/TIMOTHY J THOMPSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847 DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 4 and 7 – 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sakai et al. (US 20060103004 A1, “Sakai”).
Regarding claim 1, Sakai discloses (Figs. 2 and 7) an integrated substrate, comprising: a) a top structure (First Layer) having a plurality of first pads (106 – 108) for mounting electronic devices (121), wherein each of the first pads is electrically coupled with a corresponding electronic device (Fig. 2 or 7), such that each of the first pads has a corresponding potential; b) a bottom structure (Fifth Layer) having a plurality of second pads (111 – 113) for coupling with peripheral circuits; c) a plurality of intermediate metal layers (Second, Third and Fourth Layers) stacked up and down and located between the top structure and the bottom structure, wherein the plurality of intermediate metal layers is configured to complete a partial electrical connection in order to form a full electrical connection; (See Fig. 7) d) a first type of penetrating connection structures (109a, 109b, 109d, 109e) configured to couple the intermediate metal layers and a part of the first pads, such that the intermediate metal layers have the same potential as the part of the first pads; and e) a second type of penetrating connection structures (109c, 109f, 109g) configured to couple the intermediate metal layers and the second pads, such that the second pads have the same potential as the part of the first pads (See Fig. 2 or 7).
Regarding claim 2, Sakai discloses the integrated substrate of claim 1, wherein different first pads (106 – 108) are coupled to the plurality of the intermediate metal layers (Second, Third and Fourth Layers) through the plurality of the first type of penetrating connection structures (109a, 109b, 109d, 109e) respectively, such that potentials of the intermediate metal layers and the first pads are correspondingly equal (Figs. 2 or 7 and Claims 1 – 3).
Regarding claim 3, Sakai discloses the integrated substrate of claim 1, wherein the plurality of the intermediate metal layers (Second, Third and Fourth Layers) are not in the same plane (see Fig. 2 or 7), and different intermediate metal layers respectively correspond to different potentials (Third and Fourth Layers will have different potentials).
Regarding claim 4, Sakai discloses the integrated substrate of claim 3, wherein an adjacent two intermediate metal layers (Third and Fourth Layers) are at least partially overlapped (see Fig. 2 or 7).
Regarding claim 7 Sakai discloses the integrated substrate of claim 1, wherein insulating materials are filled between any adjacent two of the top structure, the bottom structure, and the plurality of intermediate metal layers (See para [0052]).
Regarding claim 8, Sakai discloses the integrated substrate of claim 1, wherein at least one hole is opened in at least one of the top structure, the bottom structure, and the plurality of intermediate metal layers, for avoiding one or more corresponding penetrating connection structures (Fig. 2 or 7).
Regarding claim 9, Sakai discloses the integrated substrate of claim 1, wherein: a) one penetrating connection structure comprising the first type of penetrating connection structure (109a, 109b, 109d, 109e) and the second type of penetrating connection structure (109c, 109f, 109g) is configured to connect only two of the top structure (First Layer), the bottom structure (Fifth Layer), and the plurality of intermediate metal layers (Second, Third and Fourth Layers); and b) a hole is opened in each layer between the only two of the top structure (First Layer), the bottom structure (Fifth Layer), and the plurality of intermediate metal layers (Second, Third and Fourth Layers), in order to generate a conductor-free region for avoiding the penetrating connection structure, such that the penetrating connection structure is not connected with the each layer between the two of the top structure, the bottom structure, and the plurality of intermediate metal layers (See Fig. 2 or 7).
Regarding claim 10, Sakai discloses the integrated substrate of claim 1, wherein:
a) one penetrating connection structure comprising the first type of penetrating connection structure (109a, 109b, 109d, 109e) and the second type of penetrating connection structure (109c, 109f, 109g) is configured to connect only two of the top structure (First Layer), the bottom structure (Fifth Layer), and the plurality of intermediate metal layers (Second, Third and Fourth); and b) a hole is opened in each layer except the only two of the top structure, the bottom structure, and the plurality of intermediate metal layers, in order to generate a conductor-free region for avoiding the penetrating connection structure, such that the penetrating connection structure is not connected with the each layer except the two of the top structure, the bottom structure, and the plurality of intermediate metal layers (See Fig. 2 or 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 – 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakai et al. (US 20060103004 A1, “Sakai”) in view of FU et al. (US 20230345643 A1, “FU”)
Regarding claim 5, Sakai discloses the integrated substrate of claim 1,
Sakai is silent on further comprising electronic devices arranged on the intermediate metal layers, wherein pins of the electronic devices are electrically coupled with the intermediate metal layers.
However, FU discloses (Fig. 11) further comprising electronic devices (50) arranged on the intermediate metal layers (91), wherein pins of the electronic devices are electrically coupled with the intermediate metal layers (See para [0036]).
Sakai and FU are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of integrated substrate. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sakai to incorporate the teachings of FU and provide further comprising electronic devices (50) arranged on the intermediate metal layers (91), wherein pins of the electronic devices are electrically coupled with the intermediate metal layers (See para [0036]). Doing so would contribute to a more reliable, compact, and thermally stable packaging structure by reducing dependency on crack-prone soldering processes, and improving electrical performance (para [0041] – [0043]).
Regarding claim 6, Sakai in view of FU discloses the integrated substrate of claim 5, wherein Sakai further discloses (Fig. 2 or 7) that the intermediate metal layer has a plurality of discontinuous regions, and potentials of the plurality of discontinuous regions are not all equal (Fig. 2 or 7).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakai et al. (US 20060103004 A1, “Sakai”) in view of GREANEY et al. (US 20210352802 A1, “GREANEY”)
Regarding claim 10, In the event that a judicial tribunal finds that Sakai fails to disclose all the limitations of claim 10, claim 10 is alternately rejected under 103 over Sakai in view of GREANEY
Sakai discloses the integrated substrate of claim 1, wherein:
a) one penetrating connection structure comprising the first type of penetrating connection structure (109a, 109b, 109d, 109e) and the second type of penetrating connection structure (109c, 109f, 109g) is configured to connect only two of the top structure (First Layer), the bottom structure (Fifth Layer), and the plurality of intermediate metal layers (Second, Third and Fourth); and
Sakai is silent on b) a hole is opened in each layer except the only two of the top structure, the bottom structure, and the plurality of intermediate metal layers, in order to generate a conductor-free region for avoiding the penetrating connection structure, such that the penetrating connection structure is not connected with the each layer except the two of the top structure, the bottom structure, and the plurality of intermediate metal layers.
However, GREANEY discloses (Fig. 4A) a hole is opened in each layer (404, 406) except the only two of the top structure, the bottom structure, and the plurality of intermediate metal layers (402, 408), in order to generate a conductor-free region for avoiding the penetrating connection structure, such that the penetrating connection structure is not connected with the each layer except the two of the top structure, the bottom structure, and the plurality of intermediate metal layers (See para [0083] & [0084] and Fig. 4A).
Sakai and GREANEY are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of integrated substrate. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sakai to incorporate the teachings of GREANEY and provide a hole is opened in each layer (404, 406) except the only two of the top structure, the bottom structure, and the plurality of intermediate metal layers (402, 408), in order to generate a conductor-free region for avoiding the penetrating connection structure, such that the penetrating connection structure is not connected with the each layer except the two of the top structure, the bottom structure, and the plurality of intermediate metal layers (See para [0083] & [0084] and Fig. 4A). Doing so would improve performance (para [0084]).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakai et al. (US 20060103004 A1, “Sakai”) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Kushta (US 20130099876 A1, “Kushta”).
Regarding claim 11, Sakai discloses the integrated substrate of claim 8,
Sakai is silent on wherein a distance between an edge of the hole and the penetrating connection structure is greater than a predetermined threshold
However Kushta discloses (Fig. 3A) wherein a distance between an edge of the hole and the penetrating connection structure is greater than a predetermined threshold (since the predetermined threshold is between 0.00254 mm to 0.0254 mm, see para [0092]).
Sakai and Kushta are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of integrated substrate. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sakai to incorporate the teachings of Kushta and provide wherein a distance between an edge of the hole and the penetrating connection structure is greater than a predetermined threshold (since the predetermined threshold is between 0.00254 mm to 0.0254 mm, see para [0092]). Doing so would minimizes the capacitive discontinuity and help control the coupling.
Conclusion
/SIDI M MAIGA/Examiner, Art Unit 2847