DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 (see sixth to last line) recites “the second sheave,” which lacks antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 3,270,982 (hereinafter “Prange”) in view of KR 20160087594 A (hereinafter “Park”), and US 2009/0072209 A1 (hereinafter “Smith”).
Regarding claim 1 Prange teaches a wire rope hoist assembly for raising and lowering a load, the wire rope hoist system, comprising:
a rotating drum (A)…, the rotating drum (A) having a longitudinal axis;
a frame (40) supporting the rotating drum (A);
a shaft (41) operatively associated with the rotating drum (A);
a motor (K) configured to engage with and rotate the shaft (41);
a hoisting rope (F) affixed to the drum (A) and configured to wind into and unwind from the drum (A);
a rope guide (E) configured to mount around the rotating drum (A), the rope guide (E) configured to move laterally relative to the rotating drum (A) to keep the hoisting rope orderly when winding the hoisting rope (F) onto the drum or unwinding it from the drum;
at least one threaded shaft (16) disposed substantially parallel to the longitudinal axis of the rotating drum (A), the at least one threaded shaft (16) configured to rotate relative to the frame (40);
at least one first sheave (27) mounted on a member (20) having a threaded opening (21/22) configured to receive the threaded shaft (16), the member (20) being prevented from rotation (i.e. by 17) such that rotation of the at least one threaded shaft (16) causes linear motion of the member (20) in a direction parallel to the longitudinal axis of the rotating drum (A);
a support structure (H) extending (at least indirectly) from the frame (40) in spaced apart relation to the rotating drum (A);
a second sheave (J) mounted on the support structure (H) and configured such that the second sheave (J) rotates about a first axis [ ];
wherein the wire rope hoist assembly is configured such that the hoist rope (F) passes through the rope guide (E) and engages with the first sheave (27) and then engages with the second sheave (J);
wherein a hook (i.e. “drag bucket) for raising and lowering the load is connected to the hoist rope (F) and is disposed on a side of the second sheave (J) opposite from the rotating drum (A).
Prange fails to teach a spiral groove in the drum. Park teaches a rotating drum (110) supported by a frame (101/103), a first pulley (151), and a second pulley (113) driven by the first pulley (151) via a belt (153). Park further teaches the drum (110) having a spiral rope groove (118) defined therein; the rope guide (130/133/etc.) configured to move longitudinally relative to the rotating drum (110) to keep the hoisting rope (40) in the spiral rope groove (118). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a spiral groove to the drum of Prange, as taught by Park, with a reasonable expectation of success. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination in order to better keep the line in order.
Prange fails to teach the second sheave pivots about a second axis different from the first axis. Smith teaches a sheave (15) for guiding a line, wherein the sheave (15) can rotate about a first axis (paragraph 29). Smith further teaches wherein the sheave (15) can also pivot about a second axis different than the first axis (i.e. element 14 rotates, see paragraph 27). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the second pivoting axis of Smith to the sheave of Prange with a reasonable expectation of success. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination in order to vary the fleet angle at which Prange can accept line without causing undo abrasion of the line, or jumping out of the sheave groove.
Regarding claim 2 modified Prange teaches the above assembly. Prange fails to teach two separate threaded shafts. Park teaches wherein the at least one threaded shaft (140) comprises a pair of threaded shafts (140) disposed in spaced apart relation and parallel to the longitudinal axis of the rotating drum (110; e.g. see figure 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate the threaded shaft of Prange, as taught by Park, with a reasonable expectation of success. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination in order to give more stability to the pulley carriage, and decrease the loading on each individual threaded rod.
Regarding claim 3 modified Prange teaches the above assembly, and further teaches wherein the at least one first sheave (27) comprises a sheave set (27).
Regarding claim 4 modified Prange teaches the above assembly, and further teaches wherein the sheave set (27) comprises a pair of sheaves (27) connected to the member (20).
Regarding claim 5 modified Prange teaches the above assembly (as per claim 1), and further teaches wherein the motor (K) is powered by a cordless power source (i.e. Prange has an engine; see column 2 lines 28-31).
Regarding claim 12, Prange teaches wire rope hoist assembly for raising and lowering a load, the wire rope hoist system, comprising (italicized words showing variance from claim 12):
a rotating drum (A) having a drum surface defined therein, the rotating drum (A) having a longitudinal axis;
a frame (40) supporting the rotating drum (A);
a shaft (41) operatively associated with the rotating drum (A);
a motor (K) configured to engage with and rotate the shaft (41);
a hoisting rope (F) affixed to the drum and configured to wind into and unwind from the drum surface;
a rope guide (E) configured to mount around the rotating drum (A), the rope guide (E) configured to move laterally relative to the rotating drum (A) to keep the hoisting rope (F) in the drum surface when winding the hoisting rope (F) into the drum surface or unwinding it from the drum surface;
a first threaded shaft (16) supported on the frame (40) and configured to rotate relative to the frame (40);
a first chain sprocket (CS1, see annotated figure 7 below) associated with the shaft (41);
a second chain sprocket (CS2, see annotated figure 5 below) driven by the first chain sprocket via a chain (34), the second chain sprocket (CS2) operatively associated with (i.e. in driving relationship with) a first gear (G1),
a second gear (33) connected to the first threaded shaft (16) and configured to engage with the first gear (G1);
wherein the threaded shaft (16) is coupled such that rotation of the shaft on the rotating drum (A) causes the threaded shaft (16) to rotate;
a first threaded member (20) disposed on the first threaded shaft (16)
a sheave set (27) connected to the first threaded member (20) and second threaded member (20) such that rotation of the first and second threaded shafts (16) with the first and second threaded members (20) prevented from rotating causes linear motion of the sheave set along an axis parallel to the longitudinal axis of the rotating drum (A);
a support structure (H) extending from the frame (40) in spaced apart relation to the rotating drum (A);
a swivel sheave (J) mounted on the support structure (H) and configured such that the [swivel] sheave (J) rotates about a first axis [ ];
wherein the assembly is configured such that the hoisting rope (F) passes through the rope guide (E) and engages with the sheave set (27) and then engages with the swivel sheave (J);
wherein a hook (i.e. “drag bucket) for raising and lowering the load is connected to the hoist rope (F) and is disposed on a side of the swivel sheave (J) opposite from the rotating drum (A).
Prange fails to teach a spiral groove in the drum. Park teaches the winch drum and guide with pulleys as above (see claim 8). Park further teaches the drum (110) having a spiral rope groove (118) defined therein; the rope guide (130/133/etc.) configured to move longitudinally relative to the rotating drum (110) to keep the hoisting rope (40) in the spiral rope groove (118). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a spiral groove to the drum of Prange, as taught by Park, with a reasonable expectation of success. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination in order to better keep the line in order.
Prange fails to teach two separate threaded shafts, or the transmission thereof as set forth in claim 12.
Park teaches:
a first threaded shaft (140) supported on the frame (101/103) and configured to rotate relative to the frame (101/103);
a second threaded shaft (140) supported on the frame (101/103) and configured to rotate relative to the frame (101/103);
a first pulley (151) operatively associated with (i.e. in driving relationship with) the shaft (112);
a second pulley (113) driven by the first pulley (151) via a belt (153), the second pulley (113) operatively associated (in driving relationship with) with a first gear (141);
a second gear (142) connected to the first threaded shaft (140) and configured to engage (at least indirectly) with the first gear (141);
a third gear (142) connected to the second threaded shaft (140) and configured to engage (at least indirectly) with the first gear (141);
wherein the first and second threaded shafts (140) are mechanically coupled such that rotation of the shaft (112) on the rotating drum (110) causes the first threaded shaft (140) and the second threaded shaft (140) to rotate (i.e. when belt 153 is driven at 151 all three rotate simultaneously).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate the threaded shaft of Prange, as taught by Park, and use the belt-driven transmission as taught by Park, with a reasonable expectation of success. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination in order to give more stability to the pulley carriage, and decrease the loading on each individual threaded rod.
Prange fails to teach the second sheave pivots about a second axis different from the first axis. Smith teaches a sheave (15) for guiding a line, wherein the sheave (15) can rotate about a first axis (paragraph 29). Smith further teaches wherein the sheave (15) can also pivot about a second axis different than the first axis (i.e. element 14 rotates, see paragraph 27). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the second pivoting axis of Smith to the sheave of Prange with a reasonable expectation of success. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination in order to vary the fleet angle at which Prange can accept line without causing undo abrasion of the line, or jumping out of the sheave groove.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prange in view of Park and Smith, and in further view of US 2018/0179032 (hereinafter “Hall”).
Regarding claim 6 modified Prange teaches the above assembly (as per claim 5). Prange teaches a cordless system, but fails to teach wherein the cordless power source is selected from the group consisting of lithium ion, lithium polymer, nickel-metal hydride, nickel cadmium, and lead-acid batteries. Hall teaches a cordless power system for a winch. Hall further teaches a lithium-ion battery (752) for powering the motor of the winch. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the engine of Prange for the battery of Hall with a reasonable expectation of success. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination in order to avoid loud engine sounds and exhaust.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prange in view of Park and Smith, and in further view of US 2011/0042634 (hereinafter “Boychuk”).
Regarding claim 7 modified Prange teaches the above assembly (as per claim 5). Prange teaches a cordless system, but fails to teach an ultracapacitor as per claim 7. Boychuk teaches a winching system for imparting force to a load line. Boychuck further teaches a power source comprises an ultracapacitor (see paragraph 41 and claim 17). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to switch the power source of Prange for the ultracapacitor of Boychuck with a reasonable expectation of success. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination in order to avoid loud engine sounds and exhaust.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.L.A/Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/Victoria P Augustine/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654