DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1-4, 7-9, 17-25, 27-30 pending. Claims 5, 6, 10-16, 26 cancelled. Claims 27-31 new.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4, 7-9, 17-25, 27, and 29 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 17, and 21. Claim 1 recites the limitation "the same width" in the twelfth line of the claim language. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For the purpose of examination and compact prosecution, examiner shall interpret “the same width” to be a same width
Independent claims 17 and 21 are rejected for the same reasons as independent claim 1 above.
Claims 2-4, 7-9, 18-20,22-25, 27-30 are rejected for dependence upon a 112(b) rejected instance claim.
Regarding claims 28, and 30. Claim 28 recites the limitation "the same radial plane" in the claim language. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For the purpose of examination and compact prosecution, examiner shall interpret “the same radial plane” to be a same radial plane.
Regarding claims 28, and 30. Claim 28 recites the limitation "the second connection points" in the claim language. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites a first connection point. Claim 28 depends upon independent claim 1. For the purpose of examination and compact prosecution, examiner shall interpret “the second connection points” to be the second connection point.
Claims 30 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 28 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-9, 17-25, 27, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al (U.S. 2016/0334362), Nakamura (U.S. 2006/0096972), Kuemin et al (U.S. 2016/0011134) and Du et al (U.S. 2017/0086259).
Regarding claim 1. Liu et al discloses a method (FIG. 1-21), comprising: depositing a dielectric layer (FIG. 1A, item 131) on a first surface of a semiconductor layer (FIG. 1A, item 155);
forming a primary gate stack (FIG. 1A, item 131, 133) in the dielectric layer (FIG. 1A, item 131) and on the first surface of the semiconductor layer (FIG. 1A, item 155);
forming a secondary gate stack (FIG. 1A, item 119, 121) on a second surface of the semiconductor layer (FIG. 1A, item 155); and
forming a heater (FIG. 1A, item 113A), in the dielectric layer (FIG. 1A, item 131, 154),
comprising: forming ring-shaped heating elements in a concentric arrangement ([0050], i.e. heating elements 113 surrounds on four sides);
Liu et al fails to explicitly disclose
wherein each of the ring-shaped heating elements comprises a closed circular cross sectional profile;
electrically connecting a first connection point of an innermost heating element to a first connection point of an outermost heating element from the ring-shaped heating elements, wherein the innermost heating element and the outermost heating element have the same width; electrically connecting a second connection point of the innermost heating element to a first voltage source; and electrically connecting a second connection point of the outermost heating element to a second voltage source different from the first voltage source.
However, Nakamura teaches wherein each of the ring-shaped heating elements comprises a closed circular cross sectional profile (FIG. 3A; [0146], i.e. the mount surface is divided into resistive heating member zone 4a of circular or ring shape located at the innermost position and three ring-shaped resistive heating member zones 4b, 4cd, 4eh located concentrically on the outside thereof);
Since Liu et al and Nakamura teach heating elements, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of semiconductors before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the method as disclosed to modify Liu et al with the teachings of wherein each of the ring-shaped heating elements comprises a closed circular cross sectional profile as disclosed by Nakamura. The use of heating member zone of circular or ring shape located at the innermost position and three ring-shaped resistive heating member zones located concentrically on the outside thereof in Nakamura provides for improving the performance of uniformly heating the wafer (Nakamura, [0146]).
Liu et al and Nakamura fails to explicitly disclose
electrically connecting a first connection point of an innermost heating element to a first connection point of an outermost heating element from the ring-shaped heating elements, wherein the innermost heating element and the outermost heating element have the same width; electrically connecting a second connection point of the innermost heating element to a first voltage source; and electrically connecting a second connection point of the outermost heating element to a second voltage source different from the first voltage source.
However, Kuemin et al teaches electrically connecting ([0055]-[0056]) a first connection point (FIG. 3, item 20b) of an innermost heating element (FIG. 3, item 21b) to a first connection point (FIG. 3, item 20b) of an outermost heating element (FIG. 3, item 21e) from the ring-shaped heating elements (FIG. 3; [Abstract], i.e. Each heater element comprises an inner section, an intermediate section and an outer section arranged in series); electrically connecting ([0055]-[0056]) a second connection point (FIG. 3, item 20a) of the innermost heating element (FIG. 3, item 21b) to a first voltage source (FIG. 3, item 9b; [0048]); and electrically connecting ([0055]-[0056]) a second connection point (FIG. 3, item 9a) of the outermost heating element (FIG. 3, item 21e) to a second voltage source (FIG. 3, item 9a; [0048]) different from the first voltage source (FIG. 3, item 9b; [0048]).
Since Liu et al, Nakamura and Kuemin et al teach heating elements, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of semiconductors before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the method as disclosed to modify Liu et al and Nakamura with the teachings of the electrically connecting a first connection point of an innermost heating element to a first connection point of an outermost heating element from the ring-shaped heating elements; electrically connecting a second connection point of the innermost heating element to a first voltage source; and electrically connecting a second connection point of the outermost heating element to a second voltage source different from the first voltage source as disclosed by Kuemin et al. The use of the heater element comprises an inner section, an intermediate section and an outer section arranged in series in Kuemin et al provides for generating more heat in the periphery of the hotplate for a uniform temperature distribution (Kuemin et al, [0015]).
Kuemin et al fails to explicitly disclose wherein the inner heating elements and the outer heating elements have the same width.
Kuemin et al does suggest manipulating the distance between heating elements to achieve a desired heat generation ([0074] and manipulating the width (if the height is not varied) to achieve a desired current density ([0071]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of semiconductors before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Liu et al and Nakamura et al by manipulating the distance between heating elements and width of each heating element since it was known in the art to do so to achieve a desired temperature and current density, as suggested by Kuemin et al. Furthermore, it has been held that discovering the optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) and MPEP § 716.02(d) - § 716.02(e), In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) and MPEP § 2144.05.
Furthermore, Du et al teaches wherein the inner heating elements and the outer heating elements have the same width ([0014], i.e. the heating sections have the same line widths but different spacings, the spacings are wide in a central part of the substrate and narrow at two sides of the substrate).
Since Liu et al, Nakamura and Kuemin et al and Du et al teach heating elements, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of semiconductors before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the method as disclosed to modify Liu et al, Nakamura and Kuemin et al with the the inner heating elements and the outer heating elements having the same width as disclosed by Du et al in order to compensate the heat transfer difference between center and edges and improve the temperature uniformity (Du et al, [Abstract]).
Regarding claim 2. Liu et al, Nakamura, Kuemin et al and Du et al discloses all the limitations of the method of claim 1.
Liu et al further discloses wherein forming the primary gate stack (FIG. 1A, item 131, 133) comprises: depositing a gate dielectric (FIG. 1A, item 131) on the first surface of the semiconductor layer (FIG. 1A, item 155); and depositing a gate electrode (FIG. 1A, item 133) on the gate dielectric (FIG. 1A, item 131).
Regarding claim 3. Liu et al, Nakamura, Kuemin et al and Du et al discloses all the limitations of the method of claim 1.
Liu et al further discloses wherein forming the secondary gate stack (FIG. 1A, item 121, 119) comprises: depositing a gate dielectric (FIG. 1A, item 121) on the second surface of the semiconductor layer (FIG. 1A, item 155); and
depositing a capture reagent (FIG. 1A, item 119) on the gate dielectric (FIG. 1A, item 121).
Regarding claim 4. Liu et al, Nakamura, Kuemin et al and Du et al discloses all the limitations of the method of claim 1,
Kuemin et al further discloses wherein the first connection points (FIG. 3a, item 20b) are at a first end (FIG. 3a, item 20b) of a quadrant (FIG. 3a, item 20a and 20b) of the ring-shaped heating elements (FIG. 3a, item 6a) and the second connection points (FIG. 3a, item 20a) are at a second end (FIG. 3a, item 20a) of the quadrant (FIG. 3a, item 20a and 20b) of the ring-shaped heating elements (FIG. 3a, item 6a).
Regarding claim 7. Liu et al, Nakamura, Kuemin et al and Du et al discloses all the limitations of the method of claim 1.
Kuemin et al further discloses wherein forming the heater further comprises electrically connecting ([0055]-[0056]) a third connection point (FIG. 3, item 20a) of the innermost heating element (FIG. 3, item 21b) to a third connection point (FIG. 3, item 20a) of the outermost heating element (FIG. 3a, item 21e); and wherein the first (FIG. 3, item 20b) and third connection points (FIG. 3, item 20a) are in opposite quadrants (FIG. 3a, item 20a and 20b) of the ring-shaped heating elements (FIG. 3a, item 6a).
Regarding claim 8. Liu et al, Nakamura, Kuemin et al and Du et al discloses all the limitations of the method of claim 1.
Kuemin et al further discloses wherein forming the heater further comprises: electrically connecting ([0055]-[0056]) a fourth connection point (FIG. 3, item 20b) of the innermost heating element (FIG. 3, item 21b) to the first voltage source (FIG. 3, item 9b); electrically connecting ([0055]-[0056]) a fourth connection point (FIG. 3, item 20b) of the outermost heating element (FIG. 3a, item 21b) to the second voltage source (FIG. 3, item 9a); and wherein the second (FIG. 3, item 20a) and fourth connection (FIG. 3, item 20b) points are in opposite quadrants (FIG. 3a, item 20a and 20b) of the ring- shaped heating elements (FIG. 3a, item 6a).
Regarding claim 9. Liu et al, Nakamura, Kuemin et al and Du et al discloses all the limitations of the method of claim 1.
Kuemin et al further discloses wherein electrically connecting ([0055]-[0056]) the second connection point (FIG. 3, item 20a) of the innermost heating element (FIG. 3, item 21b) to the first voltage source (FIG. 3, item 9b) comprises electrically connecting ([0055]-[0056]) the second connection point (FIG. 3, item 20a) of the innermost heating element (FIG. 3, item 21b) to a ground voltage ([0014], i.e. for a given current flowing through the heater element, the current density in the outer section is larger than in the inner section; [0015], i.e. this design is well suited for low-voltage applications.),
and wherein electrically connecting ([0055]-[0056]) the second connection point (FIG. 3, item 20b) of the outermost heating element (FIG. 3, item 21e) to the second voltage source (FIG. 3, item 9a) comprises electrically connecting ([0055]-[0056]) the second connection point (FIG. 3, item 20b) of the outermost heating element (FIG. 3, item 21e) to a supply voltage source (FIG. 3, item 9a; [0048]).
Regarding claim 17. Liu et al disclose a method (FIG. 1-21), comprising:
forming a dual gate field effect transistor (FET) (FIG. 1A, item 126) on a substrate (FIG. 1A, item 155); depositing a dielectric layer (FIG. 1A, item 153 and 154) on the dual gate FET (FIG. 1A, item 126);
forming a multi-level interconnect structure (FIG. 1A, item 144) in the dielectric layer (FIG. 1A, item 153); and
forming a heater (FIG. 1A, item 113A) electrically connected ([0022]) to the multi-level interconnect structure (FIG. 1A, item 144),
wherein forming the heater comprises: forming a plurality of ring-shaped heating elements ([0050]) in a concentric arrangement ([0050], i.e. heating elements 113 surrounds on four sides).
Liu et al fails to explicitly disclose
wherein each of the ring-shaped heating elements in the plurality of ring-shaped heating elements comprises a closed circular cross-sectional profile;
electrically connecting a first connection point of an innermost heating element from the plurality of ring-shaped heating elements to a first connection point of an outermost heating element from the plurality of ring-shaped heating elements, wherein the innermost heating element and the outermost heating element have the same width; and
electrically connecting a second connection point of a first heating element from the plurality of ring-shaped heating elements to a second connection point of a second heating element from the plurality of ring-shaped heating elements, wherein the first heating element is adjacent to the innermost heating element and the second heating element is adjacent to the outermost heating element
electrically connecting an innermost heating element from the plurality of heating elements to a first voltage source; and electrically connecting an outermost heating element from the plurality of heating elements to a second voltage source different from the first voltage source.
However, Nakamura teaches wherein each of the ring-shaped heating elements in the plurality of ring-shaped heating elements comprises a closed circular cross-sectional profile (FIG. 3A; [0146], i.e. the mount surface is divided into resistive heating member zone 4a of circular or ring shape located at the innermost position and three ring-shaped resistive heating member zones 4b, 4cd, 4eh located concentrically on the outside thereof);
Since Liu et al and Nakamura teach heating elements, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of semiconductors before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the method as disclosed to modify Liu et al with the teachings of wherein each of the ring-shaped heating elements in the plurality of ring-shaped heating elements comprises a closed circular cross-sectional profile as disclosed by Nakamura. The use of heating member zone of circular or ring shape located at the innermost position and three ring-shaped resistive heating member zones located concentrically on the outside thereof in Nakamura provides for improving the performance of uniformly heating the wafer (Nakamura, [0146]).
Liu et al and Nakamura fails to explicitly disclose
electrically connecting a first connection point of an innermost heating element from the plurality of ring-shaped heating elements to a first connection point of an outermost heating element from the plurality of ring-shaped heating elements, wherein the innermost heating element and the outermost heating element have the same width; and
electrically connecting a second connection point of a first heating element from the plurality of ring-shaped heating elements to a second connection point of a second heating element from the plurality of ring-shaped heating elements, wherein the first heating element is adjacent to the innermost heating element and the second heating element is adjacent to the outermost heating element
electrically connecting an innermost heating element from the plurality of heating elements to a first voltage source; and electrically connecting an outermost heating element from the plurality of heating elements to a second voltage source different from the first voltage source.
However, Kuemin et al teaches electrically connecting ([0055]-[0056]) a first connection point (FIG. 3, item 20b) of an innermost heating element (FIG. 3, item 21b) from the plurality of ring-shaped heating elements (FIG. 3; [Abstract]) to a first connection point (FIG. 3, item 20b) of an outermost heating element (FIG. 3, item 21e) from the plurality of ring-shaped heating elements (FIG. 3; [Abstract]); and
electrically connecting a second connection point (FIG. 3, item 20a) of a first heating element (FIG. 3, item 21c) from the plurality of ring-shaped heating elements (FIG. 3; [Abstract]) to a second connection point (FIG. 3, item 20a) of a second heating element (FIG. 3, item 21d) from the plurality of ring-shaped heating elements (FIG. 3; [Abstract]), wherein the first heating element (FIG. 3, item 21c) is adjacent to the innermost heating element (FIG. 3, item 21b) and the second heating element (FIG. 3, item 21d) is adjacent to the outermost heating element (FIG. 3, item 21e)
electrically connecting ([0055]-[0056]) an innermost heating element (FIG. 3, item 21b) from the plurality of heating elements (FIG. 3; [Abstract], i.e. Each heater element comprises an inner section, an intermediate section and an outer section arranged in series) to a first voltage source (FIG. 3, item 9a); and electrically connecting ([0055]-[0056]) an outermost heating element (FIG. 3, item 21e) from the plurality of heating elements (FIG. 3; [Abstract]) to a second voltage source (FIG. 3, item 9b) different from the first voltage source (FIG. 3, item 9a).
Since Liu et al, Nakamura and Kuemin et al teach heating elements, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of semiconductors before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the method as disclosed to modify Liu et al and Nakamura with the teachings of the electrically connecting a first connection point of an innermost heating element from the plurality of ring-shaped heating elements to a first connection point of an outermost heating element from the plurality of ring-shaped heating elements, and electrically connecting a second connection point of a first heating element from the plurality of ring-shaped heating elements to a second connection point of a second heating element from the plurality of ring-shaped heating elements, wherein the first heating element is adjacent to the innermost heating element and the second heating element is adjacent to the outermost heating element, electrically connecting an innermost heating element from the plurality of heating elements to a first voltage source; and electrically connecting an outermost heating element from the plurality of heating elements to a second voltage source different from the first voltage source as disclosed by Kuemin et al. The use of the heater element comprises an inner section, an intermediate section and an outer section arranged in series in Kuemin et al provides for generating more heat in the periphery of the hotplate for a uniform temperature distribution (Kuemin et al, [0015]).
Kuemin et al fails to explicitly disclose wherein the inner heating elements and the outer heating elements have the same width.
Kuemin et al does suggest manipulating the distance between heating elements to achieve a desired heat generation ([0074] and manipulating the width (if the height is not varied) to achieve a desired current density ([0071]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of semiconductors before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Liu et al and Nakamura et al by manipulating the distance between heating elements and width of each heating element since it was known in the art to do so to achieve a desired temperature and current density, as suggested by Kuemin et al. Furthermore, it has been held that discovering the optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) and MPEP § 716.02(d) - § 716.02(e), In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) and MPEP § 2144.05.
Furthermore, Du et al teaches wherein the inner heating elements and the outer heating elements have the same width ([0014], i.e. the heating sections have the same line widths but different spacings, the spacings are wide in a central part of the substrate and narrow at two sides of the substrate).
Since Liu et al, Nakamura and Kuemin et al and Du et al teach heating elements, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of semiconductors before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the method as disclosed to modify Liu et al, Nakamura and Kuemin et al with the inner heating elements and the outer heating elements having the same width as disclosed by Du et al in order to compensate the heat transfer difference between center and edges and improve the temperature uniformity (Du et al, [Abstract]).
Regarding claim 18. Liu et al, Nakamura, Kuemin et al and Du et al discloses all the limitations of the method of claim 17
Kuemin et all further discloses wherein electrically connecting ([0055]-[0056]) the innermost heating element (FIG. 3, item 21b) to the first voltage source (FIG. 3, item 9b) comprises electrically connecting ([0055]-[0056]) the innermost heating element (FIG. 3, item 21b) to a ground voltage ([0014], i.e. for a given current flowing through the heater element, the current density in the outer section is larger than in the inner section; [0015], i.e. this design is well suited for low-voltage applications.).
Regarding claim 19. Liu et al, Nakamura, Kuemin et al and Du et al discloses all the limitations of the method of claim 17
Kuemin et all further discloses wherein electrically connecting ([0055]-[0056]) the outermost heating (FIG. 3a, item 21e) element to the second voltage source (FIG. 3a, item 9a) comprises electrically connecting ([0055]-[0056]) the outermost heating element (FIG. 3a, item 21e) to a supply voltage source (FIG. 3a, item 9a; [0048]).
Regarding claim 20. Liu et al, Nakamura, Kuemin et al and Du et al discloses all the limitations of the method of claim 17
Liu et all further discloses wherein forming the dual gate FET comprises: depositing a first gate dielectric (FIG. 10, item 131) on a first surface of the substrate (FIG. 10, item 155);
depositing a gate electrode (FIG. 10, item 133) on the first gate dielectric (FIG. 10, item 131);
depositing a second gate dielectric (FIG. 20, item 121) on a second surface of the substrate (FIG. 10, item 155); and
depositing a capture reagent (FIG. 1A, item 119) on the second gate dielectric (FIG. 1A, item 127).
Regarding claim 21. Liu et al discloses a method (FIG. 1-21), comprising:
depositing a dielectric layer (FIG. 1A, item 153) on a first surface of a substrate (FIG. 1A, item 155);
forming a first gate (FIG. 1A, item 133) on the first surface (FIG. 1A, item 131) of the substrate (FIG. 1A, item 155); forming a second gate (FIG. 1A, item 119) on a second surface (FIG. 1A, item 121) of the substrate (FIG. 1A, item 155);
forming a multi-level interconnect structure (FIG. 1A, item 144) in the dielectric layer (FIG. 1A, item 153); and
forming a heater (FIG. 1A, item 113A) electrically connected ([0022]) to the multi-level interconnect structure (FIG. 1A, item 144),
Liu et al fails to explicitly disclose wherein forming the heater comprises:
forming first, second, third, and fourth ring-shaped heating elements in a concentric arrangement, wherein each of the first, second, third, and fourth heating elements comprises a closed circular cross-sectional profile, and wherein the first, second, third, and fourth heating elements have the same width;
electrically connecting a first connection point of the first ring-shaped heating element to a first connection point of the second ring-shaped heating element; and
electrically connecting a second connection point of the third ring-shaped heating element to a second connection point of the fourth ring-shaped heating element.
However, Nakamura teaches wherein forming the heater comprises:
forming first, second, third, and fourth ring-shaped heating elements in a concentric arrangement, wherein each of the first, second, third, and fourth heating elements comprises a closed circular cross-sectional profile (FIG. 3A; [0146], i.e. the mount surface is divided into resistive heating member zone 4a of circular or ring shape located at the innermost position and three ring-shaped resistive heating member zones 4b, 4cd, 4eh located concentrically on the outside thereof);
Since Liu et al and Nakamura teach heating elements, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of semiconductors before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the method as disclosed to modify Liu et al with the teachings of forming first, second, third, and fourth ring-shaped heating elements in a concentric arrangement, wherein each of the first, second, third, and fourth heating elements comprises a closed circular cross-sectional profile as disclosed by Nakamura. The use of heating member zone of circular or ring shape located at the innermost position and three ring-shaped resistive heating member zones located concentrically on the outside thereof in Nakamura provides for improving the performance of uniformly heating the wafer (Nakamura, [0146]).
Liu et al and Nakamura fails to explicitly disclose
and wherein the first, second, third, and fourth heating elements have the same width;
electrically connecting a first connection point of the first ring-shaped heating element to a first connection point of the second ring-shaped heating element; and
electrically connecting a second connection point of the third ring-shaped heating element to a second connection point of the fourth ring-shaped heating element.
However, Kuemin et al teaches electrically connecting ([0055]-[0056]) a first connection point (FIG. 3, item 20b) of the first ring-shaped heating element (FIG. 3, item 21b) to a first connection point (FIG. 3, item 20a) of the second ring-shaped heating element (FIG. 3, item 21e); and
electrically connecting ([0055]-[0056]) a second connection point (FIG. 3, item 20b) of the third ring-shaped heating element (FIG. 3, item 21c) to a second connection point (FIG. 3, item 20a) of the fourth ring-shaped heating element (FIG. 3, item 21e).
Since Liu et al, Nakamura, and Kuemin et al teach heating elements, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of semiconductors before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the method as disclosed to modify Liu et al and Nakamura with the teachings of the electrically connecting a first connection point of the first ring-shaped heating element to a first connection point of the second ring-shaped heating element, and electrically connecting a second connection point of the third ring-shaped heating element to a second connection point of the fourth ring-shaped heating element as disclosed by Kuemin et al. The use of the heater element comprises an inner section, an intermediate section and an outer section arranged in series in Kuemin et al provides for generating more heat in the periphery of the hotplate for a uniform temperature distribution (Kuemin et al, [0015]).
Kuemin et al fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first, second, third, and fourth heating elements have the same width.
Kuemin et al does suggest manipulating the distance between heating elements to achieve a desired heat generation ([0074] and manipulating the width (if the height is not varied) to achieve a desired current density ([0071]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of semiconductors before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Liu et al and Nakamura et al by manipulating the distance between heating elements and width of each heating element since it was known in the art to do so to achieve a desired temperature and current density, as suggested by Kuemin et al. Furthermore, it has been held that discovering the optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) and MPEP § 716.02(d) - § 716.02(e), In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) and MPEP § 2144.05.
Furthermore, Du et al teaches wherein the first, second, third, and fourth heating elements have the same width ([0014], i.e. the heating sections have the same line widths but different spacings, the spacings are wide in a central part of the substrate and narrow at two sides of the substrate).
Since Liu et al, Nakamura and Kuemin et al and Du et al teach heating elements, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of semiconductors before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the method as disclosed to modify Liu et al, Nakamura and Kuemin et al with the teachings of the wherein the first, second, third, and fourth heating elements have the same width as disclosed by Du et al in order to compensate the heat transfer difference between center and edges and improve the temperature uniformity (Du et al, [Abstract]).
Regarding claim 22. Liu et al, Nakamura, Kuemin et al and Du et al discloses all the limitations of the method of claim 21.
Kuemin et al further discloses wherein the first connection point (FIG. 3, item 20b) of the first ring-shaped heating element (FIG. 3, item 21b) is closer to the second connection point (FIG. 3, item 20b) of the third ring-shaped (FIG. 3, item 21c) than the first connection point (FIG. 3, item 20a) of the second ring-shaped heating element (FIG. 3, item 21e).
Regarding claim 23. Liu et al, Nakamura, Kuemin et al and Du et al discloses all the limitations of the method of claim 21.
Kuemin et al further discloses wherein the third (FIG. 3, item 21c) and fourth (FIG. 3, item 21d) ring-shaped heating elements are disposed between the first (FIG. 3, item 21b) and second (FIG. 3, item 21e) ring-shaped heating elements.
Regarding claim 24. Liu et al, Nakamura, Kuemin et al and Du et al discloses all the limitations of the method of claim 21.
Kuemin et al further discloses wherein the third (FIG. 3, item 21c) and fourth ring-shaped heating elements (FIG. 3, item 21d) are adjacent to each other (FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 25. Liu et al, Nakamura, Kuemin et al and Du et al discloses all the limitations of the method of claim 21.
Kuemin et al further discloses where the first (FIG. 3, item 20b) and second (FIG. 3, item 20a) connection points are not physically connected to each other (FIG. 3 shows items 20b and 20a are separated from each other and therefore not physically connected to each other).
Regarding claim 27. Liu et al, Nakamura, Kuemin et al and Du et al discloses all the limitations of the method of claim 1.
Liu et al discloses the ring shaped heating elements ([0050], i.e. heating elements 113 surrounds on four sides)
Kuemin et al discloses
where a first distance between a first pair of adjacent inner heating elements of the heating elements is greater than a second distance between a second pair of adjacent outer heating elements of the heating elements
(FIG. 4; [0073], i.e. the distances between individual metallic leads of the heater elements 6a, 6b are, in the shown embodiment, Smaller in the outer and intermediate regions 30.1c-30.2c, 30.1b+30.2b than in the inner region 30.1a+30.2a.).
Kuemin et al fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first pair of adjacent inner heating elements is separated from the second pair of adjacent outer heating elements by a third distance less than the first distance and greater than the second distance
Applicant’s originally filed specification in [0067] states the spacing between the heating elements gradually gets smaller as the radius of the heating element increases. For example, spacing 402 is the largest while spacing 410 is the smallest. Applicant’s originally filed specification [0068] states this suggests that it is desirable to electrically connect the heating elements so that the total resistance across each group of connected heating elements is nominally equal.
Kuemin el al teaches the resistivity as well as the thickness (height) are advantageously the same for all conductors of the heating structure [0071].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of semiconductors before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have adjusted a third distance that is less than the first distance and greater than the second distance to have the resistivity as well as the thickness (height) are advantageously the same for all conductors of the heating structure in Kuemin. The use of the resistivity as well as the thickness (height) are advantageously the same for all conductors of the heating structure in Kuemin et al provides for generating more heat in the periphery of the hotplate for a uniform temperature distribution (Kuemin et al, [0015]).
As It has been judicially determined that the selection of a result effective variable was within the ordinary skill level, the third distance does not patentably distinguish over the reference MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 29. Liu et al, Nakamura, Kuemin et al and Du et al discloses all the limitations of the method of claim 21.
Kuemin et al further discloses wherein a total resistance of the first and second ring-shaped heating elements is equal to a total resistance of the third and fourth ring-shaped heating elements. ([0071], i.e. the resistivity as well as the thickness (height) are advantageously the same for all conductors of the heating structure)
Claims 28 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al (U.S. 2016/0334362), Nakamura (U.S. 2006/0096972), Kuemin et al (U.S. 2016/0011134), and Du et al (U.S. 2017/0086259) as applied to claims 1 and 21 above, and further in view of Ito et al (U.S. 2003/0015515).
Regarding claim 28. Liu et al, Nakamura, Kuemin et al and Du et al discloses all the limitations of the method of claim 1.
Liu et al, Nakamura, Kuemin et al and Du et al fails to explicitly disclose further comprising placing the second connection points of the innermost and outermost heating elements co-linearly in the same radial plane.
However, Ito et al teaches further comprising placing the second connection points (FIG. 1, item 13; [0128, 0150]) of the innermost (FIG. 1, innermost item 12) and outermost (FIG. 1, outermost item 12) heating elements (FIG. 1, item 12) co-linearly ([0086]) in the same radial plane ([0086]).
Since Liu et al, Nakamura, Kuemin et al, Du et al and Ito et al teach heating elements, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of semiconductors before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the method as disclosed to modify Liu et al, Nakamura, Kuemin et al and Du et al with the teachings of further comprising placing the second connection points of the innermost and outermost heating elements co-linearly in the same radial plane as disclosed by Ito et al in order to provide for electrical connection to a power source and attached to resistance heating elements (Ito et al, [0128]).
Regarding claim 30. Liu et al, Nakamura, Kuemin et al and Du et al discloses all the limitations of the method of claim 1.
Liu et al, Nakamura, Kuemin et al and Du et al fails to explicitly disclose further comprising placing the first and second connection points co-linearly in the same radial plane.
However, Ito et al teaches further comprising placing the first (FIG. 1, innermost item 13) and second (FIG. 1, outermost item 13) connection points (FIG. 1, item 13; [0128, 0150]) co-linearly ([0086]) in the same radial plane ([0086]).
Since Liu et al, Nakamura, Kuemin et al, Du et al and Ito et al teach heating elements, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of semiconductors before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the method as disclosed to modify Liu et al, Nakamura, Kuemin et al and Du et al with the teachings of further comprising placing the first and second connection points co-linearly in the same radial plane as disclosed by Ito et al in order to provide for electrical connection to a power source and attached to resistance heating elements (Ito et al, [0128]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 30, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 7-8 of applicant’s remarks, applicant appears to argue that Kuemin et al fails to disclose applicant’s amended claim 1, 18 and 21 limitations of wherein the innermost heating element and the outermost heating element have the same width.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant’s originally filed specification states in [0070] to ensure nominally uniform current density through each heating element, heating element width W…. Applicant further states in ([0075]) for uniform current density through each heating element, heating element width W is limited to 30 μm or less according to the disclosure.
Kuemin et al disclose in ([0062]) the maximum width of a conducting lead of the heater structure is less than 12 μm, in particular less than 10 μm, to avoid dishing, and current density in ([0071]), the main parameter for influencing the heating power in the conductors is the current density j, and this current density j primarily depends on the conductor geometry, in particular the width (if the height is not varied) of the conductors as well as the manner in which the conductors are branching and (in particular for parallel conductors) the lengths of the individual conductors and the temperature distribution can be assessed using finite element calculus.
Furthermore, Examiner respectfully points out that Du et al does explicitly teach applicant’s amended claim 1, 18 and 21 limitation of a same width.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Provancha et al (U.S. 6,242,722) discloses temperature controlled thin film circular heater.
Yoshida et al (U.S. 6,080,970) discloses wafer heating apparatus.
Carman et al (U.S. 5,294,778) discloses concentric electric heating elements.
Alepee et al (U.S. 2015/0212030) discloses a micro-hotplate device and sensor comprising such device.
Kalnitsky et al (U.S. 2017/0343498) embedded temperature control system for a biosensor.
/S.E.B./ Examiner, Art Unit 2815
/JOSHUA BENITEZ ROSARIO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2815