DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment dated June 8, 2026 in which claims 1-2, 6-12, 15-17, and 19 were amended, claims 3-5, 13, and 18 were cancelled, and claims 21-25 were added, has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 6-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamineni et al. (U.S. Pub. 2015/0187896) [Hereafter “Kamineni”] in view of Niimi et al. (U.S. Pat. 9484255) [Hereafter “Niimi”].
Regarding claim 1, Kamineni [Fig.12] discloses a semiconductor device, comprising:
a substrate [102];
a gate structure [104] disposed on the substrate;
a contact structure [172], comprising:
a conductive layer [170] disposed on the gate structure; and
a nucleation layer [Para.59 discloses a tungsten-containing nucleation layer deposited over adhesive/barrier layer 168] surrounding the conductive layer; and
a dielectric layer [122,124] surrounding the contact structure.
Kamineni fails to explicitly disclose the nucleation layer comprising a metal oxide layer surrounding the conductive layer. However, Niimi [Fig.1] discloses forming a contact structure wherein a nucleation layer comprising a metal oxide layer [34] surrounding the conductive layer [36/33].
It would have been obvious to provide wherein a nucleation layer comprising a metal oxide layer as claimed, since it has been held that applying a known technique to a known process in order to yield predictable results would have been obvious. Further, it would have been obvious to try one of the known methods with a reasonable expectation of success. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claims 2 and 6-10, Kamineni and Niimi disclose
wherein the nucleation layer comprises aluminum oxide, hafnium oxide, or titanium oxide [Niimi];
wherein the nucleation layer is non-overlapping with the gate structure [Niimi; Fig.1];
wherein the nucleation layer [34] comprises a thickness of about 0.1 nm to about 0.6 nm;
wherein a ratio of a thickness of the organometallic nucleation layer to a width of the conductive layer is about 0.001 to about 0.03 [Niimi; Fig.1];
further comprising a gate spacer disposed along a sidewall of the gate structure, wherein the nucleation layer is disposed on and in contact with the gate spacer [Kamineni and Niimi];
further comprising a metal layer [36] disposed on and in contact with the metal oxide layer.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-12, 14-17, 19-20, and 23-25 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Applicant’s amendments to the claims and/or arguments were persuasive.
Claims 21-22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Prior art does not fairly disclose or make obvious the claimed device/method taken as a whole, and specifically, the limitations of
a source/drain region disposed in the substrate;
a first conductive structure disposed on the source/drain region; and
a second conductive structure, disposed on the first conductive structure, comprising:
a metal layer with a first curved bottom profile; and
a metal oxide layer with a second curved bottom profile disposed on a sidewall of the metal layer.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Overall, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive. The rejected claims stand rejected and the Action is made Final.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BAC H AU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898