DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 11/05/2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 12, and 17 have been amended. Claims 3, 14, and 18-23 have been canceled. Claims 1-2, 4-13, 15-17 and 24 are still pending in the application. Applicant's amendments to the specification has overcome drawings rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 05/05/2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/05/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claims 1, 12, and 17 have been amended to include the limitations previously set forth in dependent claims 18-23. Claims 18, 19, and 23 originally depended from claim 17, claim 20 originally depended from claim 19, claim 21 originally depended from claim 20, and claim 22 originally depended from claim 21.
In response to applicant's arguments at page 10, that Negri et al. (US Pub 2021/0191279 A1)(hereinafter “Negri”), Adel et al. (US Pub 2017/0336198 A1)(hereinafter “Adel”), Van Der Mast et al. (US Pub 2012/0092636 A1)(hereinafter “Van Der Mast”), alone or in combination , fails to “ discloses, teaches, or suggest "wherein the metrology recipe comprises scanning the overlay target along a third direction different from both the first direction and the second direction, the third direction being within 10 degrees of 45 degrees from the first direction and the second direction, and a scan length along the third direction that is greater than a width of the multi-layer structure measured orthogonal to the third direction ... wherein the multi-layer structure comprises a first-layer array on a first layer with the first pitch in the first direction and the second pitch in the second direction, a second-layer grating on a second layer with the third pitch in the first direction, and a third-layer grating on a third layer with the fourth pitch in the second direction," as recited in amended Claims 1, 12, and 17”, the applicant is respectfully advised that while the claims of issued patents are interpreted in light of the specification, prosecution history, prior a rt and other claims, this is not the mode of claim interpretation to be applied during examination. During examination, the claims must be interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably allow. In re American Academy of Science Tech Center, 70 USPQ2d 1827 (Fed. Cir. May 13, 2004). In this case, Negri teaches the overlay metrology system, including the illumination source, collection optics, detectors, and controller executing a metrology recipe to measure overlay. Adel teaches the multi-layer overlay targets, each layer having periodic structures with orthogonal orientations and differing pitches, including a first- layer array and gratings on upper layers, and scanning the targets along a diagonal (~45°) direction. Because the diagonal scan inherently covers multiple targets that occupy a finite width, the scan length inherently exceeds the width of any single multi-layer structure orthogonal to the scan direction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 12-13, 15-17, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Negri et al. (US Pub 2021/0191279 A1)(hereinafter “Negri”) in view of Adel et al. (US Pub 2017/0336198 A1)(hereinafter “Adel”).
Regarding claim 1, Negri teaches an overlay metrology system (system 100, “measuring misregistration in the manufacture of semiconductor device wafers,” [0026]) comprising:
an illumination sub-system (imager 110, figure 1, [0029-0030]) comprising:
an illumination source (“the imager 110 can include an illumination source,” [0029]) configured to generate an illumination beam([0029-0030] teaches the imager 110 includes an illumination source and an illumination pathway, together form the function of generating the illumination beam); a collection sub-system (collection pathway, “the imager 110 includes or is coupled with a detector configured to capture radiation emanating from the multilayered semiconductor device wafer through a collection pathway,” [0031]) comprising:
one or more detectors(the imager 110 includes or is coupled with a detector, [0031]); and an objective lens ([0031] teaches the collection pathway include an objective lens) configured to collect measurement light emanating from a sample in response to the illumination beam as the sample is scanned[0031] teaches the use of an objective lens to collect light from the sample), wherein the sample (multilayered semiconductor device wafer, [0031]) comprises an overlay target(misregistration measurement target 130, [0028]) according to a metrology recipe(procedural flow method 300 shown in figure 3, [0090-0094]); and
a controller (system 100 includes TIS knob 121, [0027]) communicatively coupled to the collection sub-system (collection pathway), the controller comprising one or more processors configured to execute program instructions causing the one or more processors to execute the metrology recipe (procedural flow method 300 shown in figure 3, [0090-0094])by:
receiving detection signals from one or more detectors from an overlay target of a sample(imager 110 captures images of periodic structures. Offset quantifiers 118, 120 receive and analyze these signals to determine misregistration, [0059-0060]);
determining one or more overlay measurements (misregistration measurements)of the overlay target(misregistration measurement target 130) based on the detection signals(teaches the system determines misregistration errors based on signals detected by the imager and processed by the processors, [0046] ); and
wherein the overlay target (misregistration measurement target 130), according to the metrology recipe(procedural flow method 300 shown in figure 3, [0090-0094]), comprises a multi-layer structure on two or more layers of a cell of the sample (teaches multi-layer structure consisting of periodic structures (first and second periodic structures 140 and 142), [0035]), the multi-layer structure comprising structures in each layer having one or more pitches (N and P, [0035]) in one or more directions of periodicity (pitches, N and P in different directions, [0035]),
wherein the multi-layer structure comprises the structures ([0037] teaches distinct pitches in orthogonal (x/y) directions) with a first pitch in a first direction ([0037] teaches pitch N of periodic structure 140 in structure set 146, x-direction ), a second pitch in a second direction ([0037] teaches pitch P of periodic structure 142 in structure set 146, y-direction ), a third pitch in the first direction ([0037] teaches pitch N in structure set 148, same direction as first, but may differ in value), and a fourth pitch in the second direction([0037] teaches pitch P in structure set 148, [0037]), wherein at least one of the first pitch or the third pitch is different than at least one of the second pitch or the fourth pitch ([0037] teaches different pitch combinations ),
wherein the metrology recipe comprises scanning the overlay target along a third direction (z-direction, [0050-0054] teaches planes 141 (first periodic structure) and 162 (Talbot image) are separated by a perpendicular distance 166 in the z-direction) different from the first direction and the second direction ([0050] teaches z-direction is different from x (pitch N) and y (pitch P) directions ).
Negri fails to expressly disclose the third direction being within 10 degrees of 45 degrees from the first direction and the second direction, and a scan length along the third direction that is greater than a width of the multi-layer structure measured orthogonal to the third direction, wherein the multi-layer structure comprises a first-layer array on a first layer with the first pitch in the first direction and the second pitch in the second direction, a second-layer grating on a second layer with the third pitch in the first direction, and a third-layer grating on a third layer with the fourth pitch in the second direction.
Adel teaches the third direction (coordinate system rotated to align with diagonal overlay, [0084] teaches overlay across a diagonal direction) being within 10 degrees of 45 degrees (teaches structures arranged at a 45° angle, “possibly at an angle of 45 degrees,” [0086]) from the first direction and the second direction ([0086] teaches the angular relationship, diagonally oriented, close to 45° from the x and y axes), and a scan length along the third direction that is greater than a width of the multi-layer structure measured orthogonal to the third direction (discloses scanning multiple SCOL overlay targets arranged at angles to the X and Y axes of the sample to measure overlay along a diagonal direction, because the scan covers multiple targets and the targets themselves occupy a finite width, the scan length along this diagonal direction inherently exceeds the width of any single multi-layer structure measured orthogonal to that direction, [0084-0086]),
wherein the multi-layer structure (discloses multiple patterned layers forming the overlay target, “a target may include an indefinite number of layers, with all or some of these layers having structures producing predefined offsets”, [0085]) comprises a first-layer array on a first layer with the first pitch in the first direction and the second pitch in the second direction (discloses a first-layer array with 2D periodicity, structures oriented to provide X and Y overlay information, [0086]), a second-layer grating on a second layer with the third pitch in the first direction(discloses gratings oriented along one direction X, “the incident radiation could be directed to be substantially parallel to at least some of the parallel lines comprising the structures or defining the structures. This technique allows one to perform x…overlay measurements”, [0087]), and a third-layer grating on a third layer with the fourth pitch in the second direction(discloses gratings oriented orthogonally Y for overlay measurement, [0086-0087]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to integrate a third direction that is within 10 degrees of 45 degrees from the a and y directions of Adel to Negri to minimizes the need for separate measurements along the x and y directions, thereby, improving metrology efficiency, reducing system complexity, and enables faster data acquisition, leading to more accurate overlay measurements ([0084-0086]).
Regarding claim 2, Negri teaches wherein the scanning of the sample ([0092-0094] teaches imaging in multiple orientations) comprises one or more scans([0092-0094] teaches first and second orientation) in one or more scan directions ([0026] teaches the measurement of misregistration in the x-direction and y-direction) wherein the one or more scan directions comprise the first direction and the second direction (teaches quantifying offsets in both x- and y- directions during misregistration analysis,, [0026] and [0044]).
Regarding claim 4, Negri teaches wherein the detection signals comprise first detection signals corresponding to diffraction orders ([0039] describe Talbot effects. Talbot images are created by the interference of diffracted light from a periodic structure) in the first direction ([0026] teaches offset quantifier 118 being applied in the x-direction, the signals being generated via Talbot diffraction by the imager 110, [0038] and [0044]), and second detection signals corresponding to diffraction orders in the second direction ([0026] teaches offset quantifier 120 being applied in the y-direction, the signals being generated via Talbot diffraction by the imager 110, [0038] and [0044]).
Regarding claim 5, Negri teaches wherein the determination of the one or more overlay measurements (misregistration measurements) comprises:
determining a first direction([0026] teaches offset quantifier 118 being applied in the x-direction) overlay measurement based on the first detection signals (the signals being generated via Talbot diffraction by the imager 110, [0043-0044]); and
determining a second direction([0026] teaches offset quantifier 120 being applied in the y-direction) overlay measurement based on the second detection signals (the signals being generated via Talbot diffraction by the imager 110, [0038] and [0044]).
Regarding claim 6, Negri teaches wherein the one or more detectors comprise at least one detector located in a pupil plane (teaches a detector is located in a pupil plane, [0031] and [0046]).
Regarding claim 7, Negri teaches wherein the one or more detectors comprise at least one diode array sensor (teaches detector includes an avalanche photodiode (APD), [0032]).
Regarding claim 12, Negri teaches an overlay metrology system (system 100 is described as a misregistration metrology system, [0059-0060]) comprising:
a controller(system 100 includes TIS knob 121, [0027]) comprising one or more processors configured to execute program instructions causing the one or more processors (TIS knob 121 and offset quantifiers 118 and 120 measure overlay error and adjust the system, [0060]) to execute a metrology recipe (procedural flow method 300 shown in figure 3, [0090-0094]) by:
receiving detection signals from one or more detectors from an overlay target of a sample(imager 110 captures images of periodic structures. Offset quantifiers 118, 120 receive and analyze these signals to determine misregistration, [0059-0060]);
determining one or more overlay measurements (misregistration measurements) of the overlay target (misregistration measurement target 130) based on the detection signals(teaches the system determines misregistration errors based on signals detected by the imager and processed by the processors, [0046]); and
wherein the overlay target (misregistration measurement target 130), according to the metrology recipe(procedural flow method 300 shown in figure 3, [0090-0094]), comprises a multi-layer structure on two or more layers of a cell of the sample (teaches multi-layer structure consisting of periodic structures (first and second periodic structures 140 and 142), [0035]), the multi-layer structure comprising structures in each layer having one or more pitches (N and P, [0035]) in one or more directions of periodicity (pitches, N and P in different directions, [0035]),
wherein the multi-layer structure comprises the structures ([0037] teaches distinct pitches in orthogonal (x/y) directions) with a first pitch in a first direction ([0037] teaches pitch N of periodic structure 140 in structure set 146 ), a second pitch in a second direction ([0037] teaches pitch P of periodic structure 142 in structure set 146 ), a third pitch in the first direction ([0037] teaches pitch N in structure set 148, same direction as first, but may differ in value), and a fourth pitch in the second direction([0037] teaches pitch P in structure set 148, [0037]), wherein at least one of the first pitch or the third pitch is different than at least one of the second pitch or the fourth pitch ([0037] teaches different pitch combinations).
Negri fails to expressly disclose the third direction being within 10 degrees of 45 degrees from the first direction and the second direction, and a scan length along the third direction that is greater than a width of the multi-layer structure measured orthogonal to the third direction, wherein the multi-layer structure comprises a first-layer array on a first layer with the first pitch in the first direction and the second pitch in the second direction, a second-layer grating on a second layer with the third pitch in the first direction, and a third-layer grating on a third layer with the fourth pitch in the second direction.
Adel teaches the third direction (coordinate system rotated to align with diagonal overlay, [0084] teaches overlay across a diagonal direction) being within 10 degrees of 45 degrees (teaches structures arranged at a 45° angle, “possibly at an angle of 45 degrees,” [0086]) from the first direction and the second direction ([0086] teaches the angular relationship, diagonally oriented, close to 45° from the x and y axes), and a scan length along the third direction that is greater than a width of the multi-layer structure measured orthogonal to the third direction (discloses scanning multiple SCOL overlay targets arranged at angles to the X and Y axes of the sample to measure overlay along a diagonal direction, because the scan covers multiple targets and the targets themselves occupy a finite width, the scan length along this diagonal direction inherently exceeds the width of any single multi-layer structure measured orthogonal to that direction, [0084-0086]),
wherein the multi-layer structure (discloses multiple patterned layers forming the overlay target, “a target may include an indefinite number of layers, with all or some of these layers having structures producing predefined offsets”, [0085]) comprises a first-layer array on a first layer with the first pitch in the first direction and the second pitch in the second direction (discloses a first-layer array with 2D periodicity, structures oriented to provide X and Y overlay information, [0086]), a second-layer grating on a second layer with the third pitch in the first direction(discloses gratings oriented along one direction X, “the incident radiation could be directed to be substantially parallel to at least some of the parallel lines comprising the structures or defining the structures. This technique allows one to perform x…overlay measurements”, [0087]), and a third-layer grating on a third layer with the fourth pitch in the second direction(discloses gratings oriented orthogonally Y for overlay measurement, [0086-0087]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to integrate a third direction that is within 10 degrees of 45 degrees from the a and y directions of Adel to Negri to minimizes the need for separate measurements along the x and y directions, thereby, improving metrology efficiency, reducing system complexity, and enables faster data acquisition, leading to more accurate overlay measurements ([0084-0086]).
Regarding claim 13, Negri teaches wherein the controller(system 100 includes TIS knob 121, [0027]) is further configured to execute the metrology recipe (procedural flow method 300 shown in figure 3, [0090-0094]), by scanning the sample ([0092-0094] teaches imaging in multiple orientations) along one or more scan directions ([0026] teaches the measurement of misregistration in the x-direction and y-direction), wherein the one or more scan directions comprise the first direction and the second direction (teaches quantifying offsets in both x- and y- directions during misregistration analysis, [0026] and [0044]).
Regarding claim 15, Negri teaches wherein the one or more detectors comprise at least one detector located in a pupil plane (teaches a detector is located in a pupil plane, [0031] and [0046]).
Regarding claim 16, Negri teaches wherein the one or more detectors comprise at least one diode array sensor (teaches detector includes an avalanche photodiode (APD), [0032]).
Regarding claim 17, Negri teaches an overlay metrology target (misregistration measurement target 130) comprising:
a multi-layer structure on two or more layers of a cell of a sample(teaches multi-layer structure consisting of periodic structures (first and second periodic structures 140 and 142), [0035]), the multi-layer structure comprising structures in each layer having one or more pitches (N and P, [0035]) in one or more directions of periodicity (pitches, N and P in different directions, [0035]),
wherein the multi-layer structure comprises the structures ([0037] teaches distinct pitches in orthogonal (x/y) directions) with a first pitch in a first direction ([0037] teaches pitch N of periodic structure 140 in structure set 146, x-direction), a second pitch in a second direction ([0037] teaches pitch P of periodic structure 142 in structure set 146, y-direction ), a third pitch in the first direction ([0037] teaches pitch N in structure set 148, same direction as first, but may differ in value), and a fourth pitch in the second direction([0037] teaches pitch P in structure set 148), wherein at least one of the first pitch or the third pitch is different than at least one of the second pitch or the fourth pitch ([0037] teaches different pitch combinations).
Negri fails to expressly disclose the third direction being within 10 degrees of 45 degrees from the first direction and the second direction, and a scan length along the third direction that is greater than a width of the multi-layer structure measured orthogonal to the third direction, wherein the multi-layer structure comprises a first-layer array on a first layer with the first pitch in the first direction and the second pitch in the second direction, a second-layer grating on a second layer with the third pitch in the first direction, and a third-layer grating on a third layer with the fourth pitch in the second direction.
Adel teaches the third direction (coordinate system rotated to align with diagonal overlay, [0084] teaches overlay across a diagonal direction) being within 10 degrees of 45 degrees (teaches structures arranged at a 45° angle, “possibly at an angle of 45 degrees,” [0086]) from the first direction and the second direction ([0086] teaches the angular relationship, diagonally oriented, close to 45° from the x and y axes), and a scan length along the third direction that is greater than a width of the multi-layer structure measured orthogonal to the third direction (discloses scanning multiple SCOL overlay targets arranged at angles to the X and Y axes of the sample to measure overlay along a diagonal direction, because the scan covers multiple targets and the targets themselves occupy a finite width, the scan length along this diagonal direction inherently exceeds the width of any single multi-layer structure measured orthogonal to that direction, [0084-0086]),
wherein the multi-layer structure (discloses multiple patterned layers forming the overlay target, “a target may include an indefinite number of layers, with all or some of these layers having structures producing predefined offsets”, [0085]) comprises a first-layer array on a first layer with the first pitch in the first direction and the second pitch in the second direction (discloses a first-layer array with 2D periodicity, structures oriented to provide X and Y overlay information, [0086]), a second-layer grating on a second layer with the third pitch in the first direction(discloses gratings oriented along one direction X, “the incident radiation could be directed to be substantially parallel to at least some of the parallel lines comprising the structures or defining the structures. This technique allows one to perform x…overlay measurements”, [0087]), and a third-layer grating on a third layer with the fourth pitch in the second direction(discloses gratings oriented orthogonally Y for overlay measurement, [0086-0087]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to integrate a third direction that is within 10 degrees of 45 degrees from the a and y directions of Adel to Negri to minimizes the need for separate measurements along the x and y directions, thereby, improving metrology efficiency, reducing system complexity, and enables faster data acquisition, leading to more accurate overlay measurements ([0084-0086]).
Regarding claim 24, Negri teaches wherein the multi-layer structure further comprises:
a second-layer array (structure set 148 on second layer 124, [0037]) on a second layer with the third pitch ([0037] teaches pitch N in structure set 148, same direction as first, but may differ in value) in the first direction (x-direction, [0037] and [0044]) and the fourth pitch (pitch P of structure 142 in structure set 148, [0037]) in the second direction (y-direction, [0037] and [0044]).
Claims 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Negri et al. (US Pub 2021/0191279 A1)(hereinafter “Negri”) in view of Van Der Mast et al. (US Pub 2012/0092636 A1)(hereinafter “Van Der Mast”).
Regarding claim 8, Negri fails to teach wherein an illumination pupil plane distribution of the illumination beam is circular.
Van Der Mast in the field of optical metrology for semiconductor lithography teaches wherein an illumination pupil plane distribution of the illumination beam is circular (teaches a circular aperture being used to define the illumination, [0047], [0056] and [0061]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to integrate a circular illumination pupil plane distribution of Van Der Mast to Negri to enhance the collection of specular and low-order diffraction signals by providing a uniform distribution of light across the optical pupil ([0063]). Therefore, it would improve the overall signal quality and measurement accuracy in overlay metrology for semiconductor manufacturing ([0050]).
Regarding claim 9, Negri teaches wherein an illumination pupil plane distribution of the illumination beam is annular.
Van Der Mast in the field of optical metrology for semiconductor lithography teaches wherein an illumination pupil plane distribution of the illumination beam is annular(teaches using an annular aperture for 1st order overlay measurements, [0047], [0056] and [0061]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to integrate an annular illumination pupil plane distribution of Van Der Mast to Negri to enhance the collection of specular and low-order diffraction signals by providing a uniform distribution of light across the optical pupil ([0063]). Therefore, it would improve the overall signal quality and measurement accuracy in overlay metrology for semiconductor manufacturing ([0050]).
Regarding claim 10, Negri fails to teach wherein the detection signals include time-varying interference signals associated with overlap between first-order diffraction and zero order diffraction from the multi-layer structure.
Van Der Mast in the field of optical metrology for semiconductor lithography teaches wherein the detection signals include time-varying interference signals (teaches reference and alignment beams that interact with diffracted light in a real-time detection system, [0037]. This inherently produces dynamic interference signals) associated with overlap between first-order diffraction and zero order diffraction from the multi-layer structure(teaches scattering of zero-order and higher-order diffraction, which suggests that the system detects and uses theses diffraction orders in its measurements. The diffraction occurs from grating targets on a multilayer wafer, [0047]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to integrate the detection signals that include time-varying interference signals associated with overlap between first-order diffraction and zero order diffraction from the multilayer wafer of Van Der Mast to Negri to enhance overlay metrology performance by supporting fast, precise, and dynamic measurements, thereby improving measurement sensitivity and real-time process control in semiconductor manufacturing environments ([0037-0038] and [0050]).
Regarding claim 11, Negri teaches the illumination sub-system (imager 110, figure 1, [0029-0030]), but fails to teach further comprising a beamsplitter configured to generate an external beam as a portion of the illumination beam, wherein the detection signals include time-varying interference signals associated with overlap between first-order diffraction from the multi-layer structure and the external beam.
Van Der Mast in the field of optical metrology for semiconductor lithography teaches further comprising a beamsplitter (beamsplitter 16, [0041] and [0048]) configured to generate an external beam as a portion of the illumination beam(beamsplitter 16 splits off a reference beam for calibration, [0041] and [0048]), wherein the detection signals include time-varying interference signals (teaches reference and alignment beams that interact with diffracted light in a real-time detection system, [0037]. This inherently produces dynamic interference signals) associated with overlap between first-order diffraction from the multi-layer structure(teaches scattering of first-order diffraction. The diffraction occurs from grating targets on a multilayer wafer, [0047] and [0061]) and the external beam (reference beam, [0041]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to integrate a beamsplitter into the illumination sub-system to generate an external beam enables the production of time-varying interference signals through interaction between the first-order diffraction from the multilayer wafer and the external beam of Van Der Mast to Negri to enhance overlay metrology performance by supporting fast, precise, and dynamic measurements, thereby improving measurement sensitivity and real-time process control in semiconductor manufacturing environments ([0037-0038] and [0050]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTINA I XING/ Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/Kara E. Geisel/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877