DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “each anchor pad in the first and second pluralities of anchor pads comprises a hollow structure.” of Claim 21 and 23 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4 and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2006/0146233 A1) in view of Suga (US 2002/0074670 A1; hereinafter Suga/670).
Regarding Claim 1, Park (Fig. 4D) discloses an image sensor, comprising:
first (500) and second (400, 401, 402) substrates;
a first and second dielectric layers (503, 408) disposed between the first and second substrate (500; 400, 401, 402), respectively;
first (505) and second (410) anchor layers disposed on the first (first and second dielectric layers (503, 408), respectively, and bonded to each other;
first (506B, C) and second (411A, B) pluralities of anchor pads disposed in the first (505) and second (410) anchor layers, respectively;
a first interconnect structure (506A, 504A, 502), comprising:
a first interconnect portion (502), disposed in the first substrate (500), comprising a first width (width of 502), and
a second interconnect portion (506A, 504A), disposed in the first anchor layer (505) and in the first dielectric layer (503), comprising a second width (width of 506A, 504A);
wherein a thickness of a first portion (504a) of the second interconnect portion (506A, 504A) in the first dielectric layer (503) a thickness of a second portion of the second interconnect portion (506A, 504A) in the first anchor layer (505),
and
a second interconnect structure (411C, 408, 406) disposed in the second substrate (400, 401, 402) and the second anchor layer (410).
Park does not explicitly disclose a second width smaller than the first width and the first and second interconnect portions comprise the same material and
Suga/670 (Fig. 2) discloses a first interconnect structure (25, 23), comprising:
a thickness of a first portion (6 in 8) of the second interconnect portion (6, 4) in the first dielectric layer (8) is greater than a thickness of a second portion of the second interconnect portion (6 in 10) in the first anchor layer (100), (See Fig. 2)
the first and second interconnect portions comprise the same material (copper)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an image sensor in Park in view of Suga/670 such a second width smaller than the first width and the first and second interconnect portions comprise the same material in order to achieve reliable electrical connection by securely directly bonding conductors to each other [0005] and that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) (See MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding Claim 2, Park in view of Suga/670 discloses the image sensor of claim 1, wherein
each anchor pad in the first and second pluralities of anchor pads (506B, C and 411A, B; Park) comprises a metal layer (Cu, [0063, 0069; Park].
Regarding Claim 4, Park in view of Suga/670 discloses the image sensor of claim 1, wherein
first (505 Park) and second (410 Park) anchor layers comprises a polymer layer or a dielectric layer. (“second insulation layer 505”) [0058 Park].
Regarding Claim 8, Park in view of Suga/670 discloses the image sensor of claim 1, wherein
each anchor pad in the first plurality of anchor pads (506B, C) is misaligned with each anchor pad in the second plurality of anchor pads (411A, B). (See Fig. 4D)
Regarding Claim 9, Park in view of Suga/670 discloses the image sensor of claim 1, wherein
the second interconnect structure (411C, 409, 406) comprises:
a third interconnect portion (406), disposed in the second substrate (400, 401, 402) comprising a third width, and a fourth interconnect portion (411C), disposed in the second anchor layer (410).
Park in view of Suga/670 as previously combined does not explicitly disclose a fourth width smaller than the third width.
Suga/670 (Fig. 4) discloses a second interconnect structure (3, 5) comprises:
a third interconnect portion (3), disposed in a second substrate (1) comprising a third width, and a fourth interconnect portion (5), disposed in a second anchor layer (12), comprising a fourth width smaller than the third width. (See 3 is wider than 5)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an image sensor in Park in view of Suga/670 such that a fourth width smaller than the third width in order so as not to cause dielectric breakdown of the insulating materials in anchor layers [0041] and allow for radiation noises from the semiconductor elements on the first substrate can be shielded without affecting the semiconductor elements on the second substrate. [0020].
Regarding Claim 10, Park in view of Suga/670 discloses the mage sensor of claim 9, wherein
the fourth interconnect portion (5 Suga/670) is disposed in the dielectric layer (12. (See Fig. 2 of Suga/670).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park US 2006/0146233 A1) in view of Suga (US 2002/0074670 A1; hereinafter Suga/670) and further in view of Kotoo et al. (WO 2016/185883 A1; Published 11/24/2016; hereinafter figures and paragraphs will be referenced from US equivalent publication US 2018/0138223 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, Park in view of Suga/670 discloses the image sensor of claim 1, wherein
a first anchor pad (506B) in the first plurality of anchor pads (506 B, C) is aligned to a first anchor pad in the second plurality of anchor pads; wherein
a second anchor pad (506C) in the first plurality of anchor pads (506B, C) is misaligned with a second anchor pad (411A) in the second plurality of anchor pads (411A B); and wherein
the first (506B) and second anchor pads (506C) in the first plurality of anchor pads are adjacent to each other (See Fig. 4D).
Park in view of Suga/670 does not explicitly disclose that a first anchor pad in the first plurality of anchor pads aligned to a first anchor pad in the second plurality of anchor pads.
Kotoo (Fig. 6) discloses a first anchor pad (right most 224) in the first plurality of anchor pads (see left, center and right 424). aligned to a first anchor pad (right most 124) in the second plurality of anchor pads (see left, center and right 124).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an image sensor in Park in view of Suga/670 and Kotoo such that a second width smaller than the first width in order to a first anchor pad in the first plurality of anchor pads aligned to a first anchor pad in the second plurality of anchor pads in order to improve joining strength between pads [0050]
Claim(s) 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2006/0146233 A1) in view of Suga (US 2002/0074670 A1; hereinafter Suga/670) and further in view of Enquist (US 2017/0062366 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, Park in view of Suga/670 discloses the image sensor of claim 1.
Park in view of Suga/670 does not explicitly disclose a first anchor pad in the first plurality of anchor pads is bonded to the second plurality of anchor pads.
Enquist (Fig. 12) discloses a first anchor pad (right most 19 in substrate 39) in a first plurality of anchor pads (center and right 19 in substrate 39) is bonded to a second plurality of anchor pads (center and right 19 in substrate 38). [0050-0051]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an image sensor in Park in view of Suga/670 and Enquist such that a first anchor pad in the first plurality of anchor pads is bonded to the second plurality of anchor pads. in order to facilitate the formation of an electrical connection across the bond interface for some structures, where an Al routing surface built in an Al BEOL [0052] and a lower thermal budget required to complete the hybrid bond after initially directly bonding opposed dielectric surfaces at low or room temperature [0053]
Regarding Claim 7, Park in view of Suga/670 discloses the image sensor of claim 1, wherein
Park in view of Suga/370 does not explicitly disclose a first anchor pad in the first plurality of anchor pads is bonded to first and second anchor pads in the second plurality of anchor pads, wherein the first and second anchor pads in the second plurality of anchor pads are adjacent to each other.
Enquist (Fig. 12) discloses a first anchor pad (right 19 in substrate 39) in a first plurality of anchor pads (center and right 19 in substrate 39) is bonded to first and second anchor pads (center and right 19 in substrate 38) in the second plurality of anchor pads ((center and right 19 in substrate 38), wherein the first and second anchor pads (center and right 19 in substrate 38) in the second plurality of anchor pads ((center and right 19 in substrate 38) are adjacent to each other. (See Fig. 12) [0050-0051]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an image sensor in Park in view of Suga/670 and Enquist such that a first anchor pad in the first plurality of anchor pads is bonded to first and second anchor pads in the second plurality of anchor pads, wherein the first and second anchor pads in the second plurality of anchor pads are adjacent to each other in order to facilitate the formation of an electrical connection across the bond interface for some structures, where an Al routing surface built in an Al BEOL [0052] and a lower thermal budget required to complete the hybrid bond after initially directly bonding opposed dielectric surfaces at low or room temperature [0053]
Claim(s) 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edelstein et al. (US 2015/0262976 A1) in view of Suga et al. (US 2002/0003307 A1) and further in view of Di Cioccio et al. (US 2013/0270328 A1)
Regarding Claim 11, Edelstein (Fig. 1D) discloses an image sensor, comprising:
first (10) and second (10) semiconductor substrates ( first semiconductor substrate 10 of 100 and 200);
a first dielectric layer (30’; 77B) disposed on and in contact with the first semiconductor substrate (10);
a second dielectric layer (30; 77A) disposed on and in contact with the second semiconductor substrate (10) wherein
the first and second dielectric layers are bonded to each other (Fig. 1D);
first and second pluralities (60, 62’; 60,62) of conductive pads disposed in the first and second dielectric layers (30’, 30), respectively, wherein
the first and second pluralities of conductive pads comprise materials [0050] wherein
each conductive pad in the first plurality of conductive pads is misaligned with each conductive pad in the second plurality of conductive pads (See Fig. 1D);
a first interconnect structure (12, 32’) comprising a first interconnect portion (12) disposed in the first semiconductor substrate (10) and a second interconnect portion (32’) disposed in the first dielectric layer (30’), and
a second interconnect structure (32, 12) disposed in the second semiconductor substrate (10) and the second dielectric layer (30).
Edelstein does not explicitly disclose that the first and second interconnect portions comprise the same material and that material for conductive pads is conductive adhesive material.
Suga (Fig. 4) discloses a first (wiring layer 3 is made of a metal of, for example, copper) and second (a through hole conductor 5 that is made of copper) interconnect portions comprise the same material. (copper)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an image sensor in Edelstein in view of Suga such that the first and second interconnect portions comprise the same material achieving reliable electrical connection by securely directly bonding conductors to each other [0005] and that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) (See MPEP 2144.07).
Edelstein in view of Suga does not explicitly disclose that material for conductive pads is conductive adhesive.
Di Cioccio et al. (Fig. 1 4) discloses pluralities of conductive pads (206, 210, 208) comprise conductive adhesive. [0132, 0133, 0142].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an image sensor in Edelstein in view of Suga and Di Cioccio such that the first and second pluralities of conductive pads comprise materials comprise conductive adhesive to achieve adhesive contact by at ambient temperature and at atmospheric pressure [0142 and better adhesion with copper than a dielectric barrier, that they are conductive and that they improve reliability. [0132] and since the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) (See MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding Claim 12, Edelstein in view of Suga and Di Cioccio discloses the image sensor of claim 11, wherein
the first interconnect portion (12’), disposed in the first semiconductor substrate (10), comprising a first width, and
the second interconnect portion (32’) in, disposed in the first dielectric layer (30’), comprising a second width smaller than the first width. (See width in Fig. 1D of Edelstein)
Regarding Claim 13, Edelstein in view of Suga and Di Cioccio discloses the image sensor of claim 11, wherein the first dielectric layer comprises:
an etch stop layer (20’ Edelstein) disposed on the first semiconductor substrate (10’ Edelstein):
an interlayer dielectric layer (30’ Edelstein) disposed on the etch stop layer, and an adhesive layer (77b Edelstein) disposed on the interlayer dielectric layer (30’ Edelstein).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edelstein et al. (US 2015/0262976 A1) in view of Suga et al. (US 2002/0003307 A1) and further in view of Di Cioccio et al. (US 2013/0270328 A1) and Liu et al. (US 2014/0117546 A1)
Regarding Claim 15, Edelstein in view of Suga and Di Cioccio discloses the image sensor of claim 11, wherein
the first dielectric layer (30’, 77B) comprises an adhesive layer (77B); and wherein
Edelstein in view of Suga and Di Cioccio does not explicitly disclose that a thickness of the adhesive layer is substantially equal to a thickness of each conductive pad in the first plurality of conductive pads.
Liu (Fig. 5A, 8A) discloses a thickness of a adhesive layer (160B, 121b) is substantially equal to a thickness of each conductive pad (112, 113).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an image sensor in Edelstein in view of Suga and Di Cioccio and Liu such that a thickness of the adhesive layer is substantially equal to a thickness of each conductive pad in the first plurality of conductive pads for the purpuce of having the s dielectric material to dielectric material, and conductive material to conductive material, the wafer to wafer bonding is a hybrid bonding. [0027, 0034]
Claim(s) 17, 18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edelstein et al. (US 2015/0262976 A1) view of in view of Enquist et al. (US 2017/0062366 A1).
Regarding Claim 17, Edelstein (Fig. 1D) discloses an image sensor, comprising:
first (10’) and second (10) semiconductor substrates [0049];
first (30’, 77B) and second (730, 77A) dielectric layers disposed on the first (10’) and second semiconductor substrates (10), respectively, and bonded to each other;
first (60’) and second (60) pluralities of conductive pads disposed in the first (30’, 77B) and second (30, 77A) dielectric layers, respectively, wherein
a first conductive pad (60’) in the first plurality of conductive pads (60’) is bonded to first (60) and second conductive pads in the second plurality of conductive pads (60),
wherein the first conductive pad (60’) in the first plurality of conductive pads (60’) partially overlaps the first (60) and second conductive pads in the second plurality of conductive pads (60) (Fig 1D), and wherein
the first and second conductive pads (two pads in pads 60) in the second plurality of conductive pads (60) are adjacent to each other and comprise widths equal to each other (Fig. 1D);
wherein
the first and second conductive pads (see 60 adjacent to each other) in the second plurality of conductive pads (60) are adjacent to each other (See Fig. 3D);
a first conductive structure (32’, 12’, left most 60’) disposed in the first semiconductor substrate (10’) and the first dielectric layer (30’,77B); and
a second conductive structure (32, 12, left most 60) disposed in the second semiconductor substrate (10) and the second dielectric layer (30,77A),
wherein the first and second conductive structures (12’, 32’; 12, 32) comprise the same material (The Examiner notes that as long as at least a part of the first conductive structure comprises a same material second conductive structures the limitation is considered to be met, Copper) and are bonded to each other (Bonded through 60’, 60).
Edelstein does not explicitly disclose a first conductive pad in the first plurality of conductive pads is bonded to first and second conductive pads in the second plurality of conductive pads and the first conductive pad in the first plurality of conductive pads partially overlaps the first and second conductive pads in the second plurality of conductive pads.
Enquist (Fig. 12) discloses a first conductive pad (right most 19 in substrate 39) in the first plurality of conductive pads (center and right 19 in substrate 39) is bonded to first and second conductive pads (center and right 19 in substrate 38) in the second plurality of conductive pads (center and right 19 in substrate 38) and the first conductive pad right most 19 in substrate 39) in the first plurality of conductive pads (center and right 19 in substrate 39) partially overlaps the first and second conductive pads (center and right 19 in substrate 38) in the second plurality of conductive pads.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an image sensor in Edelstein in view of Enquist such that a first conductive pad in the first plurality of conductive pads is bonded to first and second anchor pads in the second plurality of anchor pads and the first conductive pad in the first plurality of conductive pads partially overlaps the first and second conductive pads in the second plurality of conductive pads.in order to facilitate the formation of an electrical connection across the bond interface for some structures, where an Al routing surface built in an Al BEOL [0052] and a lower thermal budget required to complete the hybrid bond after initially directly bonding opposed dielectric surfaces at low or room temperature [0053]
Regarding Claim 18, Edelstein in view of Enquist discloses the image sensor of claim 17, wherein
each of the first (32’, 12’) and second conductive (32, 12) structures comprises a T-shaped cross-sectional profile. (See Fig. 3D at least See section of metal interconnects 32’ and 32’)
The Examiner notes that as long as at least a part of each of the first and second conductive structures comprises a T-shaped cross-sectional profile the limitation is considered to be met, further “a T-shaped” is considered under broadest reasonable interpretation.
Regarding Claim 20, Edelstein in view of Enquist discloses the image sensor of claim 17, wherein
the first conductive structure (32’, 12’, left most 60’) and each conductive pad in the first plurality of conductive pads (60’) comprise a same conductive material. [copper]
The Examiner notes that as long as at least a part of the first conductive structure comprises a same conductive material as each conductive pad in the first plurality of conductive pads the limitation is considered to be met.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edelstein et al. (US 2015/0262976 A1) in view of Enquist (US 2017/0062366 A1) and further in view of Enquist et al. (US 2013/0178062 A1; hereinafter Enquist/062).
Regarding Claim 19, Edelstein in view of Enquist discloses the image sensor of claim 17, wherein
each conductive pad in the first (506B, C) and second (411A, B) pluralities of conductive pads (Park)
Park in view of Enquist does not explicitly disclose that pluralities of conductive pads comprises indium tin oxide or zinc oxide
Edelstein (Fig. 18) discloses pluralities of conductive pads (contact structures 123 and contact structures 122) comprises indium tin oxide or zinc oxide (indium-tin-oxide among limited number of other materials) [0096]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an image sensor in Edelstein in view of Enquist and Enquist/062 such that pluralities of conductive pads comprises indium tin oxide or zinc oxide in order to facilitate the formation of an electrical connection across the bond interface that results in a higher bond energy at low temperature [0097] and since the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) (See MPEP 2144.07).
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park US 2006/0146233 A1) in view of Suga (US 2002/0074670 A1; hereinafter Suga/670) and further in view of Marion et al. (US 2015/0380395 A1).
Regarding Claim 21, Park in view of Suga/670 discloses the image sensor of claim 1, wherein
each anchor pad in the first (506B, C) and second (411A, B) pluralities of anchor pads.
Park in view of Suga/670 does not explicitly disclose each anchor pad comprises a hollow structure.
Suga (Fig. 3) discloses pluralities of anchor pads comprises a hollow structure (hollow inserts 56) [0055-0058].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an image sensor in Park in view of Suga/670 and Marion such that pluralities of anchor pads comprises a hollow structure in order to achieve hybridization is advantageously performed at ambient temperature, without requiring to heat the connection elements to obtain the melting [0040].
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edelstein et al. (US 2015/0262976 A1) in view of Suga et al. (US 2002/0003307 A1) and further in view of Di Cioccio et al. (US 2013/0270328 A1) and Marion et al. (US 2015/0380395 A1).
Regarding Claim 21, Edelstein in view of Suga and Di Cioccio discloses the image sensor of claim 11, wherein
each anchor pad in the first (506B, C) and second (411A, B) pluralities of anchor pads.
Edelstein in view of Suga does not explicitly disclose each anchor pad comprises a hollow structure.
Marion (Fig. 4) discloses pluralities of anchor pads comprises a hollow structure (hollow inserts 56) [0055-0058].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an image sensor in Edelstein in view of Suga and Marion such that pluralities of anchor pads comprises a hollow structure in order to achieve hybridization is advantageously performed at ambient temperature, without requiring to heat the connection elements to obtain the melting [0040].
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edelstein et al. (US 2015/0262976 A1) in view of Suga et al. (US 2002/0003307 A1) and further in view of Di Cioccio et al. (US 2013/0270328 A1) and Pratt (US 2008/0057620 A1).
Regarding Claim 22, Edelstein in view of Suga and Di Cioccio discloses e image sensor of claim 13, wherein
a thickness of a first portion of the second interconnect portion (32’) in the interlayer dielectric layer (30’) and a thickness of a second portion of the second interconnect portion (32’) in the etch stop layer (20’) and a thickness of a third portion of the second interconnect portion (32’) in the adhesive layer. (77b)
Edelstein in view of Suga and Di Cioccio does not explicitly disclose that a thickness of a first portion of the second interconnect portion in the interlayer dielectric layer is greater than a thickness of a second portion of the second interconnect portion in the etch stop layer and is greater than a thickness of a third portion of the second interconnect portion in the adhesive layer.
Pratt (Fig. 2L) discloses a thickness of a first portion of a second interconnect portion (230) in the interlayer dielectric layer (201) is greater than a thickness of a second portion of the second interconnect portion (230) in the etch stop layer (204) and is greater than a thickness of a third portion of the second interconnect portion (230) in the adhesive layer (245).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an image sensor in Edelstein in view of Suga and Pratt such that a thickness of a first portion of the second interconnect portion in the interlayer dielectric layer is greater than a thickness of a second portion of the second interconnect portion in the etch stop layer and is greater than a thickness of a third portion of the second interconnect portion in the adhesive layer in order to lower cost RDL formation techniques that may be applicable to a wide variety of die types [0004].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed Pages 7-8, filed 06/16/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicants Arguments concerning Claim 1
The Examiner notes that Park US 2006/0146233 A1) in view of Suga (US 2002/0074670 A1; hereinafter Suga/670) discloses Claim 1 as emended.
Regarding Applicants Arguments concerning Claim 11.
With respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 11 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edelstein et al. (US 2015/0262976 A1) in view of Suga et al. (US 2002/0003307 A1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edelstein et al. (US 2015/0262976 A1) in view of Suga et al. (US 2002/0003307 A1) and further in view of Di Cioccio et al. (US 2013/0270328 A1)
Regarding Applicants Arguments concerning Claim 17
Edelstein et al. (US 2015/0262976 A1) view of in view of Enquist et al. (US 2017/0062366 A1) discloses Claim 17 as amended.
Conclusion
/DMITRIY YEMELYANOV/Examiner, Art Unit 2891
/MATTHEW C LANDAU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2891