DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
3. This office action is responsive to applicant’s amendment filed on 02/13/2026. Claims 1-7, 9-12, 14-21 are pending. Claims 1, 12, 17 are amended. Claims 8, 13 are canceled. Claim 21 is new claim.
Response to Arguments
4. The applicant’s amendment filed on 02/13/2026 along with the remark were sufficient to overcome the examiner’s previous ground of rejection under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(2) with respect to claims 1-7, 9-11, 17-20. However, upon further consideration new ground of rejection under 35 U.S.C 103 were set forth as discussed below.
Regarding to claims 12, 14 the applicant’s amendment along with the remark were sufficient to overcome the examiner’s previous ground of rejection under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim (2015/0099367 A1). However, applicant’s amendment with respect to claim 12, 14 fails to overcome the examiner’s previous ground of rejection under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang (US 2009/0212010 A1). Specifically, Wang clearly teaches a new limitation “forming a layer of sulfur-containing passivation on sidewalls of the feature” in paragraph [0005] [0031] and [0033] by using passivant gas COS
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 12, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang (US 2009/0212010 A1).
As to claim 12, Wang discloses a semiconductor processing method comprising:
providing an oxygen-containing precursor and a sulfur-containing precursor to a processing region of a semiconductor processing chamber, wherein a substrate is housed in the processing region, wherein a layer of carbon-containing material (225) is disposed on the substrate, wherein a layer of patterned mask material (230 or 240) is disposed on the layer of carbon-containing material, and wherein a flow rate ratio of the sulfur-containing precursor relative to the oxygen- containing precursor is between 0.25:1 to 1:1 including example of 0.25:1 or 0.3:1 (See paragraph 0026, 0029-0034;
forming plasma effluents of the oxygen-containing precursor and the sulfur- containing precursor (paragraph 0036-0038; and
contacting the substrate with the plasma effluents of the oxygen-containing precursor and the sulfur-containing precursor, wherein the contacting etches a feature in the layer of carbon-containing material and forms a layer of sulfur-containing passivation on sidewalls of the feature (paragraph 0005, 0029, 0031, 0033-0038).
As to claim 14, Wang discloses the plasma effluents of oxygen-containing precursor and the sulfur-containing precursor are generated using a plasma power (source power) (paragraph 0038). Wang fails to explicitly disclose the plasma power (source power) of less than or about 1,500 Watt. However, Wang clearly disclose to generate plasma low frequency bias power to high frequency source power ration between 0.25 and 1:1 with a total power of 2000 Watts (paragraph 0038). Any person having ordinary skill in the art would be able to calculate the source power based on the total power of 2000 Watts when a ratio of low frequency bias power to high frequency source power ration at 1:1 as shown below:
Source power: 2000/(1+1) = 1,000 Watts
Therefore, Wang implicitly discloses the plasma source power of 1000 Watts (within applicant’s range of “less than or about 1,500 W”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claims 1-3, 6, 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2022/0199410 A1) in view of Wang et at (US 2009/0212010 A1).
Note: S
As to claim 1, Zhang discloses a semiconductor processing method comprising:
providing an oxygen-containing precursor and a sulfur-containing precursor to a processing region of a semiconductor processing chamber, wherein a substrate is housed in the processing region, wherein a layer of amorphous carbon (202) is disposed on the substrate (200), and wherein a layer of patterned mask material (206 or 208) is disposed on the layer of amorphous carbon (See paragraph 0019-0022, Fig 2B-2C);
forming plasma effluents of the oxygen-containing precursor and the sulfur-containing precursor (paragraph 022); and
contacting the substrate with the plasma effluents of the oxygen-containing precursor and the sulfur-containing precursor, wherein the contacting selectively etches a feature in the layer of amorphous carbon relative to the layer of patterned mask material
As to claim 1, Zhang fails to disclose forms a layer of sulfur-containing passivation on sidewall of the features during the step of contacting the substrate with the plasma effluents of the oxygen-containing precursor and the sulfur-containing precursor. However, Zhang clearly discloses forming a passivation layer (214) by exposing the passivation gas (paragraph 0023). Wang discloses forms a layer of sulfur-containing passivation on sidewall of the features during the step of contacting the substrate with the plasma effluents of the oxygen-containing precursor and the sulfur-containing precursor (paragraph 0005, 0029, 0031, 0033). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Zhang in view of Wang by forming a layer of sulfur-containing passivation on sidewall of the features during the step of contacting the substrate with the plasma effluents of the oxygen-containing precursor and the sulfur-containing precursor because it helps to provide high etch selectivity and reduce sidewall bowing (see paragraph 0033)
As to claim 2, Zhang discloses the oxygen-containing precursor comprises diatomic oxygen (O2) (See paragraph 0022).
As to claim 3, Zhang discloses the sulfur-containing precursor comprises carbonyl sulfide (COS) or sulfur dioxide (SO2) (See paragraph 0022).
As to claim 6, Zhang discloses applying bias power (34) while contacting the substrate with the plasma effluents of the oxygen-containing precursor and the sulfur-containing precursor (See Fig 1, paragraph 0012, 0022).
As to claim 10, Zhang discloses the semiconductor processing chamber operating temperature of -100 °C (paragraph 0023; Note: -100 °C is within applicant’s range of “less than or about -40 °C”).
As to claim 11, Zhang discloses a semiconductor processing chamber operating pressure at 5 mtorr (paragraph 0023; Note: 5 mtorr is within applicant’s range of “less than or about 20 mtorr”).
12. Claims 1-3, 5-7, 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2022/0375759 A1), herein after refer as Kim (‘759) in view of Wang (US 2009/0212010 A1).
As to claim 1, Kim (‘759) discloses a semiconductor processing method comprising:
providing an oxygen-containing precursor and a sulfur-containing precursor to a processing region of a semiconductor processing chamber, wherein a substrate is housed in the processing region, wherein a layer of amorphous carbon (120) is disposed on the substrate (200), and wherein a layer of patterned mask material (130) is disposed on the layer of amorphous carbon (See paragraph 0016, 0023, 0033, Fig 1A-1C);
forming plasma effluents of the oxygen-containing precursor and the sulfur-containing precursor (paragraph 0033; and
contacting the substrate with the plasma effluents of the oxygen-containing precursor and the sulfur-containing precursor, wherein the contacting selectively etches a feature in the layer of amorphous carbon relative to the layer of patterned mask material, temperature is maintained between -100 to 200 °C (paragraph 0033; Fig 1A-1C; Note -100 °C is within applicant’s range of “less than or about 0 °C”).
As to claim 1, Kim (‘759) fails to disclose forms a layer of sulfur-containing passivation on sidewall of the features during the step of contacting the substrate with the plasma effluents of the oxygen-containing precursor and the sulfur-containing precursor. However, Kim (‘759) clearly discloses forming a passivation layer by exposing the passivation gas (paragraph 0034). Wang discloses forms a layer of sulfur-containing passivation on sidewall of the features during the step of contacting the substrate with the plasma effluents of the oxygen-containing precursor and the sulfur-containing precursor (paragraph 0005, 0029, 0031, 0033). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kim (‘759) in view of Wang by forming a layer of sulfur-containing passivation on sidewall of the features during the step of contacting the substrate with the plasma effluents of the oxygen-containing precursor and the sulfur-containing precursor because it helps to provide high etch selectivity and reduce sidewall bowing (see paragraph 0033).
As to claim 2, Kim (‘759) discloses the oxygen-containing precursor comprises diatomic oxygen (O2) (See paragraph 0033).
As to claim 3, Kim (‘759) discloses the sulfur-containing precursor comprises carbonyl sulfide (COS) or sulfur dioxide (SO2) (See paragraph 0033).
As to claim 5, Kim (‘759) discloses wherein the plasma effluents of oxygen-containing precursor and the sulfur-containing precursor are formed at a plasma power of 1500 W (paragraph 0033; Note: 1500 W is within applicant’s range of “less than or about 2,000 W”).
As to claim 6, Kim (‘759) discloses applying bias power (434) while contacting the substrate with the plasma effluents of the oxygen-containing precursor and the sulfur-containing precursor (See Fig 1, paragraph 0033, 0058, Fig 4).
As to claim 7, Kim (‘759) discloses the bias power is 400 W (paragraph 0033, Note: 400 W is within applicant’s range of “less than or about 500 W”).
As to claim 10, Kim (‘759) discloses the semiconductor processing chamber operating temperature of -100 °C (paragraph 0033; Note: -100 °C is within applicant’s range of “less than or about -40 °C”).
As to claim 11, Kim (‘759) discloses a semiconductor processing chamber operating pressure at 1 mtorr (paragraph 0023; Note: 1 mtorr is within applicant’s range of “less than or about 20 mtorr”).
13. Claims 1-7, 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20215/0099367 A1) herein after refer as Kim (‘367) in view of Wang (US 2009/0212010 A1).
As to claim 1, Kim (‘367) discloses a semiconductor processing method comprising:
providing an oxygen-containing precursor and a sulfur-containing precursor to a processing region of a semiconductor processing chamber, wherein a substrate is housed in the processing region, wherein a layer of amorphous carbon (225) is disposed on the substrate (210), and wherein a layer of patterned mask material (230 or 240) is disposed on the layer of amorphous carbon (See paragraph 0023-002, 0028-0030, Fig 2A-2C0);
forming plasma effluents of the oxygen-containing precursor and the sulfur-containing precursor (paragraph 0028-0030
contacting the substrate with the plasma effluents of the oxygen-containing precursor and the sulfur-containing precursor, wherein the contacting selectively etches a feature in the layer of amorphous carbon relative to the layer of patterned mask material,
As to claim 1, Kim (‘367) fails to disclose forms a layer of sulfur-containing passivation on sidewall of the features during the step of contacting the substrate with the plasma effluents of the oxygen-containing precursor and the sulfur-containing precursor. However, Kim (‘367) clearly contacting the substate with the plasma effluents of the oxygen-containing precursor and the sulfur-containing precursor (paragraph 0030). Wang discloses forms a layer of sulfur-containing passivation on sidewall of the features during the step of contacting the substrate with the plasma effluents of the oxygen-containing precursor and the sulfur-containing precursor (paragraph 0005, 0029, 0031, 0033). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kim (‘367) in view of Wang by forming a layer of sulfur-containing passivation on sidewall of the features during the step of contacting the substrate with the plasma effluents of the oxygen-containing precursor and the sulfur-containing precursor because it helps to provide high etch selectivity and reduce sidewall bowing (see paragraph 0033).
As to claim 2, Kim (‘367) discloses the oxygen-containing precursor comprises diatomic oxygen (O2) (See paragraph 0030, 0033).
As to claim 3, Kim (‘367) discloses the sulfur-containing precursor comprises carbonyl sulfide (COS) (See paragraph 0028-0030, 0033).
As to claim 4, Kim (‘367) discloses to use 200 sccm of COS and 1000 sccm of O2 (See paragraph 0030, 0033). Therefore, Kim (‘367) implicitly discloses the flow rate ratio of the sulfur-containing precursor (COS) relative to the oxygen-containing precursor is 200/1000 = 0.2:1 (within applicant’s range of “less than or about 0.5:1).
As to claim 5, Kim (‘367) discloses wherein the plasma effluents of oxygen-containing precursor and the sulfur-containing precursor are formed at a plasma power of 0-1000 W, including example of 300 Watts (paragraph 0034, 0036; Note: 1000 W or 300 W are within applicant’s range of “less than or about 2,000 W”).
As to claim 6, Kim (‘367) discloses applying bias power while contacting the substrate with the plasma effluents of the oxygen-containing precursor and the sulfur-containing precursor (See Fig 3, paragraph 0033-0034, 0036).
As to claim 7, Kim (‘367) discloses the bias power is less than 150 W (paragraph 0036, Note: 150 W is within applicant’s range of “less than or about 500 W”).
As to claim 9, Kim (‘367) discloses the feature in the layer of amorphous carbon is characterized by critical dimension between 10 nm and 30 nm (paragraph 0026, Note: 10 nm is within applicant’s range of “less than about 20 nm”).
As to claim 11, Kim (‘367) discloses a semiconductor processing chamber operating pressure at between 10 mtorr to 20 mtorr (paragraph 0032; Note: 10 to 20 mtorr is within applicant’s range of “less than or about 20 mtorr”).
14. Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 2009/0212010 A1) as applied to claim 12 above and further in view of Kim et al. (US 20215/0099367 A1) herein after refer as Kim (‘367).
As to claim 15, Wang fails to disclose discloses the feature in the layer of carbon-containing material is characterized by a critical dimension of less than or about 15 nm. As to claim 15, Kim (‘367) discloses the feature in the layer of carbon-containing material is characterized by a critical dimension of 10 nm to 30 nm (paragraph 0026, Fig 2A-2C, 10 nm is within applicant’s range of “less than or about 15 nm”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wang in view of Kim (‘367) by having a critical dimension of less than 15 nm including example of 10 nm because in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (See MPEP 2144.05(I)).
As to claim 16, Wang fails to discloses a semiconductor processing chamber operating temperature is between -100 °C to about0 °C. As to claim 16, Kim (‘367) discloses a semiconductor processing chamber operating temperature is between -20 °C to 30 °C including example of 0 °C (paragraph 0033, Note -20 °C or 0 °C are within applicant’s range between about -100 °C to about 0 °C). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wang in view of Kim (‘367) by a semiconductor processing chamber operating temperature is between -20 °C to 0
°
because in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (See MPEP 2144.05(I)).
15. Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20215/0099367 A1) herein after refer as Kim (‘367) in view of Kim (2022/0375759 A1).
As to claim 17, Kim (‘367) a semiconductor processing method comprising:
providing an oxygen-containing precursor and a sulfur-containing precursor to a processing region of a semiconductor processing chamber, wherein a substrate is housed in the processing region, wherein a layer of carbon-containing material (225) is disposed on the substrate, wherein a layer of patterned mask material (230 or 240) is disposed on the layer of carbon-containing material, and wherein a flow rate ratio of the sulfur-containing precursor is 200 sccm and the flow rate of the oxygen- containing precursor is 1000 sccm (paragraph 0023-0024, 0028-0033; Note the flow rate ratio of the sulfur-containing precursor (COS) relative to the oxygen-containing precursor is 200/1000 = 0.2:1 (within applicant’s range of “less than or about 0.5:1).
forming plasma effluents of the oxygen-containing precursor and the sulfur- containing precursor at a source plasma power of 0-1000 Watt, including example of 300 Watt (paragraph 0033-0034, 0036, Note: 1000 W or 300 W is within applicant’s range of “less than or about 1,300 W” ) and
contacting the substrate with the plasma effluents of the oxygen-containing precursor and the sulfur-containing precursor, wherein the contacting etches a feature in the layer of carbon-containing material, wherein the feature in the layer of carbon-containing material is characterized by a critical dimension of 10 to 30 nm (paragraph 0026-0030; Fig 2A-2C), and wherein a semiconductor processing chamber operating temperature is
As to claim 17, Kim (‘367) fails to disclose wherein a semiconductor processing chamber operating temperature is less than or about -40 °C . However, Kim (‘367) clearly discloses a semiconductor processing chamber operating temperature is – 20 °C (paragraph 0033). Kim (‘759) discloses wherein a semiconductor processing chamber operating temperature is between -100 °C to 200 °C (paragraph 0033; Note: -100 °C is within applicant’s range of “less than or about -40 °C”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kim (‘367) in view of Kim (‘759) by having a semiconductor processing chamber temperature between -100 °C to -40 °C because in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (See MPEP 2144.05(I)).
As to claim 18, Kim (‘367) discloses the oxygen-containing precursor comprises diatomic oxygen (O2) and the sulfur-containing precursor comprises carbonyl sulfide (COS) (See paragraph 0030-0033).
As to claim 19, Kim (‘367) fails to disclose wherein a semiconductor processing chamber operating temperature is less than or about -50 °C . However, Kim (‘367) clearly discloses a semiconductor processing chamber operating temperature is – 20 °C (paragraph 0033). Kim (‘759) discloses wherein a semiconductor processing chamber operating temperature is between -100 °C to 200 °C (paragraph 0033; Note: -100 °C is within applicant’s range of “less than or about -50 °C”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kim (‘367) in view of Kim (‘759) by having a semiconductor processing chamber temperature between -100 °C to -50 °C because in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (See MPEP 2144.05(I)).
As to claim 20, Kim (‘367) discloses applying a bias power while contacting the substrate with the plasma effluents of the oxygen-containing precursor and the sulfur-containing precursor, wherein the bias power less than 150 Watt (paragraph 0033, 0036; Note 150 W is within applicant’s range of “less than or about 500 W”).
16. Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20215/0099367 A1) herein after refer as Kim (‘367) in view of Kim (2022/0375759 A1) as applied to claims 17-20 above and further in view of Wang (US 2009/0212010 A1) .
As to claim 21, Kim (‘367) fails to disclose forms a layer of sulfur-containing passivation on sidewall of the features. However, Kim (‘367) clearly contacting the substate with the plasma effluents of the oxygen-containing precursor and the sulfur-containing precursor (paragraph 0030). Wang discloses forms a layer of sulfur-containing passivation on sidewall of the features during the step of contacting the substrate with the plasma effluents of the oxygen-containing precursor and the sulfur-containing precursor (paragraph 0005, 0029, 0031, 0033). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kim (‘367) and Kim (‘759) in view of Wang by forming a layer of sulfur-containing passivation on sidewall of the features during the step of contacting the substrate with the plasma effluents of the oxygen-containing precursor and the sulfur-containing precursor because it helps to provide high etch selectivity and reduce sidewall bowing (see paragraph 0033).
Conclusion
BINH X. TRAN
Examiner
Art Unit 1713
/BINH X TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713