DETAILED ACTION
This OA is in response to the amendment filled on 4/29/2026 that has been entered, wherein claims 1-20 are pending.
Specification
The objection to the specification is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendment of 4/29/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 11-14 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (CN 113160729A) in view of Chang (US 2010/0295567 A1) both of record.
Regarding claim 1, Liu teaches a display device(Fig. 10) comprising:
a substrate(10) including a display area(AA, Fig. 3) and a pad area(BA, Fig. 3), the pad area(BA, Fig. 3) being located around the display area(AA, Fig. 3) and adjacent to one side of the display area(AA, Fig. 3);
a flexible printed circuit board(30, ¶0063) disposed in the pad area(BA, Fig. 3) on the substrate(10) and including a first bump part(31 connected to 81, ¶0058) and a plurality of test points(81, 82, ¶0063) connected to the first bump part(31 connected to 81, ¶0058);
a driving integrated circuit(20, ¶0057) disposed in the pad area(BA, Fig. 3) on the substrate(10), spaced apart from the flexible printed circuit board(30, ¶0063) and including a second bump part(22 connected to 81, ¶0058);
a signal line(53, ¶0058) disposed in the pad area(BA, Fig. 3) on the substrate(10) and connecting the first bump part(31 connected to 81, ¶0058) and the second bump part(22 connected to 81, ¶0058).
Liu is not relied on to teach a plurality of control parts disposed in the pad area(BA, Fig. 3) on the substrate(10) and connected to the signal line(53, ¶0058) between the first bump part(31 connected to 81, ¶0058) and the second bump part(22 connected to 81, ¶0058).
Chang teaches a display device(Fig. 2) comprising a plurality of control parts(50, ¶0059) disposed in the pad area(18) on the substrate(12) and connected to the signal line(34, ¶0059) between the first bump part(P2, P3, ¶0059) and the second bump part(C2, C3, ¶0059). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Liu, to include a plurality of control parts disposed in the pad area on the substrate and connected to the signal line between the first bump part and the second bump part as taught by Chang, in order to measure the bonding resistance between the bumps and the COG bonding pads(¶0059).
Regarding claim 2, Liu teaches the display device of claim 1, but is not relied on to teach the plurality of control parts includes:
a first control part connected to the first bump part(31 connected to 81, ¶0058); and
a second control part connected to the second bump part(22 connected to 81, ¶0058).
Chang teaches a display device(Fig. 2) wherein the plurality of control parts(50, ¶0059) includes a first control part(source of 50, ¶0059) connected to the first bump part(P2, P3, ¶0059); and a second control part(drain of 50, ¶0059) connected to the second bump part(C2, C3, ¶0059). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Liu, so that the plurality of control parts includes a first control part connected to the first bump part; and a second control part connected to the second bump part, as taught by Chang, in order to measure the bonding resistance between the bumps and the COG bonding pads(¶0059).
Regarding claim 3, Liu teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein a total number of the plurality of test points(81, 82, ¶0063) is four(Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 4, Liu teaches the display device of claim 2, wherein the flexible printed circuit board(30, ¶0063) further includes a third bump part(31 connected to 82, ¶0058) spaced apart from the first bump part(31 connected to 81, ¶0058), and the driving integrated circuit(20, ¶0057) further includes a fourth bump part(22 connected to 81, ¶0058) spaced apart from the second bump part(22 connected to 81, ¶0058).
Regarding claim 11, Liu teaches a display device(Fig. 10) comprising:
a substrate(10) including a display area(AA, Fig. 3) and a pad area(BA, Fig. 3), the pad area(BA, Fig. 3) being located around the display area(AA, Fig. 3) and adjacent to one side of the display area(AA, Fig. 3);
a flexible printed circuit board(30, ¶0063) disposed in the pad area(BA, Fig. 3) on the substrate(10) and including a first bump part(31 connected to 81, ¶0058), a second bump part(22 connected to 81, ¶0058) spaced apart from the first bump part(31 connected to 81, ¶0058), a plurality of first test points(81, ¶0063) connected to the first bump part(31 connected to 81, ¶0058) and a plurality of second test points(82, ¶0063) connected to the second bump part(22 connected to 81, ¶0058);
a driving integrated circuit(20, ¶0057) disposed in the pad area(BA, Fig. 3) on the substrate(10), spaced apart from the flexible printed circuit board(30, ¶0063) and including a third bump part(31 connected to 82, ¶0058) and a fourth bump part(22 connected to 81, ¶0058) spaced apart from the third bump part(31 connected to 82, ¶0058);
a signal line(53, ¶0058) disposed in the pad area(BA, Fig. 3) on the substrate(10) and connecting the first bump part(31 connected to 81, ¶0058) and the third bump part(31 connected to 82, ¶0058) and connecting the second bump part(22 connected to 81, ¶0058) and the fourth bump part(22 connected to 81, ¶0058).
Liu is not relied on to teach a plurality of control parts disposed in the pad area(BA, Fig. 3) on the substrate(10) and connected to the signal line(53, ¶0058).
Chang teaches a display device(Fig. 2) comprising a plurality of control parts(50, ¶0059) disposed in the pad area(18) on the substrate(12) and connected to the signal line(34, ¶0059). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Liu, to include a plurality of control parts disposed in the pad area on the substrate and connected to the signal line as taught by Chang, in order to measure the bonding resistance between the bumps and the COG bonding pads(¶0059).
Regarding claim 12, Liu teaches the display device of claim 11, but is not relied on to teach the plurality of control parts includes: a first control part connected to the first bump part(31 connected to 81, ¶0058);
a second control part connected to the second bump part(22 connected to 81, ¶0058);
a third control part connected to the third bump part(31 connected to 82, ¶0058); and
a fourth control part connected to the fourth bump part(22 connected to 81, ¶0058).
Chang teaches a display device(Fig. 2) wherein the plurality of control parts(50, ¶0059) includes a first control part(source of 50, ¶0059) connected to the first bump part(P2, ¶0059); and a second control part(drain of 50, ¶0059) connected to the second bump part(C2, ¶0059), a third control part(source of 50, ¶0059) connected to the third bump part(P3, ¶0059); and a fourth control part(drain of 50, ¶0059) connected to the fourth bump part(C3, ¶0059). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Liu, so that the plurality of control parts includes a first control part connected to the first bump part; and a second control part connected to the second bump part, a third control part connected to the third bump part; and a fourth control part connected to the fourth bump part as taught by Chang, in order to measure the bonding resistance between the bumps and the COG bonding pads(¶0059).
Regarding claim 13, Liu teaches the display device of claim 11, wherein a total number of the plurality of first test points(81, ¶0063) and a total number of the plurality of second test points(82, ¶0063) each are four(Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 14, Liu teaches the display device of claim 12, wherein the signal line(53, ¶0058) includes a first signal line(53, ¶0058) and a second signal line(53, ¶0058) spaced apart from the first signal line(53, ¶0058), and wherein the first signal line(53, ¶0058) connects the first bump part(31 connected to 81, ¶0058) and the third bump part(31 connected to 82, ¶0058), and the second signal line(53, ¶0058) connects the second bump part(22 connected to 81, ¶0058) and the fourth bump part(22 connected to 81, ¶0058).
Regarding claim 17, Liu teaches the display device of claim 12, but is not relied on to teach each of the first, second, third and fourth control parts includes a plurality of transistors.
Chang teaches a display device(Fig. 2) wherein each of the first(source of 50, ¶0059), second(drain of 50, ¶0059), third(source of 50, ¶0059) and fourth(drain of 50, ¶0059) control parts includes a plurality of transistors(50, ¶0059). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Liu, so that each of the first, second, third and fourth control parts includes a plurality of transistors, as taught by Chang, in order to measure the bonding resistance between the bumps and the COG bonding pads(¶0059).
Regarding claim 18, Liu teaches the display device of claim 17, but is not relied on to teach each of the plurality of transistors is a switching transistor.
Chang teaches a display device(Fig. 2) wherein each of the plurality of transistors(50, ¶0059) is a switching transistor(¶0059). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Liu, so that each of the first, second, third and fourth control parts includes a plurality of transistors, as taught by Chang, in order to measure the bonding resistance between the bumps and the COG bonding pads(¶0059).
Regarding claim 19, Liu teaches the display device of claim 17, but is not relied on to teach the plurality of transistors included in one control part among the first, second, third and fourth control parts receive a same signal.
Chang teaches a display device(Fig. 2) wherein the plurality of transistors(50, ¶0059) included in one control part(50, ¶0059) among of the first(source of 50, ¶0059), second(drain of 50, ¶0059), third(source of 50, ¶0059) and fourth(drain of 50, ¶0059) receive a same signal(¶0059). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Liu, so that the plurality of transistors included in one control part among the first, second, third and fourth control parts receive a same signal, as taught by Chang, in order to measure the bonding resistance between the bumps and the COG bonding pads(¶0059).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-10, 15-16 and 20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Please see the OA of 4/29/26 for reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant’s argue it is respectfully submitted that Liu and Chang does not disclose a technical feature of the present application "a plurality of control parts". Specifically, a plurality of control parts CP 1, CP3 of the present application are
connected to a signal line SL connecting a first bump part BP1 of a flexible printed circuit board FPC and the third bump part BP3 of a driving integrated circuit IC, and connecting the second bump part BP2 of the flexible printed circuit board FPC and the fourth bump part BP4 of the driving integrated circuit IC.
The examiner respectfully submits that first switch 50 has a plurality of control parts including a source, drain, gate and gate dielectric. And thus Chang teaches a display device(Fig. 2) comprising a plurality of control parts(50, ¶0059) disposed in the pad area(18) on the substrate(12) and connected to the signal line(34, ¶0059).
Applicant argues further, the first switch transistor 50 of Chang only connects the COG bonding pads C2, C3 between the COG bonding pads C2, C3.Chang does not disclose any element in which the conductive lines 34 are connected between the test pads P1, P2, P3, P4 and the bonding pads C1, C2, C3, C4.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Chang test pad P2 is connected to conductive line 34 which is connected to bonding pad C2 which is connected to states at [0059] “the second bonding pad C2 and the third bonding pad C3 are serial connected by the first switch transistor 50. When the first switch transistor is turned on, the second bonding pad C2 and the third bonding pad C3 are electrically connected to each other”. Thus Chang teaches the signal line(34, ¶0059) between the first bump part(P2, P3, ¶0059) and the second bump part(C2, C3, ¶0059).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAURA M DYKES/Examiner, Art Unit 2892