DETAILED ACTION
This OA is in response to the claims filled on 8/17/2023 that has been entered, wherein claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/17/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 11-14 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (CN 113160729A) in view of Chang (US 2010/0295567 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Liu teaches a display device(Fig. 10) comprising:
a substrate(10) including a display area(AA, Fig. 3) and a pad area(BA, Fig. 3), the pad area(BA, Fig. 3) being located around the display area(AA, Fig. 3) and adjacent to one side of the display area(AA, Fig. 3);
a flexible printed circuit board(30, ¶0063) disposed in the pad area(BA, Fig. 3) on the substrate(10) and including a first bump part(31 connected to 81, ¶0058) and a plurality of test points(81, 82, ¶0063) connected to the first bump part(31 connected to 81, ¶0058);
a driving integrated circuit(20, ¶0057) disposed in the pad area(BA, Fig. 3) on the substrate(10), spaced apart from the flexible printed circuit board(30, ¶0063) and including a second bump part(22 connected to 81, ¶0058);
a signal line(53, ¶0058) disposed in the pad area(BA, Fig. 3) on the substrate(10) and connecting the first bump part(31 connected to 81, ¶0058) and the second bump part(22 connected to 81, ¶0058).
Liu is not relied on to teach a plurality of control parts disposed in the pad area(BA, Fig. 3) on the substrate(10) and connected to the signal line(53, ¶0058) between the first bump part(31 connected to 81, ¶0058) and the second bump part(22 connected to 81, ¶0058).
Chang teaches a display device(Fig. 2) comprising a plurality of control parts(50, ¶0059) disposed in the pad area(18) on the substrate(12) and connected to the signal line(34, ¶0059) between the first bump part(P2, P3, ¶0059) and the second bump part(C2, C3, ¶0059). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Liu, to include a plurality of control parts disposed in the pad area on the substrate and connected to the signal line between the first bump part and the second bump part as taught by Chang, in order to measure the bonding resistance between the bumps and the COG bonding pads(¶0059).
Regarding claim 2, Liu teaches the display device of claim 1, but is not relied on to teach the plurality of control parts includes:
a first control part connected to the first bump part(31 connected to 81, ¶0058); and
a second control part connected to the second bump part(22 connected to 81, ¶0058).
Chang teaches a display device(Fig. 2) wherein the plurality of control parts(50, ¶0059) includes a first control part(source of 50, ¶0059) connected to the first bump part(P2, P3, ¶0059); and a second control part(drain of 50, ¶0059) connected to the second bump part(C2, C3, ¶0059). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Liu, so that the plurality of control parts includes a first control part connected to the first bump part; and a second control part connected to the second bump part, as taught by Chang, in order to measure the bonding resistance between the bumps and the COG bonding pads(¶0059).
Regarding claim 3, Liu teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein a total number of the plurality of test points(81, 82, ¶0063) is four(Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 4, Liu teaches the display device of claim 2, wherein the flexible printed circuit board(30, ¶0063) further includes a third bump part(31 connected to 82, ¶0058) spaced apart from the first bump part(31 connected to 81, ¶0058), and the driving integrated circuit(20, ¶0057) further includes a fourth bump part(22 connected to 81, ¶0058) spaced apart from the second bump part(22 connected to 81, ¶0058).
Regarding claim 11, Liu teaches a display device(Fig. 10) comprising:
a substrate(10) including a display area(AA, Fig. 3) and a pad area(BA, Fig. 3), the pad area(BA, Fig. 3) being located around the display area(AA, Fig. 3) and adjacent to one side of the display area(AA, Fig. 3);
a flexible printed circuit board(30, ¶0063) disposed in the pad area(BA, Fig. 3) on the substrate(10) and including a first bump part(31 connected to 81, ¶0058), a second bump part(22 connected to 81, ¶0058) spaced apart from the first bump part(31 connected to 81, ¶0058), a plurality of first test points(81, ¶0063) connected to the first bump part(31 connected to 81, ¶0058) and a plurality of second test points(82, ¶0063) connected to the second bump part(22 connected to 81, ¶0058);
a driving integrated circuit(20, ¶0057) disposed in the pad area(BA, Fig. 3) on the substrate(10), spaced apart from the flexible printed circuit board(30, ¶0063) and including a third bump part(31 connected to 82, ¶0058) and a fourth bump part(22 connected to 81, ¶0058) spaced apart from the third bump part(31 connected to 82, ¶0058);
a signal line(53, ¶0058) disposed in the pad area(BA, Fig. 3) on the substrate(10) and connecting the first bump part(31 connected to 81, ¶0058) and the third bump part(31 connected to 82, ¶0058) and connecting the second bump part(22 connected to 81, ¶0058) and the fourth bump part(22 connected to 81, ¶0058).
Liu is not relied on to teach a plurality of control parts disposed in the pad area(BA, Fig. 3) on the substrate(10) and connected to the signal line(53, ¶0058).
Chang teaches a display device(Fig. 2) comprising a plurality of control parts(50, ¶0059) disposed in the pad area(18) on the substrate(12) and connected to the signal line(34, ¶0059). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Liu, to include a plurality of control parts disposed in the pad area on the substrate and connected to the signal line as taught by Chang, in order to measure the bonding resistance between the bumps and the COG bonding pads(¶0059).
Regarding claim 12, Liu teaches the display device of claim 11, but is not relied on to teach the plurality of control parts includes: a first control part connected to the first bump part(31 connected to 81, ¶0058);
a second control part connected to the second bump part(22 connected to 81, ¶0058);
a third control part connected to the third bump part(31 connected to 82, ¶0058); and
a fourth control part connected to the fourth bump part(22 connected to 81, ¶0058).
Chang teaches a display device(Fig. 2) wherein the plurality of control parts(50, ¶0059) includes a first control part(source of 50, ¶0059) connected to the first bump part(P2, ¶0059); and a second control part(drain of 50, ¶0059) connected to the second bump part(C2, ¶0059), a third control part(source of 50, ¶0059) connected to the third bump part(P3, ¶0059); and a fourth control part(drain of 50, ¶0059) connected to the fourth bump part(C3, ¶0059). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Liu, so that the plurality of control parts includes a first control part connected to the first bump part; and a second control part connected to the second bump part, a third control part connected to the third bump part; and a fourth control part connected to the fourth bump part as taught by Chang, in order to measure the bonding resistance between the bumps and the COG bonding pads(¶0059).
Regarding claim 13, Liu teaches the display device of claim 11, wherein a total number of the plurality of first test points(81, ¶0063) and a total number of the plurality of second test points(82, ¶0063) each are four(Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 14, Liu teaches the display device of claim 12, wherein the signal line(53, ¶0058) includes a first signal line(53, ¶0058) and a second signal line(53, ¶0058) spaced apart from the first signal line(53, ¶0058), and wherein the first signal line(53, ¶0058) connects the first bump part(31 connected to 81, ¶0058) and the third bump part(31 connected to 82, ¶0058), and the second signal line(53, ¶0058) connects the second bump part(22 connected to 81, ¶0058) and the fourth bump part(22 connected to 81, ¶0058).
Regarding claim 17, Liu teaches the display device of claim 12, but is not relied on to teach each of the first, second, third and fourth control parts includes a plurality of transistors.
Chang teaches a display device(Fig. 2) wherein each of the first(source of 50, ¶0059), second(drain of 50, ¶0059), third(source of 50, ¶0059) and fourth(drain of 50, ¶0059) control parts includes a plurality of transistors(50, ¶0059). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Liu, so that each of the first, second, third and fourth control parts includes a plurality of transistors, as taught by Chang, in order to measure the bonding resistance between the bumps and the COG bonding pads(¶0059).
Regarding claim 18, Liu teaches the display device of claim 17, but is not relied on to teach each of the plurality of transistors is a switching transistor.
Chang teaches a display device(Fig. 2) wherein each of the plurality of transistors(50, ¶0059) is a switching transistor(¶0059). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Liu, so that each of the first, second, third and fourth control parts includes a plurality of transistors, as taught by Chang, in order to measure the bonding resistance between the bumps and the COG bonding pads(¶0059).
Regarding claim 19, Liu teaches the display device of claim 17, but is not relied on to teach the plurality of transistors included in one control part among the first, second, third and fourth control parts receive a same signal.
Chang teaches a display device(Fig. 2) wherein the plurality of transistors(50, ¶0059) included in one control par(50, ¶0059)t among of the first(source of 50, ¶0059), second(drain of 50, ¶0059), third(source of 50, ¶0059) and fourth(drain of 50, ¶0059) receive a same signal(¶0059). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Liu, so that the plurality of transistors included in one control part among the first, second, third and fourth control parts receive a same signal, as taught by Chang, in order to measure the bonding resistance between the bumps and the COG bonding pads(¶0059).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-10, 15-16 and 20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding dependent claim 5, the prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious the claimed subject matter of the instant application as a whole either taken alone or in combination, in particular, prior art of record does not teach “a first connection line connecting the first bump part and the third bump part”,
Claims 6-10 depend on claim 5 and inherit it’s allowable subject matter.
Regarding dependent claim 15, the prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious the claimed subject matter of the instant application as a whole either taken alone or in combination, in particular, prior art of record does not teach “the first signal line connects the first control part and the third control part”.
Claim 16 depends on claim 15 and inherits it allowable subject matter.
Regarding dependent claim 20, the prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious the claimed subject matter of the instant application as a whole either taken alone or in combination, in particular, prior art of record does not teach “the plurality of transistors included in each of the first control part and the second control part receive a first signal, and the plurality of transistors included in each of the third control part and the fourth control part receive a second signal”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ni et al. (US 2010/0295567 A1) Discloses a display device.
Moriwaki et al. (US 20110170274 A1) Discloses a display device.
/LAURA M DYKES/Examiner, Art Unit 2892