DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim(s) 14 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Shin et al (KR 2018-0076823 and its machine translation) . Shin et al disclose a curable composition and polymer comprising a unit (and compound) meeting the limitations of the instant formula (1). In the formula, the instant R1 is H ior methyl, R2 and R3 are H, n1 is 1 with R5 and R6 H, n2 is 0 and R7 and R8 are not present, and R9 and R10 are alkyl or join to form a ring (instant claims 14, 17, 19, and 20). In the polymer, the unit is included in an amount of 10 to 50 mol % (instant claim 18). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim (s) 1 -9 and 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masuyama et al (2017/0329223). Masuyama et al disclose a resist composition comprising an acid generator and a resin, wherein the resin may include a unit falling within the scope of the instant formula (1). In the instant formula, R1 is methyl (may be H), R2 and R3 are H, n1 is 1 with R5 and R6 H, n2 is 0 with R7 and R8 not present, and R9 and R10 join to form a ring. Other monomers of the formula as seen below demonstrate wherein the ring is also able to include R9 and R10 as alkyl groups (instant claims 1 and 5). In the examples, the monomer is included in the polymer in amounts of 5 mol %, but may be included in the amount as for 1 to 30 mol % (([0101]; instant claim 5) . It is noted that these monomers are taught to be known in the art in similar resist materials in comparative examples wherein the monomer of reference formula (1) is superior, however this polymer and monomer is clearly disclosed as known in the art and used in a method as set forth by the reference. Additional monomers include those having tertiary carbon atoms as part of an acid labile group meeting the limitations of the instant formula (2) (instant claim 3), and lactone-containing and sultone -containing units ( examples, [0082]; instant claim 4). The composition further comprises a solvent and a quencher (base; instant claims 1 and 2; see Table 2) . The method of patterning includes the steps as set forth by the instant claim 7, wherein the radiation includes EUV and ebeam ([0490], [0513]; instant claim 8). The resist may be developed with organic solvent ([0498] -[ 0500]; instant claim 9). Instant claims 12 and 13 are drawn to the method of claim 7, but present limitations as those set forth by the instant claims 3 and 4 as discussed above. Instant claims 14-18 are drawn to a polymer comprising units as set forth by the instant claims 1 and 3-6 as discussed above. Instant claims 19 and 20 present limitations to a compound of formula (1) as set forth by the instant claims 1 and 5. Given the teachings of the reference, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to prepare the material of Ma s uyama et al, choosing to prepare the polymer wherein the polymer comprises a unit falling within the scope of the instant formula (1) as discussed above. Claim (s) 1 -20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oka et al (2023/0087940) . Oka et al disclose a resist composition comprising a resin, an acid generator, a acid diffusion control agent (photodegradable base), and a solvent (see examples, table 2; instant claims 1 and 2), wherein the resin includes a unit having a structure falling within the scope of the instant formula (1). Wherein instant R1 is methyl (may also be H), R2 and R3 are H, n1 is 1 with R5 an dR6 H, n2 is 0 (R7 and R8 not present), and R9 and R10 are alkyl or join to form a ring as required by the instant claims 1 and 5. Examples include M-001 and M-002 in amounts of 5, 10, 15, 20, 30, and 60 (see table 1), wherein 5, 10, 15, 20, and 30 all fall within the scope of the instant claim 6. Additional monomers include acid-labile group-containing monomers meeting the limitations of the instant formula 2 (instant claim 3), and a lactone , cyclic carbonate, and sultone -containing unit as per the instant claim 4. The reference teaches a method including the steps as set forth by the instant claim 7 wherein the composition is applied to a substrate, dried/ pre-baked, exposed to radiation, post-baked, and developed (see claim 1; examples). Suitable radiation includes EUV, x-rays, and ebeam ([0090]; instant claim 8). The resist may be developed by alkali developer or solvent ([0162]; instant claims 10 and 11). Instant claims 12 and 13 are drawn to the method of claim 7, but present limitations as those set forth by the instant claims 3 and 4 as discussed above. Instant claims 14-18 are drawn to a polymer comprising units as set forth by the instant claims 1 and 3-6 as discussed above. Instant claims 19 and 20 present limitations to a compound of formula (1) as set forth by the instant claims 1 and 5. Given the teachings of the reference, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to prepare the material of Oka et al, choosing to prepare the polymer wherein the polymer comprises a unit falling within the scope of the instant formula (1) as discussed above. Claim (s) 1-9 and 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asano et al (KR 2014-00 51083 and its machine translation) . Asano et al disclose a resist composition and method comprising a resin, an acid generator, a solvent, and nitrogen-containing compounds (acid diffuser/ photodegradable base [C]; instant claims 1 and 2), wherein the resin may include a unit having a structure meeting the limitations of the instant formula (1). In the formula instant R1 is alkyl or H, R2 and R3 are preferably H, n1 is 1 with R5 and R6 being H, n2 is 0 or 1, when n2 is 1, R7 and R8 are H, and R9 and R10 are alkyl (instant claims 1 and 5). The unit is including in an amount of 20 to 80, preferably 25-60 mol%, with examples using 30 mol% (instant claim 6). Additional units meet the limitations of the acid-labile group-containing monomer of the instant formula (2), wherein reference R7 to R9 are as those of the instant R12 to R14, with examples below (instant claim 3). Additional units further include those comprising sultone , lactone, and cyclic carbonate groups (instant claim 4). The met hod of patterning includes the steps as set forth by the instant claim 7, wherein the resist is applied, dried/ pre-baked, exposed to x-rays, ebeam, or EUV, and developed with an organic solvent developer ([0308]-[0322], examples; instant claims 7-9). Instant claims 12 and 13 are drawn to the method of claim 7, but present limitations as those set forth by the instant claims 3 and 4 as discussed above. Instant claims 14-18 are drawn to a polymer comprising units as set forth by the instant claims 1 and 3-6 as discussed above. Instant claims 19 and 20 present limitations to a compound of formula (1) as set forth by the instant claims 1 and 5. Given the teachings of the reference, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to prepare the material of Asano et al, choosing to prepare the polymer wherein the polymer comprises a unit falling within the scope of the instant formula (1) as discussed above. Claim (s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ansai et al (2004/0248031) . Ansai et al disclose a resist composition and method wherein the resist comprises a resin, a solvent, a photoacid generator, and a quencher (the quencher is a known acid diffuser/ photodegradable base; [0460] -[ 0470]; instant claims 1 and 2). The resin may include a unit meeting the limitations of the instant formula (1). Wherein the instant R1 is H or methyl, R2 and R3 are H, n1 is 1 to 3, with R5 and R6 H, n2 is 0-3, with R7 and R8 H, and the instant R9 and R10 are alkyl or form a ring (instant claims 1 and 5). The monomer is included in an amount of 5 to 60 mol % ([0429]). Additional monomers meet the structural limitations of the instant formula (2) for the acid-labile (tertiary carbon)-containing unit, and a lactone (instant claims 3 and 4). The method includes the steps as set forth by the instant claim 7, comprising applying the resist to a substrate, pre-baking, exposing, PEB, developing with alkaline solution ([0472] -[ 0477]),wherein suitable radiation includes ebeam and 250 nm or less UV, which includes EUV which is about 10 to 124 nm ([0013], [0014], [0076], [0094]; instant claims 7 , 8, 10 ). The reference further teaches that the resist may be a negative resist, and developed using an appropriate developer, which is known in the art to include an organic solvent ( [0499], [0502], [0518]; instant claim 9) . Instant claims 12 and 13 are drawn to the method of claim 7, but present limitations as those set forth by the instant claims 3 and 4 as discussed above. Instant claims 14-18 are drawn to a polymer comprising units as set forth by the instant claims 1 and 3-6 as discussed above. Instant claims 19 and 20 present limitations to a compound of formula (1) as set forth by the instant claims 1 and 5. Given the teachings of the reference, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to prepare the material of Ansai et al, choosing to prepare the polymer wherein the polymer comprises a unit falling within the scope of the instant formula (1) as discussed above. Conclusion The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional references are cited as cumulative to the rejections presented above. These include Bae et al (KR2012-0061757, as cited by applicant), Bae et al (2012/0288794) , and Fukushima et al (2019/0079399). Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT AMANDA C WALKE whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-1337 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday to Thursday 5:30am to 4pm . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Niki Bakhtiari can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-272-3433 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /AMANDA C. WALKE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722