Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3 - 4, 6 - 7, 11 - 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang et al. (US 2011/0111137, hereinafter Liang) in view of Wang (CN 106601676, hereinafter Wang) and further in view of Ting et al. (US 7,064,072, hereinafter Ting).
With respect to claim 1, Liang discloses a method of forming a silicon oxide film (para 0006 – method of forming silicon oxide), the method comprising: providing a substrate (Para 0023 – substrate 106) into a reaction chamber (500 of Fig. 5A); supplying a silicon precursor gas (102 of Fig.1) and a nitrogen reactant gas to the reaction chamber (104), and forming a flowable silicon and nitrogen film on the substrate (106 of Fig. 1- Para 0023; 0031; silicon and nitrogen containing film has flowable characteristics) while maintaining a plasma atmosphere inside the reaction chamber (106 of Fig. 1- para 0021-0022); converting the flowable silicon and nitrogen film into a flowable silicon oxide film (para 0006; converting silicon and nitrogen film to silicon oxide); densifying the flowable silicon oxide film to form a densified silicon oxide film (para 0032; densifying the silicon oxide layer).
Liang does not explicitly disclose that the flowable silicon and nitrogen film comprises of silicon nitride.
In an analogous art, Wang discloses that the flowable silicon and nitrogen film comprises of silicon nitride (page 11; last para and page 12; first para ; flow able dielectric e.g. silicon nitride). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liang’s method by having Wang’s disclosure in order to improve layer deposition process with reduced unevenness.
Liang/Wang does not explicitly disclose post-treating the densified silicon oxide film with an inert gas plasma to increase a density of the densified silicon oxide film.
In an analogous art, Ting discloses post-treating the densified silicon oxide film with an inert gas plasma to increase a density of the densified silicon oxide film (Col. 1; lines 40-44; Col. 3; lines 4-14; high density silicon oxide film is densified under an inert environment). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liang/Wang’s method by having Ting’s disclosure in order to repair damages in the silicon layer.
With respect to claim 3, Liang discloses wherein in the forming a flowable silicon nitride film, a temperature of the substrate is maintained at about 0 °C to about 150 °C (Para 0025; about 150C).
With respect to claim 4, Liang discloses wherein in the forming a flowable silicon nitride film, the temperature of the substrate is maintained at about 30 °C to about 70 °C (Para 0025; about 50C).
With respect to claim 6, Liang discloses wherein the converting comprises converting the flowable silicon nitride film into the flowable silicon oxide film by introducing a remote oxygen plasma to the flowable silicon nitride film (Para 0021;0027; O2 plasma).
With respect to claim 7, Liang discloses wherein the densifying comprises forming the densified silicon oxide film by subjecting the flowable silicon oxide film to rapid thermal processing at a pressure of about 1.0 Torr to about 20.0 Torr (para 0025; 20Torr) and at a high temperature of about 300 °C to about 550 °C (para 0025; 400C), while flowing oxygen gas at a flow rate of more than 0 sccm to about 5,000 sccm (para 0020; 200 sccm).
With respect to claim 11, Liang discloses wherein the silicon precursor comprises at least one or a mixture of a silicon-containing oligomer, aminosilane, iodosilane, silicon hydrohalide, and silicon halide (Para 0020; aminosilane-(N(SiH3)3).
With respect to claim 12, Liang discloses wherein the silicon precursor comprises at least one or a mixture of: TSA, (SiH3)3N; DSO, (SiH3)2; DSMA, (SiH3)2NMe; DSEA, (SiH3)2NEt; DSIPA, (SiH3)2N(iPr); DSTBA, (SiH3)2N(tBu); DEAS, SiH3NEt2; DTBAS, SiH3N(tBu)2; BDEAS, SiH2(NEt2)2; BDMAS, SiH2(NMez2)2; BTBAS, SiH2(NHtBu)2; BITS, SiH2(NHSiMes3)2; DIPAS, SiH3N(iPr)2; TEOS, Si(OEt)a; SiCl4; HCD, Si2Cle; 3DMAS, SiH(N(Me)2)3; BEMAS, SiH2[N(Et)(Me)]2; AHEAD, Si2(NHEt)6; TEAS, Si(NHEt)a; SisHs; DCS, SiH2Cl2; SiHls; SiHzl2; and dimer-trisilylamine, trimer-trisilylamine, tetramer- trisilylamine, pentamer-trisilylamine, hexamer-trisilylamine, heptamer-trisilylamine, and octamer-trisilylamine (Para 0042; TSA).
With respect to claim 13, Liang discloses wherein the nitrogen reactant gas comprises at least one selected from among NH3, Nz, N20, NO2, N2H2, NoHa, and a mixture thereof (Para 0042; NO2, N2O).
With respect to claim 14, Liang discloses wherein the silicon precursor gas is a carbon-free silicon precursor gas (para 0019; carbon free silicon precursor), and the nitrogen reactant gas is NH3 (Para 0042; NH3).
With respect to claim 15, Liang discloses wherein the remote oxygen plasma used in the conversion is formed by having a frequency in a range of about 10 MHz to about 60 MHz (Para 0046; RF frequency of 13.56MHz).
Liang does not explicitly disclose applying an RF power in a range of greater than 0 W to about 5,000 W.
In an analogous art, Wang discloses applying an RF power in a range of greater than 0 W to about 5,000 W (page 15; para 02; power ranges from between 50W to about 1000W). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liang’s method by having Wang’s disclosure in order to achieve optimal results by controlling the power supply to the system.
With respect to claim 16, Liang discloses wherein the converting the silicon nitride film into a silicon oxide film is further facilitated through the post-treating (108 &110 of Fig. 1 – Para 0033). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liang’s method by having Wang’s disclosure in order to improve layer deposition process with reduced unevenness.
With respect to claim 17, Liang discloses a method of forming a silicon oxide film (para 0006 – method of forming silicon oxide), the method comprising:
providing a substrate (Para 0023 – substrate 106) to a reaction chamber (500 of Fig. 5A); supplying a silicon precursor gas (102 of Fig.1) and a nitrogen reactant gas into the reaction chamber (104), and forming a flowable silicon and nitrogen film on the substrate (106 of Fig. 1- Para 0023; 0031; silicon and nitrogen containing film has flowable characteristics) while maintaining a plasma atmosphere inside the reaction chamber (106 of Fig. 1- para 0021-0022); converting the flowable silicon and nitrogen film into a flowable silicon oxide film (para 0006; converting silicon and nitrogen film to silicon oxide); densifying the flowable silicon oxide film to form a densified silicon oxide film (para 0032; densifying the silicon oxide layer); wherein the converting the silicon and nitrogen film into a silicon oxide film is further facilitated through a post-treating (108 &110 of Fig. 1).
Liang does not explicitly disclose that the flowable silicon and nitrogen film comprises of silicon nitride.
In an analogous art, Wang discloses that the flowable silicon and nitrogen film comprises of silicon nitride (page 11; last para and page 12; first para; flow able dielectric e.g. silicon nitride). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liang’s method by having Wang’s disclosure in order to improve layer deposition process with reduced unevenness.
Liang/Wang does not explicitly disclose that the post-treating the densified silicon oxide film with an inert gas plasma to increase a density of the densified silicon oxide film.
In an analogous art, Ting discloses that the post-treating the densified silicon oxide film with an inert gas plasma to increase a density of the densified silicon oxide film (Col. 1; lines 40-44; Col. 3; lines 4-14; high density silicon oxide film is densified under an inert environment). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liang/Wang’s method by having Ting’s disclosure in order to repair damages in the silicon layer.
With respect to claim 19, Liang discloses a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device by using the method according to claim 1 (para 0006-0007).
Claims 2, 8 - 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang/Wang/Ting and further in view of Li et al. (US 2017/0335449, hereinafter Li).
With respect to claim 2, Liang discloses RF power having a frequency of about 10 MHz to about 60 MHz (Para 0046; RF frequency of 13.56MHz).
Liang does not explicitly disclose applying the RF power in a range of greater than 0 W to about 5,000 W.
In an analogous art, Wang discloses applying the RF power in a range of greater than 0 W to about 5,000 W (page 15; para 02; power ranges from between 50W to about 1000W). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liang’s method by having Wang’s disclosure in order to achieve optimal results by controlling the power supply to the system.
Liang/Wang/Ting does not explicitly disclose wherein the forming a flowable silicon nitride film is performed by an in-situ plasma treatment which generates a plasma directly on the substrate by applying an RF power to the reaction chamber while supplying the silicon precursor gas and the nitrogen reactant gas to the reaction chamber.
In an analogous art, Li discloses wherein the forming a flowable silicon nitride film is performed by an in-situ plasma treatment which generates a plasma directly on the substrate by applying an RF power to the reaction chamber while supplying the silicon precursor gas and the nitrogen reactant gas to the reaction chamber (Para 0008; 0049; and 0090). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liang/Wang/Ting’s method by having Li’s disclosure in order to expedite the processing steps.
With respect to claim 8, Liang discloses RF power having a frequency of about 10 MHz to about 60 MHz (Para 0046; RF frequency of 13.56MHz).
Liang does not explicitly disclose applying the RF power in a range of more than 0 W to about 1500 W.
In an analogous art, Wang discloses applying the RF power in a range of more than 0 W to about 1500 W (page 15; para 02; power ranges from between 50W to about 1000W). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liang’s method by having Wang’s disclosure in order to achieve optimal results by controlling the power supply to the system.
Liang/Wang/Ting does not explicitly disclose wherein the post-treating is performed by an in-situ plasma treatment which generates the inert gas plasma directly on the substrate by applying an RF power to the reaction chamber while supplying argon (Ar) gas as the inert gas.
In an analogous art, Li discloses wherein the post-treating is performed by an in-situ plasma treatment which generates the inert gas plasma directly on the substrate by applying an RF power to the reaction chamber while supplying argon (Ar) gas as the inert gas (Para 0008; 0049; 0073; 0082; 0090; and 0094). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liang/Wang/Ting’s method by having Li’s disclosure in order to expedite the processing steps.
With respect to claim 9, Liang/Wang does not explicitly disclose wherein the densifying is performed for at least 30 minutes, and the post-treating using the Ar gas plasma is performed for at least 10 minutes.
In an analogous art, Ting discloses wherein the densifying is performed for at least 30 minutes (Col. 3; lines 7-10; 30 mins), and the post-treating using the Ar gas plasma is performed for at least 10 minutes (Col. 4; lines 28-30). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liang/Wang’s method by having Ting’s disclosure in order to repair damages in the silicon layer.
Liang/Wang/Ting does not explicitly disclose that the post-treating using the Ar gas plasma is performed for at least 10 minutes.
In an analogous art, Li discloses that the post-treating using the Ar gas plasma is performed for at least 10 minutes (Para 0094). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liang/Wang/Ting’s method by having Li’s disclosure in order to expedite the processing steps.
With respect to claim 18, Liang/Wang does not explicitly disclose wherein the densifying is performed for at least 30 minutes, and the post-treating is performed for at least 10 minutes using an Ar gas plasma as the inert gas.
In an analogous art, Ting discloses wherein the densifying is performed for at least 30 minutes (Col. 3; lines 7-10; 30 mins), and the post-treating using the Ar gas plasma is performed for at least 10 minutes (Col. 4; lines 28-30). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liang/Wang’s method by having Ting’s disclosure in order to repair damages in the silicon layer.
Liang/Wang/Ting does not explicitly disclose that the post-treating is performed for at least 10 minutes using an Ar gas plasma as the inert gas.
In an analogous art, Li discloses that the post-treating is performed for at least 10 minutes using an Ar gas plasma as the inert gas (Para 0094). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liang/Wang/Ting’s method by having Li’s disclosure in order to expedite the processing steps.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang/Wang/Ting and further in view of Annunziata et al. (US 9,515,252, hereinafter Annuziata).
With respect to claim 5, Liang/Wang/Ting does not explicitly disclose
wherein in the forming a flowable silicon nitride film, the silicon precursor gas and the nitrogen reactant gas are supplied such that a ratio of Si atoms:N atoms in the flowable silicon nitride film is 1:1 or more (1:21).
In an analogous art, Annuziata discloses wherein in the forming a flowable silicon nitride film, the silicon precursor gas and the nitrogen reactant gas are supplied such that a ratio of Si atoms: N atoms in the flowable silicon nitride film is 1:1 or more (1:>=1) (Col. 5; lines 25-35; N:Si = 0.1:1 ==[Wingdings font/0xE8] Si atoms:N atoms = 1:0.1 or 10:1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liang/Wang/Ting’s method by having Annunziata’s disclosure in order to achieve optimal results by controlling the proportions of different components.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang/Wang/Ting/Li in view of Draeger et al. (US 2013/0230987, hereinafter Draeger).
With respect to claim 10, Liang/Wang/Ting/Li does not explicitly disclose wherein a wet etch rate of the silicon oxide film after performing the post-treatment using the Ar gas plasma is reduced by at least 10% compared to a wet etch rate of the silicon oxide film after the densifying.
In an analogous art, Draeger discloses wherein a wet etch rate of the silicon oxide film after performing the post-treatment using the Ar gas plasma is reduced by at least 10% compared to a wet etch rate of the silicon oxide film after the densifying (Para 0028-0030 and claims 11-14). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liang/Wang/Ting/Li’s method by having Draeger’s disclosure in order to achieve optimal results by controlling the proportions of different components.
Conclusion
/MOHAMMAD M CHOUDHRY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899