DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 6, 8, 9, 13, 14, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by Katsuta et al. (JP 63-213665).
It should be noted that “suitable for semiconductor manufacturing” is viewed as intended use in the claims and is given no weight.
INDEPENDENT CLAIM 1:
Regarding claim 1, Katsuta et al. teach a target material structure suitable for semiconductor manufacturing, comprising: a target material structure, which is an alloy made of a first metal and a second metal, and has a sputtering surface, wherein the target material structure comprises a lower section adjacent to the sputtering surface and an upper section away from the sputtering surface wherein an atomic weight of the first metal is less than an atomic weight of the second metal, and an atomic ratio of the first metal to the second metal decreases from the lower section to the upper section. (See Machine Translation; Abstract – The Tb and Fe vary. Tb atomic weight is greater than Fe atomic weight. The reference teaches gradually reducing or gradually increasing the content of rare earth metal toward the rear of a target from the sputtering surface.)
INDEPENDENT CLAIM 9:
Regarding claim 9, Katsura et al. teach method for manufacturing a target material structure suitable for a semiconductor process, comprising: forming a target material structure which is an alloy made of a first metal and a second metal, and has a sputtering surface, wherein the target material structure comprises a lower section adjacent to the sputtering surface and an upper section away from the sputtering surface wherein an atomic weight of the first metal is less than an atomic weight of the second metal, and an atomic ratio of the first metal to the second metal decreases from the lower section to the upper section. (See Machine Translation; Abstract – The Tb and Fe vary. Tb atomic weight is greater than Fe atomic weight. The reference teaches gradually reducing or gradually increasing the content of rare earth metal toward the rear of a target from the sputtering surface.)
DEPENDENT CLAIMS 5, 13:
The difference not yet discussed is further comprising a middle section between the upper section and the lower section.
Regarding claims 5, 13, From the figures there is a middle section. (See Figures)
DEPENDENT CLAIMS 6, 14:
The difference not yet discussed is an atomic percentage values of the first metal and the second metal decrease gradually from the lower section, the middle section to the upper section.
Regarding claims 6, 14, Katsuta et al. teach an atomic percentage values of the first metal and the second metal decrease gradually from the lower section, the middle section to the upper section. (See Machine Translation; Abstract – The Tb and Fe vary. Tb atomic weight is greater than Fe atomic weight. The reference teaches gradually reducing or gradually increasing the content of rare earth metal toward the rear of a target from the sputtering surface.)
DEPENDENT CLAIMS 8, 16:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein the target material structure is used in a physical vapor deposition (PVD) machine.
Regarding claims 8, 16, Katsuta et al. teach sputtering which inherently requires using a PVD machine to do the sputtering. (See Abstract)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 6, 8, 9, 13, 14, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katsuta et al. (JP 63-213665) in view of Hirai et al. (U.S. PGPUB. 2003/0080391 A1).
Katsuta et al. is discussed above and all is applies above.
The difference between Katsuta et al. and the claims is that using the target for semiconductor manufacturing is not discussed.
Hirai et al. teaching form films of TbFe by sputtering. (Paragraph 0082)
The motivation for utilizing the features of Hirai et al. is that it allows manufacturing semiconductor devices with magnetic films. (Paragraph 0082)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Katsuta et al. by utilizing the features of Hirai et al. because it allows for manufacturing semiconductor devices with magnetic films.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4, 7, 10-12, 15, 17 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 2 and 10 are indicated as being allowable because the prior art does not teach the claimed subject matter in combination with wherein the first metal comprises aluminum and the second metal comprises titanium.
Claims 3 and 11 are indicated as being allowable because the prior art does not teach the claimed subject matter in combination with wherein an atomic ratio of the first metal to the second metal is 1:1 in the lower section.
Claims 4 and 12 are indicated as being allowable because the prior art does not teach the claimed subject matter in combination with wherein the atomic ratio percentage value of the first metal and the second metal is less than 0.3 in the upper section.
Claims 7 and 15 are indicated as being allowable because the prior art does not teach the claimed subject matter in combination with wherein an atomic percentage values of the first metal and the second metal are fixed in any section of the lower section, the middle section or the upper section.
Claims 17 and 18 are indicated as being allowable because the prior art does not teach the claimed subject matter in combination with wherein the method for forming the target material structure further comprises: providing a first metal powder and a second metal powder which are mixed with each other in a first ratio; performing a pressing step to make the first metal powder and the second metal powder into a first alloy layer; providing the first metal powder and the second metal powder again, and mixing with each other in a second ratio, wherein the second ratio is different from the first ratio; performing another pressing step to make the first metal powder and the second metal powder into a second alloy layer and stack the second alloy layer on the first alloy layer.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments and amendments filed March 31, 2026 have been fully considered and over come the previous prior art rejections. However a new prior art rejection has been applied to address the new claim amendments. The new prior art to Katsuta et al. teach a target where the Tb and Fe vary. Tb atomic weight is greater than Fe atomic weight. Katsuta et al. teach gradually reducing or gradually increasing the content of rare earth metal toward the rear of a target from the sputtering surface.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RODNEY G MCDONALD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794
RM
June 17, 2026