DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendments/Arguments
Amendments made to claims 1, 3-4, 16 and 18, as filed on June 11, 2026, are acknowledged.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claims 1, 16 and 18 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to new ground(s) of rejection in this Office Action necessitated by the amendments made to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-15and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Horiguchi et al. (US20040222190).
Regarding claim 1, Horiguchi discloses a semiconductor processing method (abstract) comprising: i) forming plasma effluents of a plurality of precursors comprising an etchant precursor, an oxygen-containing precursor, and a silicon-and-fluorine-containing precursor, wherein the silicon-and-fluorine-containing precursor comprises silicon tetrafluoride (HBr reads on an etchant precursor, O2 reads on an oxygen-containing precursor, SiF4 reads on a silicon-and-fluorine-containing precursor, claim 1), wherein a volumetric ratio of the oxygen-containing precursor relative to the silicon-and-fluorine-containing precursor is from about 1:50 to about 30:1 (paragraph 0037); ii) contacting a silicon-containing material and a mask material with the plasma effluents in a processing region of a semiconductor processing chamber, wherein a substrate is disposed on a substrate support within the processing region, wherein the silicon-containing material is disposed on the substrate and the mask material is disposed on the silicon-containing material, wherein the mask material has one or more apertures therein that allow the plasma effluents access to the silicon-containing material, wherein the mask material comprises a dielectric material (silicon layer 210 reads on a silicon-containing material, silicon dioxide mask 204 reads on a dielectric material; paragraphs 0035-0036; claim 1; Figs. 1 and 3); iii) etching the silicon-containing material with the plasma effluents to form and/or deepen one or more features in the silicon-containing material (claim 1 and 6; Fig. 4); and iv) simultaneously etching the mask material and depositing a silicon-and-oxygen-containing material on the mask material with the plasma effluents (SiBrxOy reads on a silicon-and-oxygen-containing material, paragraphs 0050-0051; and comparison of Fig. 4A with Fig. 3). The volumetric ratio range disclosed by Horiguchi overlaps with the range recited in the instant claim. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 2, Horiguchi discloses wherein the etchant precursor comprises a fluorine-containing precursor that is not silicon tetrafluoride (SF6 or NF3, claim 1).
Regarding claim 3, Horiguchi discloses wherein a volumetric ratio of the oxygen-containing precursor relative to the silicon-and-fluorine-containing precursor is from about 1:50 to about 30:1 (paragraph 0037), which overlaps with the range recited in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 4, Horiguchi discloses wherein a volumetric ratio of the etchant precursor relative to the oxygen-containing precursor is form about 5:3 to about 600:1 (paragraph 0037), which overlaps with the range recited in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 7, Horiguchi discloses wherein silicon-containing material comprises a silicon layer (silicon layer 210, paragraph 0034 and Fig. 3). Horiguchi is silent about the specific types of silicon; however, crystalline silicon and amorphous silicon are well-known types of silicon used in semiconductor manufacturing processes.
Regarding claim 8, Horiguchi discloses wherein the method selectively removes the silicon-containing material relative to the mask material (the total thickness of the silicon oxide mask material is 700-2200nm, the etched thickness of the mask material is less than the above range, the thickness removed for the silicon-containing material is 7810nm, paragraph 0034 and Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 9, Horiguchi discloses wherein the method removes the silicon-containing material relative to the mask material at a selectivity greater than or about 4 (the total thickness of the silicon oxide mask material is 700-2200nm, the etched thickness of the mask material is less than the above range, the thickness removed for the silicon-containing material is 7810nm, paragraph 0034 and Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 10, Horiguchi discloses wherein one or more apertures are characterized by a critical dimension of less than or about 1000 nm (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 11, Horiguchi discloses wherein after the etching of the silicon-containing material, the one or more features are characterized by a depth of greater than 100 nm (7.65mm, Fig. 5C).
Regarding claim 12, Horiguchi discloses wherein after the etching of the silicon-containing material, the one or more features are characterized by an aspect ratio of greater than 5:1 (Fig. 5C).
Regarding claim 13, Horiguchi discloses wherein a pressure in the processing region is maintained at 200 mTorr (paragraph 0038).
Regarding claim 14, Horiguchi discloses wherein a temperature in the processing region is maintained at about 60° C (paragraph 0042).
Regarding claim 15, Horiguchi discloses wherein the plasma effluents are generated at a plasma power of less than 5000 W (paragraph 0039).
Regarding claim 18, Horiguchi discloses a semiconductor processing method (abstract) comprising: i) forming plasma effluents of a plurality of precursors comprising an etchant precursor, an oxygen-containing precursor, and silicon tetrafluoride, wherein a volumetric ratio of the oxygen-containing precursor relative to the silicon tetrafluoride is from about 1:50 to about 30:1 (NF3 reads on an etchant precursor, O2 reads on an oxygen-containing precursor, SiF4 reads on a silicon-and-fluorine-containing precursor, claim 1 and paragraph 0037); ii) contacting a silicon-containing material and a mask material with the plasma effluents in a processing region of a semiconductor processing chamber, wherein a substrate is disposed on a substrate support within the processing region, wherein the silicon-containing material is disposed on the substrate and the mask material is disposed on the silicon-containing material, wherein the mask material has one or more apertures therein that allow the plasma effluents access to the silicon-containing material, wherein the mask material comprises a dielectric material (silicon dioxide mask reads on a dielectric material; paragraphs 0035-0036; Figs. 1 and 3); iii) etching the silicon-containing material with the plasma effluents to deepen one or more features in the silicon-containing material, wherein the silicon-containing material defines sidewalls and a bottom of the one or more features along the substrate and each of the one or more apertures defines an opening at a top of each of the one or more features (paragraph 0046 and Fig. 4); and iv) simultaneously etching the mask material and depositing a silicon-and-oxygen-containing material on the mask material with the plasma effluents, wherein the method selectively removes the silicon-containing material relative to the mask material (SiBrxOy reads on a silicon-and-oxygen-containing material, paragraphs 0049-0051; and comparison of Fig. 4A with Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 19, Horiguchi discloses wherein the plasma effluents are first plasma effluents of a first plurality of precursors, and wherein the method further comprises: forming second plasma effluents from a second plurality of precursors that do not include silicon tetrafluoride (the plurality of precursors used in step S2 reads on a second plurality of precursors, Table 1); and etching the silicon-containing material with the second plasma effluents to form and/or deepen the one or more features in the silicon-containing material (paragraph 0046 and Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 20, Horiguchi discloses wherein the method removes the silicon-containing material relative to the mask material at a selectivity greater than or about 4 (the total thickness of the silicon oxide mask material is 700-2200nm, the etched thickness of the mask material is less than the above range, the thickness removed for the silicon-containing material is 7810nm, paragraph 0034 and Fig. 5).
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horiguchi et al. (US20040222190) as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Wang et al. (CN110571150, a machine-translated English version is used).
Regarding claim 5, Horiguchi is silent about wherein a carrier gas is present when forming plasma effluents. However, Horiguchi discloses that the method is a plasma etching process used to fabricate high aspect ratio openings (paragraphs 0009-0010). In addition, Wang teaches that in a plasma etching process used to fabricate high aspect ratio openings, a carrier gas can be added to improve the etching capability and reducing bowing of sidewalls (paragraphs 0002 and 0027). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add a carrier gas in the method of Horiguchi in order to improve the etching capability and reducing bowing of sidewalls as taught by Wang, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 6, Horiguchi in view of Wang discloses wherein a volumetric ratio of the carrier gas relative to the oxygen-containing precursor is less than 10:1 (carrier gas comprises 4%-21% of the feed gas, Wang, paragraph 0065; O2 comprises 5% of the rest of the feed, Horiguchi, step S3, Table 1).
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horiguchi et al. (US20040222190) in view of Wang et al. (CN110571150, a machine-translated English version is used).
Regarding claim 16, Horiguchi disclosed a semiconductor processing method (abstract) comprising: i) forming plasma effluents of a plurality of precursors, wherein the plurality of precursors comprises an etchant precursor, an oxygen-containing precursor, and a silicon-and-fluorine-containing precursor, wherein the silicon-and-fluorine-containing precursor comprises silicon tetrafluoride (HBr reads on an etchant precursor, O2 reads on an oxygen-containing precursor, SiF4 reads on a silicon-and-fluorine-containing precursor, claim 1), wherein a volumetric ratio of the oxygen-containing precursor relative to the silicon-and-fluorine-containing precursor is from about 1:50 to about 30:1 (paragraph 0037), wherein a volumetric ratio of the etchant precursor relative to the oxygen-containing precursor is from about 5:3 to about 600:1 (paragraph 0037); ii) contacting a silicon-containing material and a mask material with the plasma effluents in a processing region of a semiconductor processing chamber, wherein a substrate is disposed on a substrate support within the processing region, wherein the silicon-containing material is disposed on the substrate and the mask material is disposed on the silicon-containing material, wherein the mask material has one or more apertures therein that allow the plasma effluents access to the silicon-containing material, wherein the mask material comprises a dielectric material (silicon dioxide mask reads on a dielectric material; paragraphs 0035-0036; Figs. 1 and 3); iii) etching the silicon-containing material with the plasma effluents to form and/or deepen one or more features in the silicon-containing material, wherein the silicon-containing material defines sidewalls and a bottom of the one or more features along the substrate and each of the one or more apertures defines an opening at a top of each of the one or more features (paragraph 0046 and Fig. 4); and iv) simultaneously etching the mask material and depositing a silicon-and-oxygen-containing material on the mask material with the plasma effluents, wherein the method selectively removes the silicon-containing material relative to the mask material (SiBrxOy reads on a silicon-and-oxygen-containing material, paragraphs 0049-0051; and comparison of Fig. 4A with Fig. 3). The volumetric ratio ranges disclosed by Horiguchi overlaps with the corresponding ranges recited in the instant claim. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP 2144.05(I).
Horiguchi is silent about wherein a carrier gas is present when forming plasma effluents and wherein a volumetric ratio of the carrier gas relative to the oxygen-containing precursor is less than 10:1. However, Horiguchi discloses that the method is a plasma etching process used to fabricate high aspect ratio openings (paragraphs 0009-0010). In addition, Wang teaches that in a plasma etching process used to fabricate high aspect ratio openings, a carrier gas can be added to improve the etching capability and reducing bowing of sidewalls (paragraphs 0002 and 0027). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add a carrier gas in the method of Horiguchi in order to improve the etching capability and reducing bowing of sidewalls as taught by Wang, with a reasonable expectation of success. Horiguchi in view of Wang discloses wherein a volumetric ratio of the carrier gas relative to the oxygen-containing precursor is less than 10:1 (carrier gas comprises %-21% of the feed gas, Wang, paragraph 0065; O2 comprises 5% of the rest of the feed, Horiguchi, step S3, Table 1).
Regarding claim 17, Horiguchi discloses wherein the method removes the silicon-containing material relative to the mask material at a selectivity greater than or about 4 (the total thickness of the silicon oxide mask material is 700-2200nm, the etched thickness of the mask material is less than the above range, the thickness removed for the silicon-containing material is 7810nm, paragraph 0034 and Fig. 5).
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JIONG-PING LU whose telephone number is (571) 270-1135. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F: 9:00am – 5:00pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Joshua L Allen, can be reached at telephone number (571)270-3176. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/JIONG-PING LU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713