DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Regarding the objections to the drawings in the Office Action filed 5 November 2025, Applicant’s amendments in the reply filed 28 January 2026 are acknowledged and overcome the associated objections. As such, the associated objections are withdrawn.
Regarding the objections to the specification in the Office Action filed 5 November 2025, Applicant’s amendments in the reply filed 28 January 2026 are acknowledged and overcome the associated objections. As such, the associated objections are withdrawn.
Regarding the rejections to the claims under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) in the Office Action filed 5 November 2025, Applicant’s amendments in the reply filed 28 January 2026 are acknowledged and have been fully considered but are not found persuasive.
On page 10 of the aforementioned reply, Applicant argues:
TABATAKE does not appear to disclose at least "a lower electrode on the base layer and overlapping the display area; a driving voltage line on the base layer and overlapping the non-display area; …wherein a contacting portion of the driving voltage line is disposed in a layer different from a layer on which the lower electrode is disposed", as now recited in amended Claim 1.
To support this argument, Applicant provides a non-limiting example of an interpretation of the above claim language, for which Applicant asserts “TABATAKE does not appear to disclose at least” the above claim language. Without admitting to the propriety of said non-limiting example, the Examiner asserts, as presently written, the language of Claim 1 does not preclude other interpretations, including but not limited to:
“a lower electrode on the base layer and overlapping the display area;”
TABATAKE Fig. 3 shows a lower electrode LE3 on 10 and overlapping SP3 where SP3 is in DA as seen in TABATAKE Fig. 1.
“a driving voltage line on the base layer and overlapping the non-display area;”
TABATAKE Fig. 9 shows a driving voltage line--the stack of CL, RL & PW proximal to CN1 hereinafter denoted as CL/RL/PW—on 10 and overlapping DS where DS is in SA as seen in TABATAKE. Fig. 8.
“…wherein a contacting portion of the driving voltage line is disposed in a layer different from a layer on which the lower electrode is disposed”
TABATAKE Fig. 9 show a contacting portion P2 of the driving voltage line CL/RL/PW is disposed in a layer 12 different from a layer 15. Further, TABATAKE Fig. 3 shows 15 disposed on the lower electrode LE3 and, thus, the lower electrode LE3 disposed on 15.
As this interpretation satisfies the above cited limitations of this claim, amending Claim 1 to require “wherein a contacting portion of the driving voltage line is disposed in a layer different from a layer on which the lower electrode is disposed” is not deemed to patentably distinguish Applicant’s claimed device from the known device of TABATAKE.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 -20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by TABATAKE (US 20230301159 A1).
Regarding Independent Claim 1,
TABATAKE discloses:
A display panel comprising: a base layer comprising a display area and a non-display area adjacent to the display area; (TABATAKE Fig. 1 shows a display panel DSP comprising: a base layer 10 comprising a display area DA and a non-display area SA adjacent to DA.)
a lower electrode on the base layer and overlapping the display area; (TABATAKE Fig. 3 shows a lower electrode LE3 on 10 and overlapping SP3 where SP3 is in DA as seen in TABATAKE Fig. 1.)
a driving voltage line on the base layer and overlapping the non-display area; (TABATAKE Fig. 9 shows a driving voltage line--the stack of CL, RL & PW proximal to CN1 hereinafter denoted as CL/RL/PW--on 10 and overlapping DS where DS is in SA as seen in TABATAKE. Fig. 8.)
a pixel defining layer on the base layer, covering a portion of the lower electrode, and defining a light emitting opening; (TABATAKE Fig. 3 shows a pixel defining layer 5 on 10, covering a portion of LE3, and defining a light emitting opening AP3.)
a light emitting pattern within the light emitting opening and on the lower electrode; (TABATAKE Fig. 3 shows a light emitting pattern OR3 within AP3 and on LE3.)
a partition wall on the pixel defining layer and the driving voltage line and defining an upper opening corresponding to the light emitting opening; (TABATAKE Fig. 3 shows a partition wall 6 on 5 and defining an upper opening--the opening between the 6s--corresponding to AP3. Further, TABATAKE Fig. 9 shows CL on RL--which is part of CL/RL/PW--where CL & 6 may both be considered the claimed partition wall, as per TABATAKE ¶ [0073] & [0081], denoted hereinafter as CL/6.)
and an upper electrode on the light emitting pattern and in contact with an inner surface of the partition wall defining the upper opening, (TABATAKE Fig. 3 shows an upper electrode UE3 on OR3 and in contact with an inner surface of CL/6 defining the opening between the CL/6s.)
wherein the driving voltage line is in contact with the partition wall, and (TABATAKE Fig. 9 shows CL/RL/PW is in contact with CL/6.)
wherein a contacting portion of the driving voltage line is disposed in a layer different from a layer on which the lower electrode is disposed (TABATAKE Fig. 9 show a contacting portion P2 of the driving voltage line CL/RL/PW is disposed in a layer 12 different from a layer 15. Further, TABATAKE Fig. 3 shows 15 disposed on the lower electrode LE3 and, thus, the lower electrode LE3 disposed on 15.)
Regarding Claim 2, TABATAKE discloses all of the limitations of Independent Claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
TABATAKE further discloses:
wherein the partition wall extends from a boundary between the display area and the non-display area in a direction away from the display area. (TABATAKE Fig. 8 shows CL/6 extends from a boundary--the dashed line in the Y direction--between DA and SA in a direction X away from DA.)
Regarding Claim 3, TABATAKE discloses all of the limitations of Independent Claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
TABATAKE further discloses:
wherein the upper electrode and the driving voltage line are electrically connected. (TABATAKE Fig. 3 shows UE3 electrically connected to CL/6. Further, TABATAKE Fig. 9 shows CL/RL/PW electrically connected to CL/6. Therefore, UE3 and CL/RL/PW are electrically connected.)
Regarding Claim 4, TABATAKE discloses all of the limitations of Independent Claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
TABATAKE further discloses:
wherein the partition wall comprises: a first conductive layer having a first conductivity; (TABATAKE Fig. 4 shows CL/6 comprises: a first conductive layer 61 comprising 611 where 611 may be aluminum--TABATAKE ¶ [0056]--and therefore have a first conductivity of about 40 MS/m.)
and a second conductive layer having a second conductivity lower than the first conductivity, (TABATAKE Fig. 4 shows a second conductive layer 62 comprising 622 where 622 may be indium tin oxide (ITO)--TABATAKE ¶ [0057]--and therefore have a second conductivity of about 10 kS/m.)
and on the first conductive layer. (TABATAKE Fig. 4 shows 62 on 61.)
Regarding Claim 5, TABATAKE discloses all of the limitations of Claim 4, upon which this claim depends.
TABATAKE further discloses:
wherein a thickness of the first conductive layer is greater than a thickness of the second conductive layer. (TABATAKE Fig. 4 shows a thickness of 61 in the Z direction is greater than a thickness of 62 in the Z direction.)
Regarding Claim 6, TABATAKE discloses all of the limitations of Claim 4, upon which this claim depends.
TABATAKE further discloses:
wherein an inner surface of the first conductive layer defines a first area of the upper opening, (TABATAKE Fig. 4 shows an inner surface F2 of 61 defines a first area of the opening between the CL/6s in TABATAKE Fig. 3.)
and an inner surface of the second conductive layer defines a second area of the upper opening, (TABATAKE Fig. 4 shows an inner surface--the side surface of E2--of 62 defines a second area of the opening between the CL/6s in TABATAKE Fig. 3.)
and wherein the inner surface of the second conductive layer defining the second area is closer to a center of the lower electrode than the inner surface of the first conductive layer defining the first area in a cross sectional view. (TABATAKE Fig. 3 shows the side surface of E2 of 62 defining the second area is closer to a center of LE3--in the horizontal direction of TABATAKE Fig. 3--than F2 of 61 defining the first area in a cross sectional view depicted in TABATAKE Fig. 3.)
Regarding Claim 7, TABATAKE discloses all of the limitations of Claim 4, upon which this claim depends.
TABATAKE further discloses:
further comprising:
a lower encapsulation inorganic layer on the upper electrode and the partition wall; (TABATAKE Fig. 3 shows a lower encapsulation inorganic layer SE3 on UE3 and CL/6. See TABATAKE ¶ [0047] for SE3 composition details.)
an encapsulation organic layer on the lower encapsulation inorganic layer; (TABATAKE Fig. 3 shows an encapsulation organic layer 13 on SE3. See TABATAKE ¶ [0047] for 13 composition details.)
and an upper encapsulation inorganic layer on the encapsulation organic layer, (TABATAKE Fig. 3 shows an upper encapsulation inorganic layer 14 on 13. See TABATAKE ¶ [0047] for 14 composition details.)
wherein the lower encapsulation inorganic layer is in contact with a side surface of the first conductive layer and a lower surface of the second conductive layer. (TABATAKE Fig. 3 shows SE3 is in contact with a side surface--the surface parallel to the Z direction and perpendicular to the page--of 61 and a lower surface--the surface perpendicular to the Z direction--of 62.)
Regarding Claim 8, TABATAKE discloses all of the limitations of Claim 7, upon which this claim depends.
TABATAKE further discloses:
further comprising:
a capping pattern between the upper electrode and the lower encapsulation inorganic layer. (TABATAKE Fig. 3 shows a capping pattern CP3 between UE3 and SE3.)
Regarding Claim 9, TABATAKE discloses all of the limitations of Claim 4, upon which this claim depends.
TABATAKE further discloses:
wherein the driving voltage line comprises: a first voltage conductive layer comprising a first material; a second voltage conductive layer on the first voltage conductive layer and comprising a second material different from the first material; and a third voltage conductive layer on the second voltage conductive layer and comprising the first material. (CL/RL/PW comprises CL & RL where CL has the same stack as 6 as previously stated. As seen in TABATAKE Fig. 4, 6 comprises 622, 621, 611 & 612. Further, RL has the same stack as LE3 as per TABATAKE ¶ [0085]. And, as seen in TABATAKE Fig. 4, LE3 comprises L1, L3 & L2. Therefore, CL/RL/PW comprises a first voltage conductive layer L2, a third voltage conductive layer 622, and a second voltage conductive layer comprising 621, 611, 612, L1 & L3 hereinafter denoted as 621/611/612/L1/L3. Further, L2 & 622 comprise a first material, which may be ITO as per TABATAKE ¶ [0057] & [0059], and 621/611/612/L1/L3 comprises 611 comprising a second material, which may be aluminum as per TABATAKE ¶ [0056]. Further still, TABATAKE Fig. 4 shows L3--and thus 621/611/612/L1/L3--on L2, and 622 on 621--and thus on 621/611/612/L1/L3.)
Regarding Claim 10, TABATAKE discloses all of the limitations of Claim 9, upon which this claim depends.
TABATAKE further discloses:
wherein a conductivity of the first material is lower than that of the second material. (A conductivity of ITO is about 10 kS/m and, thus, lower than that of aluminum, which has a conductivity of about 40 MS/m.)
Regarding Claim 12, TABATAKE discloses all of the limitations of Claim 9, upon which this claim depends.
TABATAKE further discloses:
wherein the first conductive layer and the second voltage conductive layer comprise the same material, (As previously stated, 61 and 621/611/612/L1/L3 may both comprise aluminum.)
and wherein the second conductive layer, the first voltage conductive layer, and the third voltage conductive layer comprise the same material. (As previously stated, 62, L2, and 622 may all comprise ITO.)
Regarding Claim 13, TABATAKE discloses all of the limitations of Claim 9, upon which this claim depends.
TABATAKE further discloses:
wherein the driving voltage line comprises a first electrode layer and a second electrode layer on the first electrode layer, (CL/RL/PW comprises a first electrode layer PW and a second electrode layer RL where TABATAKE Fig. 9 shows RL is on PW.)
the second electrode layer being in contact with the partition wall. (TABATAKE Fig. 9 shows RL is in contact with CL/6.)
Regarding Independent Claim 14,
TABATAKE discloses:
An electronic device comprising: a base layer comprising a display area and a non-display area adjacent to the display area; (TABATAKE Fig. 1 shows an electronic device DSP comprising: a base layer 10 comprising a display area DA and a non-display area SA adjacent to DA.)
a lower electrode on the base layer overlapping the display area; (TABATAKE Fig. 3 shows a lower electrode LE3 on 10 and overlapping SP3 where SP3 is in DA as seen in TABATAKE Fig. 1.)
a driving voltage line on the base layer overlapping the non-display area; (TABATAKE Fig. 9 shows a driving voltage line--CL/RL/PW as previously described--on 10 and overlapping DS where DS is in SA as seen in TABATAKE. Fig. 8.)
a pixel defining layer on the base layer, covering a portion of the lower electrode, and defining a light emitting opening; (TABATAKE Fig. 3 shows a pixel defining layer 5 on 10, covering a portion of LE3, and defining a light emitting opening AP3.)
a light emitting pattern within the light emitting opening and on the lower electrode; (TABATAKE Fig. 3 shows a light emitting pattern OR3 within AP3 and on LE3.)
a partition wall defining an upper opening corresponding to the light emitting opening; (TABATAKE Fig. 3 shows a partition wall CL/6--as previously described--defining an upper opening--the opening between the CL/6s--corresponding to AP3.)
and an upper electrode on the light emitting pattern and in contact with an inner surface of the partition wall defining the upper opening, (TABATAKE Fig. 3 shows an upper electrode UE3 on OR3 and in contact with an inner surface of CL/6 defining the opening between the CL/6s.)
wherein the partition wall extends from a boundary between the display area and the non-display area in a direction away from the display area and electrically connects the upper electrode and the driving voltage line, and (TABATAKE Fig. 8 shows CL/6 extends from a boundary--the dashed line in the Y direction--between DA and SA in a direction X away from DA. Further, TABATAKE Fig. 3 shows CL/6 is electrically connected to UE3. Further still, TABATAKE Fig. 9 shows CL/6 is electrically connected to CL/RL/PW. Therefore, CL/6 electrically connects UE3 and CL/RL/PW.)
wherein a contacting portion of the driving voltage line is disposed in a layer different from a layer on which the lower electrode is disposed (TABATAKE Fig. 9 show a contacting portion P2 of the driving voltage line CL/RL/PW is disposed in a layer 12 different from a layer 15. Further, TABATAKE Fig. 3 shows 15 disposed on the lower electrode LE3 and, thus, the lower electrode LE3 disposed on 15.)
Regarding Claim 15, TABATAKE discloses all of the limitations of Independent Claim 14, upon which this claim depends.
TABATAKE further discloses:
wherein the driving voltage line is in contact with the partition wall. (TABATAKE Fig. 9 shows CL/RL/PW is in contact with CL/6.)
Regarding Claim 16, TABATAKE discloses all of the limitations of Independent Claim 14, upon which this claim depends.
TABATAKE further discloses:
wherein the partition wall comprises: a first conductive layer having a first conductivity; (TABATAKE Fig. 4 shows CL/6 comprises: a first conductive layer 61 comprising 611, which may be aluminum--TABATAKE ¶ [0056]--therefore having a first conductivity of about 40 MS/m.)
and a second conductive layer having a second conductivity lower than the first conductivity, (TABATAKE Fig. 4 shows a second conductive layer 62 comprising 622, which may be ITO--TABATAKE ¶ [0057]--and therefore have a second conductivity of about 10 kS/m.)
and on the first conductive layer. (TABATAKE Fig. 4 shows 62 on 61.)
Regarding Claim 17, TABATAKE discloses all of the limitations of Claim 16, upon which this claim depends.
TABATAKE further discloses:
wherein an inner surface of the first conductive layer defines a first area of the upper opening, (TABATAKE Fig. 4 shows an inner surface F2 of 61 defines a first area of the opening between the CL/6s in TABATAKE Fig. 3.)
and an inner surface of the second conductive layer defines a second area of the upper opening, (TABATAKE Fig. 4 shows an inner surface--the side surface of E2--of 62 defines a second area of the opening between the CL/6s in TABATAKE Fig. 3.)
and wherein the inner surface of the second conductive layer defining the second area is closer to a center of the lower electrode than the inner surface of the first conductive layer defining the first area in a cross section. (TABATAKE Fig. 3 shows the side surface of E2 of 62 defining the second area is closer to a center of LE3--in the horizontal direction of TABATAKE Fig. 3--than F2 of 61 defining the first area in a cross section depicted by TABATAKE Fig. 3.)
Regarding Claim 18, TABATAKE discloses all of the limitations of Claim 16, upon which this claim depends.
TABATAKE further discloses:
wherein the driving voltage line comprises: a first voltage conductive layer comprising a first material; a second voltage conductive layer on the first voltage conductive layer and comprising a second material different from the first material; and a third voltage conductive layer on the second voltage conductive layer and comprising the first material, (CL/RL/PW comprises CL & RL where CL has the same stack as 6 as previously stated. As seen in TABATAKE Fig. 4, 6 comprises 622, 621, 611 & 612. Further, RL has the same stack as LE3 as per TABATAKE ¶ [0085]. And, as seen in TABATAKE Fig. 4, LE3 comprises L1, L3 & L2. Therefore, CL/RL/PW comprises a first voltage conductive layer L2, a third voltage conductive layer 622, and a second voltage conductive layer comprising 621, 611, 612, L1 & L3 hereinafter denoted as 621/611/612/L1/L3. Further, L2 & 622 comprise a first material, which may be ITO as per TABATAKE ¶ [0057] & [0059], and 621/611/612/L1/L3 comprises 611 comprising a second material, which may be aluminum as per TABATAKE ¶ [0056]. Further still, TABATAKE Fig. 4 shows L3--and thus 621/611/612/L1/L3--on L2, and 622 on 621--and thus on 621/611/612/L1/L3.)
and wherein a conductivity of the first material is lower than a conductivity of the second material. (A conductivity of ITO is about 10 kS/m and, thus, lower than that of aluminum, which has a conductivity of about 40 MS/m.)
Regarding Claim 19, TABATAKE discloses all of the limitations of Claim 18, upon which this claim depends.
TABATAKE further discloses:
wherein the first conductive layer and the second voltage conductive layer comprise the same material, (As previously stated, 61 and 621/611/612/L1/L3 may both comprise aluminum.)
and wherein the second conductive layer, the first voltage conductive layer, and the third voltage conductive layer comprise the same material. (As previously stated, 62, L2, and 622 may all comprise ITO.)
Regarding Claim 20, TABATAKE discloses all of the limitations of Claim 18, upon which this claim depends.
TABATAKE further discloses:
wherein the driving voltage line comprises a first electrode layer and a second electrode layer on the first electrode layer, (CL/RL/PW comprises a first electrode layer PW and a second electrode layer RL where TABATAKE Fig. 9 shows RL is on PW.)
the second electrode layer being in contact with the partition wall. (TABATAKE Fig. 9 shows RL is in contact with CL/6.)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.S.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2898
/JULIO J MALDONADO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898