DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 1-16 in the reply filed on 1/6/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al (US 2021/0126219).
With respect to Claim 1, Lee et al discloses a display device (Figures 5-6), comprising a display panel (Figure 5, DP) including a substrate (Figure 6, SUB), a driving device (Figure 5, DDV) dispersed on the substrate, and a light emitting device (Figure 6, OLED) disposed on the substrate and electrically connected to the driving device, a window (Figure 12, WIN_1, space between the PTL, printed layer) disposed on the display panel (Figure 12, DP) ; a printed layer (Figure 12, PTL) disposed between the display panel and the window, where the printed layer includes a light blocking material (paragraph 112); a first functional layer (Figure 12, ASL) disposed between the display panel ( Figure 12, DP) and the window Figure 12, WIN_1, space between the PTL, printed layer) ; a second functional layer (Figures 11-12,AL, AGL) disposed on the window; a third functional layer (Figures 11-12, AL, ARL) disposed on the second functional layer; and a fourth functional layer (Figures 11-12, AL, AFL) disposed on the third functional layer. See Figures 5-6 and 11-12 and corresponding text, especially paragraphs 52-53, 63-65 and 94-111.
With respect to Claim 2, Lee discloses wherein the printed layer (Figure 12, PTL) defines an opening exposing at least a portion of the window, and wherein the first functional layer (Figure 12, ASL) is disposed in the opening. See Figure 12 and corresponding text, especially paragraphs 94-111.
With respect to Claim 3, Lee discloses wherein the first functional layer (Figure 12, ASL) is disposed between the window and the printed layer (Figure 12, PTL) , and wherein the printed layer defines an opening exposing at least a portion of the first functional layer. See Figure 12 and corresponding text, especially paragraphs 94-111.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 2021/0126219).
Lee et al is relied upon as discussed above.
However, Lee et al do not disclose the use of the physical characteristics (index of refraction or thickness) or the use of multiple layers or the use of an antireflection layer comprising a color filter and a light blocking layer.
With respect to Claim 10, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention to select the optimum refractive index of the functional layers in the device of Lee, for their known benefit in the art of reducing scattering or reflection of the light. The use of an optimum physical property for its known benefit would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
With respect to Claim 11, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention to select the optimum thicknesses in the device of Lee, as changes in size are prima facie obvious. See In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
With respect to Claim 12, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention to use duplicate layers in the device of Lee, as duplication of known parts for their known benefit, is prima facie obvious in the absence of unobvious results. See In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
With respect to Claim 13, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention to select the optimum thicknesses in the device of Lee, as changes in size are prima facie obvious. See In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
With respect to Claim 14, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention to use duplicate layers in the device of Lee, as duplication of known parts for their known benefit, is prima facie obvious in the absence of unobvious results. See In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
With respect to Claim 15, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention to select the optimum thicknesses in the device of Lee, as changes in size are prima facie obvious. See In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
With respect to Claim 16, Lee also discloses the use of anti-reflective layers. See Claim 20. Moreover, the Examiner takes Official Notice that the use of color filters in display devices is well known in the art. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention to use color filters in the device of Lee, as the use of known components for their known benefit would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
AGG
March 2, 2026
/ALEXANDER G GHYKA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812