DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Species 4 (claims 1-13) in the reply filed on 04/06/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 14-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II (apparatus) and Species 1-3, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 04/06/2026.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Substrate mounting portion (concave space, inclined inner side wall, para. [0064]) in claims 1-13.
Gas supply device (gas injection device having plurality of through holes, gas channel on top, para. [0050]) in claims 1-13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20120309175 to Masumura in view of US 20060185795 to Choi.
Claims 1, 10-13: Masumura discloses a substrate supporting plate comprising: a top surface (top of 40 [susceptor], Fig. 4) comprising a substrate mounting portion (41 [pocket portion]) and a peripheral portion (43/41b/41c); a bottom surface (bottom of 40); a sidewall (sidewall of 40) spanning between the top surface and the bottom surface (Fig. 40); wherein the substrate mounting portion (41) is recessed relative to the peripheral portion (43/41b/41c), wherein the peripheral portion (43/41b/41c) comprises a first section (1st inner part of 41b) and a second section (2nd inner part of 41b).
However Masumura does not disclose (claim 1) and an insulating layer formed on the top surface, and wherein the insulating layer is formed on a top surface of the second section; (claim 10) wherein the first section comprises a metal, and wherein the second section comprises a metal oxide comprising the metal; (claim 11) wherein a thickness of the insulating layer is between about 10 µm and about 100 µm; (claim 12) wherein the insulating layer comprises alumina; (claim 13) wherein an edge of the insulating layer comprises a round profile
Choi discloses (claim 1) and an insulating layer (210 [coating], para. [0012]) formed on the top surface (top of 202 [body], Fig. 2), and wherein the insulating layer (210) is formed on a top surface of the second section (interpreted as top surface of 202); (claim 10) wherein the first section (top section of 200) comprises a metal (aluminum), and wherein the second section (top section of 200) comprises a metal oxide (anodized aluminum) comprising the metal (aluminum, para. [0035]); (claim 11) wherein a thickness of the insulating layer (210) is between about 10 µm and about 100 µm (para. [0037]); (claim 12) wherein the insulating layer (210) comprises alumina (210, para. [0037]); (claim 13) wherein an edge of the insulating layer comprises a round profile (Fig. 2), for the purpose of providing a protective coating (para. [0007]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitations above as taught by Choi with motivation to provide a protective coating.
Claim 3: The apparatus of Masumura in view of Choi discloses wherein the second section (2nd inner part of 41b, Fig. 4, Masumura) is radially exterior the first section (1st inner part of 41b, Fig. 4).
Claim 4: The apparatus of Masumura in view of Choi discloses wherein a shape of the second section (2nd inner part of 41b, Fig. 4, Masumura) is substantially an annular ring (Fig. 4-5).
Claim 5: The apparatus of Masumura in view of Choi discloses wherein the peripheral portion (43/41b/41c, Fig. 4, Masumura) further comprises a third section (41c [taper end]) .
Claim 6: The apparatus of Masumura in view of Choi discloses wherein the third section (41c, Fig. 4, Masumura) is radially exterior the second section (2nd inner part of 41b, Fig. 4).
Claim 7: The apparatus of Masumura in view of Choi discloses wherein a height of the third section (height of 41c, Fig. 4, Masumura) is less than a height of the second section (height of (2nd inner part of 41b, Fig. 4).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masumura in view of Choi as applied to claims 1, 3-7, 10-13 above, and further in view of US 20160049323 to Ye.
Claim 2: The apparatus of Masumura in view of Choi does not disclose wherein a top surface of the first section is conductive;
Ye discloses wherein a top surface of the first section (1st inner part of 202, Fig. 4C/4D) is conductive (para. [0044]) for the purpose of being comprised of a ceramic material capable of providing sufficient chucking force to the substrate in certain temperature ranges (para. [0044]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the material requirements as taught by Ye with motivation to be comprised of a ceramic material capable of providing sufficient chucking force to the substrate in certain temperature ranges.
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masumura in view of Choi as applied to claims 1, 3-7, 10-13 above, and further in view of US 20200141003 to Lee.
Claims 8-9: The apparatus of Masumura in view of Choi does not disclose (claim 8) wherein an inner diameter of the second section is substantially the same as an outer diameter of a gas supply device opposite the substrate supporting plate; (claim 9) wherein an outer diameter of the second section is substantially the same as an inner diameter of an inner surface of a reactor wall.
Lee discloses (claim 8) wherein an inner diameter of the second section (inner diameter of C2 [contact surface], Fig. 2) is substantially the same as an outer diameter of a gas supply device (120 [gas supply unit], Fig. 2) opposite the substrate supporting plate (130 [substrate supporting unit], para. [0050-0051]); (claim 9) wherein an outer diameter of the second section (outer diameter of C2) is substantially the same as an inner diameter of an inner surface of a reactor wall (inner diameter of inner surface of 110 [reactor wall]); for the purpose of being capable of generating uniform plasma on a substrate to form a uniform thin film on the substrate (para. [0074-0076]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitations above as taught by Lee with motivation to be capable of generating uniform plasma on a substrate to form a uniform thin film on the substrate.
Claims 14-20: (Withdrawn).
Conclusion
/Charlee J. C. Bennett/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718