see Zhou, Figs.6 and 7 as shown above).
The combination of Zhou and Lee is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein performing a planarization operation on the conductive layer to form source and drain structures.
Before effective filing date of the claimed invention the disclosed processing conditions were known in order to remove excess conductive material from the ILD layer.
For support see Vellianitis, which teaches wherein performing a planarization operation on the conductive layer to form source and drain structures (85) (see Vellianitis, Fig.13 and ¶ [0062]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhou, Lee, and Vellianitis to enable performing a planarization operation on the conductive layer of Zhou to form source and drain structures as taught by Vellianitis in order to remove excess conductive material from the ILD layer.
Claim(s) 10-13, 16, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (U.S. 2019/0273119 A1, hereinafter refer to Zhou) in view of Lee et al. (U.S. 2015/0364425 A1, hereinafter refer to Lee), Cho et al. (U.S. 2017/0125364 A1, hereinafter refer to Cho), and Takeno et al. (U.S. 2018/0315743 A1, hereinafter refer to Takeno).
Regarding Claim 10: Zhou discloses a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device (see Zhou, Figs.6 and 7 as shown above and ¶ [0001]), comprising:
forming a front side circuit (108/102) at a front side of a main substrate (100), the front side circuit (108/102) including fin structures extending in a first direction (see Zhou, Figs.6 and 7 as shown above);
forming through-silicon-vias (TSVs) (200) passing through the main substrate (100) to be connected to the front side circuit (108/102) (see Zhou, Figs.6 and 7 as shown above);
forming back side power supply wirings including a pair of first main power supply wirings for supplying a first voltage, and a first local power supply wiring for supplying the first voltage disposed between the pair of first main power supply wirings in plan view (cross-sectional view), the back side power supply wirings extending in the first direction (see Zhou, Figs.6 and 7 as shown above);
forming a first interlayer dielectric (ILD) layer (114 bottom portion) over the back side power supply wirings (see Zhou, Figs.6 and 7 as shown above); and
forming thin film transistors (118) over the first ILD layer (114 bottom portion) to be coupled to the pair of first main power supply wirings and the first local power supply wiring (see Zhou, Figs.6 and 7 as shown above and Figs.2-3),
wherein the first local power supply wiring is coupled to the front side circuit (108/102) via one or more of the TSVs (200) (see Zhou, Figs.6 and 7 as shown above).
Zhou is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein attaching a sacrificial substrate with a bonding layer to the front side of the main substrate over the front side circuit.
Before effective filing date of the claimed invention the disclosed sacrificial substrate with a bonding layer were known to be attached to a the front side of the main substrate over the front side circuit in order to protect the front side circuit from damage during subsequent processing steps.
For support see Lee, which teaches wherein attaching a sacrificial substrate (200) with a bonding layer (208) to a the front side of the main substrate (100) over the front side circuit (see Lee, Figs.1-3, 14, and 20 as shown above and ¶ [0024]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhou and Lee to enable to attach a sacrificial substrate with a bonding layer to the front side of the main substrate over the front side circuit of Zhou as taught by Lee in order to protect the front side circuit from damage during subsequent processing steps.
The combination of Zhou and Lee is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein the TSVs are arranged in a matrix having a first pitch along the first direction and a second pitch along a second direction crossing the first direction, and
the first pitch is in a range from 120 nm to 480 nm.
Before effective filing date of the claimed invention the disclosed arrangements of TDVs were known in order to simplify manufacturing process of an integrated circuit device including a TSV device and improve the productivity.
For support see Cho, which teaches wherein the TSVs are arranged in a matrix having a first pitch along the first direction and a second pitch along a second direction crossing the first direction (see Cho, Figs.2A-2B as shown below, ¶ [0021], ¶ [0035], and ¶ [0121]), and
the first pitch (P1) is in a range from 120 nm to 480 nm (equal to or less than about 150 μm) (see Cho, Figs.2A-2B as shown below, ¶ [0021], ¶ [0035], and ¶ [0121]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhou, Lee, and Cho to enable The Zhou TSVs to be arranged according to the teachings of Cho in order to simplify manufacturing process of an integrated circuit device including a TSV device and improve the productivity.
The combination of Zhou, Lee, and Cho teaches a larger pitch ranges than the claimed invention; however, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of making semiconductor devices to determine the workable or optimal value for the pitch ranges between TSVs through routine experimentation and optimization to obtain optimal or desired device performance because the pitch ranges between TSVs is a result-effective variable and there is no evidence indicating that it is critical or produces any unexpected results and it has been held that it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges of a result-effective variable within given prior art conditions by routine experimentation. See MPEP § 2144.05
The combination of Zhou, Lee, and Cho is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein a first local power supply wiring for supplying the first voltage disposed between the pair of first main power supply wirings in plan view.
Before effective filing date of the claimed invention the disclosed plan view arrangements of power supply wirings were known in order to supply power for semiconductor device.
For support see Takeno, which teaches wherein a first local power supply wiring (206) for supplying the first voltage disposed between the pair of first main power supply wirings (205A/205B) in plan view (see Takeno, Fig.17 as shown below).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhou, Lee, Cho, and Takeno to enable the back side power supply wirings of Kim to include a pair of first main power supply wirings for supplying a first voltage, and a first local power supply wiring for supplying the first voltage disposed between the pair of first main power supply wirings in plan view as taught by Takeno in order to supply power for semiconductor device.
NOTE: A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.
Regarding Claim 11: Zhou as modified teaches a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device as set forth in claim 10 as above. The combination of Zhou, Lee, Cho, and Takeno further teaches wherein the back side power supply wirings further include a pair of second main power supply wirings for supplying a second voltage different from the first voltage (see Zhou, Figs.6 and 7 as shown above).
NOTE: A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.
Regarding Claim 12: Zhou as modified teaches a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device as set forth in claim 11 as above. The combination of Zhou, Lee, Cho, and Takeno further teaches wherein the pair of first main power supply wirings and the first local power supply wiring are disposed between the pair of second main power supply wirings in plan view (see Takeno, Fig.17 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 13: Zhou as modified teaches a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device as set forth in claim 12 as above. The combination of Zhou, Lee, Cho, and Takeno further teaches wherein the pair of second main power supply wirings are coupled to the front side circuit (108/102) via one or more of the TSVs (200) (see Zhou, Figs.6 and 7 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 16: Zhou as modified teaches a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device as set forth in claim 10 as above. The combination of Zhou, Lee, Cho, and Takeno further teaches wherein the first pitch is equal to the second pitch (see Cho, Figs.2A-2B as shown above).
Regarding Claim 21: Zhou as modified teaches a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device as set forth in claim 10 as above. The combination of Zhou, Lee, Cho, and Takeno further teaches wherein forming a second ILD layer (114 top portion) over the thin film transistors (118) (see Zhou, Figs.6 and 7 as shown above); and
forming electrodes connected to thin film transistors (118) (see Zhou, Figs.6 and 7 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 22: Zhou as modified teaches a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device as set forth in claim 10 as above. The combination of Zhou, Lee, Cho, and Takeno further teaches wherein the thin film transistors (118) are formed by:
forming a semiconductor layer (150) over the first ILD layer (114 bottom portion) (see Zhou, Figs.6 and 7 as shown above);
forming gate structures (158) over the semiconductor layer (150) (see Zhou, Figs.6 and 7 as shown above);
forming a second ILD layer (114 top portion) over the gate structures (158);
forming openings in the second ILD layer (114 top portion) (see Zhou, Figs.6 and 7 as shown above); and
forming conductive layers in the openings to form source and drain structures (see Zhou, Figs.6 and 7 as shown above).
Claim(s) 17- 18 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (U.S. 2019/0273119 A1, hereinafter refer to Zhou) in view of Lee et al. (U.S. 2015/0364425 A1, hereinafter refer to Lee) and Takeno et al. (U.S. 2018/0315743 A1, hereinafter refer to Takeno).
Regarding Claim 17: Zhou discloses a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device (see Zhou, Figs.6 and 7 as shown above and ¶ [0001]), comprising:
forming a front side circuit (108/102) at a front side of a main substrate (100), the front side circuit (108/102) including fin structures extending in a first direction and buried conductive lines (a portion of TSV 200) disposed between the fin structures (see Zhou, Figs.6 and 7 as shown above);
forming through-silicon-vias (TSVs) (200) passing through the main substrate (100) to be connected to the buried conductive lines (a portion of TSV 200) (see Zhou, Figs.6 and 7 as shown above);
forming back side power supply wirings including a pair of first main power supply wirings for supplying a first voltage, and a first local power supply wiring for supplying the first voltage disposed between the pair of first main power supply wirings in plan view (in cross-sectional view), the back side power supply wirings extending in the first direction (see Zhou, Figs.6 and 7 as shown above);
forming a first interlayer dielectric (ILD) layer (114 bottom portion) over the back side power supply wirings (see Zhou, Figs.6 and 7 as shown above); and
forming thin film transistors (118) over the first ILD layer (114 bottom portion) to be coupled to the pair of first main power supply wirings and the first local power supply wiring (see Zhou, Figs.6 and 7 as shown above and Figs.2-3),
wherein the first local power supply wiring is coupled to the front side circuit (108/102) via one or more of the TSVs (200) (see Zhou, Figs.6 and 7 as shown above and Figs.2-3), and
wherein the thin film transistors (118) are formed by:
forming a semiconductor layer (150) over the first ILD layer (114 bottom portion) (see Zhou, Figs.6 and 7 as shown above);
forming gate structures (158) over the semiconductor layer (150) (see Zhou, Figs.6 and 7 as shown above);
forming a second ILD layer (114 top portion) over the gate structures (158) (see Zhou, Figs.6 and 7 as shown above);
forming openings in the second ILD layer (114 top portion) (see Zhou, Figs.6 and 7 as shown above); and
forming conductive layers (112) in the openings to form source and drain structures (160/162) (see Zhou, Figs.6 and 7 as shown above).
Zhou is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein attaching a sacrificial substrate with a bonding layer to the front side of the main substrate over the front side circuit.
Before effective filing date of the claimed invention the disclosed sacrificial substrate with a bonding layer were known to be attached to a the front side of the main substrate over the front side circuit in order to protect the front side circuit from damage during subsequent processing steps.
For support see Lee, which teaches wherein attaching a sacrificial substrate (200) with a bonding layer (208) to a the front side of the main substrate (100) over the front side circuit (see Lee, Figs.1-3, 14, and 20 as shown above and ¶ [0024]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhou and Lee to enable to attach a sacrificial substrate with a bonding layer to the front side of the main substrate over the front side circuit of Zhou as taught by Lee in order to protect the front side circuit from damage during subsequent processing steps.
The combination of Zhou and Lee is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein a first local power supply wiring for supplying the first voltage disposed between the pair of first main power supply wirings in plan view.
Before effective filing date of the claimed invention the disclosed plan view arrangements of power supply wirings were known in order to supply power for semiconductor device.
For support see Takeno, which teaches wherein a first local power supply wiring (206) for supplying the first voltage disposed between the pair of first main power supply wirings (205A/205B) in plan view (see Takeno, Fig.17 as shown above).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhou, Lee, and Takeno to enable the back side power supply wirings of Kim to include a pair of first main power supply wirings for supplying a first voltage, and a first local power supply wiring for supplying the first voltage disposed between the pair of first main power supply wirings in plan view as taught by Takeno in order to supply power for semiconductor device.
NOTE: A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.
Regarding Claim 18: Zhou as modified teaches a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device as set forth in claim 17 as above. The combination of Zhou, Lee, and Takeno further teaches wherein the buried conductive lines (a portion of TSV 200) are formed by: after forming the fin structures, forming an isolation insulating layer (see Zhou, Figs.6 and 7 as shown above);
forming trenches between the fin structures (see Zhou, Figs.6 and 7 as shown above); and
forming the buried conductive lines (a portion of TSV 200) in the trenches (see Zhou, Figs.6 and 7 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 23: Zhou as modified teaches a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device as set forth in claim 18 as above. The combination of Zhou, Lee, and Takeno further teaches forming a second ILD layer (114 top potion) over the thin film transistors (118) (see Zhou, Figs.6 and 7 as shown above); and
forming electrodes connected to thin film transistors (118) (see Zhou, Figs.6 and 7 as shown above).
Claim(s) 19- 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (U.S. 2019/0273119 A1, hereinafter refer to Zhou), Lee et al. (U.S. 2015/0364425 A1, hereinafter refer to Lee), and Takeno et al. (U.S. 2018/0315743 A1, hereinafter refer to Takeno) as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (U.S. 2021/0028112 A1, hereinafter refer to Kim).
Regarding Claims 19 and 20: Zhou as modified teaches a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device as set forth in claim 18 as above. The combination of Zhou, Lee, and Takeno is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein the conductive lines are formed by:
filling the trenches with a conductive material;
recessing the filled conductive material; and
forming cap insulating layers over the recessed conductive material (as claimed in claim 19);
wherein before the conductive lines are formed, a liner insulating layer is formed on sides and a bottom of the trenches (as claimed in claim 20).
Before effective filing date of the claimed invention the disclosed processing conditions were known in order to form buried interconnect layer.
For support see Kim, which teaches wherein the conductive lines (120) are formed by: filling the trenches (H) with a conductive material (122/125) (see Kim, Figs.10A- 10E);
recessing the filled conductive material (122/125) (see Kim, Figs.10A- 10E); and
forming cap insulating layers (130) over the recessed conductive material (122/125) (see Kim, Figs.10A- 10E) (as claimed in claim 19);
wherein before the conductive lines (120) are formed, a liner insulating layer (122) is formed on sides and a bottom of the trenches (H) (see Kim, Figs.10A- 10E) (as claimed in claim 20).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhou, Lee, Takeno, and Kim to enable the known processing conditions as taught by Kim in order to form buried interconnect layer.
Conclusion
/BITEW A DINKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812