DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the rope guide must be shown or the feature canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 lines 9 and 10 recite (respectively) “the first side wall” and “the second side wall.” This recitation lacks proper antecedent basis because there are two first side walls and two second side walls set forth previous to this recitations (i.e. one for each sheave assembly). It is suggested to reference the walls by which sheave assembly they are on, as in (e.g.) “the first side wall of the second sheave assembly.” This is consistent with other claim language which is not indefinite.
Claim 7 (see lines 20-21) recites similar language, and is indefinite for substantially the same reasons.
Claim 13 (see line 19) recites similar language, and is indefinite for substantially the same reasons.
Claim 1 (line 11) recites “the first and second end walls,” which has unclear antecedent basis. That is, there are multiple first/second end walls set forth previous to this limitation. To which does this recitation have reference?
Claim 7 (see line 22) recites similar language, and is indefinite for substantially the same reasons.
Claim 13 (see line 20) recites similar language, and is indefinite for substantially the same reasons.
Claim 1 fails to end with a period punctuation mark. Where does claim 1 end?
Claim 2 (line 3) recites “the second end wall,” which has unclear antecedent basis. That is, there are multiple second end walls set forth previous to this limitation. To which does this recitation have reference?
Claim 5 fails to end with a period punctuation mark. Where does claim 5 end?
Claim 7 line 11 recites “it,” which is vague and ambiguous. To which component does this limitation have reference?
Claim 8 (line 3) recites “the second end wall,” which has unclear antecedent basis. That is, there are multiple second end walls set forth previous to this limitation. To which does this recitation have reference?
Claim 13 line 11 recites “it,” which is vague and ambiguous. To which component does this limitation have reference?
Claim 14 (line 3) recites “the second end wall,” which has unclear antecedent basis. That is, there are multiple second end walls set forth previous to this limitation. To which does this recitation have reference?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DE 2728668 B1 (hereinafter “Walerowski”).
Regarding claim 1 Walerowski (see embodiment of figures 5-8) discloses a hook block assembly (fig. 5), comprising:
first and second sheave assemblies (3) [each] having a first side wall (3b) disposed in spaced apart relation to a second side wall (3b), the first and second sheave assemblies (3) [each] having a first end wall (E; see annotated figure below) disposed in spaced apart relation to a second end wall (E), the first side wall (3b) having one or more first sheaves (5) disposed thereon, the second side wall (3b) having one or more second sheaves (5) disposed thereon, the first and second end walls (E) having first openings (i.e. for element 4; see figs. 7-8) disposed in substantial alignment;
a crosshead (4) having a central portion configured to support a hook (1) therefrom, the crosshead (4) having a first stud (4) extending in a first direction and a second stud (4) extending in a second direction opposite the first direction, the first and second studs (4) sized to fit inside the aligned openings (i.e. openings for element 4; see figs. 7-8) in the first and second end walls (E) in the first and second sheave assemblies (3);
one or more spacers (7a) configured to be mounted on one of the first and second studs (4) such that the position of the first and second sheave assemblies on the crosshead (4) can be adjusted (see positions in figures 5 and 6) [.]
Regarding claim 2 Walerowski discloses the above assembly, and further discloses wherein the second end wall (E) on the first sheave assembly (3) has a curved opening disposed therein, the curved opening (CO; see annotated fig. below) extending inward from a top edge of the second end wall (E).
Regarding claim 3 Walerowski discloses the above assembly, and further discloses wherein the first end wall (E) on the first sheave assembly (3) has a second opening disposed therein (O2, above).
Regarding claim 4 Walerowski discloses the above assembly, and further discloses wherein the first end wall (E) on the second sheave assembly (3) has a second opening (O2, above) disposed therein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-10 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0081152 A1 (hereinafter “Kosuga”) in view of Walerowski.
Regarding claims 7 and 13 Kosuga teaches a wire rope hoist system for raising and lowering a load, the wire rope hoist system, comprising:
a rotating drum (31) having a spiral rope groove (311) defined therein;
a shaft operatively associated with the rotating drum (31);
a motor configured to engage with and rotate the shaft;
a hoisting rope affixed (via winding) to the drum (31) and configured to wind into and unwind from the spiral rope groove (311), one end of the hoisting rope attached (at least indirectly) to a fixed end point (of the hook block) on a side of a hook block assembly (fig. 16) opposite from the drum (31);
a rope guide (32) configured to mount around the rotating drum (31), the rope guide (32) configured to move laterally relative to the rotating drum (31) to keep the hoisting rope in the spiral rope groove (311) when winding the hoisting rope into the rope groove or unwinding it from the rope groove.
Kosuga further teaches:
the hook block assembly (fig. 16) having first and second sheave assemblies (74; see, e.g. fig. 18) [each] having first and second side walls (74a/74b) disposed in spaced apart relation to each other, the side walls (74a/74b) having one or more first sheaves (71) disposed thereon, the hook block assembly (fig. 16) having a crosshead (72) having a central portion configured to support a hook (76c) therefrom, the crosshead (72) having first and second studs (72b) extending in [respective] first and second opposite directions, the first and second studs (72) sized to fit inside the aligned openings (74a1/74b1) in the first and second [side walls (74a/74b)].
Kosuga fails to teach the other particulars of the hook block assembly, such as aligned openings in the end walls, spacers, etc.
As noted above, Walerowski teaches the particulars of the hook block assembly. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the moveable sheave assemblies of Walerowski to the hoisting system of Kosuga with a reasonable expectation of success. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination in order to allow for use with either small, or extremely large flanges (see Walerowski paragraph 2).
Regarding claims 8 and 14 modified Kosuga teaches the above system, and further teaches wherein the second end wall (Walerowski E, above) on the first sheave assembly (Walerowski 3) has a curved opening (Walerowski CO, see annotated figure below) disposed therein, the curved opening (V CO) extending inward from a top edge of the second end wall (E).
Regarding claims 9 and 15 modified Kosuga teaches the above system, and further teaches wherein the first end wall (Walerowski E) on the first sheave assembly (Walerowski 3) has a second opening (Walerowski O2, above) disposed therein.
Regarding claims 10 and 16 modified Kosuga teaches the above system, and further teaches wherein the first end wall (Walerowski E) on the second sheave assembly (Walerowski 3) has a second opening (Walerowski SO, above) disposed therein (i.e. both sheave assemblies are the same).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6, 11-12, and 17-18 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Such references show various forms of apparatus which comprise at least one similar feature to the present application.
/NATHANIEL L ADAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 3654